FB Twitter

Forest Cottage

Forest Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 63 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Forest Cottage has one double bedroom, one twin and one single with extra pull out bed. The house overlooks woodland, grazing fields, and down to the shore and off shore islands. There is one step into the property, but everything is on one level inside. The living accommodation is spacious and the garden is enclosed. There is direct access to some wonderful walking on the shore, in the woods and up to hill land.

Relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage very clean and comfortable can’t fault it. The location is amazing so quiet and tranquil, will be definitely booking again



Magical week

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, traditionally furnished. Particularly well equipped kitchen. Cottage has lovely views of this most beautiful part of the country, and is warm and cosy.



Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love visiting Forest Cottage and that’s why we keep coming back. We have visited Ardmaddy close to 10 times now and our ratings indicate how we feel about the cottage. The views are awesome, the cottage warm and comfortable and very central to areas that we like to visit. Jan and the team are always so welcoming and do a fantastic job. Thank you all.



A week in paradise!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were seeking a holiday that provided peace and quiet, semi-isolation, terrific scenery and all the comforts of home and we certainly found it in the Ardmaddy Estate and Forest Cottage. The cottage was warm and comfortable and the owners had provided every facility necessary for a self catering holiday. Their printed information regarding local places of interest was comprehensive and informative enabling us to find spots well off the main tourist track giving a glimpse of the real Argyll. A brilliant place to explore from, either on foot with the dogs or by car. Nearby Oban provided supermarkets, shops, restaurants with excellent seafood and ferries to the islands. The island of Seil and nearby Glen Scammadale and Glen Lonan provided stunning scenery and a chance to unwind and recharge your inner batteries. We were made to feel welcome everywhere and certainly hope to be back.



A wonderful place.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place in beautiful surroundings. The ultimate in peace and quiet, yet within easy reach of Oban.
Jan is extremely helpful and easy to access.
Having spent many happy times at Forest and Craiguillean we will be only to happy to return again.




Fantastic Location, Great Cottage, Wonderful Area

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wasn't sure what to expect being on an estate, we were not disappointed. Cottage was in an amazing location looking out into the Loch/sea. Everyone we met on the estate were so friendly to us and the dogs. Our dogs had the most amazing time paddling everyday. We loved the location so much to do in the area. We had one small problem but was fixed immediately. I would have like the garden to be abit more secure with slightly higher secure fencing but this did not spoil out stay. Many thanks to everyone at Ardmaddy Castle we had a great time.
Sandra, Paul, Wilma Ruby and Harvey aka the Clarke Clan




Idyllic Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have just returned home from Forest Cottage at Ardmaddy Castle. The cottage is lovely, beautifully decorated, comfortable furniture and beds and very warm and cosy with great central heating and an open fire. The garden was great for my dog with 4 ft fences. The setting is absolutely gorgeous but the road down to the cottage is not for the feint-hearted! Single track which we chose not to attempt at night.

Brilliant walks from the door for our dog and lots of interesting and beautiful towns, villages, hamlets etc to explore. Oban is a great Scottish seaside town and their small beach is great for running a dog.

Lots of places didn't open til Easter but we still found enough to do and could happily have stayed another week exploring but from Easter to Nov there's so much more to visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and our dog had an absolute blast! Would highly recommend Ardmaddy cottages and the west coast of Scotland. Stunning scenary wherever you go!




A slice of paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally located for an escape from working life. Surroundings are stunning with plenty to do to keep little ones active and entertained; whether that be walking through the estate grounds, playing tennis or even buildings puzzles with a fire and a view to the loch. Take a walk to the wishing tree for a morning walk before lunch or afternoon stroll. The views are spectacular.
Oban is not far for groceries etc. We will definitely return




Ideal spot to relax

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful spot to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. Cottage very well appointed with everything we needed.



Fantastic location!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Forest Cottage was very comfortable and in a superb location, so quiet. The Ardmaddy staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved it all!



