FB Twitter

The Stables

The Stables

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The Stables combines original features like exposed brickwork, beams, and wide doorways with comforting under-floor heating and a bespoke kitchen. Lovingly restored the barn conversion is full of character and perfect for family gatherings or groups, sleeping up to 7 people. There is also an outdoor hot tub for ultimate relaxation.

Perfect escape

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Monkhall Cottages was exactly what we were looking for - a peaceful country escape with incredible facilities and so much to do in the surrounding areas. The garden particularly was fantastic, with a dining area and hot tub with views all the way to the Brecon beacons. Hereford is an easy 10 minute drive with a big Tesco with everything you need - but far enough away for rural bliss. The stables were immaculate, comfortable and felt like a home away from home. We'll be back!

Lydia from London stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in May 2021


Fantastic Family Break in the Hereford countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables provided the setting for a memorable long weekend after a long year in lockdown. A fabulous location close to Hereford which gave the chance to re-visit some places my husband knew as a child and even though Hereford's key attractions were still closed, a walk down the river and through the city centre provided a great opportunity to view the Cathedral, the Black and White House and sample some amazing food from the market stalls.
We were warmly welcomed into the accommodation by the owners and the facilities were great. It is a lovely spacious place with plenty of room to spread out and relax. The hot tub proved to be a winner and the family used it a lot. It was particularly impressive as the sun went down and when the skies cleared the view of the stars was just amazing. We were even treated to the sight of a string of more than 50 of Elon Musk's Starlink satellites passing overhead which was something we would never have seen with the light pollution where we live in London.
We used the recommendations for local shopping and farm produce and had some spectacular steaks cooked on the barbeque along with some Hereford cider.


Anne from London stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in May 2021


Stunning accommodation in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the Stables is 5 star. Beautiful spacious accommodation, lovely peaceful setting, fantastic hot tub and the warmest welcome.
All the little extras from a well equipped kitchen to hotel quality towels, fun doorstops and excellent wifi make this a very special place to spend a few days.
Sally and Mike are so hospitable and we really appreciated a replacement microwave on a Sunday afternoon.
Can’t wait to return.


Lee from Oswestry stayed at The Stables for 7 nights in May 2021


Christmas 2020

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing time at The Stables for Christmas 2020.
Beautiful location and accommodation. Friendly, helpful owners.


Claire from Stalybridge stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in December 2020


Family Get Together

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the weather we all had a really relaxing week and enjoyed the comfort of The Stables. The Hot Tub was the best I've ever used - accessibility of the Tub was brilliant.

Pauline from Gloucester stayed at The Stables for 7 nights in October 2020


Relaxing Mid-Week Break in a Beautiful Countryside Setting

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a really relaxing Mid-Week Break in this lovely Property,
It is called the Stables for Obvious reasons, but in reality it is a very well furnished and beautiful Home away from Home,
The Place was very Clean and had everything we wanted for our stay, and the Hot Tub was a Great way to De-Stress,
The owner Sally is a very cheery and pleasant Lady, very helpful without being intrusive, a perfect combination in my eyes,

Hereford is very close and had everything we needed for nice meals out, Shopping etc,

We will certainly come back and stay again

Ps, The Duck Pond is delightful


Patricia from Reading stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in September 2020


Perfect escape

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the stables as our summer staycation.
It was perfect for just relaxing, exploring the countryside on long walks and spending quality time with loved ones. Hot tub was of course a lovley bonus! We would definitely visit again without hesitation


Sian from Bracknell stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in September 2020


Lovely Place to Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a few days at the Stables at the end of the summer holidays.
It was a lovely house in a stunning location.
Very well equipped, and the kids loved the hot tub!


Nicola from Broadstone stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in August 2020


Wonderful stay at the stables

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely 4 night stay at the stables. The property is furnished to a very high standard, with lots of space and the kitchen area is well equipped. One of the best cottages we have stayed in. We enjoy the hot tub and spending time in the garden. Sally (the host) was very friendly. We enjoyed a walk around the farm and watching the farmers working in the field in the evening. The site is very peaceful, located 25 minutes from Symonds Yat, some local pubs and their are lots of castle ruins to visit. We would highly recommend the accommodation.

Alex from Coventry stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in August 2020


Stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After lockdown this place was like a little piece of heaven. It was perfect in every way. Scenery , comfort , Luxury, every detail provided for and beautifully presented. A real gem .

I marked down slightly as I’m a cleaning freak and there were only a few cobwebs as would be expected from the countryside and an old building . I love all creatures so not an issue for me. It was cleaned to a good standard and property maintained to an excellent level . Stars, beautiful sunsets , the views , watching the rabbits All this from an amazing hot tub . Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.


April from London stayed at The Stables for 7 nights in August 2020


Excellent!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable stay.
The owners were extremely helpful and always available if needed.
We stayed in 'The Stables' which was excellent. The location is beautiful and the hot tub was an added bonus.
Highly recommend.
Would definitely stay again and was also fully Covid-19 compliant.

Many Thanks for having us.


Oliver from Congleton stayed at The Stables for 7 nights in July 2020


The Stables

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful relaxing comfortable cottage to stay in, very convenient location, perfect to 'escape to'. Thank you for being so helpful and accommodating.

