FB Twitter

Tom's Barn

Tom's Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 42 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Romantic cottage for two in an ifyllic rural village setting. next to open countryside. Dog-friendly, logburner, galleried bedroom, wonderful walks from the door

Fabulous place to stay, beautiful surroundings, and great hospitality.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Toms Barn is stylish, in lovely grounds, with many thoughtful touches. Angela and Robert are ideal hosts and we will go back.

Hazel from Horsham stayed at Tom's Barn for 5 nights in April 2021


Lovely peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jan 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying here and we have now stayed in both barns. As always we were very warmly greeted. Obviously, very different this time due to covid restrictions in place but felt everything done to provide a safe stay. Our barn was well equipped with everything we needed including places to visit to places to eat. Anything else we required a quick call was all we needed do. The barn felt very cosy with the beautiful log fire and very deep relaxing bath.
My girlfriend left her necklace in the barn and it was very kindly posted back to her that very same day. We had a lovely few days even with the covid restrictions in place. We hope to return in the future but as a personal preference we prefer Douglas’ Barn. Great place and would highly recommend.


Scott from Corby stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in October 2020


Nice Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice short stay for 3 nights
Barn is very cosy and comfortable
Pub in village is good and easy access to Tissington Trail, but not much else in the area (walking distance)


Hannah from Stafford stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in October 2020


Very relaxing short break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good communication with hosts prior to arrival. Angela and Robert were very welcoming. The cottage was exactly as described. Everything we needed was provided. Great facilities for being totally self catering. We appreciated the thoughtful touches e.g. milk, bread and eggs, walking books and maps. Lots of care taken to make the cottage Covid secure. We found the unusual spa bath/shower unit awkward to enter and exit and not very comfortable. This was the only drawback to this beautiful cottage with a lovely atmosphere. The village pub (also the shop) was excellent with tasty food and friendly staff.

Anne from Chester Le Street stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in September 2020


A break in Derbyshire

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We originally planned this stay for much earlier in the year but due to COVID the owners allowed us to postpone until we could visit. All communications were excellent and the owners were very welcoming and friendly as were the other guests in barn next door. We spent a lovely couple of hours sat in the sun chatting.
Angela allowed us to lock our bikes up in her outhouse and we spent a lovely day cycling the Tissington Trail. Lots of safe biking trails within easy reach and all car free. Parwich is a lovely village and the food at the local pub The Sycamore great value.


Marie from Leyland stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in September 2020


Outstanding accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the barns on several occasions. The standard of accommodation is superb and Angela could not be more welcoming. We had every confidence that we would feel as comfortable staying with the Covid-19 regulations so as always we had a very relaxing stay. A perfect base from which to explore Derbyshire and spend time with our grandchildren.

Ruth from Stokesley stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in August 2020


A Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a very lovely stay in a beautiful and spacious cottage. We were blessed with great weather, and enjoyed walking in the area.

A small warning for non-car users, the village is a little remote and only has a small local shop, which will provide you with food basics. For an extended stay, I would advise a big shop before arrival.


Adam from Sheffield stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in July 2020


A much needed break away from self isolating at home. We felt safe & comfortable at Tom's Barn.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely owners. Peaceful & beautiful setting for exploring the Peak countryside. .

Roy from Nuneaton stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in July 2020


A Walker’ s Paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a tranquil getaway. Plenty of walks on the doorstep to suit all walkers. Our hosts Angela and Robert were excellent and always there for us without being intrusive at all. Certainly intend to go again.

Dorit from Harrogate stayed at Tom's Barn for 10 nights in July 2020


Very welcoming

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay
Superb location
Great size accommodation for 2 people
Bread eggs milk and lovely cake supplied
Also tea coffee sugar
Everything you need before you can do a proper shop


Keith from Birmingham stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in March 2020


A real home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Tom’s Barn and it was as lovely as we remembered. There are so many added touches that you don’t get in other cottages that make this really special. Aside from the beautiful location, the log fire, hot tub bath, super comfortable bed and thoughtfully stocked with essentials kitchen, it makes for a very relaxing break. Would not hesitate to recommend!

Alison from Gillingham stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in February 2020


Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit in six months. We enjoyed it so much the first time we came back! A very relaxing weekend and the log burner made it all the more cozy. Clean and comfortable and we would highly recommend. We will be back!

