FB Twitter

Curved Stone House

Curved Stone House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 118 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Curved Stone House is a luxury retreat accommodating up to 4 people in 2 bedrooms. Luxury freestanding bath, drench head showers, large sauna, wood burning stove and a stunning view from almost every window. With great hill walks from the doorstep and a short walk from the centre of Ullapool village with its lively pubs and restaurants and various galleries and shops.

A Wonderful Holiday Hideaway.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is probably the most comfortable and stunning holiday let we have ever stayed in. The situation was glorious - we could have stayed in the house all day just to enjoy the view.
We very much appreciated the ‘goodies’ basket along with the Prosecco that greeted us on our arrival.
There were plenty dishes, cutlery and kitchen utensils. We can think of nothing we would wish to be added.
We would like to thank Rachel and Gavin for designing and building such a glorious holiday hideaway. We shall certainly recommend the Stonehouses to our friends and hopefully we shall return sometime in the future.




stunning property, stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
spent three nights at the curved stone house and it was a 50th birthday surprise , I wish it had been more as the property is truly outstanding everyone staying 4 were all in agreement this was a weekend to remember for a very long time.



Heavenly

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been lucky enough to stay in Curved Stone before. The first time was not long after it first opened and a couple of weeks ago was a return trip treat. The house was as beautifully fresh as on my first visit and the whole place is still breathtakingly wonderful. As an Ullapool lover, there isn’t a finer birds-eye view of the coastline and the town from such a town-accessible vantage point. The ‘eyrie’ itself is simply stunning. No photo can do it justice. There is no substitute for being inside any of the rooms and experiencing the wrap-around hug of the place. The architecture, quality of build materials and tasteful attention to every interior detail - from fossil-embedded under-floor heating to the original enviable art and textiles and vases of fresh flowers - is perfect. Everything is spotless and you have everything you need. Gavin and Rachel are incredibly helpful hosts who will do anything to make your stay as special as possible. It is evident that this is a beautiful special place managed by caring people who want to share their love of the place. As long as I am fit enough for the steps - and they’re really not particularly challenging - I’ll be saving up for return visits. Thank you Rachel and Gavin.



Luxury revisited

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th or 5th visit to the Stonehouses and each time is as wonderful as the last. From the friendly welcome from Rachael and Gavin to the superbly constructed and kitted out houses. This is a luxury we treat ourselves to all too infrequently I'm afraid.



Return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Return visit to the Stonehouses, beautiful house. Rachel and Gavin are wonderful hosts, lovely hamper of goodies. This was a Christmas break for us, few days just doing nothing, weather not to bad, so managed a few walks. Such a brilliant house, saw a roe dear in the garden in the morning. Hopefully be back soon.



Storehouses resets the bar

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been using self catering properties on the West Coast for over forty years. Stonehouses resets the bar - the location, the interior standards are just fantastic. If ever the adage 'you get what you pay for' applied, this is it. Insufficient superlatives and two days after leaving we have rebooked for next year.




Beautiful place with beautiful views

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love stone house and it is our second time visiting. The place has become a home away from home and we would highly recommend it to anyone. It’s peaceful, romantic and set in such a stunning location. The amenities and house is just so beautiful. Rachel and Gavin are also outstanding hosts which make the visits even more pleasant.



Another lovely stay at the curved house

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd visit to the Curved house and once again we relaxed as soon as we walked through the door. Rachel and Gavin have done an amazing job in retaining the high quality of the house and, as always, were warm and friendly hosts. We will be back!



Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our giving the above excellent review says it all and leaves no room for improvement. Looking forward to returning for a fourth stay confirms our satisfaction




Dream home and location

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The curved stone house was the most wonderful place to stay. The attention to detail was second to none; from the lovely owners who helped with the luggage to the thoughtful and tasty welcome hamper. Lovely building and a top quality interior. Loved it! Thank you.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we thought it would be and more. Excellent position with great views . The house was beautiful in every respect .
Beautiful decor and furnishings throughout. Very clean . Lovely to get the local products and the champagne, Rachael and Gavin
have thought of everything and where the perfect hosts .
The visiting deers on the terrace where a nice bonus as was the good weather .




Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curved Stonehouse is such a well conceived and beautifully crafted house, even better in reality than the lovely photos on the website.
From booking to arrival, Gavin and Rachel were so welcoming and generous.
Every comfort has been thought of, so we had a very relaxing week enjoying the great views from every window. It didn’t matter if the weather wasn’t always perfect because it was like having your own spa destination to enjoy! Even a chilled bottle of champagne ready for us amongst other local delicacies in the fridge.
There is a comprehensive information book to guide you to beautiful beaches and mountain views all within easy reach of Ullapool.
We’re planning our next visit because this is exceptional among holiday properties in Scotland!




Outstanding Luxury Accommodation and Delightful Hosts !!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Curved Stone House but these are two stunning luxury cottages with 5 star facilities including sauna in an idyllic location with incredible panoramic views over Loch Broom. This is a fantastic base to explore the North West Highlands.
Our hosts were delightful and incredibly helpful.




A fantastic stay in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perhaps the best holiday cottage I have yet stayed in. It really did feel a little like being on a film set at times, as the views across the loch are extraordinarily good and constantly changing. Watching the CalMac Ferry berthing and leaving from my bath or sauna is a novel experience. Ullapool was good as ever, and my wife now 'gets' Scotland in a way that I have been trying to encourage for decades!

Thank you - I will be back for the geology, the birds, the mountains and the rest.

Stuart Smallwood




A totally incredible place!

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the Curved Stone House - it was the perfect choice for our Scottish honeymoon. The property is absolutely stunning. We never wanted to leave! Thank you Rachel and Gavin, and also Angela who was super helpful and accommodating during our stay.



