FB Twitter

Springfield Cottage

Springfield Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 83 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Find peace, relaxation, comfort and a touch of luxury in this beautiful, old Dartmoor longhouse.

Springfield is a detached, cob property situated on the edge of Old Liverton, near Bovey Tracey, within Dartmoor National Park.

A wonderful, relaxing stay in Springfield Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Springfield Cottage at the last minute after our plans fell through. Tracey and Quentin couldn’t have been more helpful from the moment we contacted them. The cottage is beautiful and set in lovely surroundings. There are many places to visit within easy travelling distances. We ate at many of the local pubs that Tracey recommended and all the meals were excellent - we certainly put on weight during the week, particularly when eating the homemade scones and clotted cream provided! The cottage has everything you could need during your stay and was scrupulously clean. We enjoyed the log burner and Quentin kept us topped up with logs for our evenings by the fire. If we visit the area again we would not want to stay anywhere else.



Wonderful week at Springfield Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing and comfortable stay at a lovely cottage. Excellent attention to detail, fresh flowers, Molton Brown toiletries and the best welcome pack we have ever had including scones, jam and cream, eggs, sausages, bacon, biscuits, bread, muesli etc. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the well maintained garden provided the perfect place to sit out and enjoy the sun. Quentin was very helpful with lots of useful information about places to go and the pre-arrival communication was excellent too. The location is well placed for both Dartmoor and the coast. We can highly recommend a stay here - and hopefully will be back ourselves! Janet and Tony.



Tracey and Quentin replied 227 days ago
Dear Janet and Tony Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Springfield Cottage. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your holiday, particularly this year when time away is difficult. We look forward to seeing you again! Best wishes.........

Excellent week at Springfield Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent stay at a very welcoming and relaxing cottage. The attention to detail provided by Tracey and Quentin was second to none. The welcome pack including scones, bread, fresh meats, eggs etc. was much appreciated. The cottage was very comfortable and everything you could possible need was there. The cottage garden is very pretty and we enjoyed sitting out with a glass of wine having returned from our trips out.
Well worth the star rating.
Many thanks, Chris and Barry




Tracey and Quentin replied 236 days ago
Thank you so much for being the 'star' guests this year! We are so happy that you both had a lovely time in Springfield, particularly enjoying the garden last week in the wonderful weather! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. XX

A fantastic tranquil place to stay for a family of four.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly beautiful cottage which far exceeding our expectations. After a tricky year due to COVID 19 it was lovely to get away and escape the realities of everyday life and what a perfect place to do this. Everything in the property has been thoughtfully considered and was appreciated. We felt really spoilt by the exceptional hosts, Quentin and Tracey who went above and beyond to make our stay special and ensure that nothing was left behind.
We would highly recommend to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life.

Many thanks both Tracey, Mark Cole and Iris.




Tracey and Quentin replied 240 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review for Springfield. We are really happy that the cottage is still looking after its guests this year particularly when there was the possibility we would not open at all! It's lovely that the whole family could enjoy some quality time on holiday. Best wishes X

Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was just what we needed a relaxing summer holiday in amazing surroundings. My 2 children loved the house and the garden. Eating out every night in the garden was like being in the south of France. The cottage was spotless and so many nice touches like providing slippers. Quentin was very welcoming and able to provide lots of useful information about where to go. Highlight of the holiday for the children was the alpaca walking. Location perfect easy access to Dartmoor or Devon beaches. Highly recommend it.



Quentin and Tracey replied 254 days ago
Thank you so much for the lovely review for Springfield! So glad that you had a chance to walk with the Alpacas on Dartmoor. It is a rare event and great fun! Hope to see you again in the future X

Summer family holiday in Devon 2020

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week's stay at Springfield cottage which is perfectly situated to explore the attractions of Dartmoor and local seaside towns and beaches. There are also great local walks, and pubs and restaurants just a short drive away. Springfield cottage itself is easy to find and was perfect for my wife and two teenage children. The owners, Quentin and Tracey, had literally thought of every luxury to make our stay as comfortable as possible, I don’t believe I have stayed in another cottage that was so well appointed. The welcome pack was very generous, and I particularly liked the Nespresso coffee maker and my wife the Molten Brown toiletries amongst other luxuries too numerous to mention. The cottage garden is excellent for chilling out or eating lunch in a very quiet and tranquil setting especially as the weather was almost perfect. On a clear night it is possible to see stars like you will never see in any town or city. All in all a very lovely place and we will certainly stay again.



Quentin and Tracey replied 262 days ago
Hi guys! Thank you so much for a fantastic review of Springfield. It is, honestly, much appreciated. As owners we try to do our best to make our guest's holidays as relaxing as possible but, it is always down to Springfield itself to match what guests need. The cottage has its own personality and it is lovely that after a few hundred years of being here it still has a great influence. Many thanks for booking with us and perhaps you will all come back to try and catch the shooting stars next time! With all best wishes x

Beautiful cottage, fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect holiday rental. Super clean and comfortable, the welcome pack was a real added bonus which we loved so much we bought more of the products supplied. Quintin was super helpful and the communication was great, already planning our next trip!



