FB Twitter

Skylarks Barn

Skylarks Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 51 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Skylarks is light and spacious with a real designer feel. The huge gable end window gives a panoramic view of some stunning sunsets and far reaching views towards Land's End. The accommodation is all on one level and is stylishly contemporary. Set in lovely rural surroundings with views across farmland to the sea in the distance. The living area has a large leather chaise sofa, 42" flat screen TV, designer kitchen and comfortable dining area. The porcelain floors are underfloor heated throughout to ensure they are cosily warm all year round.
The large bedroom has a 6ft bed which can be made up as twins if preferred. Lie in bed and admire the great views.
The bathroom has a freestanding double ended bath and walk-in powerful drench shower. Peaceful and quiet surroundings with lovely walks from the door.

Fantastic place to stay..

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you could want and more to make your stay in Cornwall one to remember. Everything was provided and the hosts were excellent.



Our favourite place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our favourite place to stay. We have been going back for a couple of years now because it is so good. Carolyn and Richard are perfect hosts. The accommodation is outstanding for design, comfort and cleanliness. We feel relaxed the minute we walk in the door. Everything you need is supplied... gorgeous, fluffy white towels and bathrobes, beautiful bed linen and even the little things like washing up liquid and hand soap. We love it so much that we will be going back there for 3 holidays next year as nowhere else matches up to the high bar that Carolyn has set.



Fantastic cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival received a warm welcome from Carolyn, Belle and Rolo.

Skylarks did not disappoint - luxury, well equipped, fantastic views and so peaceful. On a clear night conditions were ideal for a bit of star gazing.
Location was spot on for exploring Lands End, Sennen, Lizard, Minack Theatre etc.

Belle and Rolo were such well behaved dogs, coming to greet you each time you came back to the cottage.

It was definitely worth the long drive to get here.






Simply the best!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just keep returning to this beautiful barn. Reluctant to tell everyone else just how lovely it is in case we can’t book it again! Had a fantastic two week stay and didn’t want to go home. We relaxed from the minute we arrived. Carolyn, Richard and the dogs make you very welcome and they work very hard to make sure that everything is perfect when you arrive. It is spotlessly clean, has the most comfortable bed we’ve ever slept in with beautiful bed linen, a really good shower and comfortable sofa. Everything you could need has been thought of.
This place really does deserve five stars.




Beautiful quiet setting for weary travelers at the end of the day.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Downs Barn Skylarks cottage was amazing! Everything we needed and more! Beautiful setting, lovely open kitchen,
Gorgeous soaking tub and rain shower. Just outstanding! We traveled about a great deal and were so happy to return to
Such a quiet and serene place. Carolyn and Richard were wonderful hosts. We ate delicious breakfasts at the B and B several times. Didn’t need any lunch, the breakfasts were so filling and scrumptious. Can’t wait until we can return again!




Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and accommodation. Very friendly reception. Very quiet, we loved it and would like to go again.



Penwith paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb cottage, compact but well kitted out with everything you would need to enjoy a holiday in a peaceful and beautiful location. Picture windows give you a lovely view across the farmland and to the sea though on very sunny days the cottage did get a bit too warm, and this was in May! Carolyn and Richard couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.



Looking forward to our next stay at Skylarks

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can only concur with all the other positive comments about Skylarks which also gave us some ideas for our new extension!



Great Spring Getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great short break at Skylarks. Wonderful accommodation close to many lovely beaches and towns to visit. Weather was mixed however it was great to return to somewhere we knew would give us a nice relaxing time.



A last minute decision

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My visit to Cornwal was a last minute decision, so I needed to plan and book everything fast. I was very pleased to be able to arrange, confirm details and book a beautifully designed cottage win all modern high spec amenities at the Downs Barn Fern. The accommodation is excellent and the service is outstanding. I was made very comfortable and well looked after which is more important when traveling solo. Highly recommend.

Even though generally speaking the cottage and all the amenities were very clean and clearly well looked after, One let down was finding uncleared trash from the previous occupants in the kitchen trashcan and finding someone’s forgotten used socks in the chest of drawers in the bedroom.




