FB Twitter

Skylarks Barn

Skylarks Barn

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 128 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Skylarks is light and spacious with a real designer feel. The huge gable end window gives a panoramic view of some stunning sunsets and far reaching views towards Land's End. The accommodation is all on one level and is stylishly contemporary. Set in lovely rural surroundings with views across farmland to the sea in the distance. The living area has a large leather chaise sofa, 42" flat screen TV, designer kitchen and comfortable dining area. The porcelain floors are underfloor heated throughout to ensure they are cosily warm all year round.
The large bedroom has a 6ft bed which can be made up as twins if preferred. Lie in bed and admire the great views.
The bathroom has a freestanding double ended bath and walk-in powerful drench shower. Peaceful and quiet surroundings with lovely walks from the door.

Our weeks stay in Skylarks Barn.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay. Skylarks met exceptional standards and the owners were caring and helpful providing useful and detailed information on local facilities and beyond such as public transport and local walks.



Lovely cottage in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable, spotlessly clean cottage in a peaceful setting with great views. The location is great allowing easy access to some great beaches and the coastal paths. We would highly recommend it and are planning our next trip already.



A lovely stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently spent a lovely week at Downs Barn Farm in Skylarks. We were immediately struck by the wonderful views across the fields to the sea, and once inside by the standard of the accommodation.Carolyn and Richard are wonderful hosts, and are on hand if needed. Everything you would need is provided, and we slept very well in the comfortable super king bed! We were lucky enough to have nice weather, and enjoyed coffee and breakfast outside on the patio most mornings.Lovely Porthcurno beach is nearby, as is the Minack theatre which is worth a visit!
We will definitely return.




Another enjoyable stay at Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carolyn is a wonderful host and the accommodation is perfect for couples - peaceful, private and well thought out to provide everything you need for a self-catering stay. The area is beautiful and fantastic for walking, bird watching and swimming. Perfect location within easy reach of beaches and the South West Coastal Path. We have stayed several times and we will return again!



Another relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We return to Skylarks Barn regularly and never fail to have a wonderful time. Downs Barn Farm is a peaceful place to stay but close to Penzance, St Ives and numerous excellent beaches. Carolyn and Richard are friendly hosts and go out of their way to make sure we are comfortable. All in all, a great place to chill and unwind.



Skylarks Barn is an exceptional property with an exceptional host.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival at Skylarks Barn, we were met by Carolyn, who showed us to our home for the week. She had made some delicious, freshly baked scones with jam and cream to welcome us, which was such a lovely touch. The accommodation was immaculately presented and equipped to a high standard. The bathroom was lovely, with a large shower, plus a deep bath to soak in after a day exploring this part of beautiful Cornwall. The bed was huge and had the most comfortable mattress you could wish for.
Although the weather was mixed, we were able to sit outside and make use of the loungers and table and chairs provided. Views extended across the fields to the sea during the day and at night the ink black sky was dotted with stars.
Skylarks Barn is well situated for coastal walks and journeys by car to places of interest. It's also a lovely spacious house to relax in if you just want to enjoy being at the farm. It's obvious that the owners take great pride presenting their property at it's best and nothing is too much trouble for them. We would certainly recommend staying here.





Fabulous cottage in perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is a fabulous cottage in a perfect location for exploring West Cornwall. The property is beautifully presented with all the amenities required for a relaxing break and Carolyn and Richard are superb hosts ensuring your stay is perfect. The views to the coast are superb and your eyes are drawn away from reading/TV to the various ships and boats passing each day.
The coves off the normal holiday trail are a joy and we loved Porthgwarra (best pasties in West Cornwall), Penberth and Lamorna plus The Minack Theatre is amazing with a lovely cafe providing afternoon teas. Cape Cornwall and the Botallack Mines are a must visit and much quieter but equally as spectacular as Lands End.




Excellent choice for couples

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is very modern and clean, the bed is very comfortable and the bathroom has good bath and shower with plenty of hot water. We enjoyed the working farm environment but be aware of tractors etc. Views to the coast and a decent patio and lawn entice you outside in better weather. The property was warm and the extensive windows encourage solar gain which has to be managed through opening doors where necessary. The coast path can be accessed from the property within half an hour or so and the village nearby has an excellent farm shop (c. 30 mins walk / 10 mins drive). We found the modern decor rather minimalistic, if you favour wooden furniture, rugs, ornaments and so on then probably not for you. A comfy armchair in addition to the sofa would have been welcome. The main door lock was very tight to open and close but doubtless this will readily sorted by the owners who were very friendly and helpful. Home made scones on arrival were a nice touch.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here years ago when the premises first opened and is as clean and new as it was then. Attention to detail is second to none. No hotel stay has ever achieved this level of superior finish.



Perfect for a couple

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to the cottages but this time we stayed in Skylarks. We like the central rural location and Carolyn has thought of everything needed for a pleasant enjoyable comfortable stay. Thank you for the scones and jam, much appreciated.



Another lovely stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Skylarks regularly for a number of years so it has become home from home to us. Carolyn and Richard are always very welcoming as are their dogs who greet us with waggy tails. Everything we need has been thought of and Carolyn is nearby if anything crops up. We were so lucky to enjoy the hottest week of the year, the sea breezes keeping things pleasant. Highlight of my stay was a trip out to sea with Marine Discovery where we were followed by a pod of dolphins.



Super holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second holiday in Skylarks Barn. We had a relaxing fortnight in a lovely, peaceful setting. The barn is luxurious and equipped to a very high standard. We slept incredibly well in the super king bed. Carolyn and Richard are excellent and friendly hosts. Many thanks for the cream teas - absolutely delicious! We also enjoyed regular visits from the farm dogs, who kept us entertained!
Friends stayed in the adjoing barn and we enjoyed many good walks locally as well as regular visits to the St Buryan Inn, which we could walk to across the fields in half an hour. The food is to be recommended. Would also suggest visiting the Minack Theatre and the Telegraph Museum at Porthcurno.
We hope to visit again in the future.




Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carolyn has thought about everything, she makes staying with her such a joy. We stayed for two weeks and didn't want to leave!