If you have been before you know already what a top top place this is

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You see a place with 5 star rating, and rave reviews, can it really be that good when you have stayed in other places that really have not delivered.
Is there a sort of welcome pack, ie more that a pint of milk and some dodgy bread, well you are personally greeted when you arrive, Gavin rushes to get your biggest heaviest bag and then trots up the 50 steps leaving you in awe thinking you might have taken a tad longer and with more lung busting effort, once you arrive in the property, there is chilled top quality fizz in an ice bucket, the fridge is stocked with a welcome pack, you are shown round the property as if it is a 5 star hotel, both Gavin and Rachel are the most charming hosts who could not do more for you.
What is the state of the place, well when we walked, the place looked as if it was just a few weeks since it opened, no it opened in 2013 and is kept in top condition, no scratches, flaked paint, etc.
Does it have sufficient resources for self catering. Well considering it has a 4 person occupancy, there is enough cutlery crockery, assorted pots and pans to allow Ready Steady Cook type meal for half the population of Ullapool, we have not seen better, and whether this is important or not, it is to my much beloved, enough spare toilet rolls in each of the bathrooms to last the week.
Does it deliver on space. It is huge, the bedrooms are spacious and is the kitchen into the living area The patio area betters most of the super Mediterranean pads you see, sadly or not the temperatures are markedly different but it is an absolute sun trap with a view to die for, really you can start looking out over the loch at about 4am when the sun rises and stay there till the sun goes down spectacularly at about 11pm, well in the summer anyway, January cuts that down to about 5 hours max but that’s your choice,
Is it private. Yes no overlooking though a few places in Ullapool, as you look down might see the lights from a distance so wondering around at any time in various states of undress or as we did no dress even in the toilet with a view or in the sauna with a view is no problem depending on what your feelings are. Both bedrooms have wide tall windows looking out towards the loch, as does the sauna, the living area and bizarrely one of the toilets but you can of course use the blinds for decorum purposes. A visit in June as we had makes you very excited about the long days and sunny evenings, but caution here, we left the bedroom blinds up so when we woke on our first morning we could lie in bed gazing at the fantastic view, what we had not thought through sadly was that this was going to happen at 4 30am so we did not repeat that exercise again. Sitting out on the patio in the evening sun with the loch shimmering as the boats move along the loch creating lovely patterns etc etc but beware of the “no-see-ums” or as they are more commonly known the MIDGES and so steps are needed with sprays candles clothing etc to avoid suffering the next day’s, this is from personal experience so packing the Antisan was a wise move.
Is it 10 minutes walk into town, yes going down the 50 steps, down the short driveway( your car is as safe as anywhere here) you the can be on the road along the harbour in a gentle stroll of 10 minutes, though to be fair the reverse in an uphill way make take longer but it is not a problem if you can manage the steps which have superb railings etc as is in keeping with the highest quality of everything about the place.
Is it warm cozy etc. Yes the underfloor heating means even if you risk mozzie attack by leaving the doors in the bedrooms living area open it is warm inside even at 4 30 am if you get caught out as above
Does it deliver on value as it ain’t cheap. Well we don’t do 2 star tents for our staycations, and this sets the barrier about as high as it could be, on our debrief when we got home we could not think of anywhere else where the owners had thought of everything to make your stay as best possible, in the extreme level of this there is a kettle where you can set the temperature at which you want the water to be when finished, and a coffee machine with Italian espresso written all over it so you can become your own Barista Starbucks style, though as a Nespresso man I side swerved on that and took morning coffee in e brilliant Delicatessen cafe in the town. The showers do not need a post graduate degree in Physics and Logical thinking, 2 dials one for on off and one for temperature control, and the hob has similar simple design usage. The much beloved reported that the washing machine, tumble dryer section were very easy to use, instruction booklets available of course which was a relief after a place we stayed in had a cooker and a washing machine that were so complicated that... well you can guess the manual was not much use as a guide
Did everything work, yes yes yes all as promised did do exactly that, the TV and the Internet radio, CD system did not need “geek” status, But a warning if you want to watch TV in the summer evenings, the choice is TV or The spectacular view as the room is bright and the TV is. Well a tad difficult to see unless the full blind process is enacted. Not a winter problem of course.
Is it worth it to spend so much on it. Yes yes yes. It’s the most brilliant place to wake up to, eat in relax in come back to after a day being a tourist in an area of beauty you can’t imagine,
The owners get shed loads of praise in other reviews and they deserve it, they set the standard that all similar vacation property owners should aspire to, nothing is too much for them and they are are only 20 yards away if needed.
Would we recommend it, totally, absolutely without reservation it’s reputation is 100% deserved.




Simply the best

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at The Stonehouses. And we don’t go back to places.
It is the perfect combination of accommodation, location and local facilities.
And the natives are very friendly too!




A week away from it all

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My third stay at the Stonehouses in Ullapool and second week in the Curved Stone House. Exceptionally well appointed, spacious accommodation with glorious views over Ullapool & across Loch Broom from the living room, bedrooms, sauna, bathroom & master bedroom. The weather was not perfect for all our plans but that did not matter at all in such a beautiful spot and leaves us with a good excuse to return to the area and stay at the Stonehouses.



Fantastic week in Ullapool

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Curved Stone House and had a wonderful week in Ullapool. We look forward to returning again.



Stonehouses revisited

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, glorious sunsets and accommodation with everything you would need provided by Gavin and Rachel.



Beautiful, peaceful surroundings,really good base to other places also.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just an absolutely beautiful place to stay - pure luxury with everything so well thought out, never stayed in such a lovely self catering place like this before. Owners really helpful and welcoming and nothing too much trouble, if needed.



April Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit and it would be our intention to return as often as we can. The above EXCELLENT rating sums up our opinion of this beautiful house and of the superb care and attention given by its owners, who have succeeded in creating such high quality and appreciated holiday accommodation. The Curved Stone House once again delivered it with flying colours.
Thank you




Best luxury cottages on the west coast.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time there and as new like first time there 4 years ago. Did not disappoint. We’ll be back.
Views to die for.




Exceptional home comforts against spectacular scenery

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had a fantastic few days in the Curved Stone House and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to go to the Highlands. The house itself was finished to an exceptionally high standard, all home comforts had been thought about - which can be lacking in some self-catering accommodation.
The layout of the house was well-thought through with lots of space to enjoy the view of the sea and local scenery. We were truly relaxed within moments of entering the property.




Third visit

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Curved Stonehouse. The house is maintained to a very high standard and as in previous visits we had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. Rachel and Gavin are most welcoming and helpful.
The Stonehouses are in an idyllic spot above Loch Broom with amazing views and the possibilities for touring the area are endless.
We have already booked for our next visit.







A little slice of Scottish paradise.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a week! From the minute we arrived we knew we’d made a great choice. Gavin & Rachel were so welcoming & helped us into the house with all of our bags & gave us great advice on things to do in the area & the local amenities. There was a bottle of bubbly & some tasty local produce of salmon & cheese in the fridge which was very much appreciated. The house itself is beautiful, well laid out & very well equipped. The views are incredible & you can easily go walking straight from the property. Unlike many rental accommodations it had everything you could need & more. We found the the book they have compiled of areas to visit with maps, directions & timings very helpful & takes all the pressure off researching where to go each day. All in all we had a wonderful week, so much so that we booked again before we had even arrived back home. Can’t wait to go back.



Special

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In every way, and whatever the weather, the Curved Stonehouse, Ullapool and surrounds are special. The house itself captures a rare sense of its place - and that place is at once fantastically quirky and truly sublime.



Wonderful base for a special Highlands holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The website photos are full of promise but do not do justice to the Curved Stonehouse. Stayed for 4 nights during early December. House was bigger than we imagined and Rachel & Gavin were great hosts, popping by to make sure we were comfortable and to help us settle in. If you are looking for a very special place to base yourself for a tour of the Northern Highlands, I imagine it would be difficult to find a more delightful abode.
We had a wonderful time at the Curved Stonehouse and look forward to returning some time in the future - a longing I think many people who have stayed at the Stonehouses share.




Perfect house

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Curved Stone House - a beautifully designed house. The house is in a wonderful position with fantastic views but easy to walk in to the village. The house is really well equipped - the owners have thought of everything. We really appreciated the welcome hamper too. We have already booked to come back in March!



Exceptional experience

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous property that is quite simply the best. Extremely well equipped and supplied it provided a first class sanctuary high above Ullapool. Complimented by lovely views, direct access to footpaths and the experience of awaking to the sound of deer grazing on the roof!



As good as the first.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second autumn stay at the stonehouses, and it was every bit as good as our first visit. Standards were as high as ever, the place was simply a joy to be in. Difficult to find any aspect less than ‘excellent’ , tho’ maybe the 60 steps up to the front door might qualify for some people! But once you are up, this place is second to none.
Heartily recommended.
NJB




Fantastic location with great views and asy access to the village

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great property. It's expensive but you do get what you pay for. The location is fantastic with views out over Loch Brooom and it is within easy walk to the village for pubs and shops.

The property is finished and equiped to the highest standard and everything works. The HiFi is top end as are the "white goods". Property was spotlessly clean and it is very obviously the owners care. The property is as warm as you want it and has a perfect sized wood-burning stove.

We were particularly gratified to find enough consumables for the dish washer etc etc for the week - it is so irritating when you've spend hundreds of pounds on rental and the owners leave you three tablets and you have to go and buy a box of 50! So well done on this one - a small thing but it demonstrates thought.

We will come again to this property.




Exceptional place to say, matched only by perfect hosts

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at the Curved Stonehouse. The property is amazingly well presented and spotlessly clean. Having stayed in many holiday properties over the years I can honesty say this is the best place yet. Gavin and Rachel are very friendly hosts and the Curved Stonehouse has everything you could possibly need.

Really it is as good as everyone else has said.

We booked a year in advance - and it was well worth the wait.





As amazing as ever

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time in the Curved Stone House, and our third time at Stonehouses. The house was immaculate, as fresh as it was when we first stayed in it in 2013. The location is wonderful, the views, the proximity to the town, the connection to the hills. The accommodation is as good: plenty of space, a properly equipped kitchen, extraordinarily comfortable beds, Sky+ HD, woodburner, fabulous patio with furniture, a generous welcome pack, sauna and great shower.
To top it off, the owners - Rachel & Gavin are lovely, friendly and helpful, they have the balance of available but unobtrusive just right.
It's not the cheapest place to stay, but then not many places are this jaw-droppingly lovely




Restful stay in a beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay in the Stonehouses.

The cottage is stunning, with incredible views. It is in amazing condition and beautifullt decorated. It was so relaxing, and we loved the sauna!

It was also in a wonderful location, and we had some amazing drives and hikes in the surrounding countryside!

Beyond this - Gavin and Rachel were brilliant hosts. They were so helpful and provided everything we would need in the cottage to make our stay comfortable.

We could not recommend the Stonehouses enough. We had the most incredible honeymoon. Thank you Gavin and Rachel!




Two weeks in August

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Stonehouses after visiting two years ago. We stayed for two weeks and had a lovely time in the accommodation and local area. The house was an excellent place to stay, being well appointed, clean and spacious.



