FB Twitter

The Granary

The Granary

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Like The Stables, The Granary also has under-floor heating and a large farmhouse style kitchen. It is a cosy retreat for small groups and a perfect base to explore the rambling county of Herefordshire and all of the varied food and drink it produces. A private heated byre provides al fresco dining all year round.

Lovely stay at the Granary

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect accommodation for family attending a nearby wedding. Clean, comfortable and with spectacular views. Sally was a lovely host. Thanks for a great stay

Vicky from Chesterfield stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in October 2021


Perfection

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accommodation with all mod cons, super location with easy access to all types of entertainment. We enjoyed canoeing on the Wye, visits to several Castles and National Trust properties and beautiful walks around the area. We did not want to leave. Thank you Sally

John from Denbigh stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in September 2021


Brilliant stay, couldn't fault!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented all three cottages as part of our wedding accommodation, and our guests were blown away by the quality and value. The check in and out process was incredibly easy, the cottages were in great condition and we really couldn't fault any part of the stay. Thanks so much.

Amber from London stayed at The Granary for 2 nights in September 2021


Perfect country retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Granary and would highly recommend this to anyone looking for quiet country break. Our cottage was finished to the highest standard with all the comforts of home. The hosts were very friendly and my son absolutely loved watching the tractors at work. My only feedback is that our mattress was a little hard for my taste. Although this was a minor concern on an otherwise perfect holiday.

Cassie from Hove stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in August 2021


A perfect holiday home.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Granary provided an excellent standard of accommodation for our week in Herefordshire. It was so easy to feel instantly at home with its spacious rooms and comfortable furnishings. Everything was immaculately clean when we arrived and everything we needed was there. Sally and family were welcoming and friendly and I'm sure would have sorted problems if there were any!
Being on a working farm there was always some activity to watch and plenty of wildlife to see too. We saw brown hare and many species of birds. However, it was also very quiet and peaceful and we never tired of the view from the back garden.
The situation was perfect for visiting Hereford, Monmouth. Malvern, Ledbury and the nearby Romanesque Kilpeck Church and castle. There are still many places on our list to visit so would be very happy to return to The Granary one day.


Frances from Leeds stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in August 2021


Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in lots of cottages and this is one of the best. Everything you need in terms of equipment and facilities. Great shower and bath and a spacious comfortable feel to the place. Owner was helpful and friendly. Lovely views across farmland to the Black mountains. Central location near to Hereford, Ross eff and Hay and Ledbury within reach. It is on a farm location so very quiet and off the beaten track. You need a car to get to pub and shops. But thoroughly recommended

Samantha from Southwell stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in August 2021


A great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property and beautiful location. A welcoming feel to the property with plenty of local attractions to keep our family occupied.

Chris from Swindon stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in August 2021


Excellent!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time staying at Monkhall - lovely cottage, can't wait to come back! Love the setting, view and everything about the cottages.

Lucy from Bridgend stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in July 2021


Our fourth visit

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to Monkhall Cottages and will not be our last - I think this says all you need to know. The cottages are well-equipped, spacious, clean, and comfortable. There are just the two cottages and the farmhouse in the area, with no other people within about half a mile. As a result the atmosphere is very quiet and relaxing. Highly recommended.

Jeremy from Potters Bar stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in June 2021


A week at the Granary

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful well equipped cottage in a very pleasant location . Very modern with rustic charm. Spotlessly clean with crisp white bedding and soft white towels. The owners live on the site and were very friendly and helpful. There are many places to visit and some good local pub restaurants including the Kilpeck Inn.

Carol from Durham stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in June 2021


Couldn’t be better

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful find! We arrived a little early but the Granary was ready with the key in the door for us! It really is home from home with some perfect little touches! We loved the croquet set and sitting in the garden looking at the rolling hills was just amazing! Wonderfully clean, equipped and better than we could have expected.
The welcome from Sally was first class!
We will definitely be back!