Good

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was very good and comfortable the garden was good for large dogs to run around but not suitable for our 3 little dogs they could get under the gates and through the fence when the sheep were in the next field. So we had to keep them on the lead. But all in all a good holiday.



September Holiday 23

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a lovely place and setting to have a restful holiday. Thats was our first impression of the place as we drew up on the drive, and it certainly didn't disappoint when we were inside. It felt warm and cosy, fresh and clean, and the views from the windows were stunning. We had a very warm welcome from Jan and we were introduced to her lovely dogs.
The house was well equipped with everything you would need, and a welcome pack of biscuits were very much appreciated.
We enjoyed our walks around the gardens and loch, unfortunately the weather this time round wasn't too kind which was a pity.
Certainly would recommend this without any question. We will be back but without the elderly parents so we can discover more of this area.




A trip to see eagles and otters

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed in another cottage in Ardmaddy twice before. Unfortunately, Covid got in the way for a few years. We took our daughter to Oban, because Scotland is her favourite place in the world. The cottage was very clean, nicely decorated in neutral colours and well equipped. The kitchen is as good as being at home. They have thought of everything. Our daughter loved the log fire, and wanted us to light one every evening!

We went for several walks on the estate, but probably at the wrong time of day or year to see golden eagles or sea otters. However, we caught the ferry to Mull one day, and saw two white tailed eagles on the coastal drive there!

Oban has everything - it is well supplied with supermarkets and restaurants, with stunning scenery on its doorstep. We visited our favourite restaurants from our previous visits - to eat the best, freshed and most reasonably priced seafood in the UK in our opinion. We love going through Glen Coe, and looking at views of Ben Nevis from the Commando memorial, which is very moving!




A very special place

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super stay in Forest - 2 adults and 2 children. The cottage had everything we needed and is set in the most beautiful setting. We will definitely be back!



forest cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
well equipped ,clean and comfortable cottage great views and walks nearby
castle gardens close by to walk round.




Forest cottage - wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from yet another 5 star week at Forest Cottage. Spic & span, warm & welcoming on entry with everything in place. Apart from one dull morning we had with wall to wall blue skies. A host of good walks & outings. We ate out at the Cuan Mor, Oban, the Loch Melfort Hotel, the Atlantic Islands on Luing plus twice at the Tigh & Truish - all very good.
We will be back.




Peaceful Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Forest Cottage in Ardmaddy Castle Estate is a wonderful cottage in the most peaceful and beautiful location. Presented very clean, spotless in fact, a large kitchen with every amenity, a beautiful comfortable sitting room with a large window to take advantage of the stunning views over Ardmaddy Bay. The bedroom was also large with a very comfortable bed, more comfortable than my own at home!
I loved the early morning and evening walks my dog exploring the beautiful sights and sounds of the estate, the most perfect and peaceful way to start whenever day.

I wonderful base to explore the stunning West coast of Scotland and beyond.

I highly recommend Ardmaddy Castle Estates and the lovely Forest Cottage

Cannae wait to come back !




Still outstanding

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been to this cottage numerous time and as always it's a pleasure to be there. Welcoming tray of tea and biscuits, a bright clean cottage awaits. Location is great, you can walk the estate or visit the local area, either of which will give you what you need. Needless to say, we will be back.



A wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage everything we wished for.
The cottage location was stunning & there was so much wildlife. Fabulous to walk down to the Boathouse.
We were also blessed with really good weather for March.
Honestly, we can't think of anything negative to say, we had a wonderful time.

Few points to mention - we found it tricky to find on arrival, wonder if more signage would be helpful once you leave the main road from Oban?
Also, need better clarification re. check out time. The original booking email said 10am, the info in the property said 0930 & the final email said 9am.
Finally, the shower over the bath in the main bathroom needs a little attention - the shower head appeared a bit blocked & the whole unit was not very securely fixed to the wall.