A picture-perfect place

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Airy, spacious and extremely well-designed house. Superb architecture. Interiors impeccably kept. Quiet location, great view of the Ullapool Sound. Hosts Rachel and Gavin are lovely and will do everything to add to your comfort. They have arranged everything with so much attention to detail : Beautiful flowers in numerous rooms to greet and accompany you, a bottle of champagne for a welcome, not to mention the local goodies in the hamper, special treats for the kids. A wonderful experience for the whole family ! We´ll certainly be back.



The Sunny North

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a return visitor to the Stonehouses (this was our 3rd visit), I can only compliment Gavin and Rachel for the continued high standard of the accommodation. The whole experience from booking to check in/out is first class.
There is so much to do in the area and still too many places to see, so we are already planning to be back again next year. Hopefully the weather will be repeated for our next visit!




A great experience

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well thought out and stunning design takes best account of the wonderful position overlooking Ullapool and Loch Broom. Our overwhelming recollection was that the owners had a fastidious attention to detail and everything in terms of design and facilities had been catered for. In addition to this they made it clear that nothing was too much trouble.



stonehouse

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
best of the best, not a lot more I can say apart from warning potential customers that the style and beauty of the stone house will probably cost us a fortune as we try to replicate all the good bits at home!



Marvellous house in fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 7 nights in May. Curved stone house was great, comfy, well equipped and in a fantastic location - just a 5 min walk to Ullapool and with an awesome view over the town and loch. Direct access to hill walks was brilliant - the walks provide more stunning views. There was plenty to see and do in Ullapool and surrounding region - we particularly enjoyed windswept walks on almost deserted beaches. Weather was great and sitting outside the house with a glass of wine taking in the view was a real winner. Hosts Rachel and Gavin did a good job of introducing everything, their things to do/suggested itineraries were genuinely useful and they were there if needed. We had high expectations and they were exceeded! We may have to go again.



Imaginative accommodation in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location on the hillside overlooking Ullapool. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing, warm and exceptionally well equipped property. High specification interior facilities including sauna and bath and panoramic views from living room, bedrooms, sauna & en suite bathroom.



A Magical Experience

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't recommend this property highly enough - it truly deserves the 5 star rating. We have stayed at the Curved Stone House twice now and both times we have had the most amazing time. The property is absolutely stunning and immaculate. Gavin & Rachel could not be more hospitable or helpful and they go out of their way to ensure your holiday is perfect. The house has everything you could possibly wish for and as well as stunning views the house contains loads of helpful literature on where to go and what to see. We will be back and for anyone looking for an amazing holiday I would say book it NOW!



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. The accommodation is stunning, the location beautiful.



5 star holiday luxury

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we walked into the property it was a wow! We were given a warm and very helpful welcome and introduction to the cottage.
Comfort , style, pleasing decor and stunning location were all amazing. We couldn’t fault anything. The bed was so comfortable we have ordered one for our own home from Blindcraft.
Expensive property but I guess you get what you pay for.
Highly recommend.




Our second stay in Curved Stonehouse

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in The Stonehouses and was as enjoyable and relaxing as the first.
We arrived in a snow blizzard and were so happy that we made the effort to drive to Ullapool in what were the worst conditions of the winter. Rachel had made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and warm and had a trouble free drive up to the house. Her snow clearing deserves a medal ! The views over the loch and across to the mountains covered in snow were magnificent.
The Stonehouses are an extremely comfortable base to explore Ullapool and beyond or even just to stay in the house relaxing in the sauna.




Ultra luxury in Ullapool!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in The Curved Stone House, its very obvious that Rachel & Gavin did a great deal of careful planning before building this house, every room of the house has an outstanding view and the interior has been furnished with luxury in mind.

Not only was the house amazing Rachel (our host) was a super star! Nothing was too much trouble, she was even up at the crack of dawn clearing the drive of snow to ensure we could get out and visit the town and the sourounding arers.

What a find, an absolute gem ! We will be back and will be sure to recomend it to all our firends and family.




A very short stay at the Curved Stonehouse in Ullapool

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house, fantastic location, fantastic hosts. The only problem was our stay was too brief to experience everything that was on offer.



They have thought of everything.

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gavin and Rachel have produced a beautiful home with wonderful views. It is very well equipped and the interior design and finish is of the highest standard. Of course a sauna with windows is very unusual but with such views, not to be missed. Spacious bedrooms with ample storage for a week's stay. Entertainment systems are very good, even a little desk with all the local points of interest. In addition to what we've experienceed at other five stare locations:- there was a free supply of logs not just a starter pack, the welcome hamper was very generous, there was a code for Sky TV if you wanted premier channels, Rachel showed us around to familiarise us with all the features on arrival, they personally brought us dome locally caught shellfish we'd enquired about, when there was a snowfall Gavin quickly cleared our driveway and path (this happened a few times in the week), they were at pains to find out what we liked in terms of eating, drinking and activities so they could help meet our hopes. They truly were great hosts



Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a fabulous short break in a lovely property.

In some ways the worse the weather the more comfortable and welcoming the Curved House becomes as the underfloor heating, the log fire and the sauna all kick into gear and provide a tremendous transition from cold, wet, windy and sometimes sleety weather to extreme comfort.

we have stayed before and we will stay again,

great times.

Iain & Gillian.




Unimprovable

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcome, beautiful property with excellent facilities, great location close to town yet very private.



