FB Twitter

Craiguillean

Craiguillean

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Craiguillean has an enviable position right on the water's edge. It sleeps eight in one double ensuite, one twin and one bunk room with two sets of bunks. There is also a z-bed available for the occasional overflow. There is an additional bathroom, and the living accommodation comprises a large kitchen and dining room open plan to the sitting room which has a wood burning stove. There is an enclosed garden with direct access to the shore and a private jetty.

Stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very comfortable cottage in a wonderfully isolated location, with the most beautiful scenery. Very tranquil even with the visiting cows and sheep.



Relaxing Stay at Craiguillean

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to this cottage. As usual, the cottage was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Due to the current Covid 19 situation, additional hygiene cleansing and cleaning regimes had been put in place and the cottage management clearly documented these and provided a copy for us to read upon our arrival. This provided us with a huge degree of comfort that our well being, as well as those of the Ardmaddy team, are important and we felt that the cottage was a secure and safe environment for all staying visitors.

The location of the cottage is ideal for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle and the estate grounds provide many varied ways to fill the day, such as visiting the beautiful castle gardens, walking and fishing. We also hired one of the estate boats which provides an added dimension to the holiday and allowed us to visit places better accessible by boat.

I cannot recommend Ardmaddy highly enough. A perfect holiday destination with unbeatable views.




Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You couldn't ask for a better location and cottage fantastic for family children and pets will love it.



Another Fabulous Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful 2 weeks here.
Cottage beautifully presented in a stunning location.
Spotlessly clean & sparkling on arrival, fresh flowers in lounge & dining area, tea tray awaiting with shortbread most welcoming.
The views & sunsets from the cottage are spectacular, with lots of wildlife to be seen.
Dogs are made very welcome with their own doggie bag provided, with towels blankets & bowl.
Hector our boxer loves it here & thinks this is his 2nd home.
We always look forward to visiting the gardens, which are beautiful at anytime of the year, and John the gardener on hand to answer questions & give gardening tips.
As usual Jan & her team do a wonderful job, making everyone welcome & ensuring they have everything they need & providing information on the area.
Already booked for next year.
Diane Michael & Hector




Sept sun

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and despite the internet issues - now solved, and the carpet issues - caused by a dog from earlier occupant, we had a lovely time.
The service from Jan is also superb.




Peace, perfect peace.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a very comfortable week at Craiguillean, loved the peace and seclusion. There was always something interesting to see from the cottage, whether it was passing boats, wildlife or even the weather,(we caught the tail-end of Storm Dorian one evening!) You could spend all your time on the estate enjoying the gardens,woodlands or coastal walks but there are plenty of places to visit in the area. We enjoyed Kilmartin Glen, Crinan canal, Oban, Inverrary and Loch Fyne. Would love to come back in the spring or autumn to experience the different seasons.



Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location.Excellent accommodation. Warm welcome. We enjoyed the peace and solitude of Craiguillean despite the poor weather. Would very much like to return.



A lovely short break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Graiguillean and would definitely recommend it to families who want some lovely peace and quiet in a quite stunning location. Jan was lovely and was there to greet us on our arrival but equally left us alone during our stay and only popped over the morning we left to check everything was OK and we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back.



Superb!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautifully presented house in a superb location. Well equipped and well managed.
Wonderfully remote and private yet within reach of all amenities.
Well worth climbing to the top of the hills beyond Ardmaddy Bay to enjoy the spectacular views over Seil towards Mull.




Absolute Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Ardmaddy Castle, Craiguilean Cottage was absolute perfection. The cottage was clean, neat, cozy and well appointed. Jan was an excellent communicator via email, provided lots of helpful information - and our check-in and check-out was seamless. The tea and shortbread were a nice welcoming treat. The view and sunsets from the cottage were spectacular, and so were they gardens and trails around the castle. I loved that this cottage was tucked away from all of the others giving us absolute quiet and peace, but still a quick walk to the Castle. Our only regret is not having more time to explore. We stayed at 5 different locations during our holiday in Scotland - and Ardmaddy is a tie for #1. Such a lovely and peaceful spot for those that want to get away from it all. THANK YOU, Jan! We hope to return someday.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and amazing cottage, boat definitely recommended for this cottage very friendly and helpful staff will definitely book again.



Chris and Sue

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay in a lot of Scottish cottages and Craiguillean is one of the best.
We have already booked to come back later this year.




