FB Twitter

Craiguillean

Craiguillean

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Craiguillean has an enviable position right on the water's edge. It sleeps eight in one double ensuite, one twin and one bunk room with two sets of bunks. There is also a z-bed available for the occasional overflow. There is an additional bathroom, and the living accommodation comprises a large kitchen and dining room open plan to the sitting room which has a wood burning stove. There is an enclosed garden with direct access to the shore and a private jetty.

A magical place

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Craiguillean is a magical place. The scenery is stunning - utterly beautiful and so peaceful. It is also a haven for wild life. The cottage was spotless with many welcoming touches like the flowers. The estate is well cared for and the gardens are beautiful. The staff work hard and are very welcoming. The icing on the cake was the fishing with mackerel for breakfast and pollack for dinner.



An absolute gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sublimely positioned to feel like you’re in the middle of nowhere but actually only 25 minutes drive from Oban. Extremely comfortable cottage, everything you need to hand, comfy beds, fab wood burner, walks from the door. The numerous windows flood the place with natural light and the views are wonderful.



Magical!!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have loved every minute of our holiday at lovely Craiguillean. Tranquil and relaxing the cottage couldn't have been in a more idyllic spot. We had found our own secret hideaway! Craiguillean is a warm, well cared for cottage, lovely and clean with special touches by Jan the housekeeper making it so homely. We loved walking around the bay and spotting our first wild primroses of the year. We saw otters and seals from the cottage and golden and sea eagles over the estate. The estate is beautifully cared for and all the staff we met were friendly and welcoming. We were lucky with the weather having mostly frosty mornings with clear sunny blue skies and a sprinkling of snow on the distant mountains across the sea. We had the most wonderful black velvet night skies which sparkled with stars so close you felt you could touch them. It's a place you can sit back and forget about the world outside, follow the rhythm of the tides, hear the call of the seabirds and enjoy. We have already booked for next Spring when we hope to see the wonderful gardens at their best and soak up the truly unique atmosphere that is Ardmaddy. An unforgettable place. Thank you so much. Please don't change a thing.
David and Anne Pollard and Ghillie (cairn terrier) Bashall Eaves Forest of Bowland Lancs.




excellent as always

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd visit and excellent again, looking forward to going back.
i really peacfull place were you can turn of and unwind




Week in Paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at the Ardmaddy Estate in Craiguillean cottage to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We did not want to leave-from the welcome we received on arrival, to the high level of cleanliness and attention to detail in the cottage, the views, the peace and tranquility-we loved it-



Great spot

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and peaceful place. Super views. Excellent spot for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful place.



A Very Special Place

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful cottage with everything you need.
Always spotless and fresh upon arrival flowers in lounge and dining area.
Welcome tea tray with biscuits on arrival.
Well equipped kitchen, doggie bag with towels and blankets provided.
Wonderful views from all windows, plenty of wildlife to be seen every day.
This is certainly a very special place, we always try to have two holidays each year here.
Jan Cottage Manager and her team do a wonderful job making sure all guests staying have everything they need with advice on places to visit and eating out.
The Garden is a very special place to visit, we always spend time there John Head Gardener is always on hand for a chat and advice on gardening.




Beautiful location in comfy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful two week stay. The views from the cottage lifted our spirits every day regardless of the weather. Cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Our elder daughter loved reading in the twin bedroom and looking at the view whilst our younger enjoyed the cosiness of the bunk bed room and pretending that the window between it and the kitchen was a drive though. We had fun exploring the estate including the rocky shoreline, waterfall and saying hello to the cows and sheep and wildlife including the sea otter. Oban had all we needed for supplies about half an hour drive away and the coop on Seil island also provided necessities closer to hand. Jan and other staff we bumped into were friendly but not intrusive. I would gladly stay again. A peaceful haven with all mod cons!



Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, very comfortable house and a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely return. Highly recommended.



Ardmaddy in June

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying on the Ardmaddy estate never disappoints. It is a very special place. Stayed at Craiguillean again this year. Upon arrival, cottage is always very clean and it is well equipped. Everything has been thought of.
Our favourite things are kayaking directly from the cottage across the bay to the shop and walking and sitting in the beautiful, peaceful estate gardens.




A Magical Place

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay. The cottage was spotless, the estate is beautiful and the scenery and wildlife breathtaking - a magical place.