Short Winter Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As ever the cottage was immaculate with the welcoming pack of scones, cream and jam to provide comfort after a long journey. We will be back again.



Excellent place to stay in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay in a great location. This cottage is top class. Everything works and is neat and tidy and of a high standard. Very convenient for Dartmoor NP.



A delightful home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quentin and Tracey's cottage is a wonderful example of a Devon cob longhouse. It is well-equipped and homely, and Q&T go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The welcome hamper is very generously stocked, and a lovely touch; we particularly enjoyed the homemade scones and bread.

The cottage is conveniently located for all manner of sightseeing and walks, and is very private, allowing you to really feel like the space is your own.

Thank you so much and hope to see you again in future.




Already booked for nrxt year

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have just had our 5th stay at the cottage and have booked again for next year. The property fully lives up to its 5 star rating and we can think of nothing that can improve it. As retired persons we are glad of the comfort and peaceful location and having the owners living opposite is a bonus should there be any problems. The welcome pack has to be seen to be believed and the only downside of that is a slight weight gain once the holiday is over. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and the property is the cleanest we have ever stayed in. The location is ideal for touring Dartmoor and Cornwall is well within driving distance.



Quentin and Tracey Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for leaving another review for Springfield. We always look forward to seeing you each year and know that it is the time of back to school runs and timetables, which is not a bad thing! Look forward to seeing you again and living up to expectations - next year!

Short late summer break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual the cottage was spotless and cosy. Perfect for a short break close to Dartmoor and not too long a drive to the beach.



Tracey and Quentin Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Hi guys! Thank you for leaving another review for Springfield. As regular visitors it is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you all again soon! XX

A delightful 'five star' cottage in a beautiful part of Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I have a self-catering holiday in the UK every year- and Springfield was definitely the best cottage that we have stayed in. It was very clean and comfortable, and we felt at home immediately. The owners Tracey and Quentin had thought of everything, were very welcoming and had excellent communication with us before our arrival, throughout our stay and after our departure. We were welcomed with a lovely hamper of goodies and treated to Tracey's gorgeous homemade scones. We enjoyed sitting in the garden, and on the one day it rained we enjoyed just chilling in the cottage. The cottage is situated in a beautiful part of Devon, with easy access by car to countryside, coast and beautiful Devon villages and towns. We will return.



Tracey and Quentin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of Springfield. We alway hope that the time guests spend on their valuable holiday is enjoyable and it is lovely to hear these comments. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the near future. XX

Home from Home in the Country

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A home from home in the Country -

The Cottage is in an excellent quiet village location , with a nice cottage garden to relax in .

Every detail of the cottage inside and out in the garden - I can give a 5 Star rating .

Very pleasant owners and excellent hosts - it was good to meet them during our stay .

Thank you

Hope to see them again .




Tracey and Quentin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Springfield. We appreciate the time taken to leave feedback and hope it helps other people choosing where to stay on holiday. We hope to see you again in the near future. Happy gardening!!

Superior to any other cottage experience we had in the last 20 years!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Little to ad . Perfect in every minute detail. From the great secluded sun trap garden to the refined interior with everything and more. Stacy's superb baking was the finishing grand touch. We want to go back already !



The best!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are nice cottages, there are fantastic cottages and there is Springfield cottage. Second to none in al aspects.



Tracey and Quentin Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback...... especially like this!! Hope to see you again soon!

5 star cottage and owners

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and garden are lovely.and have every possible convenience for a comfortable stay. Tracey and Quentin have obviously given a lot of thought into what would make their guests feel welcome and were spot-on!

Great follow-up service as well. I left my lap-top at the cottage and Tracey posted it to me promptly with no fuss. What a star!







Tracey and Quentin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all the feedback we are given but especially this one. Happy the laptop arrived home safely! We hope to see you again....!

Wonderful Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Springfield Cottage and it was a just as wonderful as we remembered. The cottage has everything you need and the garden is a fabulous place to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet with either a cup of tea first thing in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. Tracey and Quentin are friendly and helpful hosts and the welcome goodies were a treat especially the scones. I'm sure we'll be back again.



Tracey and Quentin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your second stay. We appreciate all the feedback especially when they are so lovely. We hope to see you again.....!

Second Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have already reported after an earlier visit how excellent we found this cottage and its owners. On our second visit nothing has changed. This is an outstanding property to which we will return often. There is nothing wrong at all with Springfield - everything we needed was provided, it was cosy and well lit. Thoroughly recommend.



Tracey and Quentin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit another review for Springfield. We appreciate it takes time to do and so are always grateful for the feedback provided. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Meticulous attention to detail

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend this beautiful cottage where the owners have thought of everything to make staying here luxurious and comfortable. We loved the local produce and v thoughtful bottle of wine. Molton Brown toiletries added to perfect linens and towels. Thank u
We only wished our v well behaved dog was welcome too.