Third time back

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yes, my third visit to the gorgeous stone houses for a birthday stay. 2nd time in the curved stone house and cannot say enough good things about this place. Gavin & Rachel are as always the most welcomming hosts and the property was again in immaculate condition and we could not fault anything. I think a summer visit is in order to we can experience sitting outside on the lovely patio area.
Stunning place and can't wait to return




Another perfect stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to the Curved Stonehouse and as previously we had a perfect stay.
Everything was ideal, we managed to chill and relax after a particularly busy 2017 and returned refreshed to start work in 2018.
Hope to see Rachel & Gavin in 2019, just have to work out our dates.

Can’t wait !





What a magical place

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent the most wonderful Christmas up in the Curved Stone House. Gavin welcomed us off the bus, and took us up to such a beautiful cottage, even better than what we expected. The cottage itself is extremely comfortable, with everything you need for cooking, relaxing and enjoying the scenery. Ullapool is a gorgeous town with a couple of great pubs and fantastic walks. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!



17th - 22nd December, 2017.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning property in a picturesque location. Rachel and Gavin are brilliant hosts and provided a substantial Welcoming Pack upon arrival. This was a winding-down holiday after a very busy year and, here, we could not help but chill out ! From the amazing location to the outstanding vistas from every room in the house which changed by the minute it was hard to leave the house at times. Also, the information provided in connection with appliances in the house to days out is meticulously presented in an easy to understand format.
We prefer Scotland in the winter season for the opportunity to take beautiful scenic photographs and to see wildlife at its best. This, by far, is the best location we have stayed in in Scotland. Looking forward to seeing Rachel and Gavin again in November, 2018, as we re-booked on our day of departure.
Highly, highly recommended. 5 star plus and some.




Lovely stay in beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Stonehouse cottage. It is a beautifully designed space that is equally chic and comfortable.We felt completely at home there and could have stayed on for another week! One small comment is it would be safer to have a password on the WiFi for people using it when they stay.
Thank for a great week!
Christine and Aimun




A perfect retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curved Stonehouse is an idyllic place to stay for so many reasons. The views over Ullapool are stunning and the cottage is stunning too. It is a first class retreat with all home comforts. Gavin and Rachel look after everyone that arrives, but privacy is always kept. A great place for discovering the walks and wildlife then relaxing in the sauna or bath with candles glowing as you look out over Ullapool. We could not fault it, and will look forward to returning.



Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best standard of holiday houses we have ever stayed in. Beautiful views, high quality interior and very pleasant owners. Cannot recommend highly enough.



Great house and location

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house and the owners make you feel very welcome. High quality fittings and great sauna with view.



West coast excellence

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Stonehouses for a week mid-November 2017. We've had a few holiday apartments in our time, but this one takes the biscuit. Everything about it was first quality, - unique conception, wonderfully detailed, superb build quality, scrupulously maintained, immaculately clean. Rachel and Gavin are excellent hosts, and they live next door, should a question arise.
Huge floor to ceiling windows. In mid-November the weather tends to be … well … Ullapool, and it was lovely watching the squalls and the sunshine marching down the Loch, - from behind double glazing, with underfloor heating, log burning stove, and a sauna (with its own bay window!) .
The large, characterful spaces, comfy chairs, glorious views over Ullapool rooftops, DVDs, CDs, very fully equipped kitchen, and a mountain of literature on local sights and walks, makes this place a real pleasure.
We had an eagle hovering above us, a red squirrel on the patio, and a red deer stag stood in our path on the road momentarily, - wonderful.
Be warned, - there are sixty steps up to the front door, but if you can manage that without oxygen, it's well, well worth it. Gavin offers an enthusiastic sherpa service to help get the suitcases in.
This place is an absolute delight, whatever the weather. Go and see.




Another fantastic holiday at the stonehouses!

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Curved Stone House and it was just as good as our previous visit. The house is absolutely amazing, in a stunning location with lots to do in the immediate vicinity as well as many beautiful places to visit if you want to venture further afield. We'lldefinitely be back!



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't recommend the stonehouses enough. Very friendly owners, beautiful location. The house is built to an excellent standard, and has everything you could possibility need for a weeks stay. 5 star all around.



Stunning place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just about the best place we've ever stayed in; stylish; comfortable; great location; lovely owners.



Absolutly famous!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In this area it' s the best - it gives nothing better! We say: it wasn' t the last time that we was in the Curved Stone House in Ullapool! We will come back!



Fantastic Holiday Accomondation

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place extremely well equipped & fantastic location. Great communication & customer service - hope to return someday.





Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to The Stone Houses in Ullapool, as with the first time, it was excellent. Wonderful location and extremely comfortable. We hope to come back some time soon.



Wonderful week!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved it! Stunning location with wonderful views from every room. A truly luxurious house. Great to be able to walk from the house both to the town but also onto the hills. We took up the owner's offer to supply Langoustine from a local supplier - can certainly recommend this!



Simply the best

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Far and away the best self catering property we have stayed in. Superb property, spotlessly clean with gorgeous panoramic views over Ullapool and up to the Summer Isles and, in May when we were there, the gorse, which covers the hillside behind the property, was in full bloom and exuding a glorious fragrance. Rachel and Gavin had thought of everything and provided a comprehensive guide to the delights of the area with suggested road tours, walks (included the OS maps) and boat trips plus recommendations of places to eat and shop.
The Stonehouses are set in an ideal spot, just above the delightful village of Ullapool which is an easy stroll down, slightly more strenuous coming back - a short steep walk up a tarmac road followed by 59 shallow steps up to the property - good exercise and Gavin is happy to help you with your luggage when you arrive. Just behind the house you have direct access to the Ullapool hill paths. Plenty of bird life and we even heard and saw a cuckoo - they don't seem to be in Cheshire these days.