Always perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Skylarks and it never fails to provide a relaxing and comfortable visit. We were warmly greeted by Carolyn and several farm dogs. The best cream tea and a bottle of wine were left waiting for us. Bright and spacious accomodation with views out to sea. On a clear night the stars are the best you will see anywhere in England. We will return.



Perfection!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve rented holiday homes both near and far and other than a log cabin in Canada, ‘Sklyarks’ is the only property we could describe as perfect!

The location is perfect for Penzance and you’re 15 minutes from Mousehole, the beautiful Porthcurno beach and Land’s End.

Skylarks is located on an idyllic plot with stunning sea views. The furniture, fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality and nothing has been missed. We spent ten days there and everything we needed to enjoy a more than comfortable stay was provided.

The bathroom is the same size of an apartment I rented when I was in Art College in 1979. There’s a huge tub, a rainfall shower, along with towels, hand soaps and body-wash etc.

The bedroom has amazing views across the farmlands to the sea. The bed is as comfortable as it is huge and it is huge! There’s more than enough wardrobe storage for a two week break, the bedroom is comfortable and more than spacious.

The ‘open plan’ kitchen, lounge is a huge space which shares the same amazing views as the bedroom, just pull back the bi-fold doors, put your feet up and relax! The kitchen is fully equipped, if you want to cook, cook way, you’ll find everything you need! If you want to eat out, check the suggestions in the folder provided by the property owners, everyone’s a winner.

There’s a private patio that the sun hits all day, we spent more than a few hours in the rattan recliners soaking up the rays, we had eight days of sunshine, lucky us.

You have private parking right outside the property, high speed Wi-Fi and total peace and quiet!

The owners (Carolyn and Richard) make sure everything is in place to make your trip perfect and hassle free, if you need anything, they’re just across the courtyard, they’re really accommodating but allow you your privacy.

We booked this last minute and it was the best travel decision we’ve made in an age, we’re already looking to rebook. It was a pleasure to stay here, a perfect pleasure!





Wonderful Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit.
Cream Tea on arrival - best scones ever
Polite and helpfull ownners
Located on a farm with a view to the sea from the terrace and it's interesting to witness countrside and farm activities
Pleasant walking along the coast.
There are shopping opportunities in the village itself as there also are in Penzance and neighbouring towns/villages.where there are also pubs/ restaurants
We're likely to make a third visit!




A Refreshing Rural Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quiet tranquil oasis away from the busy throng of the Easter holiday. Stunning cottage with far reaching views of the sea from the lounge. Upmost cleanliness and a comfy bed completed our enjoyment of the property along with the friendliness of our hosts.



Simply the Best!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Downs Barn Farm is a wonderful place to stay whatever the time of year. We stayed at Bridie’s Barn for a week in March last year and Skylarks this year and we really appreciated the luxury of the underfloor heating. Both cottages are to the same high standard. Extremely spacious, light and airy, well equipped and very clean.
It’s a lovely place to just sit and relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings which is what we did on the couple of mornings when it rained.
Carolyn and Richard are welcoming, friendly and helpful and the cream tea on arrival is an excellent start to a holiday in Cornwall.
Thank you so much!




Just one word: outstanding!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely 5 stars!
Arrived to a plate of warm freshly baked scones and homemade Jam, perfect after a long journey.
The accommodation is absolutely stunning, perfect base for exploring all the beautiful coves and beaches, and also all the usual tourist attractions, but also for unwinding after a busy day. The bath was just perfect! Carole certainly has an eye for detail, as the accommodation is immaculate, and has everything you could possibly need. Very comfortable, slept like a log!
Thankyou for a perfect stay. We will be back xx




Skylarks

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alan and I had a very relaxing stay at
skylarks. Everything we needed was catered for, the barn was warm and cosy, the setting was beautiful. Skylarks has easy access to the coastal path and many lovely places of interest. Carolyn was so helpful and friendly, we hope to return to this holiday home.




Another Fantastic Break at Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth/fifth stay at Downs Barn Farm and our second in Skylarks Barn. As per usual the standard of cleanliness was outstanding and the accommodation provided us with all we needed for a very comfortable and relaxing week's break. The weather was not always on our side however, this did not stop us venturing out on to the local coast path, exploring sheltered and quite coves, sheltering in one of the many local cafe's and restaurants or simply settling down on the sofa and watching the storms roll in off of the Atlantic (usually with some cake from St. Buryan's farm shop). Carolyn is a great host and we would not hesitate to recommend Skylarks. We look forward to returning to Downs Barn again in the near future for another chance to switch off and recharge.



Somewhere to chill out and relax!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our weeks stay at Skylarks Barn, it has lovely views from both the lounge and bedroom. It has been furnished and equipped with everything you could need for a perfect break away. Carolyn is very informative on things for you to do. Just a short walk from the property you can catch the hop on hop off bus from an unofficial bus stop (but they are happy to stop if you put your hand out) and explore the area. Thank you!



Another Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our year wouldn’t be complete without a stay at the Barns. A perfect place to explore West Cornwall from and a perfect place to relax. Everything you could need and more is provided by Carolyn who is very helpful and friendly. Bright, airy, modern, clean and well maintained. Highly recommended and looking forward to returning next year.



Another great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at the Barns where everything is catered for and a great location. Carolyn and Richard are great hosts and very accommodating, including Carolyn’s home made cream tea as a warm welcome! The barn is a very comfortable and relaxing space with views of the sea.
Close to great beaches, popular tourist spots and places to eat. Highly recommend!




The perfect place to stay if you want top class accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have just spent a perfect week in Skylarks Barn. Carolyn has thought of everything that you could possibly need. A perfect home from home. She was only too pleased to help with any queries we had. Nothing was too much trouble. We will not hesitate to stay at Downs Barn Farm again when we next stay in Penzance. Top Class Accommodation.