Gaynor from Weston-super-mare stayed at The Granary for 2 nights in June 2021


A lovely place for a break

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend a stay here if you want peace and quiet in a beautiful setting.

The accommodation is perfect and has everything you need, the owners are lovely and check that you are ok and that everything is in order for you.

Highly recommended.



Helen from New Romney stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in May 2021


A lovely place for a break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at the Granary, the setting is idyllic, so peaceful and with beautiful views and great walks from the cottage.

The cottage itself is beautiful and tastefully decorated, perfect with underfloor heating.

The area is also great, you can get to some many lovely places in less than an hour. Symonds Yat Rock is a must.


Helen from New Romney stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in October 2020


A peaceful and relaxing break in a luxury cottage with outstanding views

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is little there hasn’t been thought of here and all very tasteful and comfortable. Combined with a stunning location and great local walks it makes a perfect break all year round.

Ian from Wythall stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in September 2020


A return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fourth time we have been to Monkhall. Have stayed in both the Stables and the Granary. Both excellent accommodations.
Sally vey helpful and friendly.
Will definitely be visiting again.


Steven from Sheffield stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in September 2020


We were speechless - a beautiful property, fab hosts and so much peace

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a beautiful stay at The Granary at Monkhall Cottages. From before booking, a quick phone call with Sally, the booking process and then arriving at this breathtaking property. What we loved was the peaceful and calm atmosphere - the cottage is in the middle of their farm which means there's no other public or properties. The actual cottage was in immaculate condition including all the kitchen items. The outdoor space looking out onto more greenery, land and the mini-lake was the icing on the cake. The hosts were also very helpful in helping us with cycle routes and other things to do in the local area. We will definitely be returning back in the near future.

Bhavik from Borehamwood stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in September 2020


Great short break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great facilities, lovely 5 day break, house very spacious and in great condition. Beautiful views. Would come back again

Emma from Staines-upon-thames stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in August 2020


Beautiful cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week - the property was gorgeous, airy and light and with plenty of outdoor space. The location is really peaceful, but also close to Hereford and with lots to do with the kids nearby. The hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful and we were made to feel really welcome. Highly recommended.

Susan from Knutsford stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in August 2020


Fantastic accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation and a lovely holiday. Already booked our next stay and it cannot come soon enough. 10/10

Gareth from Middlesbrough stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in July 2020


Delightful accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Granary. Made very welcome by our hosts. Recommend a visit to all.

Judith from Ashington stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in July 2020


Feedback

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Granary is a lovely building.Its stone and wood interior make it a comfortable and inviting place to stay.Its facilities are very good.A welcome hamper of basic supplies would be nice to find on arrival.Views from all windows are amazing and the people are very friendly.

Trevor from Bedworth stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in January 2020


Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Came down for a wedding. The accommodation is really lovely. It’s incredibly warm due to the underfloor heating which was nice in the cold days we were there. The views are also very nice outside the back of the property. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks.

George from London stayed at The Granary for 2 nights in November 2019


Family 40th birthday celebration.

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous choice for the birthday. Everything you could possibly think of was perfect. Beautiful conversion, accommodation, views, hospitality, oak fittings to die for and of course the hot tub. I think the children would have spent the whole weekend in it if they could (despite it being a rather cold and wet weekend). Although we did not leave the properties (apart for some walks around the farm and fossil hunting with the children), there are plenty of local attractions to suit all tastes within easy travelling distances.

We have already booked next May for a return visit with the family to celebrate our 70th birthdays.


Robin from Henley In Arden stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in November 2019


5 Star Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely fantastic week had at the Granary.The Granary provided fantastic accommodation with everything you could want.
The whole experience was great from booking on an extremely user friendly website,with all the information you could want about The Granary.to actually spending the time there.Sally and Mike were great hosts.Will return !