Simply Superb

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages over the years. We both believe this is the best of all. It is enormously well equipped - there really is nothing you will need that is not provided including eggs, bacon, bread, tea, coffee and more. It is kept immaculately, is always warm (we were there at the end of January 2019 in the cold snap) and has showers to die for. Good wi-fi.There is simply no way a visitor could not be delighted. And the owners are charming too!



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. At least you narrowly avoided the 'snow day'! We hope to see you both again soon X

A delightful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penny and I had a great break at Chrismas. The Cottage was decorated inn the most festive and welcoming way with a terrific welcome hamper of local goodies. All as good as it gets.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review and for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for your time spent with Lily. Best wishes X

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Springfield is a comfortable, warm, well equipped cottage. Always good to come back to after a busy day out on the moors. On arrival Quentin was there to welcome us and Tracey had left lots of treats to eat and a lovely bottle of bubbly. Excellent overall.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments on Springfield and for taking the time to write a review. It is appreciated and new guests certainly appreciate reading them. Best wishes X

Second year at Springfield cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd year and we loved our stay at Springfield Cottage. Quentin and Tracey went out of their way to make us welcome with a wonderful vegetarian hamper and everything you could hope for in a holiday home. They are on hand if you need to ask advice about places to visit nearby - my daughter and I just wish we could move in permanently. We recommend Springfield cottage to anyone looking for a beautiful location and a lovely garden with caring owners nearby.



Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and fitted out to an excellent standard. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and there was even a hamper of goodies to greet us !



Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had our 4th stay at Springfield Cottage and have already booked for next year. As usual the property is in excellent condition and the welcome pack is more than adequate (we had to take some things home with us) Having the owners living across the road is a good arrangement for sorting out any minor problems such as my inadequacy with the TV. The site is perfect for peace and quiet and ready access to Dartmoor and the surrounding areas. Despite being long standing visitors to the area we always find something new to do. The bed is extremely comfortable which is of importance to OAP's and I can recommend sitting in the garden of an evening sipping a glass of wine. Wifi reception is good in the cottage but not in the garden which enhances the relaxation aspect of the holiday. As long as our health holds out my wife and I will return to the cottage on an indefinite basis.



Late summer break

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a very comfortable stay in this immaculate cottage. We have stayed here many times and for the first time on this visit we had a small problem with one of the kitchen appliances. The owner fixed it immediately. First class service and accommodation. We will be back. Highly recommended.



Beautiful cottage and garden. Exceptionally well equipped with generous touches everywhere.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Springfield cottage with elderly parents. Ground floor bathroom a life saver as was bedroom configuration allowing flexibility in sleeping arrangements ie ensuite king, Day bed if necessary and zip and link super king.Beds so comfortable. The cottage was spotless, the welcome pack impressive and generous. Lots of space inside and out for our group of four to have time out if wanted. Garden was idyllic.Wonderful to have plenty of room to hang clothes and drawer space. The feel of the original Devon longhouse appreciated. Enjoyed the area and peacefullness after a long busy day out. Many interesting villages close buy. Quentin and Tracey wonderful hosts. Loads of information and fab scones!,. Totally deserves its five star rating. Thank you Quentin and Tracey.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this absolutely lovely review. All your comments are greatly appreciated as we always try to make sure that your valuable time away is special. X

Fabulous cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Springfield cottage is the perfect base for a South Devon holiday. The cottage was superb with all the amenities you could want and lots of lovely extras. The welcome hamper with a wonderful homemade cake was so generous and a lovely surprise. The location of the cottage was great for exploring with Dartmoor and the coast within easy reach by car. I am sure we will return in the future and would not hesitate to recommend Springfield cottage.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Springfield. We try to make your time away from home as special as we can and it is fabulous that you feel you may want to return in the future. If you do, please telephone us and we can make your arrangements for you. With best wishes....

Beautiful Cottage in Peaceful Surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with everything you could possibly need - in excellent condition and a very warm welcome from the owners. A lovely garden with lots of seating to relax and enjoy your meals outside.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review for Springfield. It is always a pleasure to try and make guest's time away from home as pleasant as possible. Best wishes............

Perfect bank holiday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors to Springfield Cottage and as always the cottage is immaculate. This spring the garden was blooming and the weather made both Dartmoor and the beaches great places to visit. We will be back.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks guys! Always a pleasure to see you all. Have fun this year and see you again soon...............

Over and above

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages over the years. We always take along a kit of things that the owners forget like kitchen scissors or cooking oil. We need not have bothered on this occasion as our hosts had really thought of everything. Even 5+ pairs of oven gloves! : )



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
OMG! Tracey did not realise she had such an obsession with kitchen items!! Then she checked the kitchen drawers and our house storage for Springfield - she definitely needs help!! ;0) Thanks for a fab review........ x

A welcome break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We don't often rent a cottage, needed somewhere suitable for a short stay with our grandchildren, and thought the fact that it was a Longhouse would be interesting for the children - and we weren't disappointed. The cottage is appointed and maintained to the highest standard, whilst retaining interesting and individual features.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Quentin who made us all feel extremely welcome. We were delighted with the complimentary hamper, plus homemade treats and thoughtful presents for the children. The cottage is homely and very comfortably furnished in a modern yet sympathetic style. We felt at home immediately, and the many imaginative touches helped to make it an unforgettable holiday.




Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review for Springfield. It is rewarding trying to make our guest's time away from home as pleasurable as we can. Your comments are appreciated and although this is not our main business, we try to ensure that a holiday is as we would like it to be if we were away from home. With best wishes......

Absolute perfection

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Springfield cottage to celebrate her 60th birthday and to see some friends who live close by in Bovey Tracey. The cottage is one of the best we've stayed in. Such lovely hosts too, so welcoming and full of ideas of things to do and places to eat. Thank you! We will definitely be back!



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Springfield. Your comments, and time taken for the review, are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again shortly! :0) Best wishes.............x

A luxury stay on the edge of Dartmoor

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our hosts Quentin and Tracey could not have been more helpful. They provided a hamper, cream tea, wine and champagne, fresh cut flowers and breakfast. Every comfort was endured and nothing was too much trouble.The cottage was nothing short of sumptuous.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Love the word sumptuous! Thank you for taking the time to review Springfield. It is much appreciated. With best wishes .........

peace and comfort in Dartmoor

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had our 3rd stay at Springfield Cottage so now feel part of the family! We have also booked to return next year. As detailed above we cannot find any fault with the cottage and cannot suggest any ways to improve our stay. The welcome hamper is very generously stocked and should we have any minor problems (such as my tendency to get a blind stuck from time to time) having our hosts across the road is very handy. Both have been extremely friendly and welcoming and even the dog now seems to recognize us. As far as we can tell we shall be coming to Dartmoor every year until we are too old and decrepit to travel and Springfield Cottage will always be our first choice of venue.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Old and decrepit...........? Never!!! It is lovely to see you both each year and we will see you again soon. With much love......X

Luxurious, Relaxing, Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 2nd year in a row we have visited Springfield Cottage and we absolutely love it - the location is ideal with easy access to every amenity you can think of - Dartmoor, beaches, villages, walks and only a 25 minute drive to Exeter if you wish to visit a city.

The cottage itself is spotless and we arrived after a long drive to a lovely homemade cake and a luxury hamper with all local produce. It really was a nice touch.

In fact you can't get away from the luxury across the cottage - from the Molten Brown toiletries to the White Company diffusers, making the cottage smell so lovely throughout.

The garden is unbelievable and so private - if you are lucky enough to get the weather to sit outside in the evening, listening to the birds - you'll realise how exquisite it really is.

The owners Tracey and Quentin are really lovely, friendly people and extremely helpful, particularly if you require recommendations of places to visit or eat. Don't hesitate to ask them.

It's not an exaggeration to say this place has no faults and we would recommend this cottage to anyone for an ideal family holiday.




Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Hi guys! Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review for Springfield! It has been lovely to see you all again this year. Please don't spend too much in The White Company when you get home as we know Tracey will be blamed for it!!!!!!! ;0) Lots of love X

Excellent holiday cottage in Dartmoor

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A family of 2 adults and two pre-teen girls (that's us) went to Devon in Summer 2017 and stayed in Springfield Cottage. Cannot recommend it highly enough. The owners (Quentin and Tracey) were super-friendly and helpful right from initial booking until our day of departure. The cottage is fitted and decorated to a very high standard, and it was luxurious "home" to return at the end of each day doing holiday stuff - especially as the weather was, um, "excellently British". The garden is also beautiful. Would have been very nice to while away a Summer evening or two with a BBQ. Alas, the weather didn't play ball.

One very nit-picky comment: there are no facilities in Liverton itself. To be able to wander round the corner to the local shop / pub would have been nice. Having said that, the cottage is excellently located for seeing many of the Devon big hitters (e.g. Dartmoor, English Riviera), and there many good shops and pubs within a short (5-10 min) drive.

The most important question: would we stay again? As a rule, we don't stay in the same place twice, simply because we like to explore different areas. But for Springfield, we would definitely break that rule, and plan to return!




Quentin and Tracey Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness! Definitely the weather did not play ball with you guys for the week but you didn't let it stop you getting to know our area very well. We are so happy that you feel you could return to the area and potentially to Springfield. The county definitely has so much to offer no matter what the weather and of course winter can bring it's own perspective on the atmosphere. Many thanks for your lovely review and we hope we may see you sometime in the future. Don't forget to look up Ten Tors for the girls - you can always put your feet up in the cottage whilst they are trekking the Moor!! Lots of love Q and Txx

Prima

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, nice house and garden, very nice owners, nice place to stay !
Even if the weather is not good, you will have a nice stay. But the weather was briljant !




Lovely Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 6 nights. Lovely kitchen, lovely fireplace, lovely rooms and we love them all. Many many thanks to Tracey and Quentin.



Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to Springfield, Tracey and Quentin left a lovely home made cake of which was a lovely surprise on our arrival along with the beautiful locally sauced welcome pack. Will be retuning later in the year on our next visit to the UK.



Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent as always. Springfield Cottage is impeccably clean, comfortable and relaxing. Ideally located for exploring Dartmoor but also an easy drive to the South Devon coast.



Another lovely stay at Springfield

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit in four months as its like home from home, so clean,comfortable, and luxurious, Tracey left beautiful fresh flowers such a lovely touch. Will be returning soon on our next visit to the UK.
Thank you again Tracey and Quentin




“Exquisite and quaint perfection!”

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
“Exquisite and quaint perfection!”
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday for a stay in December 2016
Upon arriving at Springfield and entering the cottage we were greeted by a Fairytale Christmas scene that brought tears to my eyes. A beautifully decorated real Christmas tree was twinkling in the corner, on the table the Best Welcome Hamper I have ever seen.
In the kitchen and fridge everything needed to start our week. This Cottage really does live up to and exceed expectation. A lot of thought and care has gone into making it 'just right'.
The beds and bedding so comfortable no-one wanted to get up, the ensuite and showers with Molten Brown Toiletries to indulge in. Candles dotted around to add to the ambience.
The lounge is lovely with the Log fire central to ensuring cozy nights in after a day of exploring.
Quentin and Tracey are a wealth of knowledge on the local area and can recommend all the best places to visit. They made us feel very welcome and were truly wonderful hosts, living nearby if ever needed.
The Kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could ever need and more. I successfully cooked a Christmas Dinner during our visit and even baked! The luxury of a dishwasher added to my enjoyment and ensured everyone could just relax and enjoy!
A utility room with washing machine, drier and large fridge freezer also there to make life easy.
This is a great place to stay with family but also perfect for a romantic retreat. I am also partly disabled, suffering from ill health but the cottage was perfectly manageable. There are even plenty of good books and games to enjoy. I couldn't think of one thing that was missing, the owners have ensured that Springfield has everything you could ever wish for. The Garden is well beautiful with its pond and seats placed to ensure full enjoyment, Birds were frequent visitors and were lovely to watch from inside in the early mornings!
The whole cottage is also immaculately clean throughout with top quality furnishings and buckets of character.
Located so close to the A38 and Dartmoor and easy to find. The only noise we heard was birdsong and the odd horse trotting along the lane.
We really did have the best stay ever and have no hesitation in recommending this 5star, cottage to all!




In one word Excellent, the best we have ever stayed in in the area.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted by Quentin, he showed us around and explained how every thing worked, there was a luxury welcome pack of all the essentials you can require. When it came to the time to we did not want to leave so for our next visits back to the UK we will most definitely be booking Springfield.
A very big thank you to Tracey and Quentin.




Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a fantastic location for visiting all the local attractions, this lovely cottage was much bigger than we expected from the website. With every home comfort thought of and the added luxury of Molten Brown products throughout we were able to relax and enjoy Springfield Cottage and the surrounding area. Welcoming and thoughtful hosts who ensured our stay was as hassle free and comfortable as possible. Thank you.



Our second extremely pleasant holiday in Old Liverton

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come to Dartmoor every September and this is our second time at Springfield Cottage. The location is perfect and as with our last visit we can think of nothing that needs altering or adding. The cottage is in first class condition and the bed extremely comfortable ( a necessity at our age!) The welcome hamper is very well stocked and the only drawback at the end of our stay was a little weight gain! The owner lives across the road and is always available should there be any problems (not that we had any) All of the equipment is well maintained and we wanted for nothing. We have already booked for next year and hope to be able to return for many years to come.



Tracey Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review. We will look forward to seeing you again next year! Special thanks for making mine and Sam's life so easy! XX

Beautiful cottage and friendly hosts made for a wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were four adults (two couples) staying for a long weekend getaway.
The cottage itself is gorgeous: nicely finished and very well cared for. All the furnishings were of high quality and very comfortable. It has a fully equipped kitchen, and is well supplied with a barbecue, board games, etc. The garden outside is beautifully maintained and very peaceful - we loved being in the garden despite the somewhat changeable weather!
Quentin and Tracey are both extremely friendly and helpful. Their dining suggestions were all spot on, and they were very accommodating of our requests. The starter hamper was also very generously packed with indulgent local produce.
We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to others, or to return ourselves.




Prima

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a very nice place to stay. Almost evrything is on the highest grade.
Clean, luxery but also cosey. Great garden and top inner for very good eating and sleaping.

We soon come back to visite Ellen's sisiter in Newton Abbot.