Fabulous Stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a fortnight in Skylarks and we have had an amazing time. We were greeted on arrival by our excellent, friendly host Carolyn. Skylarks is an amazing barn. Spotlessly clean, luxurious and extremely comfortable. The bed was huge and we both slept very well. We were impressed with all the little extras provided, which made our stay even more special.
Nothing was too much trouble - Carolyn and Richard are keen to ensure that their guests are enjoying their stay.
We were fortunate to have good weather, so we could enjoy the outside space, soaking up the sun and relaxing - not to mention the outstanding views. Bella and Rollo, the farm dogs, visited us frequently and kept us entertained!
Many thanks for a wonderful holiday - we will return.




Beautiful, tranquil apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is a beautiful apartment overlooking open countryside with the sea in the distance. We are returning guests and absolutely love it at Downs Barn Farm. It is peaceful and relaxing and the apartment is spotless with everything you could wish for. Carolyn is the perfect host and on hand for anything you might need. The location is brilliant - close to lovely beaches and walks, as well as being a short drive into Penzance, St Ives and Marazion.
Would highly recommend!




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it so much last year we came back again. Just as good second time around, all you could ask for a perfect holiday.



Always excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay and it never disappoints. Lovely spacious unit, sea views and peaceful surroundings. Welcome cream tea when we arrived; and enthusiastic welcome from the attentive and well behaved farm dogs. We have already booked for next year, which says it all.



A really great place

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have no trouble recommending skylarks barn as a holiday destination. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is very well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable relaxing holiday. The views into Mount's Bay are beautiful and catching a glimpse of the barn owl hunting most evenings was an added bonus. We have already booked next year



Another fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always Carolyn and Richard were brilliant hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and Skylarks never disappoints. We enjoyed a few delicious meals out at the Mackerel Sky Bar, the Mexico Inn and the Ruin Beach Cafe on Tresco. We could have done with a few more days and will be back as soon as we can.



Another great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve been coming here every year for the past six years! We love it. It’s spotlessly clean, everything you could possibly need is provided and you can relax the moment you walk through the door.



Skylarks

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Skykarks. But for lockdown, it would have been three in annual succession. Need I say more?



Skylarks stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful,comfortable, clean accommodation with all needs catered for, they’ve thought of everything ! Lovely warm welcome from Carolyn , Belle and Rolo , and the best scones ever! Perfect location for visiting north and south coast of this part of Cornwall , including lovely walk through St Loys wood to the coast. Hope to return some time in the future.



A lovely week

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at “ Bridies Barn” on a previous visit and found “Skylarks equally as comfortable.We hope to return on many more occasions. Carolyn is an excellent hostess. We wished we could have stayed longer.



Perfect rural escape

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently took a five night break with friends in Downs Barn Farm and can confirm that the 5* reviews are all correct! Skylarks Barn was delightful and although the weather could have been better, we were warm and cosy and had every modern convenience at our disposal. The Barn was really well equipped and both the bedroom and bathroom were very luxurious.

Carolyn and her family were on hand to answer any questions and nothing was too much trouble.

Altogether a perfect setting for a rural escape!




A beautiful and relaxing place to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times before and always look forward to returning! Both barns are beautiful places to stay - they are immaculately clean, well equipped, modern and in a lovely quiet location. Carolyn and Richard are the perfect hosts. There are plenty of places, within a few miles of Downs Barn Farm, which are well worth a visit. It is one of our favourite, and most relaxing places to stay. Highly recommend it!



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at Skylarks, the space was bright, clean and the under floor heating was amazing! It has a lovely modern feel with an amazing bath tub and walk in shower, plus a double oven, dishwasher and washing machine. Skylarks had wonderful views over the fields and ocean in the distance. There was absolutely everything you would need for a self-catering holiday in Skylarks, there was nothing that hadn't been thought off. It was amazing being right on the farm and getting to see the cows and horses. Carolyn was most welcoming and we had a lovely cream tea on arrival. Skylarks is fairly central to most tourist locations by car and supermarkets close by. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and it was good value for money. We would love to stay at Skylarks again in the future.



Cornish comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed and comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location. Very hospitable and friendly hosts.



Perfect as always!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve lost count of how many times we’ve stayed here now! Everything is simply perfect. The accommodation is light, airy, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Everything you could possibly need and more is provided to make your stay relaxing and stress free. We were very happy with the way Carolyn implemented extra measures to deal with Covid and felt very safe. We’ve already booked to return next year.



Perfect Location

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet location in the Cornish countryside, perfect for all local ammenities and attractions. Ideal for walks from the door, coastal path and local pub (St. Buryan) only 20 minutes away. Accommodation spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything provided for a holiday getaway. We were lucky with the weather enabling us to take advantage of the sunny outside seating area, generally joined by the friendly farm dogs. Highly recommended if you want a relaxing holiday.



Our stay at Skylarks

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely place to stay, very quiet. No doubt we will come back in the future.
Have recommended it to friends and family.
Carolyn was very attentive and helpful.
Scones when you arrive was a nice touch.
Looking forward to our next visit.




Summer break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carolyn was very helpful and friendly. The accommodation was lovely and had everything you need.
Rolo and Belle the dogs were very cute, regularly popping by for some fuss.
It was great to stroke the cows too.
We enjoyed an adventurous walk to the local pub across the fields, visited Sennen cove, Porthcurno beach, Lands end and climbed the rocks at Porthgwarra. If you take bikes it’s a must to complete the Camel trail. We also cycled from Mousehole to Marazion along the coastal path which was an easy scenic route.




Outstanding holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had high hopes for our stay at Downs Barn Farm bases on previous reviews and were not disappointed. Skylarks barn was spaxious, the views were amazing and every possible need or want had been anticipated. Carolyn and Richard are amazing hosts, and the folder of information about local amenities, walks, guides to the appliances and even takeaway menus became our go to guide. We cannot fault anything at all and have already planned our return visit.



Simply perfect, home from home!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If we say that we rebooked before we even left for home, you will know what a fantastic time we had during our stay. Everything you could need or want is provided, the cleanliness is second to none and the location is so peaceful with a fantastic view.



A very good experience staying here

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Evert spect of or stay was excellent, with reference customer relations and all facilities particularly good for our use. The weather made our use of the outdoor facilities especially good .