West Coast Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Craiguillean offers everything for nature lovers. It is situated in an enviable location by the sea with magnificent views.
Ardmaddy is a special place and it shows with the way it is kept. A beautiful garden is situated next to the main house.
Plentiful walks surround the area. The staff keep the cottage in excellent condition and are near by if you need help.
The best of holidaying in Scotland!




Second time to Ardmaddy

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent holiday, excellent location, right on the edge of the Loch. Single track to Lodge with no other access, creates total privacy with only the wildlife to keep you company. The silence only broken with the sound of wildlife. The drive for us is approx 8 hours due to two very old family members - Jack Russell and Shihtzu requiring plenty of stops. BUT the drive is well worth it, the scenery is fantastic. The lodge is an ideal base to travel to other parts of Scotland or just spend your time around the castle and the grounds, walled garden with woodland walks. No problems and no complaints. A very restful and peaceful holiday. Will return again for our third visit.



Spring break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our ninth visit to craiguiellan and excellent as ever we’ll be back in November for a winter break



Perfect, peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super stay at Craiguillean. A wonderful, bumpy, waterside track takes you to a beautifully isolated corner of the estate. The house is well equipped with wonderfully comfy beds, plenty of hot water, views from every window, cosy log burner and even lots of towels for the dog. There are amazing walks from the door, super views, otters swimming by and wonderful peace and quiet.



Amazing and relaxing place to stay with fantastic views across to the islands across the sea.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s our favourite place to stay. This is our 5th visit and wish we could go more often. The house is so cozy and warm. It is a home from home and fully equipped and immaculate. Doesn’t matter what time of year you go, the views from the house are amazing across to Seil and we can sit for hours looking across to the islands watching the changing weather. A real plus is the wildlife and walks from the house into the hills with views across the ocean towards the islands. We will definitely be back again.



Another Excellent Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a super holiday spent in what seems like home from home.
This cottage has the most superb views from all windows.
Spotless as always a real credit to Jan and her team.
Wildlife is always wonderful, we had Highland cattle with their Young along with a very laid back bull.
The otter was seen swimming past the cottage most mornings, and we also had visits from seals, along with one lazing on a small island opposite.
Loads of various birds as always.
Already booked and looking forward to our next visit.




Peace and Tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our second time here at the cottage and another wonderful holiday. The weather was fantastic all week as it was during the heatwave but due to our location it didn't get too hot so it was perfect to enjoy the gardens, the walks around the estate and the breathtaking views. We took a day trip by ferry from Oban over to Mull and then on to Iona which we really enjoyed and would highly recommend. The cottage has the most beautiful views from every window where you can see the ever changing colours of the water the wildlife and the passing boats .We did not see anybody from the estate this time as it would have been nice to have seen Jan and her dogs again. The only negative is that you do have to wait a while to receive back your security deposit and you may have to chase this up as they only do their refunds on a Friday. We find that Craiguillean is a very peaceful and tranquil place and will return again next year.




Another great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Ardmaddy on many occasions and always enjoy the scenery, seclusion, gardens and wildlife. Craiguillean is a really comfortable cottage with a fantastic location - great sunsets, good chance of seeing otters swimming past and always lots to look at on the water and in the sky. Five of us stayed and hired one of the boats, we spotted porpoises and sea eagles near Loch Melfort one day. Magical.



Our Special Holiday Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another super week at this cottage, always feels like home from home, as we always try and have two separate hols here each year.
Always spotless on arrival with a very welcome tea tray and shortbread awaiting us.
Wonderful views from all windows, we had the otter come to see us every day, sitting on the end of the jetty which is such a treat.
Jan and her team do a marvellous job looking after everyone.
The Ardmaddy Garden is beautiful and full of colour what a credit to John Head Gardener, who is always on hand to give advice and tips and really friendly to have a chat with.
Hector our boxer thinks this is second home with so much space and lots of nice walks.
There is always his doggy bag awaiting for him when we arrive. It is so nice that dogs are made to feel so welcome.






A fantastic week at Ardmaddy.March 2022

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Craguillean in March 2022.
The weather was amazing with superb sunsets almost every evening.
The location was perfect for us; we love the remote parts of the highlands.
Most tourist attractions open for Easter so the roads were nice and quiet and the wildlife on the estate accommodated us without a second glance including otter and eagles, and we missed the midge season too which is a bonus.