Peace and Quiet

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again Ardmaddy is the perfect place to stay for peace quiet and incredibly views, wonderful sunsets, and northern lights.
Wouldn’t change a thing.




Perfect holiday venue.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and top notch accommodation. Real attention to detail making the cottage feel like home from home.



Another delightful week at Forest Cottage, Ardmaddy Castle Estate

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had many holidays at Forest Cottage & are thus very familiar with most aspects of the cottage & the area.
Wrt the cottage, everything has always been of the highest quality &, this year, the high standards were fully maintained.
The welcome 'package' is much appreciated, ie the tea & biscuits, & the floral arrangements, prepared by Jan, were a delight to the eye.
The walled garden is always a great attraction. We have had a number of October weeks here before, but this year, the autumn colours just had an extra zest.
The weather was a bit more 'West Highland' than usual, but we enjoyed a wide variety of walks on the estate & on the nearby islands.
Re eating out, we were spoiled for choice. This year we would highlight the recently extended & refurbished Tigh-nan-Truish.
Eating in is always a delight - superb facilities & views.




Scotland at it's best

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardmaddy Estate is a real treasure of a place, the cottage had everything we needed with the best views. The night skies also provided us with fabulous views, as did the Autumn colours & highland cows along the shore line.
Extra touches of fresh flowers & a few provisions was really lovely.
Walks from the door were superb especially being able to wander into the Castle gardens- stunning.
We have been coming up to Easdale for a few years now & kept saying we should do a boat trip, so with the help of your recommendations we booked the whirlpool tour with Seafari, which did not disappoint.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.




A memorable week in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage view was stunning and we enjoyed the walks around the bay.
The location on Ardmaddy Castle estate meant that it was a tranquil and very peaceful setting.
The cottage was very well equipped indeed and great for meals at home with local ingredients. The estate manager gave recommendations for local butcher and there was plenty of fresh sea food available on Calmac pier which was fantastic. We enjoyed our meals with a view! Bird watching was great especially via telescope down to the shore from the cottage “conservatory “.
Very comfortable bed indeed too.!
The garden by the main house was a delight to walk around - we felt very privileged to be so close by and be able to walk into it regularly. Plus the vegetables were delicious.
It was an excellent base to explore Oban, nearby islands and surrounding area.
It was a dog friendly cottage with secure garden , plus towels and blankets and bowls all provided. Excellent. There was some livestock in the fields around and on the salt marsh and shore and understandably dogs on lead were requested which was no problem for us.

Phone signal was very poor for O2 by better for EE/BT . The cottage wifi was better than advised.

Overall a memorable week in a fantastic location. The weather was very kind to us too.

Thank you for the warm welcome from all staff we met .




Top notch as always

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The team and facilities are great, as always. Only thing they cannot control is the weather but if they could they would get that right too. Jan and David, thanks for all your efforts, see you next year.



Bucket list

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Forest Cottage as part of my wife’s bucket list to go Whale Watching. Ardmaddey Castle was an excellent location. The area was outstanding with fantastic walks on your doorstep and plenty to explore around the area. We have been to Scotland many times but this area holds the most scenic with all the islands, lochs woodland and coastal walks. Everyone was friendly and polite. We loved the area so much we have booked for next year already with everything on your doorstep you can’t go wrong.



Comfort and peace

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Forest Cottage was bigger than we expected and was exceptionally clean, comfortable and well equipped with Jan checking all was well after our arrival and we’d preordered veg from the estate. Stunning location and didn’t need to use the car to enjoy walking and swimming and Ardmaddy’s beautiful walled garden. Very peaceful but also close to isle of Seil and Luing to enjoy whale watching trip and cycling.