The only feature fr improvement is the front door locking and unlocking.




Skylark barn

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and attention to detail..Carolyn and Richard have thought of everything we would definitely recommend it..



Restful

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving at skylarks you can feel yourself letting go of your day to day cares. We had soon forgotten what day it was. The stunning scenery is so calming and the location is perfect for visiting any of the lovely beaches down in the far west of Cornwall. Our only decision each day was which one! We shall have to visit again.



The best self catering accommodation ever!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit. It was so good the first time that we stayed for two weeks this year. We were welcomed by our lovely hostess with flowers and a cream tea. The accommodatoin is smart, stylish and very practical.
The accommodation has wonderful long distance sea views. Brilliant dark sky for those who enjoy star gazing.
SKylarks is sited on a working farm which adds to the interest and rural setting. Very friendlyand well behaved farm dogs. We will stay here again. Well situated for exploring the SW coastal path around West Penrith.




Holiday at Skylarks, Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Partner & I stayed at Skylarks the first two weeks after the Covid-19 lockdown had been lifted. To say we were ready for a holiday was an under statement and we normally go abroad and stay in a 5 star hotel, so this was a completely different holiday for us. Skylarks did not disappoint, it was just fabulous, the place was just as the photo's on the web sit show. It was spotlessly clean and had good quality towels, bath robes and bedding. The bed was large and very comfortable, the bedroom was large with plenty of storage space with large doors that opened onto a private patio area. Outside on the Patio had lovely rattan patio furniture and a BBQ, sadly the weather was not that good for us but this did not detract from the wonderful holiday we had at Downs Barn Farm.
There was everything you could need for a self catering holiday, it is very well equipped and the little touches like fresh flowers and Carolyn's gorgeous cream tea (which are to die for) made this a fabulous place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Carolyn and Richard and we thank them for making us so welcome. We would rate this accommodation 5 stars.




Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic self catering accommodation, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Very caring hosts and nothing too much trouble.
Views over the sea making it thoroughly an excellent place to stay.




Simply The Best!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Downs Barns and stay there two or three times a year. From the moment you walk in it’s welcoming and relaxing. Carolyn has thought of everything you could possibly need for a perfect self catering holiday. It’s always spotlessly clean and there are protocols in place which made us feel very safe to stay there during the pandemic. We just don’t bother to go on holiday anywhere else now that we have found this beautiful place.



Yet another fabulous stay at Skylarks!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is always a joy to spend time at Skylarks and much needed after a long lockdown. The sun shone nearly every day and we managed to enjoy a number of meals out in an outdoor and distanced way. Carolyn and Richard are always kind and attentive hosts and we can't wait for our next visit.



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only problem with Downs Barn farm is we have to go home. Never mind back in May then October and will book some other dates.



Returning visit

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to stay at Downs Barn Farm as we found it the ideal place to relax in a beautiful cottage, with everything provided to make our stay perfect.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Downs Barns for quite a few years now and wouldn’t want to go on holiday anywhere else! Outstanding accommodation where everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday is provided. Very helpful and friendly owners.We were quite concerned about going on holiday this year due to Covid-19 but the protocols in place were second to none and our much needed stay was as relaxing and stress free as usual.



Wonderful stay at Skylarks

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent find in a beautiful location. Everything in the property was spot on and well thought out. Owners very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Very relaxing place to stay in beautiful surroundings with a welcoming home made cream tea from the owners.



Skylarks

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation on a working farm, with views of the sea from the comfortable sofa. Great for walking as the South
West peninsular path can be accessed on foot from the property. Superb and quiet walking. Close to the Minack theatre, another
site not to be missed. Everything provided, even the very friendly farm dogs. We had a great stay.




A fabulous stay in Skylarks as always.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Skylarks this year. Carolyn has gone to a lot of effort to make sure that everything is spotlessly clean and risk free form Covid. We enjoyed a safe and comfortable week and the weather was perfect! Thank you.



Falling in love with West Cornwall....

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Classy, brilliantly equipped and a sanctuary to return to at the end of a long day - Skylarks was a delight. From the delicious welcome cream tea (the jam and scones were homemade and exceptional), to the warm welcome from Carolyn even in stormy weather, we could not fault our stay for the week. An idyllic and peaceful location, yet convenient to visit so many places, Mousehole - still unspoilt 20 years on from my last visit, Marazion and St Michaels Mount - elegant and mystical, St Loy cove - a lovely hike from the farm for a picnic and near total privacy, to Sennan Cove - breathtaking surf and beach and the utterly mesmerising Minack theatre for a show - we could go on and on. We looked forward to coming back to Skylarks everyday and sitting on the decking (we loved the farm dogs visits for a quick cuddle) looking out to sea and then watching the sunset over Lands End. The huge window in Skylarks give a panoramic spellbinding look at the night sky so close you feel you could reach out and touch the stars.
Simply put - Downlands farm has it all with bells on and we will definitely be back.




Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay at skylarks. Beautiful, spotless accommodation with a short walk to St Lot’s beach. Incredibly peaceful setting, perfect for getting away for a quiet break.
Carolyn was a brilliant host and we’ll certainly look to go back




A wonderful peaceful rural location!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Skylarks for an early summer break and it was fabulous. Far reaching views to the sea from the living area and wonderful spacious patio. Well equipped, sparkling clean, peaceful, large bath and comfy bed! It's also well located for so many days out - Mousehole, Lamorna Cove, St Ives, Minack Theatre, Porthcurno and the not to be missed coastal walking.



Perfect weekend retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely superb accommodation! Down's Barn Farm is ideally located for exploring the coastline of west Cornwall and the self catering facilities provided by Carolyn and Richard are second to none. Their contemporary style is reflected in every little detail, from the stylish lighting to the crockery and glassware in the cupboards and we were even provided with a few locally produced essentials for our stay. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome and would highly recommend Skylarks for any couple wishing to get away from it all.



A perfect place to relax whatever the weather!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect bolt-hole in inclement weather, A warm and friendly welcome, once again, from Carolyn and a welcoming warmth from the underfloor heating on our arrival! Lovely outlook to fields and sea, no doubt perfect in summer, but we were glad of the glass doors protecting us from wind and rain! Our comfort was catered for fully.