Comfortable homestay and Ideally located

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay at Downs Barn Farm as it's very handy for a project we're currently working on and Carolyn has always made us feel very welcome. We especially recommend the eggs for breakfast!



Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Skylarks for a short break soon after Christmas. It was the perfect place to recover from the festivities and unwind. Carolyn was waiting for us on arrival with a delicious plate of warm scones, clotted cream and jam. The barn is spotlessly clean, meticulously designed and has everything that you could possibly need. The views are stunning, just sit, sip a glass of wine and watch the sun set across the fields. A short walk takes you to the nearest cove at St Loy and from there you can pick up the coastal path. The location is in easy reach of so many iconic places, yet also beautifully peaceful for those who just want to chill. We certainly felt very much at home and have already booked our next visit.



Beautiful Christmas break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Downs Barn so much that we can’t think of anywhere we would rather spend Christmas (which is why we keep coming back!) The Skylarks Cottage is amazing and Carolyn and Richard are wonderful hosts. We couldn’t have asked for more and will definitely be back next year.



Incredible!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was honestly the most amazing experience I've had renting a holiday spot! Carolyn was so welcoming and the home was incredible. Truly set the basis for a fantastic time in Cornwall!!



Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit to Downs Barns for us. We love Skylarks. From the moment you walk in the door you relax and your holiday begins. It is bright and airy, luxurious and spotless. The bed is very comfortable with good quality bed linen and the shower is very good.
You will receive a warm welcome from Carolyn and a plate of her amazing scones.
I can recommend Downs Barns without hesitation. If you book it I’m sure you will not be disappointed.




Carolyn replied more than 1 year ago
So delighted that you are such a regular visitor to Skylarks and that you enjoy your visits(and scones) so much. We can't wait to see you again in 2018.

5 night stay at skylarks

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can I say - our 10th stay and fabulous as ever - always a warm welcome and scones to die for



Carolyn replied more than 1 year ago
Love having you back time and time again, 10 visits, that's fantastic. I will keep cooking those scones!

This is a fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This facility could not be improved upon. Superbly equipped and all aspects so comfortable and relaxing. It is remotely situated - ideal for a quiet, relaxing break and only short distances from the beautiful scenery beaches and cliff walks. A Farmhouse breakfast is available - would recommend it highly - fantastic quality and atmosphere.

Carolyn and Richard are superb hosts and not forgetting the friendly dogs and horses.

An absolute must if you are visiting this part of Cornwall.




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
Really pleased you couldn't think of anything we could improve upon. That is always our aim as we want all of our guests to have a stress free, relaxing holiday. Delighted you took up the option of farmhouse breakfasts on some of the mornings, really enjoyed hearing about your holiday and making some recommendations for you. Rolo & Belle are missing your attention so please come back and see us again soon!

SkyLarks

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, even with the British summer weather.
Absolutely everything there in the house, and perfect for two adults, with plenty of space.
Lovely morning hello from the two softie labradors

Would stay again happily




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
The summer weather was a bit of a challenge this year! Very pleased that you enjoyed Skylarks despite the rain, it is a lovely light filled, cosy place to return to at the end of a day out. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you back.

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome and warm scones to greet us on arrival. Beautifully appointed and in a lovely location. Everything you needed was provided, but could do with a fly zapper!




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your arrival treat of a homemade Cornish cream tea and your stay in Skylarks. We hope to see you again soon.

Great customer service

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really clean and modern with everything you need in place. Very enjoyable stay I have said what I needed to say why do you want more?




Holiday summary

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was faultless, perfect location piece and quiete would happily recommend this property to others.owners very friendly and helpful.



Absolute best place to stay for our holiday in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks has been the absolute best place to stay for our holiday in Cornwall. Our last trip to Cornwall was about twentyfive years ago with rucksacks and by coach. So this time was quite a contrast. We love this wonderful cottage. The view over the garden and fields on the sea is peaceful and relaxing. It is a fantastic location for doing some walks along the beautiful coast enjoying the scenery. The views are absolutely fantastic at any time of day and we have made well over 500 pictures.
Unfortunately, we can’t believe it, even three weeks holiday can go by very fast. It was a great time and it has brought us everything we have dreamed of. We could relax and calm down and would love to stay for longer but we have to go back to Zurich, Switzerland.
Thank you Carolyn for making us so welcome and the cream tea on arrival. We would love to come back some time soon.