Karl from Burntwood stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in February 2020


Toms cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and comfortable cottage. Excelent log burner with plenty of logs. Home made cake and goodies on arrival, also fresh flowers which were a lovely touch.

Anita from York stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in January 2020


Christmas at Toms barn

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd stay at Toms barn. The standards are exactly the same as 5 years ago. Very comfy and equipped with everything you need. The welcome cake and provisions were much appreciated.


Stuart from Bury St. Edmunds stayed at Tom's Barn for 7 nights in December 2019


Fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely weekend in Tom’s Barn with our dog. Beautifully presented, perfectly clean and extremely homely. The welcome cake was a very welcome treat.

Anna from Stockport stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in November 2019


Weekend stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property - cosy and clean, a good base for a weekend in the peaks. Angela was very accommodating, allowing us to move the weekend of our stay when we could no longer visit on the initial date. We loved the extra touches such as the homemade cake on arrival and milk in the fridge. Will be recommending the cottages to friends and family.

Ellen from Chesterfield stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in November 2019


Relaxing Weekend Break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Lovely couple of evenings stay at Tom's Barn. The property has everything you could need as well as some lovely touches when we arrived of cake, bread and home-made marmalade! The bath is sumptuous and relaxing with the option for a quick shower too and the bed is blissful - we slept really well. The property is in a great location to get out and about and walk and not far from the lovely town of Ashborne. We picked the barn due to it being dog-friendly and it certainly was with a water bowl and some old towels provided. Thoroughly recommend for a short stay or a longer get-away.


Susan, Polly from Cambridge stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in November 2019


The perfect cosy hideaway

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tom’s Barn is immaculately presented - fitted out to an excellent standard and spotlessly clean. The log burner makes for cosy evenings and the barn’s open-plan format means the bedroom also gets lovely and warm. Angela and Robert are great hosts and welcomed us back like old friends. They provided a range of useful and tasty extras, such as bread, milk and home-made cake and marmalade! Parwich is a lovely village with very little traffic, hence the loudest sound at night is the hooting of owls. There is lots of great walking from the barn door, so no need to drive if you don’t want to. It’s somewhere we will definitely stay again next year.

Neil from Bristol stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in October 2019


A very enjoyable relaxing holiday in a delightful cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Toms Barn offers all creature comforts with lots of thoughtful extras. The features, furniture & fabrics are all excellent quality and the village of Parwich is a delight, so peaceful & tranquil, with local residents very friendly including the owners who were very welcoming. Very good location with innumerable walks straight from the door, ideal for a footed friend, and well known attractions just a short car journey away whilst being in the heart of glorious countryside.
Toms Barn is definitely one of the best cottages we have stayed in, and would whole heartedly recommend it.


(sylvia) Joy from Axbridge stayed at Tom's Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


Tom’s Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great little barn conversion, very well thought out, couldn’t find anything missing that we might need. Open plan and plenty of light, great view from the sitting room window. Quiet location, away from the world but close enough to visit other places. Robert and Angela were great hosts. Will definitely visit again and highly recommend.

David from Shipley stayed at Tom's Barn for 7 nights in June 2019


A five star cottage in a perfect location.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 6 night stay in Tom's barn, a perfect base for cycling, walking and exploring the area. The cottage is absolutely perfect, every need is catered for, along with welcome goodies of local eggs, butter, milk, bread, marmalade. I could not think of anything else that they could have provided. Angela and Robert are perfect hosts, they made us feel very welcome and we look forward to another stay at either Tom or Douglas' barn in the not too distant future.

Judy from St. Asaph stayed at Tom's Barn for 6 nights in May 2019


A welcome break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed 3 nights. Wonderful location and the owners could not do more with so many thoughtful extras. Will definitely return.

Paul from Diss stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in April 2019


Tom's Barn review 100% brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at Tom's Barn. Well equipped with all the utensils that you need. Clean, tidy, and beautiful furnished

Derek from Derby stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in March 2019


Perfect hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful well equipped cottage. Angela and Robert are so welcoming.

Andrea from Ashbourne stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in March 2019


RELAX IN COMFORT

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely way to spend a few days relaxing. We could not have asked for anything more. 'Tom's Barn' was warm, clean, and well equipped. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed the cake and other homemade goodies left for us. Parwick has a good local pub and is central to numerous Peak District places to visit.