March Ardmaddy stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at craiguillean cottage immaculate as ever in a fantastic location wel be back again later in the year



Superb property

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most relaxing holiday in one of the most beautiful places on the West Coast. Everything was perfect and exceeded our expectations. Thank you.



Beautiful views all round, fab sunsets.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

This was the third time we have stayed here. It is in a wonderful position and has most of what is needed for a great holiday. The only downside as far as we were concerned was the smell of dogs in the lounge. Apart from that, very clean.




Another superb week at Ardmaddy

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous week at Ardmaddy and a lovely change to stay in Craiguillean where we first came some 23 years ago. Views, wildlife, people and the boat made for a busy but very relaxing week. The cottage is immaculately clean, well thought out with everything you need but still manages to retain the old cottage feel. Thankyou Charles, Minette, Jan and Duncan.



Nice place to relax

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived at the end of track to find the cottage and it was the wow factor once inside well it was brilliant our four legged pals went around sniffing and gave it a paws up. It was a very peaceful place and location to get away from it all.outside you only had to walk meters and you was at the waters edge . I would recommend the cottage who needs to get out of the way just to chill



changeable as ever

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had some beautiful days at Ardmaddy and though there are lost of things to see nearby, we were happy wandering the grounds and kicking back for a few days.
We were made to feel very welcome and found the house comfortable and well equipped.
Great views from all windows, comfortable beds, great location.




Lovely comfortable and well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything went well and the 5 star ratings were well deserved. I gave only a 4 rating on two categories but In fairness I think Covid made for difficulties. There was some confusion and unanswered queries re the booking which had to be postponed twice because of lockdown and also our time there was cut short because of cleaning which meant my son and young family had to leave the night before to allow us to clean before the 9.30 leaving deadline. Also the communal games room not opened. This facility had been a factor in my choosing Ardmaddy



So good to be back

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully clean and comfortable cottage on the shore. An excellent location. We had a thoroughly relaxing week.



Stay no.6

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying at Craiguillan, it’s location for a relaxing quiet get away is excellent. It’s good value for money and is run by a very friendly team. We always take our dogs with us and they love it too. As soon as we leave we always book again for the following year.



Wonderful Two Weeks

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a super fortnight at this spectacular cottage.
Everything as always spotless with fresh flowers in lounge and dining area, a tea tray with shortbread awaiting us.
We really appreciated Jan and her team for the extra effort made, making sure everything was Covid safe.
Every window you get super views of the wildlife & passing boats, always plenty to see.
We have seen plenty of seals every day, all the geese which have been very active flying overhead & feeding in the fields & on the seashore.
We saw a Sea Eagle on the shoreline near to the cottage which was feeding on a goose which it had killed. All visible from the lounge!
We also saw the otter both close to the shore near the boatshed, and again briefly from the cottage on our last day. Fantastic!




Could Hardly Bear To Leave...

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Craiguillean (and Ardmaddy) more than lived up to our hopes and expectations. If anything, the photos simply don't do either of them justice. The cottage was wonderfully clean, bright and open-plan, with staggering views through whichever window you looked. From the moment we stepped out of the car, the feeling of relaxation and peace was wonderful. Waking in a morning to see seals bobbing by the jetty just outside the window, and returning from a day out walking to find a golden eagle soaring over the cottage...well what more can you ask? Good weather? Well yes, we had that too, in abundance! I even gave in and went for a swim in the sea with my dogs as the sun was warm and the water crystal clear. Craiguillean was without doubt, the best equipped and furnished cottage that we have stayed in and very well maintained and clean. We hardly saw a sole all week - Jan (and her beautiful dogs) were lovely when we saw her but for the most part we seemed to have the place to ourselves despite the other cottages all being full too. Definitely 'social distancing in luxury'!
We hardly left the estate all week - just taking a different route each day, however we did venture over to Seil for a walk to Puilladobhrain (pool of the otter) and stopped for a delicious lunch sat outside Tigh An Truish, just watching the world gently amble or sail by....simply heaven
As for our dogs....well my anxious boy (who usually takes a few days to adjust to being away from home), waded straight into the sea with a big grin on his face and then tried to avoid having to leave the water all week (apart from coming in at night to collapse in front of the woodburner with a contented sigh). Another of my dogs actually refused to get in the car on the morning we left. Can't say as I blame her - I could hardly bear to leave it myself.




Stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very comfortable cottage in a wonderfully isolated location, with the most beautiful scenery. Very tranquil even with the visiting cows and sheep.



Relaxing Stay at Craiguillean

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to this cottage. As usual, the cottage was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Due to the current Covid 19 situation, additional hygiene cleansing and cleaning regimes had been put in place and the cottage management clearly documented these and provided a copy for us to read upon our arrival. This provided us with a huge degree of comfort that our well being, as well as those of the Ardmaddy team, are important and we felt that the cottage was a secure and safe environment for all staying visitors.

The location of the cottage is ideal for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle and the estate grounds provide many varied ways to fill the day, such as visiting the beautiful castle gardens, walking and fishing. We also hired one of the estate boats which provides an added dimension to the holiday and allowed us to visit places better accessible by boat.

I cannot recommend Ardmaddy highly enough. A perfect holiday destination with unbeatable views.




Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You couldn't ask for a better location and cottage fantastic for family children and pets will love it.



Another Fabulous Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful 2 weeks here.
Cottage beautifully presented in a stunning location.
Spotlessly clean & sparkling on arrival, fresh flowers in lounge & dining area, tea tray awaiting with shortbread most welcoming.
The views & sunsets from the cottage are spectacular, with lots of wildlife to be seen.
Dogs are made very welcome with their own doggie bag provided, with towels blankets & bowl.
Hector our boxer loves it here & thinks this is his 2nd home.
We always look forward to visiting the gardens, which are beautiful at anytime of the year, and John the gardener on hand to answer questions & give gardening tips.
As usual Jan & her team do a wonderful job, making everyone welcome & ensuring they have everything they need & providing information on the area.
Already booked for next year.
Diane Michael & Hector




Sept sun

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and despite the internet issues - now solved, and the carpet issues - caused by a dog from earlier occupant, we had a lovely time.
The service from Jan is also superb.




Peace, perfect peace.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a very comfortable week at Craiguillean, loved the peace and seclusion. There was always something interesting to see from the cottage, whether it was passing boats, wildlife or even the weather,(we caught the tail-end of Storm Dorian one evening!) You could spend all your time on the estate enjoying the gardens,woodlands or coastal walks but there are plenty of places to visit in the area. We enjoyed Kilmartin Glen, Crinan canal, Oban, Inverrary and Loch Fyne. Would love to come back in the spring or autumn to experience the different seasons.



Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location.Excellent accommodation. Warm welcome. We enjoyed the peace and solitude of Craiguillean despite the poor weather. Would very much like to return.



A lovely short break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Graiguillean and would definitely recommend it to families who want some lovely peace and quiet in a quite stunning location. Jan was lovely and was there to greet us on our arrival but equally left us alone during our stay and only popped over the morning we left to check everything was OK and we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back.



Superb!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautifully presented house in a superb location. Well equipped and well managed.
Wonderfully remote and private yet within reach of all amenities.
Well worth climbing to the top of the hills beyond Ardmaddy Bay to enjoy the spectacular views over Seil towards Mull.




Absolute Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Ardmaddy Castle, Craiguilean Cottage was absolute perfection. The cottage was clean, neat, cozy and well appointed. Jan was an excellent communicator via email, provided lots of helpful information - and our check-in and check-out was seamless. The tea and shortbread were a nice welcoming treat. The view and sunsets from the cottage were spectacular, and so were they gardens and trails around the castle. I loved that this cottage was tucked away from all of the others giving us absolute quiet and peace, but still a quick walk to the Castle. Our only regret is not having more time to explore. We stayed at 5 different locations during our holiday in Scotland - and Ardmaddy is a tie for #1. Such a lovely and peaceful spot for those that want to get away from it all. THANK YOU, Jan! We hope to return someday.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and amazing cottage, boat definitely recommended for this cottage very friendly and helpful staff will definitely book again.



Chris and Sue

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay in a lot of Scottish cottages and Craiguillean is one of the best.
We have already booked to come back later this year.