Elizabeth from stayed at The Stables for 5 nights in July 2020


Really lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely accommodation. Very well equipped and maintained.
The hosts were really approachable and helpful.
Very peaceful location in the middle of nowhere, just what we wanted! The hot tub was a fantastic addition and we would definitely come back.


Frances from Sheffield stayed at The Stables for 7 nights in February 2020


Girls weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth time back to the stables and it never disappoints. Beautiful accommodation friendly hosts brilliant location 10/10 every time will be back!

Natalie from Aylburton stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in February 2020


Lovely stay at the stables!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything is top spec at this cottage! Super comfortable and everything there that you need! We loved the hot tub and the views all around!

Rhianna from Shrewsbury stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in January 2020


Another fantastic visit!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Monkhall cottages many times over the past few years and cannot fault the cottages. They are always clean, beautifully kept and have everything you could need for a relaxing break. Sally is always so welcoming and has become our favourite place to stay in the area. We will be back again soon!

Helen from Kingsley Green stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in December 2019


Girls weekend away

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a fabulous time at The Stables and found it well equipped and comfortable. The underfloor heating was a treat as well as the jacuzzi.

Liese from Twickenham stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in November 2019


Thanks

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for our fabulous weekend break. The stables had everything we needed and more for a relaxing break away. Amazing location for peace and quiet. The hot tub was a great way to unwind for all the family.

Anna from Cheltenham stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in November 2019


Excellent family stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a excellent stay with myself and my friend and five children. Accommodation was wonderful and the hot tub an added bonus. Owners on hand when we had a query and very helpful. Would definitely recommend and would love to stay again.

Yvonne from Derby stayed at The Stables for 7 nights in October 2019


Perfect location for attending a wedding weekend at Dewsall Court

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired all three Monkshall Cottages for some of our guests attending my son and daughter-in-laws wedding weekend at Dewsall Court. Everything about Monkshall Cottages worked well for us, and was exactly what we expected and needed. We would highly recommend the cottages and the hosts!

Lynne from Hale stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in September 2019


23rd - 26th August whilst attending a Wedding at Dewsall Court. Fantastic accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable stay and perfect location. Added bonus of a hot tub overlooking beautiful farmland.

Pauline from Harpenden stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in August 2019


The Stables is a very cosy and comfortable place to stay - in absolutely fantastic surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 3 days in The Stables.
We came to attend a wedding at the beautiful Dewsall Hall nearby and we absolutely enjoyed our stay.
We live in Denmark and the location fully lives up to our expectations of the wonderful english countryside.
The Stables are cosy and comfortable with a warm atmosphere and we fully recommend it.


Angela from Stockport stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in July 2019


Short break with the mums

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With two elderly mums we needed somewhere with a downstairs bedroom and no steps and the ability to have a bathroom each (possible as we didn't require the single room). In truth, the stairs were a bit awkward for the one with upstairs bedroom due to turn but we coped. They loved the location and peacefulness as did we... we also appreciated the hot tub! Having been lucky enough to 'test drive' a few over the years, this was definitely our 'Rolls Royce' moment!
Conversion has been done very nicely and The Stables is very well equipped. Owners very helpful and friendly.
Great area to get out and about and go exploring. Would happily book again.


Jayne from Harpenden stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in July 2019


Amazing place!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for our friends wedding, everything was ideal and had everything we needed. We would definitely recommend!

Megan from London stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in June 2019


Charming property, perfect for the weekend. Let down by incredibly uncomfortable beds.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was perfect for our needs, however the beds were incredibly uncomfortable. The mattresses were so hard i found it difficult to sleep and the duvet was incredibly thin. Other than that, it was charming.

Roberta from London stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in June 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful, I didn’t want to go home! Great location for walking, shopping and just relaxing. Hot tub was high class, amazing. Would definitely visit again.

Lynne from Southampton stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in June 2019


Relaxing Weekend Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a girly weekend at The Stables. Extremely comfortable and excellent accommodation. The hot tub overlooking fields was blissful. Location superb - just 5 miles into the city and near other attractions too, if you can drag your self away from the cottage.
Sally and her husband were helpful and delightful.

Only missing element was maybe a microwave but really no complaints at all.


Vikki from Redditch stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in February 2019


Brilliant place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing weekend! Fabulous accommodation great value for money would love to stay longer will be back

Natalie from Lydney stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in February 2019


Mrs Diane Kerr

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Stables for a weekend whilst attending a wedding locally. We received a warm welcome and were pleasantly surprised to find the property perfect for our needs. Warm (we stayed in January), extremely comfortable with lovely bedrooms and bathroom facilities. The kitchen was modern with everything we could need and lovely views of the rolling countryside. I can't think of anything negative about our stay.

Andrew from Richmond stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in January 2019


Wonderful Herefordshire

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully appointed accommodation in a lovely setting, so many thoughtful touches excellent quality furnishings first class decor.
Lovely farm walks outside the front door .Cosy yet stylish and the hot tub was a bonus despite -7 degrees!
Thoroughly enjoyed by us all aged between 3 and72


Del from Gloucester stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in February 2019


Highly recommend this place

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place! From the moment we arrived The Stables is just wow. We were a group of 5 ladies wanting a weekend away to relax with a hot tub thrown in. The hosts son could not have been more helpful & friendly, making us feel at home straightaway. Everything about the place was great from the decor, the comfy beds, the board games provided & the hot tub. Would highly recommend & definitely visiting again.

Helen from Hinckley stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in November 2018