The best possible accommodation. Could happily have stayed there for weeks.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the peace and quiet of the location, and the wonderful open views, and the horses in the adjoining field. Enjoyed having breakfast in the farmhouse, and sharing our plans and previous days activities with other guests. Enjoyed walking to the coastal footpath from the farm, without needing to use the car. An easy walk through fields to St Buryans for the paper and excellent grocery store. A memorable holiday. Hoping to repeat it next year.



A short sojourn by the sea

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only stayed at the cottage very briefly, however, our time there was great.

We were provided with excellent directions how to locate the place which we actually didn't have any issues finding anyway the signs are clear and easy to follow.

Comfortable both in temperature and decor there is little I could suggest to improve the location.

There is a guest book from previous residents, we decided not to participate in this however from reading others I can see that the owners have really listened to feedback and improved the service a great deal.

We will probably be visiting again at some point in the future and look forward to it wholeheartedly.




fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
superb accommodation in an ideal location which is great for visiting all that the area has to offer.



quiet and relaxing

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for a short or long break, good coastal walks, an ideal location to get away from it all and relax for a while



Stay at skylarks downs barn farm

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As this must be our ninth stay with amazing hosts Carolyn and Richard I think it speaks for itself. Really there is nothing to fault- amazing views, scones on arrival to die for and stunning conversion. We are always desperate to get back there - Twice a year at least



Wow!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this place. It has to be the best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. You just walk through the door and relax because it is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and everything you could possibly need has been provided.There is always a warm welcome from Carolyn and Richard and the friendly dogs. If you stay here I'm sure you won't be disappointed.



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is perfect and offers a comfortable, relaxing break. Just bring the food and you have everything you need for a wonderful escape. Even better than the pictures........ if you like quality this is for you. Highly recommended.



Amazing all round

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I arrived on the 30th December 2016 for 3 nights.

Right from the first contact we experienced with Carolyn it was very welcoming and professional. We arrived after a long journey from Manchester and Carolyn (also Richard in his Tractor) were there to meet and greet us. We were shown around Skylarks and all the facilities it had to offer. Carolyn had also made us home made scones and Jam which is a above an beyond touch.

Skylarks is certainly a 5 star rated accomodaton it has everything you can imagine, luxury lighting in the bathroom's and kitchen, under floor heating, 42" Smart TV, Wifi to name but a few.

We particularly enjoyed the bi-folding doors that opened right up so you could watch the stars from the compfy sofa. The cottage itself is absolutely spotless.

Caroline advised us of a walk we could take down to their local bay. Stunning walk through woods and some rocks. Would recommend to anyone who is staying at Downs Barn Farm. We also visited the Minack Theatre and Lands End which i would highly recommend to anyone and only a 15 minute drive.

To conclude Skylarks is certainly 5 stars all round. Well done to Caroline and family for creating these amazing cottages.




Sunsets from Skylarks

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived early as our journey had been smooth. The dogs were first to greet us. They were a delight throughout the week. Carolyn introduced us to Skylarks and made us feel instantly at home. We had tea and scones and then took our first walk down to St Loy and along the coastal path. For the rest of the week it was such a joy to be able to walk to Lamorna, Mousehole, Minack Theatre and Porthcurno right from the door. We did drive out too to Gurnard's Head one day and to Cape Cornwall on another day. Both excellent outings, with contasting landscapes.

The barn itself was really comfortable and the fixtures and fittings were perfect. Carolyn maintains the properties with an expertise second to none. Skylarks was in pristine condition when we arrived and we looked forward to returning each evening to relax and enjoy it. When we read the Visitor's Book we noticed many guests return to Downs Barn Farm. Small wonder. We loved our stay from start to finish!





Luxury Boutique Style 5* Accommodation Stay - not to be missed!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can you say that has not already been said about Skylark - It is a truly 5* accommodation! Don't deprive yourself of the beautiful bathroom, the perfect nice sleep in the sumptuous bed and sitting on the deck looking out beyond the fields to the Sea, all simply Stunning.