Alan from Merseyside stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in September 2019


Perfect location for attending a wedding weekend at Dewsall Court

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired all three Monkshall Cottages for some of our guests attending my son and daughter-in-laws wedding weekend at Dewsall Court. Everything about Monkshall Cottages worked well for us, and was exactly what we expected and needed. We would highly recommend the cottages and the hosts!

Lynne from Hale stayed at The Granary for 2 nights in September 2019


Fabulous stay in wonderful cottages!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked all three of the Monkhall Cottages (The Granary, The Stables and White Lodge) and found that they all exceeded our expectations. The pictures on the website are lovely but the reality is even better. They have been thoughtfully and tastefully furnished - everything is there that you would expect and Sally is hugely helpful and a pleasure to deal with. I strongly recommend booking any (or all!) of the cottages - you will not be disappointed!

Marie from London stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in August 2019


We stayed here as we were attending a ceremony at Dewsall Court.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were fortunate to be staying at The Granary during the hottest three days of the year, so fabulous weather. Relatives and friends stayed in The Stables which enabled us to share our time together in this beautiful location.

Pauline from Harpenden stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in August 2019


Lovely stay at the Granary

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at the Granary.
The views across the fields were spectacular, we loved sitting in the garden in the mornings and evening. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard.
The cottage is well placed for visiting Shropshire, Gloucestershire and Wales in addition to Herefordshire. We went to Puzzle Wood, Hereford, Ludlow, the Long Mynd and Croft Castle.
We would recommend it as a lovely place to stay.


Guest from Huntingdon stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in August 2019


Beautiful cottages in stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love coming to stay at Monkhall cottages, we’re always made to feel so welcome and the cottages are beautifully kept and comfortable. The surrounding countryside is stunning and yet it’s just a short drive into Hereford. I’ve stayed at the cottages every year for several years in a row and never been disappointed!

Helen from Kingsley Green stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in July 2019


Wonderful cottage with everything you need. Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We could not have asked for better accommodation. The cottage was very comfortable with everything we needed. The beds were super comfortable with lovely bathrooms. The location is wonderful and particularly well positioned as we were there for a weeding at Drewsall Court only a short drive away. Wonderful thank you.

Angela from Stockport stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in July 2019


Excellent Cottage Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at The Granary was most enjoyable. The farm is in a beautiful rural location within easy reach of many Hereford attraction. The Granary has a modern interior, with great views over fields and the owners are very friendly. We would definitely stay again.

Susan from Oulton, Tarporley stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in July 2019


Wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All your needs catered for .superb location delightful. people peace and quiet a piece of Heaven on your doorstep would come again.

Roy from Ferndown stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in June 2019


Wonderful location very friendly owners totally peaceful. Thanks

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We will stay again great location Lovely property peaceful and comfortable. The owners were very friendly. We will be back. Already told our friends to stay.

Richard from Cleckheaton stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in May 2019


First trip to Herefordshire - peaceful getaway.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the Granary. Very good accommodation and well equipped.
The beds were too hard for our taste. Great mattresses - shame they were on bedsteads with hard boards.
Situation of Granary was excellent, peaceful and surprisingly private. Granary design is lovely with some beautiful furniture, soft furnishings and china etc dotted about.
Owners were so helpful.
Great location for exploring the Wye valley.


Guest from Lymington stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in April 2019


An excellent place!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Granary is stylish and very comfortable.The views of the countryside are fabulous and the warm welcome from Sally,Mike and Pam make you feel at home immediately. It is a great place to stay.

Linda from Whitstable stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in April 2019


Wonderful Herefordshire

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with the Stables as it was a special birthday celebration for one of the Grandparents and everything we said about the Stables applies to the Granary. Three generations were extremely happy.

Del from Gloucester stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in February 2019


Comfy but lacking a few extra touches.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Jan 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Nice enough, clean and as advertised but a pint of milk, some tea bags and a few biscuits would not have gone amiss. A lot of money for a very basic offering.

David from Ilkley stayed at The Granary for 2 nights in November 2018