Another fabulous stay at Skylarks!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Skylarks on a number of occasions and always thoroughly enjoy ourselves. It has become home from home. Carolyn and Richard are helpful and attentive hosts. This time we enjoyed the coast in wild and windy weather but the sun still managed to light up the skies. We discovered new coves, walks and suppliers of tasty Cornish pasties. No sign of Poldark though.



Attention to detail

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was of the best of quality which made it a pleasure to be at Skylarks. Despite being there in wild storms we were warm and comfortable.



A short stay at Skylark

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we say ,fantastic accommodation with everything we needed for a relaxing break.Light and airy with tasteful decor which made a very comfortable stay.Beautiful bathroom to relax in after a day out.
Carolyn is a perfect host nothing is too much trouble .She also makes the most amazing scones which were waiting for us on arrival .Delicious!
Will definitely return .






Cosy, comfy, quiet retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carolyn was a wonderful host. Seeing the sea was a bonus. The place was modern, comfortable, great bed, well appointed. Local pub choice good- liked the Logan Rock Inn. Will be back!



A little bit of heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to Downs Barns this year and I’ve lost count of how many times we’ve stayed here over the past few years! Other places we’ve tried just aren’t as good as this. It’s perfect. The minute we walk in the door we feel relaxed. The accommodation is light, airy, spacious and always spotlessly clean. Everything you could possibly need is provided including a delicious cream tea and a warm welcome from the very friendly hosts - Carolyn and Richard. We can’t wait to go back next year.



Cornwall at it's best

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent holiday home, very well equipped to a high standard. The location is ideal for exploring the area. The owner’s attention to detail is clear, and the lovely cream tea on arrival was most welcome after a very long drive.



Beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve lost count of the number of times we’ve stayed at this beautiful place now! We try and force ourselves to go somewhere else but just know that it won’t match up to Downs Barns!
The location is good...very easy to get to other places such as Mousehole, Porthcurno or Sennen and you can walk to St Loy’s Cove and Lamorna Cove too. You can also just sit on the lovely garden furniture enjoying the view down to the sea and the wonderful peace and quiet. So relaxing that you might find it hard to move!
Carolyn is a great host and has thought of everything that you could possibly need during your stay. We have never stayed in such well equipped holiday accommodation anywhere else.
Can’t wait to return.





Brilliant holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was very good for us to get out and visit many quiet and lovely bays and beaches. The information sheets in the cottage gave very good indications of the best places to visit. We can thoroughly recommend having breakfast at the farm house and being spoilt by Carolyne. Excellent holiday.



Best ever self catering

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks had everything we needed, and more. Beautifully appointed, welcoming, comfortable and private. Amazing sea views. Easy access to the coast.



Simply the best

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Downs Barns are simply the best accommodation we have stayed in and we will be having all three of our holidays there this year. Carolyn is such a friendly host, providing a warm welcome and the most delicious scones. The accommodation is always spotlessly clean and everything is high quality. Lovely, Egyptian cotton sheets and huge fluffy towels, a comfortable bed and sofa, a luxurious shower and toiletries. It is a wonderful place to relax and unwind and very well placed for walks from your front door or to explore further afield by car. Definitely 5 star accommodation.



A memorable stay for all the right reasons.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Being greeted by Carolyn our host, carrying a plate of scones straight from the oven certainly provided a very warm welcome! This set the tone for our week spent in very comfortable accommodation with lovely sea views by day and starry skies at night.
The converted barn was beautifully furnished in a bright, modern style and was extremely well equipped. We had everything required to make our holiday perfect, especially in the kitchen.
Carolyn was very friendly and helpful, offering very useful local knowledge about walks and places to visit, which we appreciated. There was plenty to do with coastal walks easily accessible, some from the door and the Minack Theatre, Telegraph Museum, Mousehole and Land’s End all within a six mile radius.
Being a working farm made the holiday even more interesting, with the cattle to observe and work in the fields as well as the interaction with beautifully behaved but very good natured dogs, Belle and Rolo along with Poppy and Abel who also live on site.
Thank you for providing such a lovely quiet place to relax and enjoy. We would love to return.




Fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a wonderful, peaceful location. Walks from the door and short drives to many lovely attractions. Charming well behaved dogs we were lucky enough to borrow for a local walk was a bonus.



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Skylark's barn. Perfect hosting from Carolyn. We loved all the attention to detail and the extra touches. Beautifully furnished. Total luxury and comfort. We would love to stay again in the future.



Fantastic place to stay..

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you could want and more to make your stay in Cornwall one to remember. Everything was provided and the hosts were excellent.



Our favourite place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our favourite place to stay. We have been going back for a couple of years now because it is so good. Carolyn and Richard are perfect hosts. The accommodation is outstanding for design, comfort and cleanliness. We feel relaxed the minute we walk in the door. Everything you need is supplied... gorgeous, fluffy white towels and bathrobes, beautiful bed linen and even the little things like washing up liquid and hand soap. We love it so much that we will be going back there for 3 holidays next year as nowhere else matches up to the high bar that Carolyn has set.



Fantastic cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival received a warm welcome from Carolyn, Belle and Rolo.

Skylarks did not disappoint - luxury, well equipped, fantastic views and so peaceful. On a clear night conditions were ideal for a bit of star gazing.
Location was spot on for exploring Lands End, Sennen, Lizard, Minack Theatre etc.

Belle and Rolo were such well behaved dogs, coming to greet you each time you came back to the cottage.

It was definitely worth the long drive to get here.






Simply the best!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just keep returning to this beautiful barn. Reluctant to tell everyone else just how lovely it is in case we can’t book it again! Had a fantastic two week stay and didn’t want to go home. We relaxed from the minute we arrived. Carolyn, Richard and the dogs make you very welcome and they work very hard to make sure that everything is perfect when you arrive. It is spotlessly clean, has the most comfortable bed we’ve ever slept in with beautiful bed linen, a really good shower and comfortable sofa. Everything you could need has been thought of.
This place really does deserve five stars.