Hans & Ellen




5 STAR LUXURY

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed ourselves so much at Springfield Cottage this week. Quentin & Tracey you have a most wonderful cottage. You have really made it a home from home. The extra touches like the starter hamper etc. we're a delight. We were so comfortable in the cottage, it was a joy to know, that after our days out around the fantastic South Devon county that we had a truly 5+ star cottage to come back to. It was also a pleasure to unwind in the evenings in the well established garden listening to running water ( in the pond ) & birdsong. Truly the ultimate in relaxation. We have loved every minute of our stay, a week really isn't enough. We have no hesitation in recommending Springfield to our friends.



Everything you could possibly need

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Springfield cottage in mid June and it was fabulous.The cottage is a delight with every thing you could possibly want or need.The lovely owners have taken great care with every little detail but I won't explain it all as I wouldn't want to spoil the surprises for anyone else.
Our only criticism was the weather but this is England so you can never depend on it but there are plenty of places within easy driving distance.
A couple of places that are worth a mention.......House of Marbles...5 mins away was a great way to spend a wet afternoon and free too ! and Badgers Holt (we took Traceys advice) was possibly the best Devon tea in glorious surroundings and worth the drive.
All in all, a very nice relaxing holiday so thanks .




A four night let with work

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent as always. Great extras added to compliment our stay including bacon, eggs, sausages, milk and bread as well as a welcome hamper! The property was very clean and we were provided with everything we needed. The beds were also very comfortable.



Couldn't have been better

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tracey and Quentin were extremely helpful and informative before our visit with efficient booking procedures. The cottage was extremely clean, comfortable and homely with extensive accessories both in necessities and luxuries to make our stay stress free and relaxed - the welcoming hamper was much appreciated. We would not hesitate to return when we are in the area again and would not hesitate to recommend the cottage to others holidaying in Devon.



Wonderful Stay in Dartmoor

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is wonderfully appointed and very comfortable. It was within easy driving distance of the Moors and some wonderful pubs for delicious country lunches and dinners.



Short trip with work

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took a 4 night let as accommodation for a business trip. This was an excellent property where every last detail had been thought of to make the place both comfortable and enjoyable for us. The owners were on hand to help with any issues and the welcome hamper which they had left was very useful for breakfasts, snacks and drinks during our stay.



Perfect for families, friends on holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met by Quentin the owner on arrival, who gave us a quick talk through about the cottage and local area before heading to the Welcome Stranger for dinner which he had kindly booked for us after a very long car journey due to it being Easter Friday! There was a fantastic welcome hamper, delicious goodies for my husband and I and Easter treats for the kids. All the essentials for our first breakfast all stocked up in the kitchen, plus bubbles chilling in the fridge!
The beds were extremely comfortable with lovely bathrooms and the best Molton Brown bath products.
The food in Devon was outstanding, Quentin had some great recommendations, particularly the Carpenters Arms pub up the road. Had the food in Devon not been delicious, I could have cooked up a storm in the well stocked kitchen.
I would highly recommend Springfield Cottage to families or friends traveling together, it was presented beautifully and really just felt like home. We hope to return sometime.




Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is comfortable, clean and very well equipped - a really nice place to stay. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed in March and were very happy with Springfield cottage.



Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean and cosy. We are repeat stayers at Springfield Cottage. Summer is great but this stay in the Winter allowed us to enjoy cosy nights with the log burner. This is a high quality cottage.



The perfect retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you need a place that is easy to get to, yet provides the perfect quiet retreat then this is it. The cottage is well placed for visiting Dartmoor, South Devon Exeter and Plymouth. The owners are exceptionally friendly and the cottage is very well equipped. The welcome hamper was really nice



*** Another happy holiday ***

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our holiday so much last year we booked again and have just returned, having spent a glorious week basking in the Devonshire sunshine - to see people in shorts and T-shirts at the beginning of October was quite surreal! One year on and the cottage looks as fresh and inviting as it did when we were last here. Quentin and Tracey have retained their high standards and, in my opinion, this sets the cottage apart from the many lack-lustre and rather sterile rental properties out there. I love Tracey's decorative style and attention to detail and, for me, this greatly enhances my holiday enjoyment as the cottage exudes warmth and comfort. The 'Welcome Pack" deserves its own special mention - it's like receiving an early Christmas present; it's that good!
This year's activities included a circular walk at the National Trust Parke Estate, a ride on the South Devon Railway, an afternoon in Totnes and a visit to Lyme Regis. Oh, and no holiday would be complete without a trip to the lovely Trago Mills ; )
Love and best wishes to you both xx




Springfield Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a short break at Springfield Cottage. Cannot fault the cottage in any way. Spotlessly clean. Lovely garden. Welcome hamper was excellent.



Away from it all

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at this reservation but will not be the last. All being well we shall be back next year and added to the list of regular returnees. The site was perfect both inside and out and we wanted for nothing. The owners live just across the road so if any problems occur or if there are any queries they are on hand. The welcoming food hamper was well stocked and was empty by the end of the week. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and all of the appliance easy to use. The cottage was the most well stocked we have ever stayed in and it really felt like being at home. Despite being on the roadside we were hardly aware of the traffic. As we stayed in a small hamlet there was no vodaphone signal inside the cottage which we have experienced with other properties in the area but the garden was no problem. Our week flew by and we were sorry to leave



Great short break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Springfield Cottage and we expect to return again. The cottage is cosy, clean and conveniently located for Dartmoor or a drive to the beach. Great accommodation.



Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great weekend, just wished we could have stayed longer. Cottage is very well equipped everything you need and more. Wonderful garden. Welcome hamper was a lovely touch. A wonderful cottage for any time of year. Would recommend.



Very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
IT is à very nice cottage, with very much little details, makes you feel at home. Good coffee machine and everything was there in the Kitchen. Outside a very nice garden with flowers and a pond.



A great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage - so clean and well-equipped to a very high standard. An amazing welcome hamper packed with goodies and such a pretty garden to enjoy the sunshine.



Sorry to leave

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this cottage,we have stayed in many over the yes up and down the UK.Anything you needed was provided.local info was spot on.Fantastic.Thank you.



Australians abroad.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is all the special things that photographs don't show that makes Springfield cottage an outstanding cottage, e.g extremely comfortable beds, soft linens, great shower, luxury toiletries, a superb welcome basket of local produce, and the provision of our own special choice of Nespresso pods. We expected something special, and it delivered in spades. We wanted for nothing. All the information we could possibly need to enjoy and explore Decon. Tracey was a delight to correspond with from our home in Australia over a period of about six months prior to our arrival. She went out of her way to gather information on my behalf and pass it on. The cottage reflects her warm, cheery and efficient personality. It is very cosy and comfortable, spotlessly clean, with everything one could possibly need or want to make us, her guests, feel welcome and at home. To finish, I must comment on the superb cottage garden. It is really beautiful. Overall, a credit to Tracey & Quentin. Thank you both so much. It was a delight to spend a week in Springfield cottage.



Weekend Away

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was lovely and had the real wow factor when we walked in. The cottage was in quiet road so we weren't disturbed but we also weren't too far anyway from anything - easy access to good pubs and shops.
The owners of the property were very helpful and gave us some good advice on where best to eat for a special meal out.
We loved the food hamper and thoroughly enjoyed our cream tea in the garden.
Would recommend the cottage and would definetly like to come and stay again!!
All in all it provided us with a very relaxing weekend away.
10 out of 10!




Beautifully presented cottage in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Springfield Cottage turned out to be an idyllic place to stay. Enormous attention and thought has gone into this cottage, from the quality decor, fixtures and fittings to the generous welcome pack.

Also such a lovely garden in which we could just sit and relax.

Our hosts could not be more helpful, or welcoming.




Excellent in all respects: location, comfort and facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at Springfield Cottage and were thoroughly spoiled by the quality of the cottage and the weather - unbroken sunshine for the first five days. The cottage is located in a lovely, peaceful location whilst still providing easy access to the moor or the A38 for adventures further afield. The cottage was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. Having stayed at many holiday cottages Springfield surpassed them all in terms of the quality of the facilities. The kitchen had every possible appliance or utensil could think off as well as some you wouldn't think of. For a coffee addict the Nespresso machine was particularly welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathrooms spacious and beautifully appointed. The lovely garden provided several options for sitting out - in the sun, in the shade or sheltered from the breeze. Our trip to the Rock Inn at Haytor Vale, just 4 miles away, was the highlight of eating out - the service and food were both excellent. All in all a fabulous cottage in a great location.



Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage. Clean, comfortable and cosy. Easily accessible for moor and sea with the log burner to look forward to at the end of the day. The welcome hamper is a nice touch.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Springfield. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A comfortable, relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Springfield Cottage is a beautiful holiday cottage - with all the home comforts you could ever hope to have. The cottage is well furnished and has all mod cons but retains the original features of the old Devon Longhouse. Quentin and Tracey were lovely hosts and we were greeted by a very generous basket of goodies, including scones, biscuits and even food for a full-english! We didn't get much chance to use the garden as we stayed on a rainy October week, but it's delightful - a real cottage garden which I can imagine would be idyllic on a summers day.
Highly recommended for a relaxing week and an ideal spot from which to explore the Dartmoor countryside.




Tracey and Quentin Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a very lovely review for Springfield. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. Good reviews make the hard work worthwhile for our small team!

Springfield Cottage, Liverton, Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault this property, well worth it's 5 stars, the only slight drawback was it being on a fairly busy road with a tight turn into the property.



Quentin and Tracey Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Springfield. We hope you enjoyed your time visiting family here in the village and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Superb Accomodation in lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an incredibly well maintained cottage, tastefully decorated and equipped with all the mod cons. The owner was there to greet us and also to wave goodbye when we left.The welcome pack was extremely well received and luckily the weather meant we were able to eat our breakfast in the lovely garden each day of our stay. The cottage is ideally placed for discovering Dartmoor and South Devon.



Tracey and Quentin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. We enjoyed your company and are so glad you enjoyed Springfield.