Amazing House with Amazing Views and Amazing Owners

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is AMAZING. Its design is so unusual but at the same time blends into its natural surroundings perfectly. The light and views from almost every room (but then do you need views from a utility room and both bathrooms?!) is breathtaking. There really was no need to leave the house - apart from the fact we came to explore the area which was fantastic also. The owners were near perfect also. Helpful but unobtrusive. They live just 2 mins down the hill and so can be on site to assist if necessary - or simply take in a parcel or unpack shopping deliveries. We really got the impression that nothing would have been too much trouble. The beds were comfy, the bath (and its views) fantastic (even those who normally prefer a quick shower were finding time to soak in the bath and soak in the views!) all the facilities were spot on. The sauna was a novel addition - enjoyed by some of our party more than others but to have it as an option was rather special (as were the huge walk-in showers next to it). Honestly we could wax lyrical for pages. Our only slight niggle was the need for another small saucepan - but I am sure had we had been cheeky enough to mention it to the owners one would have appeared! - and to be fair it just meant thinking through timings a bit more (or eating out instead!). All in all we were very impressed with the Curved Storehouse. Even those who are normally itching to get out and explore were found lazily drinking coffee on the veranda (or in the comfy chair looking out over the view) well after they would normally be pacing up and down the hall tapping a watch or waving a map which is praise indeed! Thank you!



Gateway to the Highlands

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous property with epic views. Beautifully designed, furnished and equipped, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in stonehouses, using Ullapool as a gateway to explore the sights and nature of the highlands. If you love the outdoor life and a little luxury Stonehouses ticks all of the boxes.



2nd visit.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we've stayed at The Stonehouses and we had a lovely time once again. Fantastic accommodation and great hosts. We'll be back.



Must be the best holiday home in Scotland, simply outstanding! The website does not do it justice!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sheer luxury, comfort, views, location, style, ambience, welcome, food (oh those langoustine!), bliss! From the moment we got out of the car we realised this was going to be something special and it truly is. As a seasoned past visitor to the area the location and surroundings were known to me however the Stonehouse adds a new dimension. Visiting Wester Ross is always worth the long drive through some of the best scenery the UK has to offer. Food highlights included the pie shop in Lochinver ( the pies are really wonderful) and local langoustine. The views of the summer isles, the drive to Gairloch, the beaches, the influence of the Gulf Stream in early March. I hope we can return!



Curved stone house, Ullapool February 2017

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The curved house was most definitely the best holiday house we have stayed in. The quality of the design, workmanship and furnishings was outstanding and we will definitely return. We enjoyed being close to Ullapool but also high enough above it to enjoy the views.
Gavin and Rachel are a lovely couple who, from our initial enquiry, were extremely helpful.




Celebration Break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say. This is a fantastic house. Stayed here for a short break with friends and had a fantastic time. The Curved Stone House is immaculate and is bigger than it looks from the photographs and is ideal for two couples. Gavin and Rachel are fantastic hosts, so friendly, accommodating and nothing is too much trouble for them. I wish I was back there now.
Will definitely return.




Another great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit. It was better than the first - because we stayed longer! A great house in a fantastic location, with very thoughtful and hospitable hosts.



Our Third visit and won't be our last !

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to The Curved Stonehouse. As always we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rachel and Gavin make you so welcome, everything is just so, from the welcome pack to the linen. We managed to stay a week this time, longest yet, we were so relaxed when we left.
The weather was kinder to us this trip and we managed to visit the Corrieshalloch Gorge and The Bones Caves, both of which are really interesting and do not involve too much effort, although a pair of sturdy boots and a head for heights is required.
We will certainly be back again in 2018.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I stayed at the Stonehouses for a week in January.
The house was every thing we expected and more.
We had a fantastic week in great surroundings.
Can not wait to return.
The best place we have ever stayed in.




Luxury and excellence in Ullapool

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful self catering accommodation in a wonderful location. Amazing property designed by Stuart Bagshaw, resembling hobbit houses from the outside (wonderful stone work and turf roofs following the natural curve of the hillside and with direct access to the hill path ) but providing every luxury inside. Absolutely beautiful accommodation inside and out. The very pleasant owners, Rachael and Gavin have equipped the kitchen to a much higher standard than you would normally expect from a self catering property. Almost everything you can think of was provided. We arrived like pack mules with all the bits and pieces for our few days (cling film, foil, sugar, salt, oil and so on) The only thing we needed was the small amount of cornflour required to thicken a sauce we had brought with us. (Though if push came to shove we could have used the flour provided.)
Gavin and Rachael had also thoughtfully provided a welcome pack including the most delicious locally smoked cheese, salmon and venison from Ullapool Smokehouse, So delicious that we found the Smokehouse and bought some to take home for ourselves and friends. In addition there was Fizz on ice (even ice in the freezer!) and a large bunch of fresh flowers on the dining table. Plenty of crockery and cutlery made self catering so much more pleasant than the usual 4 of everything for a house that sleeps 4.

We can't recommend this beautiful property and wonderful hosts highly enough. We normally book budget accommodation but pushed the boat out as we were celebrating our daughter's 30th birthday. We weren't disappointed. Highly, highly recommended.




Fantastic Hogmanay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time over Hogmanay in the Curved Stone House. The house is better then the pictures in the Internet. Enjoying the relaxed atmosphere, the Sauna, the bath, the fantastic view and a very nice Hogmanay with Gavin and Rachel. Thank you for all the help and the hints about live music etc.
Thank you very much for all of this. We are sure, we will come back again!




most beautiful place to relax

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we went for honeymoon, it excelled any expectations we ever had. breathtaking views and total relaxation



Special place

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curved Stone House is a very special place which manages to marry space with coziness perfectly. The views from the various windows are spectacular and the attention to detail is evident in every room. We would highly recommend this accommodation and we look forward to returning to explore the surrounding area another time.



Fantastic !!!