Suzanne from Newark stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in March 2019


Toms barn excellent, dog friendly great location well stocked well cared for.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved everything about it. Well stocked beautiful touches like the home made cakes, free range eggs home made marmalade etc. Lovely location very quiet and peaceful and obviously very caring owners. Will definitely go back

Sandra from Mansfield stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in March 2019


Toms barn

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved Toms barn, the location and welcome we received.

Great facilities in the kitchen which is always important in self catering.

Very comfortable and like home from home.


Ceri from Bedford stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in February 2019


Post Christmas Break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place - so welcoming and relaxing. Wonderful hospitality- every comfort thought of in the cottage. Thank you so much Angela. Will definitely return!

Margaret from Sheffield stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in January 2019


Great holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was so homely and welcoming. The welcome pack was a really nice touch. Could not fault anything about the cottage or it’s location. Really excellent stay and would recommend without hesitation.

Maria from Daventry stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in December 2018


Brilliant weekend thank you

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very restful quiet and most enjoyable long weekend away from the rat race we normally live in.The setting and ambience were just what we were looking for.

Stephen from Boston stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in November 2018


Perfect cozy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spend there couple of nights. The cottage itself have been fully equiped there were manuals for everything as also help what we could see and where ti go for a night out and food. Owner was wery welcomy and friendly didnt disturb us at all. Will be coming back for sure

Rafal from Manchester stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in November 2018


Lovely Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn’t fault Tom’s Barn. A brilliantly equipped comfy pad in a stunningly pretty village in a gorgeous area of the Peak District.
Strongly recommend you do the local walk to Tissington, and try the food at The George at Alstonefield, the best “pub” food we’ve had anywhere.


Mike from Gainsborough stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in October 2018


Wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect cottage.
Everything you could wish for.
The cottage and village were beautiful and peaceful. Fantastic break with views and walks to die for.
Shame we did not get to meet the owners to thank them personally.


Kim from London stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in September 2018


Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First of all a very big thank you to Angela and Robert; Our welcome and the presentation from Angela was superb it covered all we could think of and the information that was provided in Tom's Barn was very informative and allowed us to make the most of our stay the only thing was that the time passed by much to quickly, no sooner had we arrived and settled in and then it seemed that it was time to go home and that was over seven days. The kitchen was so well stocked it was unbelievable and the selection of coffee etc. was again a delight. One can understand why Tom's Barn has been given a 5 Star rating.

Shaun from Worstead stayed at Tom's Barn for 7 nights in September 2018


A welcome break in the country

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This barn was well equipped and very comfortable. The village was very pretty and the hosts were friendly and helpful

Melanie from stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in August 2018


A great week...

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a very friendly welcome from Angie we had a very restful week in very comfortable accommodation. Toms’s Barn is really well equipped and well located for lots of activities. We would thoroughly recommend a visit!

Andrew from Esher stayed at Tom's Barn for 7 nights in July 2018


Tom's Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay at Tom's Barn. Everything you need for your stay is supplied in the Tom's Barn. It is spotlessly clean.

Derek from Derby stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in June 2018


Simply faultless

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with our two dogs, and loved every minute. The accommodation is exceptional, the owners lovely, and the location perfect for Dovedale, the Tissington Trail, and Ilam. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Tom’s Barn.

Clare from Lincoln stayed at Tom's Barn for 2 nights in May 2018


Anniversary weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a rare weekend away without the kids and we couldn't have picked a better place. The cottage was extremely comfortable and welcoming, and wanted for nothing. Loads of nice touches such as fresh milk, bread and cake left for us on arrival. The place is extremely well-equipped, including a huge range of information on local activities and maps of the area which you can borrow.

A fabulous place in beautiful surroundings. You will find cheaper but with Tom's Barn, you get what you pay for and I would definitely recommend. There's even a pub in the village (10 mins steady walk) that serves excellent food.


Nick from Newark stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in May 2018


Lovely place, great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place for a romantic break in the Peak District. Lovely open-plan space and all well presented.

Phil from Stroud stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in April 2018


Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's my favourite place in Derbyshire, has everything you could possibly want and more, in stunning surroundings.

Rebecca from Newton Stewart stayed at Tom's Barn for 4 nights in April 2018


Great Estes to weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an amazing weekend, the host was very helpful and all the information you could need of the local area was included in the amazing barn.
One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and the bath is incredible!!
I proposed over this weekend and it was made even more amazing in the surroundings of the Peak District countryside!


Iain from Coventry stayed at Tom's Barn for 3 nights in March 2018