A truly exceptional cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Springfield Cottage is equipped with everything that you could possibly need for a relaxing stay, including a generous welcome hamper. It is spotlessly clean and fitted out with top quality items. The garden is pretty and contains a variety of garden furniture. The owners live nearby and are extremely welcoming and helpful.



Tracey and Quentin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. Springfield looks forward to welcoming you back again.

Excellent place!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 4 days at the cottage in August with our two children (4 & 5).

The standard of the cottage was very high and it was so good to have everything you needed from dishwasher tablets to nespresso capsules to wine to an excellent greeting hamper.

The owners were extremely helpful and easy to contact when required.




Quentin and Tracey Howe replied more than 1 year ago
Hi guys Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that Springfield is looking after our guests! Best wishes Quentin and Tracey

Stunning and cosy, fantastic friend's break!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Springfield Cottage was the perfect place for our girl's long weekend. The cottage was absolutely stunning with lovely little touches everywhere and so cosy! The garden was beautiful too with fruit trees and a charming pond, we definitely would have utilised the bbq had the weather been better too. We received a very warm welcome from Tracey on arrival and were really chuffed with the welcome pack which included gluten-free items for one of our group, and a bottle of Cava was gratefully received. Quentin and Tracey were both really helpful in recommending places to eat, and Quentin had offered to book us a specific table at a local Inn for our group in advance of our stay. They also recommended events and places to visit...we were excited about an open air viewing/sing-along to Grease but chickened out when the weather took a bad turn.
With most of us living in cities, the location was fantastic with Dartmoor national park so close by and plenty of coastal options. We would definitely recommend the cottage for friends, families and couples alike.
It's certainly set a high standard for our next break away!




Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely review girls! You can toughen up for a revisit and 'Rama-lama-ding-dong....' next time!

Springfield Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Springfield Cottage. The cottage is furnished to an extremely high standard. The beds are comfy and the showers fabulous! The garden is lovely and we were able to just sit and genuinely relax here. The owners have clearly given a great deal of thought to what would enable a family to have a great holiday - we really appreciated all the little extra touches ( particularly the scones and the sausages!)



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a lovely review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your visit to Springfield Cottage and hope that you will revisit us soon.

Honeymoon

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can we say!.... Simply beautiful, we'll kept and a tranquil retreat with exceptional standards. It was better than a boutique hotel, the owners had a real eye for detail and it became our home and our Oasis. It's a must stay (and if you do, make use of the BBQ and dine at The Rock Inn).

The happy newly weds !




Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for a really lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Devon and hope that you pay us another visit. Best wishes for your future together and for the new arrival due soon....!

Lovely Stay at Springfield

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Springfield Cottage. It is in a great location on the edge of Dartmoor with easy access to local attractions and to Devon’s towns, villages and coastline. The cottage has wonderful charm, is spotlessly clean and has a beautiful garden. The owners were very friendly and attentive and couldn’t have been more helpful. Upon arrival there was a hamper of food and bottle of champagne which was a real treat. Thank you for a great stay.



Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of what our cottage, and Devon, has to offer. We hope to see you all again!

Summer sun and smart living on the edge of Dartmoor

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend Springfield Cottage enough. We wanted a break in the country near dartmoor but wanted to avoid the soulless, turgid rental you often find as holiday lets. For us home from home comforts were a must, as was cleanliness and atmosphere. Springfield Cottage delivered.

The house is located in a old village of Livington, just on the edge of Dartmoor below Yes Tor. A perfect location, away from hustle and bustle but surprisingly convenient to get to, being just a few miles from the main A38 to Plymouth. The village is quiet and the period cottage is set in pretty gardens giving it an almost 'chocolate box' appearance. Perfect. The theme is carried on inside with great charm and character, however, there's nothing that's warn, old or tired in the cottage! Every piece of furniture, every fitting and the decor are spotless and of very high quality. Inside, Springfield Cottage is six star quality.

We had a fantastic week. The cottage is in a great location, easy to get to and from anywhere and with plenty of parking, even space to keep our bikes. Of course, the sun shone as well which made it even better.

I wholeheartedly recommend Springfield Cottage. Its a real gem.




Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your fabulous review! We hope to continue to live up to the high standards people like to receive on their well earned breaks in the Westcountry! We hope to see you again soon!

Relaxing (if tough) week in great surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose to stay at Springfield cottage as it seemed in an ideal location for me to start my Dartmoor Way cycle ride. As it turned out it was perfect, both location and cottage. We have stayed in ”luxury” cottages previously but in our view this is one of the very best. The layout was very functional, and the furnishings and fittings were of the highest order. The welcome basket was certainly the best we have ever had and Quentin and Tracey (Jury duty aside) were on hand to assist if needed. The gardens, all three of them, provided a lot of interest with the abundance of flowers and shrubs and relaxing on the patio was the name of the game. Altogether a superb week and would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Down side, leg ache after two tough rides!!




Quentin and Tracey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review of Springfield. We are happy that the cottage and its garden are having a new lease of life. Happy cycling!