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful holiday. Luxurious accommodation with amazing views; Ullapool on the doorstep with everything you need and loads of great walks nearby and fantastic scenery within driving distance. Highlights included stac polliadh and Mellon udrilgle. We only scratched the surface in the week so will definitely be back



a fabulous place - will surprise you pleasantly

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
attention has been paid to every detail for a very comfortable and caring stay
go there and see it for yourself and you will know what exactly is a comfortable self catering facility




Perfect break

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a complete break from work to relax and have some time to ourselves in comfortable accommodation. The Curved House was perfect, well equipped, comfortable and well looked after. The view from the house was wonderful and we could have looked at it all day. The Stonehouses team were great and did everything possible to make our stay the great break that it was.



Absolutely amazing

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in this beautiful house. The location with the stunning view and such an amazing house was the perfect holiday for us. Gavin and Rachael have thought of everything to make this place so special and there's not 1 thing we would change. The location is perfect for touring around the beautiful beaches etc and if you just want a relaxing day reading a book and enjoying the view then this is the place to be. We have booked up for our next stay already and we can't wait.



Very nice indeed

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was stunning, with excellent design, fittings and views to the outside. We had a really lovely time here and will plan to visit again.

I would have one suggestion for improvement which would be to offer some basic servicing of the apartment for those that would want it. I would have paid extra to have someone come in each day and tidy/remove rubbish etc.




Exceptional accomodation, superbly situated with brilliant service. Very , very special .

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful week, great welcome & service . Accomodation is beautiful. Recommend without hesitation . The moment we arrived, we knew we would be coming back . Brilliantly equipped luxury accomodation with the most amazing views. Stunning in every sense.



What an amazing Oasis!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Stonehouses. We stayed for a week with our 9 year old twins in July 2016. What an absolute oasis to return to after a hard day's walking and clambering! It was warm, comfortable and a true home from home. The location and views over Ullapool, Loch Broome and the Sunny Isles were stunning. The attention to detail was awe inspiring and the customer service could not be faulted. All of this made for an amazing holiday and we would definitely return! Thank you Rachel and Gavin!



Perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to many such types of accommodation over the years but this is without doubt the best.Brilliantly constructed to take advantage of the views and incredibly comfortable. Not cheap but tremendous value for money. We did not want to leave!



Exceeds even the wildest expectation!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Curved Stonehouse is by far the best of the many holiday cottages we have ever stayed in. It is perfectly located in the hill above Ullapool but in easy walking distance. It blends beautifully into the landscape and is a stunning design. Every detail has been thought of and it is equipped to the highest possible quality from the bedding to the crockery. With perfect hosts Rachel and Gavin this is an outstanding place to stay.



Simply fabulous

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received a very warm welcome, the team could not be more helpful. This house is in an idyllic setting, perfect for a truly relaxing retreat. Thank you



Amazing house in a great setting and friendly owners

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When you open up the front door you are greeted by the most amazing view of the curves of the house. You are struck by the amount of light and the never ending views from each room you enter in to. There has been a great deal of attention to detail been put in to each room in terms of colour, decorating and fixtures. It is a joy to spend time in the house if the weather is not all that good, thanks to the glass you still get the feel of being in open space and part of the outside whilst remaining warm thanks to the under-floor heating. The owners, Rachael and Gavin are on hand and always willing to help and have provided a great guide full of information about the area, places to eat, visit etc. There is no doubt this is a very special place to spend some time and worthwhile the travel if you are coming from far-flung places.



Review of our stay in the Curved house week commencing 14th March 2016

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house in an amazing location which can't fail to please even the most discerning of guests.
We were fortunate to have a week of clear blue skies and sunshine and were able to make the most of the terraces surrounding the house. A great place to share with friends and we are already planning a return visit in the not too distant future.




Pure Magic

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fab place The Curved Stone House is, absolutely brilliant place to stay.
The views are stunning from every room, every thing you need and more in the house.
Beautiful hamper on arrival, all local produce the smoked salmon was delicious, and a lovely bottle of bubbly on ice.
A very warm welcome from Rachel on arrival, they have done a great job with the houses, cannot fault them.
Enjoyed our stay so much we are returning just before Christmas for another weekend break, it can,t come quick enough.






Stunning property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best places we have ever stayed. A warm, relaxing, beautifully appointed house with excellent facilities. The views from the living room (and sauna) are fantastic.



Amazing gem in the Scottish Highland

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had the most wondeful stay at Stone Houses Curved House. Absolute luxury, comfort and the most amazing light and views fill this house with joy. Everything you could need and want was provided between the bedrooms, bathrooms, sauna and kitchen. It was an incredibly relaxing stay that we didn't want to end. Great hiking trails steps from the house and easy 10 minute walk into town centre. Sitting by the fire, eating and drinking, watching the sky change was paradise.
Rachel was incredibly kind and helpful with guiding us to local shops/restaurants, beaches and hiking paths. She and her husband have built an oasis in the Highlands. Truly a slice of heaven on earth. We look forward to returning and making this trip an annual adventure.




Idyllic Location & perfect accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 days in January and the curved stone house more than lived up to the expectation. We were greeted upon arrival, shown round and left to ourselves for the rest of the break. The accommodation was excellent, the sauna awesome, views to die for and we even ordered some fresh langoustines that arrived still moving. Cannot wait to return to this perfect hideaway on the beautiful West Coast



Perfect Chill Break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from our second trip to curved Stonehouse, once again we had a great time. Was just the chilled break we needed. Now just need to organise our break for next January. Thanks again Rachel & Gavin.



