FB Twitter

Dignity

Dignity

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


A beautifully furnished 5-star self-catering barn conversion outside Galashiels. A wonderful rural setting offering peace, comfort and beauty for up to 8 adults.

Step into a timeless decor of earthy colours, solid wooden furniture, lovely muted plaids and tweeds from Anta, original paintings on the walls, and heated oak and slate floors, all in sympathy with the natural surroundings.

The open plan kitchen/living area is spacious and fully kitted out. Relax over dinner, sitting at a beautiful oak table, admiring the view through the large arched window. It boasts: an electric range cooker; a large fridge freezer with an ice machine; granite worktops; two tweed sofas; and a wood burning stove which makes for the perfect cosy night in along with the board games, TVs, books, and musical instruments all included in your stay. There is also a larger second lounge/music room (with a piano, guitar, flat screen TV and a cornered leather sofa) which is great for spending quality time with friends and family.

In the garden you will find an outside picnic area and a hot tub, both of which allow you to appreciate and enjoy the peace and beauty of the Caddon valley.

A family break

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There was no negatives at all about this wonderful accommodation.
It met all our expectations and more .
The beds were comfortable.
The kitchen was so well equipped too.
There was an added bonus of the garden with the hot tub which was just lovely .
Enough bathrooms for dignity and privacy for the whole party .
I would highly recommend this accomodation to anyone looking for a well equipped spotlessly clean places to stay.
We were a party of seven, five adults two children and the dog .




Wonderful gem

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is twice two families have come together and used this great facility. One family were reluctant to go on a long holiday with there child having autism as well as other issues but the house is secure and has gate ready to fix if needed. They had the spacious room to one side with en suite and a separate outdoor space the a separate living room (the organ does need repairing, sound is bad…only fault!). Then there is a good entrance way with toilet and space to hang coats and leave shoes. There is a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen with all that’s needed for the holiday and where the dog enjoyed the space too. There is a utility room with washer dryer and a drying rack with separate towels if you use the hot tub. The garden is fenced and you get wonderful views. The separate upstairs space has an en-suite, two single rooms that our teenagers love to sit at the window seat and watch the wildlife, separate bathroom and twin room. We had a lively welcome pack with essentials and more with an extensive welcome pack. Liz communicates well and ensures the stay is up to a high standard. The local area is rural but quiet with it been a cycle and walking route with some lovely local walks. Galashields is 4 miles away for shopping but lots to do in the area. You’ll definitely enjoy your stay here.



40 th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a perfect time over the weekend celebrating my daughters birthday. We have stayed at dignity several
times and each time we are impressed with the standard. Would definitely recommend 5 stars from my family




Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three couples enjoyed a weekend away at Dignity. Such a well equipped house - we especially loved the extra touches of the very generous welcome pack!
We loved the hot tub and appreciated the extra towels provided and the towelling robes.
Lots of logs provided for cosy evenings watching the rugby on tv.
Just the right level of “away from it all” feel whilst being only a short drive from town. Lovely walks around neighbouring farmland.




Beautiful property in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a party of 8 staying for a family gathering.

The property was spotless and is in excellent condition we loved the fire in the main room and facilities provided.

The only disappointment was the hot water and central heating wasn’t working. The lady tried to assist but no luck and an engineer will have to repair.
The hot tub wasn’t working initially but later that was found to just be settings so we got use of it on our last day, that is the only reason I have marked down on the comfort and customer service.

All in all we had a great long weekend at dignity.

I would 100% book again in the future and recommend this property to families who are looking for a rural break.




Liz Elliot replied 215 days ago
Dear Mike, Thank you for your review. I apologise for the Ground source Heat Pump not working during your stay. The engineer was booked in on the Friday before your arrival and failed to turn up, it was very unfortunate that the hot water from the immersion heater failed on the Friday night after your arrival, as I personally checked it on the Friday afternoon before your arrival and it was up to temperature. The house was heated during your stay by 4 electric radiators which were more than capable of heating the house, and the Wood burning stove was also available. I also pointed out the electric shower which would always provide a hot shower. We were also fortunate that "Time" our other holiday house was empty and I did offer you to move to that house as it was ready for guests, which you declined, although you were given free access to it to use the showers. Although it wasn't ideal, we did try our very best, and I appreciate it wasn't the normal 5 star experience that we strive to achieve for our guests. Rest assured the Heat Pump will be fixed and any future guests will receive that 5 star experience.

Family week

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dignity was a lovely place to stay with plenty of room for 8 of us and the owner was very friendly when we met her.
Kitchen was well equipped and we were grateful for the welcome tray ,kitchen essentials ( foil, cling film, dishwasher tablets) and logs.
Our only concern was the dogs. We paid £25 extra per dog ( a standard amount we realize) but once we had paid the deposit we were alarmed at the rules that came with having the dogs there. We think the owners need to decide if the property is going to be " dog friendly" or not .




Elliot Houses replied 245 days ago
Before booking guests are required to agree to our terms and conditions. The terms and conditions are available on the booking form. We feel that our pet terms and conditions are reasonable. These include: dogs are to be kept off the furniture and are not allowed upstairs; dogs must not be left in the property unattended; dog fouling must be picked up; and dogs must be kept on a lead around livestock.

A fantastic property with more than ample room for two families to enjoy.