We had a lovely week at Skylark and last but not least Carolyn (and Richard) was the best host ever! Carolyn was warm & welcoming and it felt like we had known her for years.

PS. Downs Farm also does B&B, so you can go over to the Farm and have breakfast. There is an excellent breakfast menu choice, we had a full breakfast, it was absolutely Delicious.

We hope to visit again soon!

Richard & Sonia




Another Relaxing Week

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This will be our third time at Skylarks, at Downs Barn Farm, and Carolyn still maintains her very high standards even though she has her family to think of too. We always go into the farmhouse for breakfast and interaction with her other bed and breakfast guests was one of the highlights of the week. Conversation was very varied and breakfast time stretched to over an hour most days. Carolyn loves opening her home to visitors and nothing is too much trouble; from organising taxis, providing information about locations to visit and how to get there, to making evening meal reservations at her favourite restaurants. I never did find Ross Poldark this year but did bring him home with me - on a postcard. Thank you Carolyn and Richard; we look forward to returning again next year and we will continue to recommend your home to our friends who are looking for something extra special.



Well recommended.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is airy, spacious, beautifully appointed and equipped with everything you could possibly need to enjoy a self-catering holiday in a gloriously peaceful location. We loved it. And we will return.



Perfection

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you stay here you won't be disappointed. Perfect in every way. Luxurious accommodation in beautiful surroundings. Can't wait to return for our 4th visit.



Lovely comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has a very modern interior with everything one could need to make a self-catering holiday as easy as possible.
The location is tranquil and views lovely. Perfect stay in West Cornwall.




Stunning views fantastic accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks was a wonderful place to relax and unwind, the views across the Cornish countryside was amazing. Carolyn was very welcoming, helpful, so knowledge of the area and we had a loveky homemade cream tea on arrival. Everything was there that we needed to make our holiday so enjoyable. Would recommend Downs Barn Farm to another who wants a relaxing Holiday in Cornwall with all the home comforts. We would certainly go back again. Xxx



5* and nothing less, beautiful decor & views across the fields with ponies to the sea & the dogs!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carolyn has everything just right & then some, from the beach towel and bag to the thermos in case you need it.
Loved the B&B last year and nice to move on to self catering in Skylarks, and lovely to finish off our week by having B&B in the house with my husband's favourite Eggs Benedict catered to thank you we'll be back




Superb luxury accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 12th year visiting Down’s Barn Farm and we absolutely love it. The location is fabulous and we cannot fault Skylarks as a base for visiting this stunning part of Cornwall. The facilities and luxury offered in Skylarks are amazing and we didn’t want to leave. Carolyn’s marvellous breakfasts and hospitality made our stay extra special and, this year, we were blessed with sunny and warm weather for the entire week!

During our stay we managed to fit in so many spectacular coastal walks, visited Sennen Cove, Porthcurno, Porthgwarra and took the train to St. Ives. We spent a lovely evening at the Beach Restaurant in Sennen and were lucky enough to see a glorious sunset. The food and location were fantastic and we were treated to some live music from local musicians. We also ate at 2 Fore Street in Mousehole and the food was delicious.

Thank you Carolyn and Richard for making our stay so special and thank you for the welcoming warm scones on arrival!

Love and hugs to Rolo, Belle and Abel too.

See you again soon.
Annie & Malc





skylarks - west cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
skylarks is a self-contained b&b located on a potato farm in wesr cornwall. it comes fiitted out
to a very high degree of furnishing and fittings
the landlady (carolyn care) is always ready to assist and if you decide to have breakfast in
the farmhouse it is a treat not to be missed.
parking is easy - plenty of space
enjoy. fg




our stay in skylarks,

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday in Skylarks barn from 29/4/16 to 06/05/16. What can i say, everything was just perfect, lovely warm stylish modern barn with a mega comfortable bed and luxury bathroom . A lovely distant sea view through the bi fold patio doors. Amazing star lit skies at night and fabulous coastal walks straight from the door, Skylarks barn has it all !!!
On arrival Carolyn provided us with a lovely cream tea and we had a delicious breakfast in the farmhouse one morning for a treat.
Enjoyed making friends with Belle,Rolo & Able,( the delightful dogs.)
To sum it up we had a fabulous holiday and can't wait to return!!!
( just wanted to mention the Minack theatre, we enjoyed two concerts there whilst staying at Skylarks,what an amazing venue and only ten minutes drive from Downs barn farm, a must if you get chance.)




Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay here and we love it. Carolyn makes you feel very welcome without being obtrusive. The barn is beautifully light, warm, airy, clean, tastefully furnished and very luxurious. Everything you need and more, is provided. The best holiday accommodation we have found. I would give it 6 stars! Can't wait to return in the Summer.



Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in Skylarks at Downs Barn Farm. The converted cow shed had been beautifully modernised with a state of the art kitchen, superb bathroom with a great bath, separate shower enclosure with full width by fold doors - immaculate. It was one of the best equipped self catering properties we had stayed in and allowed for every meal that you wanted to cook. Carolyn the owner was very welcoming and helpful.

The location is tranquil and well placed for visiting numerous sites close by the beech at Porthcorno and St Michael's Mount being particular highlights. Lovely restaurants abound and we particularly enjoyed the meals we had at 2 Fore Street in Mousehole close by.




An idyllic spot in Cornwall.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really well thought out, spacious, tranquil holiday property for adults. It has lovely views from the sitting room and the location is great for sightseeing in Cornwall. The owner Carolyn was very accommodating when we booked the property and met us whilst we were there, which was really nice. The homemade scones with jam and cream, that were left for us, was a delicious treat as was the homemade marmalade. The property really is in a lovely part of the country and an idyllic place to stay.



Absolutely beautiful!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is a stunning converted barn in an absolutely beautiful location. You coudln't wish for more from Skylarks and Carolyn and Richard and wonderful hosts.



We often stay on a farm. This was the best place ever!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can we say? We have nothing more to add, so please accept that we do not have anything more to add. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..



Even Better Second Time Around

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? Wonder woman does it again perhaps. Our second stay at Skylarks was even better this year as we were familiar with the barn and all it contains. The weather was perfect and we spent most afternoons sat on the patio reading in the warm sunshine. There was no need to venture far, but if we did all the obvious places to visit were in a 40 mile radius.
Carolyn has thought carefully about the barn conversion; how it was constructed, its layout and what furnishings it should have.
She has equipped Skylarks to a very high standard; nothing is lacking. The accommodation is light and airy, has bi-folding doors for fresh air and feels very warm because of the good insulation. We were able to watch the eclipse and super moon from the settee in the lounge area through the high gable end windows without having to go outside. We had an excellent breakfast in the farmhouse every day; the menu had various choices but Carolyn was happy to provide whatever we wanted. She was bright and cheery every day and made us very welcome. So thank you for a lovely week.




5 Star Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks was perfect for us. A great location for exploring the area but far enough away from the crowds when you wanted peace and quiet. The barn was light and spacious, absolutely spotless, it was a real home from home and everything you could need was provided and more: the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, huge, fluffy, white towels, a very comfortable sofa and a lovely view of the sea over the fields. We would not hesitate in recommending that you book one of the barns but obviously not when we want to go there!



5 Star Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks was perfect for us. A great location for exploring the area but far enough away from the crowds when you wanted peace and quiet. The barn was light and spacious, absolutely spotless, it was a real home from home and everything you could need was provided and more: the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, huge, fluffy, white towels, a very comfortable sofa and a lovely view of the sea over the fields. We would not hesitate in recommending that you book one of the barns but obviously not when we want to go there!



5 days in Conrwall

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent wonderful holidays in a comfortable, lovely, quiet cottage.
The area is really peaceful, near many places to walk along the coast path.
Skylarks is perfect for relaxing, enjoying the garden, cooking, feel good !




5 days in Conrwall

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent wonderful holidays in a comfortable, lovely, quiet cottage.
The area is really peaceful, near many places to walk along the coast path.
Skylarks is perfect for relaxing, enjoying the garden, cooking, feel good !