Beautiful quiet setting for weary travelers at the end of the day.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Downs Barn Skylarks cottage was amazing! Everything we needed and more! Beautiful setting, lovely open kitchen,
Gorgeous soaking tub and rain shower. Just outstanding! We traveled about a great deal and were so happy to return to
Such a quiet and serene place. Carolyn and Richard were wonderful hosts. We ate delicious breakfasts at the B and B several times. Didn’t need any lunch, the breakfasts were so filling and scrumptious. Can’t wait until we can return again!




Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and accommodation. Very friendly reception. Very quiet, we loved it and would like to go again.



Penwith paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb cottage, compact but well kitted out with everything you would need to enjoy a holiday in a peaceful and beautiful location. Picture windows give you a lovely view across the farmland and to the sea though on very sunny days the cottage did get a bit too warm, and this was in May! Carolyn and Richard couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.



Looking forward to our next stay at Skylarks

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can only concur with all the other positive comments about Skylarks which also gave us some ideas for our new extension!



Great Spring Getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great short break at Skylarks. Wonderful accommodation close to many lovely beaches and towns to visit. Weather was mixed however it was great to return to somewhere we knew would give us a nice relaxing time.



A last minute decision

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My visit to Cornwal was a last minute decision, so I needed to plan and book everything fast. I was very pleased to be able to arrange, confirm details and book a beautifully designed cottage win all modern high spec amenities at the Downs Barn Fern. The accommodation is excellent and the service is outstanding. I was made very comfortable and well looked after which is more important when traveling solo. Highly recommend.

Even though generally speaking the cottage and all the amenities were very clean and clearly well looked after, One let down was finding uncleared trash from the previous occupants in the kitchen trashcan and finding someone’s forgotten used socks in the chest of drawers in the bedroom.




Comfortable homestay and Ideally located

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay at Downs Barn Farm as it's very handy for a project we're currently working on and Carolyn has always made us feel very welcome. We especially recommend the eggs for breakfast!



Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Skylarks for a short break soon after Christmas. It was the perfect place to recover from the festivities and unwind. Carolyn was waiting for us on arrival with a delicious plate of warm scones, clotted cream and jam. The barn is spotlessly clean, meticulously designed and has everything that you could possibly need. The views are stunning, just sit, sip a glass of wine and watch the sun set across the fields. A short walk takes you to the nearest cove at St Loy and from there you can pick up the coastal path. The location is in easy reach of so many iconic places, yet also beautifully peaceful for those who just want to chill. We certainly felt very much at home and have already booked our next visit.



Beautiful Christmas break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Downs Barn so much that we can’t think of anywhere we would rather spend Christmas (which is why we keep coming back!) The Skylarks Cottage is amazing and Carolyn and Richard are wonderful hosts. We couldn’t have asked for more and will definitely be back next year.



Incredible!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was honestly the most amazing experience I've had renting a holiday spot! Carolyn was so welcoming and the home was incredible. Truly set the basis for a fantastic time in Cornwall!!



Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit to Downs Barns for us. We love Skylarks. From the moment you walk in the door you relax and your holiday begins. It is bright and airy, luxurious and spotless. The bed is very comfortable with good quality bed linen and the shower is very good.
You will receive a warm welcome from Carolyn and a plate of her amazing scones.
I can recommend Downs Barns without hesitation. If you book it I’m sure you will not be disappointed.




Carolyn replied more than 1 year ago
So delighted that you are such a regular visitor to Skylarks and that you enjoy your visits(and scones) so much. We can't wait to see you again in 2018.

5 night stay at skylarks

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can I say - our 10th stay and fabulous as ever - always a warm welcome and scones to die for



Carolyn replied more than 1 year ago
Love having you back time and time again, 10 visits, that's fantastic. I will keep cooking those scones!

This is a fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This facility could not be improved upon. Superbly equipped and all aspects so comfortable and relaxing. It is remotely situated - ideal for a quiet, relaxing break and only short distances from the beautiful scenery beaches and cliff walks. A Farmhouse breakfast is available - would recommend it highly - fantastic quality and atmosphere.

Carolyn and Richard are superb hosts and not forgetting the friendly dogs and horses.

An absolute must if you are visiting this part of Cornwall.




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
Really pleased you couldn't think of anything we could improve upon. That is always our aim as we want all of our guests to have a stress free, relaxing holiday. Delighted you took up the option of farmhouse breakfasts on some of the mornings, really enjoyed hearing about your holiday and making some recommendations for you. Rolo & Belle are missing your attention so please come back and see us again soon!

SkyLarks

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, even with the British summer weather.
Absolutely everything there in the house, and perfect for two adults, with plenty of space.
Lovely morning hello from the two softie labradors

Would stay again happily




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
The summer weather was a bit of a challenge this year! Very pleased that you enjoyed Skylarks despite the rain, it is a lovely light filled, cosy place to return to at the end of a day out. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you back.

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome and warm scones to greet us on arrival. Beautifully appointed and in a lovely location. Everything you needed was provided, but could do with a fly zapper!




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your arrival treat of a homemade Cornish cream tea and your stay in Skylarks. We hope to see you again soon.

Great customer service

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really clean and modern with everything you need in place. Very enjoyable stay I have said what I needed to say why do you want more?




Holiday summary

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was faultless, perfect location piece and quiete would happily recommend this property to others.owners very friendly and helpful.



Absolute best place to stay for our holiday in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks has been the absolute best place to stay for our holiday in Cornwall. Our last trip to Cornwall was about twentyfive years ago with rucksacks and by coach. So this time was quite a contrast. We love this wonderful cottage. The view over the garden and fields on the sea is peaceful and relaxing. It is a fantastic location for doing some walks along the beautiful coast enjoying the scenery. The views are absolutely fantastic at any time of day and we have made well over 500 pictures.
Unfortunately, we can’t believe it, even three weeks holiday can go by very fast. It was a great time and it has brought us everything we have dreamed of. We could relax and calm down and would love to stay for longer but we have to go back to Zurich, Switzerland.
Thank you Carolyn for making us so welcome and the cream tea on arrival. We would love to come back some time soon.