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage amazing but a slight musty smell which improved when the cottage was aired. Beautiful surroundings , very peaceful. Close to Oban & plenty to do in the surrounding areas. There was no games room which was disappointing & we were given the wrong directions to Forest Cottage. The website needs updating. We had a wonderful holiday & we will be booking for next year.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing stay at Ardmaddy. The view from Forest Cottage is lovely, and we were lucky enough to see otters by the boatshed. Oban is a lovely seaside town to visit.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A welcoming holiday cottage, clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything required for an enjoyable stay on the west coast.




Cosy cottage by the sea

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Forest Cottage. It's immaculately presented with everything you need for a holiday. It was great to have logs provided for the fire and fresh flowers. The location is stunning with easy tracks to explore baking the coast, beautiful gardens and tracks through the woodlands. We definitely plan to return for another holiday.



Stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for all of the family. The scenery was breathtaking and the area was very quiet. So peaceful so relaxing for spending family time. Just what the doctor ordered.



Ideal break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a welcoming, quiet and peaceful break in a place with lovely views this could be just what you want.



Family break away

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleasant place to stay, very peaceful. Property had everything you needed. Great walks for the dogs. Lovely view from the property, and positioned not too far out of Oban but far enough to give you a quiet holiday.



Forrest cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and tidy . The kettle and toaster in the kitchen are in need of updating .
Fantastic area for dog walking .




A week at Forest Cottage , September 2021.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, cottage excellent with all facilities that we needed. Stunning scenery and local wlldlife exceptional.Although on a remote estate, once you get used to the roads ! , its a lovely place to spend a holiday. Oban, a busy town, is only 13 miles away.There are lots of walks in the area, and many interesting places to visit by car.



excellent holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a nice week in sept ,,nice welcome flowers,milk,coffee,tea,sugar etc left by jan lovely view nice walks nearby very quiet and relaxing holiday brilliant wee shop nearby and 30 mins from oban no complaints at all



Forest Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a lovely cottage and situation. The fishing was a little disappointing - not the best area for that because of the seaweed and access to the best parts. However we saw a mother otter and pup so that was a real highlight. Sadly for us the weather which was very hot down south was poor, some rain and cold enough to have to put the heating on in the cottage but obviously the weather is out of anyone's hands. We visited Seil, Easdale and Luing all worth visiting. We also drove down to Campbeltown - the drive was lovely but the town was disappointing, a bleak looking place but we did have fish and chips in the hotel on the front and possibly some of the best battered fish I've eaten! We know the area around Oban well - a beautiful area. Ardmaddy Castle is very close to the cottage and the gardens which are free to residents were beautiful.



Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a family break for 3 generations and the cottage was perfect. It was roomy, light & airy & very well equipped.
The location was outstanding with beautiful views and walks all around.
We had beautiful weather too.
Only slight criticism was the TV. Had the weather not been good, the family would probably have wanted to watch and the sky package was very limited.
I would definitely recommend Ardmaddy and hope to return myself. Thank you.




Forest Cottage 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another first class holiday at Forest Cottage. There is always something new there. We immediately spotted the pristine external walls..
Despite only having got out of lockdown a few weeks ago, the local eating places were back on form & we enjoyed very good lunches at Loch Melfort Hotel (Arduanie Gardens were at their best), the Atlantic Islands, Luing, the Oyster Bar, Ellenabeich, & the Tigh-an Truish. Unfortunately, the Puffer Bar on Easdale was closed, as it is changing hands. We still made our visit to this charming little island.
The Ardmaddy Gardens were spectacular - well done John & Minette.




Forest cottage in late October

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Forest Cottage in the wettest week ever known to us.
We managed to make the most of the weather and spent more time driving to new locations than the usual walking. It was always good to have a welcoming, cosy cottage to return to.
The autumn colours were magnificent and the rough seas so dramatic.
It is an unfailingly beautiful part of Scotland, in spite of the rain.




