FB Twitter

Chestnut Cottage

Chestnut Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Located on the stunning lime avenue drive to Arniston House, Chestnut and Lime Cottages form part of a row of 5 stone cottages which used to house the foresters' for the estate in days gone by. Set in a sunny tranquil courtyard the cottages overlook fields to the north. The cottages also have an area of peaceful garden for visitors' use.

Best holidays!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Arniston house multiple times now. The staff is incredibly welcoming and accomodating. We have also hired their orangery and grounds to run our Mantrailing courses. It´s always a pleasure to come back!

Lisa from Rogerstone stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Beautiful!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage set in a really stunning location. Henrietta was a brilliant host and very helpful.

Charlotte from stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 12 nights in February 2020


Returning visit

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at Arniston cottages several times over the years. It’s a beautiful place to stay whatever time of year you visit. The Owner is very hospitable and is always on hand if you have any issues. If you’re wanting a beautiful place to stay with excellent links in to Edinburgh then this is the place to stay.

Katrina from Derby stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 9 nights in November 2019


Comfortable and cosy.

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A nice comfortable little cottage and I felt quite at home during my stay (6 nights). It was well equipped and nicely decorated and furnished. I do, however, have 2 criticisms. The radiators require to be bled as most were cool at the top and hot at the bottom. The lighting needs to be looked at - in the bathroom it needs to be vastly improved, seriously! Also in the kitchen the strip light under the unit by the microwave was not working and the cooker extraction fan light didn't work. Despite that I was glad I stayed there and a little sad to leave it - it had such character.

Gillian from Helensburgh stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 6 nights in October 2019


Amazing place

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at the Arniston House and the cottages are so nice. Very dog friendly as well. Will definitley be back!

Lisa from Rogerstone stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 6 nights in September 2019


Very beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is near Edinburgh ( 20 minutes by the car) the piace is a very beautiful location, clear, elegant and have all services.

Vittorio from Aversa (ce) stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 14 nights in August 2019


Summer trip

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was situated in a great location for trips to the coast, Edinburgh and Glentress. We enjoyed surfing and mountain biking and a day trip into Edinburgh via the train.
The cottage itself was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for the week.


Guest from Basingstoke stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a short break and had a great time. The cottage was lovely and comfortable and provided everything we needed. The surroundings were beautiful with lots of walks straight from the door. The weather was warm and sunny so the shared garden area came in handy to sit outside with a coffee. The dog also had a great time!
We also had a very warm welcome from Henrietta. Thanks for everything. We will be back in the future.


Janice from stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 3 nights in June 2019


Chestnut Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chestnut cottage is a great little retreat in the fabulous setting of Arniston Estate. The cottage has been fitted out with comfort in mind- comfy sofas, log fire and super soft beds. Best of all - it’s dog friendly. What’s not to like?

Collette from stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 5 nights in May 2019


Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Weather was great. You can hear the birds singing and the stars were awesome without the street lights. Nice location for Edinburgh or the borders. Lovely walks on the Estate.



Gloria from stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 28 nights in March 2019


Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the property because it was a 5 min walk to the Arniston House where I joined a diploma program. It turned out to be a wonderful holiday both because of the house itself and the surroundings.

Henrietta is wonderful host. She makes sure everything is good.

Will be back.





Yigit from Life 3 D9 Teşvikiye Şişli 34365 stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 5 nights in November 2018


Charm & comfort

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay, full off charm and character but with all the comforts of home, absolutely loved it. A great country location with easy links by car and train into Edinburgh.

Peter from stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 42 nights in September 2018


Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the lovely review and so glad that you and the family enjoyed your stay at Chestnut Cottage. We are so lucky to have the train link to Edinburgh so close for our guests yet you still feel you are in the country.

Super stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Aniston were excellently located both for sight seeing by road and by train to Edinburgh. The tip of using the train instead of the park and ride was great and station is only a few mins away. The owners were friendly and allowed our daughter to use the trampoline daily - weather permitting. The cottage was clean and well appointed. Would not hesitate to book again off we were ever in the area again. Super holiday and super memories.

Paul from Tiptree stayed at Chestnut Cottage for 14 nights in July 2018