The best possible accommodation. Could happily have stayed there for weeks.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the peace and quiet of the location, and the wonderful open views, and the horses in the adjoining field. Enjoyed having breakfast in the farmhouse, and sharing our plans and previous days activities with other guests. Enjoyed walking to the coastal footpath from the farm, without needing to use the car. An easy walk through fields to St Buryans for the paper and excellent grocery store. A memorable holiday. Hoping to repeat it next year.



A short sojourn by the sea

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only stayed at the cottage very briefly, however, our time there was great.

We were provided with excellent directions how to locate the place which we actually didn't have any issues finding anyway the signs are clear and easy to follow.

Comfortable both in temperature and decor there is little I could suggest to improve the location.

There is a guest book from previous residents, we decided not to participate in this however from reading others I can see that the owners have really listened to feedback and improved the service a great deal.

We will probably be visiting again at some point in the future and look forward to it wholeheartedly.




fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
superb accommodation in an ideal location which is great for visiting all that the area has to offer.



quiet and relaxing

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for a short or long break, good coastal walks, an ideal location to get away from it all and relax for a while



Stay at skylarks downs barn farm

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As this must be our ninth stay with amazing hosts Carolyn and Richard I think it speaks for itself. Really there is nothing to fault- amazing views, scones on arrival to die for and stunning conversion. We are always desperate to get back there - Twice a year at least



Wow!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this place. It has to be the best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. You just walk through the door and relax because it is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and everything you could possibly need has been provided.There is always a warm welcome from Carolyn and Richard and the friendly dogs. If you stay here I'm sure you won't be disappointed.



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is perfect and offers a comfortable, relaxing break. Just bring the food and you have everything you need for a wonderful escape. Even better than the pictures........ if you like quality this is for you. Highly recommended.



Amazing all round

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I arrived on the 30th December 2016 for 3 nights.

Right from the first contact we experienced with Carolyn it was very welcoming and professional. We arrived after a long journey from Manchester and Carolyn (also Richard in his Tractor) were there to meet and greet us. We were shown around Skylarks and all the facilities it had to offer. Carolyn had also made us home made scones and Jam which is a above an beyond touch.

Skylarks is certainly a 5 star rated accomodaton it has everything you can imagine, luxury lighting in the bathroom's and kitchen, under floor heating, 42" Smart TV, Wifi to name but a few.

We particularly enjoyed the bi-folding doors that opened right up so you could watch the stars from the compfy sofa. The cottage itself is absolutely spotless.

Caroline advised us of a walk we could take down to their local bay. Stunning walk through woods and some rocks. Would recommend to anyone who is staying at Downs Barn Farm. We also visited the Minack Theatre and Lands End which i would highly recommend to anyone and only a 15 minute drive.

To conclude Skylarks is certainly 5 stars all round. Well done to Caroline and family for creating these amazing cottages.




Sunsets from Skylarks

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived early as our journey had been smooth. The dogs were first to greet us. They were a delight throughout the week. Carolyn introduced us to Skylarks and made us feel instantly at home. We had tea and scones and then took our first walk down to St Loy and along the coastal path. For the rest of the week it was such a joy to be able to walk to Lamorna, Mousehole, Minack Theatre and Porthcurno right from the door. We did drive out too to Gurnard's Head one day and to Cape Cornwall on another day. Both excellent outings, with contasting landscapes.

The barn itself was really comfortable and the fixtures and fittings were perfect. Carolyn maintains the properties with an expertise second to none. Skylarks was in pristine condition when we arrived and we looked forward to returning each evening to relax and enjoy it. When we read the Visitor's Book we noticed many guests return to Downs Barn Farm. Small wonder. We loved our stay from start to finish!





Luxury Boutique Style 5* Accommodation Stay - not to be missed!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can you say that has not already been said about Skylark - It is a truly 5* accommodation! Don't deprive yourself of the beautiful bathroom, the perfect nice sleep in the sumptuous bed and sitting on the deck looking out beyond the fields to the Sea, all simply Stunning.

We had a lovely week at Skylark and last but not least Carolyn (and Richard) was the best host ever! Carolyn was warm & welcoming and it felt like we had known her for years.

PS. Downs Farm also does B&B, so you can go over to the Farm and have breakfast. There is an excellent breakfast menu choice, we had a full breakfast, it was absolutely Delicious.

We hope to visit again soon!

Richard & Sonia




Another Relaxing Week

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This will be our third time at Skylarks, at Downs Barn Farm, and Carolyn still maintains her very high standards even though she has her family to think of too. We always go into the farmhouse for breakfast and interaction with her other bed and breakfast guests was one of the highlights of the week. Conversation was very varied and breakfast time stretched to over an hour most days. Carolyn loves opening her home to visitors and nothing is too much trouble; from organising taxis, providing information about locations to visit and how to get there, to making evening meal reservations at her favourite restaurants. I never did find Ross Poldark this year but did bring him home with me - on a postcard. Thank you Carolyn and Richard; we look forward to returning again next year and we will continue to recommend your home to our friends who are looking for something extra special.



Well recommended.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is airy, spacious, beautifully appointed and equipped with everything you could possibly need to enjoy a self-catering holiday in a gloriously peaceful location. We loved it. And we will return.



Perfection

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you stay here you won't be disappointed. Perfect in every way. Luxurious accommodation in beautiful surroundings. Can't wait to return for our 4th visit.



Lovely comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has a very modern interior with everything one could need to make a self-catering holiday as easy as possible.
The location is tranquil and views lovely. Perfect stay in West Cornwall.