Another excellent holiday in Forest Cottage, Ardmaddy Castle Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had many lovely holidays at Forest Cottage. It was in its usual spic & span state when we arrived. Jan's lovely flower arrangements just add a warm welcoming touch.
We were very lucky with the weather & got out & about each day. We were really impressed by the way the places at which we lunch had adapted to the current regime. The sea food was as good as ever.We lunched at the Puffer Inn, Easdale, Atlantic Islands, Luing, The Oyster Bar & Tigh-an-Truish, Seil plus the Loch Melfort Hotel. Our usual en-route restaurant in Oban was closed.
Minette's garden was as attractive as ever. We had a long chat with her about her plans for 2021.




COVID secure at Forest Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in great location and we felt confident that cleanliness was of a very high standard.



Very relaxing comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had fabulous views and was very well equiped. It was cosy and warm . Ideal rooms for drying wet cloathes after a walk.



Great place to escape from Covid worries!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were so glad to find such a great place for our holiday, keeping our fingers crossed that we would be able to travel from England to Scotland. Forest Cottage was bigger than the photos suggested, with plenty of room for the six of us. Great views and walks on the estate, and we enjoyed courgettes from the gardens.



Great Christmas

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at forest cottage over Christmas and had a lovely holiday. There were pleanty of walks from the doorstep, great for the dogs who were able to roam in the garden without any worry of them getting out. There was a pub 9 mins drive away and oban wasnt too far. Would reccomend to anyone who enjoys walking and beautiful scenery.



Fantastic little cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For 5 adults, this cottage catered for all our needs with ease. Exceptionally clean; lovely spacious kitchen with plenty of utensils and equipment, very comfortable beds, cosy sitting room. Large enclosed garden which was excellent for dog. Sadly we only booked for 2 nights so only managed to so some short walks which were good. Fantastic scenery. Would love to go back and would definitely recommend.



A comfortable place in great surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equipped cottage, very clean and warm. The walks in the garden and on the estate were very good and great to see wildlife - otters, white tailed eagles and the first pink footed geese arriving. A quiet restful place whatever the weather and a good place for local kayaking and walking. The cottage manager was very helpful throughout the booking period and time we were staying.
It is expensive compared to other similar properties and we were two people in a cottage which could take five. No discount for less people as other cottages we have stayed in offer. So much as we would like to return in May the increased price would be out of our range sadly....
The only suggestion we would make is for a lamp or two for reading.




Beautiful position

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Light comfortable cottage with welcoming flowers.
Delightful porch area to sit in and log fires if cold in the evening.
Good walking area and lovely garden to rsvisit.




Forest Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, everything you needed, home from home, lovely location. Lots to do in the area especially our boat trip saw lots of wildlife.



Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Splendid cottage with all mod cons. Some attention needed to the toilet flushing in the main bathroom.



Ardmaddy 19

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Forest Cottage, Ardmaddy is our favourite Scottish holiday venue. We have holidayed there many times, over a fair number of years, & we enjoyed this year as much as ever. Jan made us very welcome, & it is always good to know that she is around, to give advice & answer questions. How did we spend our holiday? We did a lot of walking on the estate, enjoying the calm & the lovely views out to the islands, the walk over to Degnish being particularly good. You can walk round the gardens every day, which we did, & & this year they were particularly colourful. John & Minette do a great job there. These can all be done without using the car. We did our usual ventures on to Seil, Luing & Easdale - there is something special about going on to these islands. There is a wide variety of lunching establishments in the vicinity, & we used them. The fresh seafood is a particular joy. After these exertions, the cottage is so good to come back to, to relax & take in the beautiful view across the bay to the islands. The log fire enhances the ambience, especially if the weather is a not so good. We will be back in 2019 - dates still to be established.



The perfect West Coast holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardmaddy is the most beautiful estate strung out along an unspoilt shore Wildlife abounds from the deer grazing in the early morning to the otter family hunting the shoreline at dusk. The lochs are safe and sheltered for exploring in a boat which you can rent from Charles or take your own and there are many islands to visit.
We had a wonderful holiday everyone was so welcoming and helpful and I can’t thank them enough. Forest Cottage was comfortable and welcoming with everything you could possibly need. We were a family of 6 adults and were very happy with the space.