Holiday at Craiguillean, Ardmaddy Castle

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week, very clean and welcoming everything you needed, a home from home.
The weather was good to us, the garden was secure for the dogs, we all relaxed with a lovely view from all the windows, saw otters, seals, eagles, various birds and wonderful sunsets.
Ardmaddy Castle gardens are beautiful, and there are plenty of places to walk around the estate.





great place to get away and chill out for a totally relaxing week - even in the stormy weather

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic place in a great location - no need to take yourself off to the sites and sounds of Oban as it is all right here in the beautiful calm of Ardmaddy



Fantastic location and wonderful views

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to just get away from everything and relax. Beautiful cottage with everything you need for your stay. Spent many hours curled up in front of the roaring fire reading. The views are amazing, we will definitely be back.



All you need for a perfect break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location for an active weekend away with friends. The accommodation with open plan kitchen/lounge meant that we all felt that we were together especially when our chefs were busy in the kitchen. The cottage offered us somewhere to relax in the evening to recharge for our cycling the following day.



A little bit of peace in a chaotic world

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at ardmaddy. Such a beautiful place. We have stayed many times and with luck will stay many more.



Wonderful cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we were looking for, clean, well equipped and very comfortable and dog friendly too. The location is just beautiful. Will definitely be back.



Coastal cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely comfortable cottage with wonderful views and stunning location. Very suitable for those with dogs secure garden.

Very well equipped.




Fabulous time

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was excellent and was well equipped, plenty of living space and the area was superb. We will definitely be considering returning. The dogs loved playing in the water and had plenty of space to run around as well as the garden.



Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Craiguillean. We were blessed with beautiful sunshine, which made the holiday all the better. The cottage exceeded expectations - photos don't do it justice at all - and we loved the space. Our 4 year old boy loved walking out of the door and onto the shoreline each day, seeing the big and small crabs and trying to catch the tiddler fish in his little fishing net. We love the West Coast and there's lots to see and do. A trip to Crinan Canal is a must, as is Oban and particularly Oban Chocolate Shop! Thanks Jan and the team.



Best Holiday for years

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing holiday in a stunning location. Lucky with exceptional weather. Already rebooked for next year.
House and facilities for humans and canines excellent. Really worth booking a boat as good fun going out on the water.




A Fantastic Place to Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's above all the location that makes this place. Yes, the cottage is comfortable, well-equipped, with a lovely wood-burner. Jan and the rest of the team made us very welcome (including our two dogs who had their own welcome bag with blankets, towels and a drinking bowl). But the view and setting are to die for! Views of the Inner Hebrides with the water just a stone's throw from your front door and walks in every direction.



Ardmaddy is very special to us we want when our children were young and had fab then as now

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing has changed ardmaddy remains untouched by time yes the cottages have been well updated and are equipped to a high standard. But it’s where you are that is so so special



A wonderful family stay enjoying the simple things in life and the great outdoors.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect 'get away from it all' cottage in the most fabulous location on the west coast. Stunning views and an incredible array of Scottish wildlife on view from the cottage. The cottage is well equipped and has a homely feel.

The shortbread, freshly cut flowers and roaring fire on arrival made us feel very welcome.

We will get back. Thankyou.




Jan Wolfe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, and thank YOU for leaving the place so immaculate! I look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Annual holiday at craiguillean

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay at ardmaddy again already booked for next year. House beautifully clean and welcoming as always and the location just stunning see you next year if not before



A great early winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location and everything was provided that we could think of, and quite a lot that we didn’t, all scrupulously clean and easy to find. Spent a very relaxing week touring old haunts in this part of the world and some new ones too. All in all a great base to relax and lift off the accelerator and slip into Argyll time!



Spectacular Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have spent holidays on the Ardmaddy estate for thirty years. Craiguillean is the perfect location for privacy and solitude and offers spectacular dog walking around the estate. The cottage is beautifully appointed and we have watched it be upgraded regularly to ensure it continues to offer accommodation if the highest quality. The upgrades are always sympathetically done thus never losing that homely welcoming feel. Management of the cottage is excellent with clean towels and bed linen offered weekly if you are staying for more than a week. And special provisions for your dogs such as towels, blankets, bowels are there so you don't have to pack your own. This is the perfect retreat for any family who enjoy the spectacular scenery and wildlife and just want to get away from it all. Can't recommend it highly enough.