Stunning views fantastic accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks was a wonderful place to relax and unwind, the views across the Cornish countryside was amazing. Carolyn was very welcoming, helpful, so knowledge of the area and we had a loveky homemade cream tea on arrival. Everything was there that we needed to make our holiday so enjoyable. Would recommend Downs Barn Farm to another who wants a relaxing Holiday in Cornwall with all the home comforts. We would certainly go back again. Xxx



5* and nothing less, beautiful decor & views across the fields with ponies to the sea & the dogs!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carolyn has everything just right & then some, from the beach towel and bag to the thermos in case you need it.
Loved the B&B last year and nice to move on to self catering in Skylarks, and lovely to finish off our week by having B&B in the house with my husband's favourite Eggs Benedict catered to thank you we'll be back




Superb luxury accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 12th year visiting Down’s Barn Farm and we absolutely love it. The location is fabulous and we cannot fault Skylarks as a base for visiting this stunning part of Cornwall. The facilities and luxury offered in Skylarks are amazing and we didn’t want to leave. Carolyn’s marvellous breakfasts and hospitality made our stay extra special and, this year, we were blessed with sunny and warm weather for the entire week!

During our stay we managed to fit in so many spectacular coastal walks, visited Sennen Cove, Porthcurno, Porthgwarra and took the train to St. Ives. We spent a lovely evening at the Beach Restaurant in Sennen and were lucky enough to see a glorious sunset. The food and location were fantastic and we were treated to some live music from local musicians. We also ate at 2 Fore Street in Mousehole and the food was delicious.

Thank you Carolyn and Richard for making our stay so special and thank you for the welcoming warm scones on arrival!

Love and hugs to Rolo, Belle and Abel too.

See you again soon.
Annie & Malc





skylarks - west cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
skylarks is a self-contained b&b located on a potato farm in wesr cornwall. it comes fiitted out
to a very high degree of furnishing and fittings
the landlady (carolyn care) is always ready to assist and if you decide to have breakfast in
the farmhouse it is a treat not to be missed.
parking is easy - plenty of space
enjoy. fg




our stay in skylarks,

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday in Skylarks barn from 29/4/16 to 06/05/16. What can i say, everything was just perfect, lovely warm stylish modern barn with a mega comfortable bed and luxury bathroom . A lovely distant sea view through the bi fold patio doors. Amazing star lit skies at night and fabulous coastal walks straight from the door, Skylarks barn has it all !!!
On arrival Carolyn provided us with a lovely cream tea and we had a delicious breakfast in the farmhouse one morning for a treat.
Enjoyed making friends with Belle,Rolo & Able,( the delightful dogs.)
To sum it up we had a fabulous holiday and can't wait to return!!!
( just wanted to mention the Minack theatre, we enjoyed two concerts there whilst staying at Skylarks,what an amazing venue and only ten minutes drive from Downs barn farm, a must if you get chance.)




Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay here and we love it. Carolyn makes you feel very welcome without being obtrusive. The barn is beautifully light, warm, airy, clean, tastefully furnished and very luxurious. Everything you need and more, is provided. The best holiday accommodation we have found. I would give it 6 stars! Can't wait to return in the Summer.



Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in Skylarks at Downs Barn Farm. The converted cow shed had been beautifully modernised with a state of the art kitchen, superb bathroom with a great bath, separate shower enclosure with full width by fold doors - immaculate. It was one of the best equipped self catering properties we had stayed in and allowed for every meal that you wanted to cook. Carolyn the owner was very welcoming and helpful.

The location is tranquil and well placed for visiting numerous sites close by the beech at Porthcorno and St Michael's Mount being particular highlights. Lovely restaurants abound and we particularly enjoyed the meals we had at 2 Fore Street in Mousehole close by.




An idyllic spot in Cornwall.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really well thought out, spacious, tranquil holiday property for adults. It has lovely views from the sitting room and the location is great for sightseeing in Cornwall. The owner Carolyn was very accommodating when we booked the property and met us whilst we were there, which was really nice. The homemade scones with jam and cream, that were left for us, was a delicious treat as was the homemade marmalade. The property really is in a lovely part of the country and an idyllic place to stay.



Absolutely beautiful!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks is a stunning converted barn in an absolutely beautiful location. You coudln't wish for more from Skylarks and Carolyn and Richard and wonderful hosts.



We often stay on a farm. This was the best place ever!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can we say? We have nothing more to add, so please accept that we do not have anything more to add. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..



Even Better Second Time Around

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? Wonder woman does it again perhaps. Our second stay at Skylarks was even better this year as we were familiar with the barn and all it contains. The weather was perfect and we spent most afternoons sat on the patio reading in the warm sunshine. There was no need to venture far, but if we did all the obvious places to visit were in a 40 mile radius.
Carolyn has thought carefully about the barn conversion; how it was constructed, its layout and what furnishings it should have.
She has equipped Skylarks to a very high standard; nothing is lacking. The accommodation is light and airy, has bi-folding doors for fresh air and feels very warm because of the good insulation. We were able to watch the eclipse and super moon from the settee in the lounge area through the high gable end windows without having to go outside. We had an excellent breakfast in the farmhouse every day; the menu had various choices but Carolyn was happy to provide whatever we wanted. She was bright and cheery every day and made us very welcome. So thank you for a lovely week.




5 Star Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks was perfect for us. A great location for exploring the area but far enough away from the crowds when you wanted peace and quiet. The barn was light and spacious, absolutely spotless, it was a real home from home and everything you could need was provided and more: the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, huge, fluffy, white towels, a very comfortable sofa and a lovely view of the sea over the fields. We would not hesitate in recommending that you book one of the barns but obviously not when we want to go there!



5 Star Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skylarks was perfect for us. A great location for exploring the area but far enough away from the crowds when you wanted peace and quiet. The barn was light and spacious, absolutely spotless, it was a real home from home and everything you could need was provided and more: the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, huge, fluffy, white towels, a very comfortable sofa and a lovely view of the sea over the fields. We would not hesitate in recommending that you book one of the barns but obviously not when we want to go there!



5 days in Conrwall

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent wonderful holidays in a comfortable, lovely, quiet cottage.
The area is really peaceful, near many places to walk along the coast path.
Skylarks is perfect for relaxing, enjoying the garden, cooking, feel good !




5 days in Conrwall

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent wonderful holidays in a comfortable, lovely, quiet cottage.
The area is really peaceful, near many places to walk along the coast path.
Skylarks is perfect for relaxing, enjoying the garden, cooking, feel good !