50

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Would have been amazing except for the overpowering smell of fuel oil inside the cottage. We approached the care taker and other niggles were sorted out quickly. Unfortunately we wouldn't stay again nor recommend unless that smell was sorted out.



Jan Wolfe replied more than 1 year ago
We are sorry your stay was marred by the smell of oil, which we initially blamed on turbulence around the boiler from an unusual wind direction - and was far worse than we initially realised. A plumber was called out after you had left, and a recently replaced pipe was found to be faulty and was leaking. This has now been repaired, and the smell has completely gone. I look forward to welcoming you to Ardmaddy again in the future.

Home away from home

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, all you need is there. Good comms from the cottage manager, friendly people on the estate, great walks around the estate and if you do need anything towns are close by. The dogs love the garden.



Ardmaddy - beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular holiday visitors Ardmaddy, staying at Forest Cottage. It is beautiful and relaxing at any time of year. We always receive a warm 'Welcome back' from Jan, & we know that she is there to sort out any little problems that we may have. We walk round the garden every day. It is something special. There many lovely walks on the Estate, & we are within easy reach of so many attractive places. Outings to the Island of Luing, which now invariably conclude with seafood lunches at the new splendid Atlantic Islands facility, are our favourite.



Ardmaddy revisted

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It had been 10 years since our last visit and it was as wonderful as we remembered even in the rain
Forest Cottage was welcoming comfortable the open fire making it extra cosy




A perfect holiday in a splendid location.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the estate staff we met were very pleasant and extremely helpful especially the cottage manager Jan



Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect holiday destination, beautiful, peaceful location next to the loch. The cottage was well equipped with everything you could want in the kitchen including condiments, dishwasher tablets and washing powder. The beds were very comfortable and lovely duvets. The castle garden was beautiful and the kids enjoyed the tennis court. Everyone on the estate was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful & welcoming. We highly recommend this property and will definitely be back! Thank you all for making our stay so perfect.



Review of forest cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cottage despite a hiccup of some ill health. Weather was a real boon.
Lovely surroundings , walks close and great views . Especially good, was the beautiful , tranquil garden on our doorstep . A much visited and appreciated treat.
Staff were really kind , helpful and supportive especially Jan , the cottage manager .




Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous Christmas holiday at Forest Cottage. Everything we needed was there, and a very high standard of cleanliness. We stayed a week with our dogs, who thoroughly enjoyed the enclosed garden, and walks round the estate. Would highly recommend Armaddy cottages, and would love to return. A special thanks to Jan, the estate manager, who was very helpful and made us feel most welcome.



Ardmaddy - beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been holidaying at Forest Cottage for 30 years, and we love it. The location is stunning, and there is so much to do, and so many good walks, both on the estate, and in the area. The community run Atlantic Islands facility, in Cullipool, on the island of Luing, is a relatively new addition, and well worth a visit, especially if you enjoy delicious seafood. Another attractive outing is to take the motor boat to the tiny island of Easdale, and lunch in the Puffer Restaurant. Both islands are worth exploring.
The estate is very progressive, and each year there are upgrades in Forest Cottage, some fairly minor, and others pretty extensive.
Jan manages everything, and she is always only too pleased to offer suggestions for outings, or to resolve any hitches, these all being done with a smile.




Excellent property

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our time at forest cottage The accommodation was excellent and we enjoyed just chilling out in front of the log fire.
We had 2 dogs with us and went for walks around the estate. Would recommend keeping dogs on a long leed as there are a lot of sheep around.
WiFi reception was good but if you need mobile phone reception go to the end of the pier!!
A good base for exploring the region.
Been here many times before in the past and stayed in The Stables and Craiguillean all good!
Manager Jan was very helpful and on hand if you have a problem.




Jan Wolfe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, and also for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy when you left! I'm glad you enjoyed your time here.