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As with Time, the attention to detail and the very high quality of every item is what’s sets these properties apart from many. The two sitting rooms are excellent for families. A stunning property which we would highly recommend.



A home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in a beautiful location. Very responsive owners when slight issue with internet - quickly resolved. We have returned several times now which is a strong endorsement in itself. Well equipped and very comfortable accommodation. Already booked for next year!




Family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Provided everything we wanted. Three generations of family had a very enjoyable weekend,everyone happy.



Stay from 18th August to 25th August 2023

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is still looks as good with a high standard of cleaniness as 10 years ago. Superbly looked after with excellent customer service.



A beautiful relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant family week away in ‘Dignity’ and have enjoyed every minute of our stay in this beautiful converted barn! Plenty of great walks and places to eat all within a short drive and even a bit of relaxing fly fishing on the nearby loch. Would highly recommend this place and the beauty of the Scottish Borders and town of Galashiels, Melrose and Peebles!



Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
6 members of my family aged between 50 and 84 recently spent a week at Dignity and had a lovely time
It is a beautiful spacious home with comfortable beds and had everything we needed
The location was ideal for visiting many interesting places
Dignity was set to just the right temperature and we were never too hot or cold
The hot tub was an added bonus and relaxing
My mum would have liked extra cushions on the sofa but that is a very minor point
Thank you for a lovely holiday




Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 4 days at Dignity. Property was of high standard and setting is idyllic. Thoroughly recommend a holiday at Dignity.



Family celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay with the family. Dignity has everything you need. The hot tub was amazing. Highly recommend



Amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was all absolutely perfect. I just wish it was a little bit cheaper then I would probably come 3-4 times a year because I think it’s amazing, I just can’t justify the price to come so often. But that’s not helped by the economy, so it’s not necessarily the owners fault

Everything else is faultless basically.




Excellent House

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently stayed at Dignity with family. Lovely big house, plenty serving dishes for family meals round the big dining table. Lots of nice touches, welcome tray and dishwasher tablets etc.

Owner very understanding and accommodating when we asked to extend our stay due to a hospital stay for one of my family.

few small damp patches on the ceiling and the road up to the house is not the best, but it is in a secluded area so it's expected and you get used to it after a few drives.

Nice meal at the Clovenford Hotel which is about a miles drive and they were also dog friendly.

Great stay and would definitely recommend to others.




Pre Christmas stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed a few times in Dignity cottage. It’s beautiful. Everything is provided. Loved the Welcome tray. The log fire was very welcome and needed as it was so cold outside. Hot tub amazing. Definitely recommend.



A lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for our amazing stay! The barn was absolutely beautiful & we really appreciated the groceries left for us when we arrived. We all had an amazing stay and we will definitely be back! Thank you x



Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay . The place is stunning inside and out. It was my husbands 60th birthday surprise and he was more than happy. The property is very spacious, beautifully decorated and clean. It had everything we needed. The welcome gifts of necessities such as bread, tea/coffee, etc. was a lovely gesture. Lovely walks for the dog. Hot tub was a hit. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay.



Wonderful intergenerational holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd fantastic holiday at Elliott Houses. Wonderful setting in gorgeous countryside with many lovely walks.
The house is beautifully equipped with quality equipment and furnishings, and plenty room for everyone. We were an intergenerational group, us, our daughter and partner and 3 children - 16, 13 and 11. Plenty bathrooms with excellent showers and hot water. An absolute joy, and very relaxing.




Dignity

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house, great location and well equipped. Great customer service, very friendly host. Welcome pack very helpful.



Dignity near Gala

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our Stay at Dignity, Clovenfords, near Galshiels was the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. We all fell in love with the house and the area and we would have loved to have stayed more than the 5 nights. Although it was only a 10 minute drive to the small village with a shop and lovely pub serving delilcious food, and only about 20 minute drive to Galashiels, you really had the feeling that you were absolutely in the middle of nowhere, with only the peace and tranquility of the rolling hills, sheep and cows. The dogs loved the walks up the hills and we loved to enjoy the beautiful house, the hot tub and sitting in the warm sun enjoying the scenery. There are a number of nearby small towns and interesting historic buildings, but the town of Melrose is the pick of them and definitely worth a day trip.
I have never rented a property with such comfortable beds and for all these reasons, we would love to return to Dignity.




Beautiful home

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dignity is a beautiful home, we rented both properties and we could eat evening meals together in this house it was large enough for a group of 15. The decor and layout made it feel like home immediately, with a little more luxury. The owners were great and made sure the stay was amazing.



A perfect base in the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a week here recently. The house was spotless on our arrival and the Welcome pack really helped.

Dignity is a perfect base from where to explore the Scottish Borders. There is so much to see and do in this part of the world and the spacious and beautifully maintained house - Dignity - is still remote enough if you just want to enjoy the peace and quiet of the Scottish countryside.

I'm reluctant to recommend it too highly as we'd prefer to keep this gem a secret.




Beautiful place in the Borders

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

My family and I stayed here at the end of March. It’s such a beautiful place in the Borders, so peaceful and picturesque. The house was clean, comfortable and spacious, really lovely to relax in. We felt at ease and very welcomed. So much to do in the area and places to visit, including some great walks. We had good weather whilst there and the hot tub was lovely after long walks/hikes, with the evenings spent cosy in front of the wood stove. We didn’t want to leave and would highly recommend. We hope to book again later this year.