Holiday at Craiguillean, Ardmaddy Castle

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week, very clean and welcoming everything you needed, a home from home.
The weather was good to us, the garden was secure for the dogs, we all relaxed with a lovely view from all the windows, saw otters, seals, eagles, various birds and wonderful sunsets.
Ardmaddy Castle gardens are beautiful, and there are plenty of places to walk around the estate.





great place to get away and chill out for a totally relaxing week - even in the stormy weather

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic place in a great location - no need to take yourself off to the sites and sounds of Oban as it is all right here in the beautiful calm of Ardmaddy



Fantastic location and wonderful views

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to just get away from everything and relax. Beautiful cottage with everything you need for your stay. Spent many hours curled up in front of the roaring fire reading. The views are amazing, we will definitely be back.



All you need for a perfect break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location for an active weekend away with friends. The accommodation with open plan kitchen/lounge meant that we all felt that we were together especially when our chefs were busy in the kitchen. The cottage offered us somewhere to relax in the evening to recharge for our cycling the following day.



A little bit of peace in a chaotic world

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at ardmaddy. Such a beautiful place. We have stayed many times and with luck will stay many more.



Wonderful cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we were looking for, clean, well equipped and very comfortable and dog friendly too. The location is just beautiful. Will definitely be back.



Coastal cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely comfortable cottage with wonderful views and stunning location. Very suitable for those with dogs secure garden.

Very well equipped.




Fabulous time

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was excellent and was well equipped, plenty of living space and the area was superb. We will definitely be considering returning. The dogs loved playing in the water and had plenty of space to run around as well as the garden.



Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Craiguillean. We were blessed with beautiful sunshine, which made the holiday all the better. The cottage exceeded expectations - photos don't do it justice at all - and we loved the space. Our 4 year old boy loved walking out of the door and onto the shoreline each day, seeing the big and small crabs and trying to catch the tiddler fish in his little fishing net. We love the West Coast and there's lots to see and do. A trip to Crinan Canal is a must, as is Oban and particularly Oban Chocolate Shop! Thanks Jan and the team.



Best Holiday for years

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing holiday in a stunning location. Lucky with exceptional weather. Already rebooked for next year.
House and facilities for humans and canines excellent. Really worth booking a boat as good fun going out on the water.




A Fantastic Place to Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's above all the location that makes this place. Yes, the cottage is comfortable, well-equipped, with a lovely wood-burner. Jan and the rest of the team made us very welcome (including our two dogs who had their own welcome bag with blankets, towels and a drinking bowl). But the view and setting are to die for! Views of the Inner Hebrides with the water just a stone's throw from your front door and walks in every direction.



Ardmaddy is very special to us we want when our children were young and had fab then as now

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing has changed ardmaddy remains untouched by time yes the cottages have been well updated and are equipped to a high standard. But it’s where you are that is so so special



A wonderful family stay enjoying the simple things in life and the great outdoors.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect 'get away from it all' cottage in the most fabulous location on the west coast. Stunning views and an incredible array of Scottish wildlife on view from the cottage. The cottage is well equipped and has a homely feel.

The shortbread, freshly cut flowers and roaring fire on arrival made us feel very welcome.

We will get back. Thankyou.




Jan Wolfe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, and thank YOU for leaving the place so immaculate! I look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Annual holiday at craiguillean

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay at ardmaddy again already booked for next year. House beautifully clean and welcoming as always and the location just stunning see you next year if not before



A great early winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location and everything was provided that we could think of, and quite a lot that we didn’t, all scrupulously clean and easy to find. Spent a very relaxing week touring old haunts in this part of the world and some new ones too. All in all a great base to relax and lift off the accelerator and slip into Argyll time!



Spectacular Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have spent holidays on the Ardmaddy estate for thirty years. Craiguillean is the perfect location for privacy and solitude and offers spectacular dog walking around the estate. The cottage is beautifully appointed and we have watched it be upgraded regularly to ensure it continues to offer accommodation if the highest quality. The upgrades are always sympathetically done thus never losing that homely welcoming feel. Management of the cottage is excellent with clean towels and bed linen offered weekly if you are staying for more than a week. And special provisions for your dogs such as towels, blankets, bowels are there so you don't have to pack your own. This is the perfect retreat for any family who enjoy the spectacular scenery and wildlife and just want to get away from it all. Can't recommend it highly enough.