Out of this world!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stonehouses were everything that the website promised and more. Myself, my partner Rick, Grandad Bill and 4 year old Issy had the most amazing time...for me the thought and design that had gone into the build, their incredible location, and inspired architecture completely took my breath away, as a property developer myself it's not often that I come across somewhere that i want to take my hat off to but this is it! The interiors are equally as arresting.....every detail superbly executed....colours, materials, structures..... a masterpiece throughout!! We all constantly marvelled at the views both within and without...... for me this provided a wonderful place of relaxation and reenergising for the soul....you may be able to tell that I liked it a bit!! I think it's a testament to a place if you can't stop thinking about it long after you have left. Well done to Rachel & Gavin
PS The Ceilidh cafe served great food, books and music too and we loved The open air Geological Museum which was thoroughly enjoyed even by a 4 year old with the concentration of a Scottish midge




What a truly remarkable place!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a truly remarkable place, even better than described on the website. Great space and light, clear views across the harbour and bay, perfect for every kind of holiday. I’m sure we’ll be back and we’ll be recommending The Stonehouses to everyone



First Class

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best house we've ever stayed in. It had all the qualities you look for, well equipped, and top notch quality furnishings.
View from windows superb. The owners so helpful. A real treat throughout, not to be missed.





Wow - this place is wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Curved Stone House. From arrival to departure we had the most fantastic time. The welcome and service from Rachel, Gavin and their staff was amazing. But the main feature is the house - it is truly spectacular. The views are to wonderful, the accommodation is outstanding with everything having been thought of for their guests. I can not rate this place highly enough. It is a holiday that we will remember for a very long time.



Amazing holiday accommodation !

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Stone House and were invited to view Tree Tops too before we left for home.We can honestly recommend a stay in either of these amazing places.Even the lovely photos on The Internet do not give the accommodation full justice! Everything was perfect and so well equipped . As for hospitality one could not wish for a bigger welcome! Both Gavin and Rachel ensured we had a fantastic holiday nothing was to much trouble.



Exceeded expectations

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Curved House with family. The property is beautiful, comfortable and well equipped. It is larger than it appears on the website and easily located for a short walk into town. Rachel was a perfect host. We will definitely be back.



Awesomeness

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location, warm friendly welcome. Gavin and Rachel could not have been more helpful. Already miss the house and it's views! Can't wait to visit again



High quality property beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing property beautifully finished throughout and a great base to explore the area which is just breath taking with so much to see. We didn't want to leave and our only regret in booking The Stonehouses was that we only had 1 week rather than 2!



Beautiful Ullapool Property!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at the Curved Stonehouse! A beautiful and unique property, total luxury wonderful views and fantastic hosts! Would love to stay again!



Curved Stonehouse - the most perfect holiday accommodation in Ullapool

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gavin and Rachel are the perfect hosts. Welcoming, attentive and aware of what you need to have the best holiday experience possible. They have created the most wonderful holiday accommodation imaginable.



A cut above

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous. In all ways. In particular, the architecture and interior design. Attention to detail was incredible. We loved it so much we are considering it as a honeymoon destination.



Excellent property

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property with great facilities in superb location within walking distance of Ullapool. Owners exceptionally friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.




A perfect week

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the stonehouses exceeded our expectations to the point we considered not going our !!! A fantastic design, beautiful interior and everything you could possible want. The location was amazing and the local information and ideas provided by Rachel were invaluable.

We've never stayed in such a unique and special place before, we felt truly spoilt.

We can't recommend it highly enough..




Top standard self catering - like no other

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best SC accommodation we have stayed in, unique in every way, tastefully furnished and superlative setting. This together with delightful hosts made this a real holiday to remember. A genuine Highland gem.



Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

The Stonehouses are the perfect place to stay but what makes it so special is the generosity of the hosts. We felt very welcome and everything had been thought of to make our stay relaxing and to provide information so we could make the most of the area. The house is very well equipped to cook in too.

The location is perfect - we were able to walk into Ullapool to eat in the evening but also get to great beaches and walks.

Sometimes though we struggled to leave the house as the view was so spectacular and the house so comfortable!




Absolutely fabulous

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a fabulous short stay in the stone houses we shall be coming back next year.the pictures on the Internet really don't do it justice, it's more amazing than we imagined. The whole house has been made with such thought to every single tiny detail to make such a wonderful stay. The customer service from Gavin and Rachel from before we booked up until the day we arrived was great. We had lots of questions which they answered straight away and when we arrived they were such friendly helpful people it really made our stay enjoyable. The log burning stove was really cosy and we loved looking at the beautiful views from every room in the house.the only thing we didn't like was leaving. We're sooo looking forward to next year now and have a stay in such a special place with a touch of luxury.
Thanks Gavin and Rachel for being so welcoming and giving us such a wonderful time on our short break.




Truly outstanding accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have wished for better accommodation! Gavin & Rachel have the most outstanding properties overlooking Ullapool. The curved stonehouse was all we could have asked for. Everything is well designed, layout and attention to detail has been well thought through, allowing guests to enjoy the facilities to their best. Unfortunately the weather was against us during our visit, although on the up side it allowed us to make the most of the sauna, log burning stove, we managed to watch a few DVD''s whilst relaxing with a glass of wine (or two) looking out over the lights of Ullapool.

The lovely welcome hamper was much appreciated, we made use of the kitchen and stayed in each evening mostly due to the weather but we were there to chill out and we certainly did this! We are now looking at dates for early next year and hope to visit for longer than 3 days and bring friends.





Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful cottage/home. . very classy and lovely setting. very tastefully decorated and excellent facilites.



Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Curved Stone House and can truly say it was the nicest holiday cottage we have stayed in. The house was beautifully presented and immaculate. The attention to detail was first class with everything you could possibly want. The location was perfect with the most breath taking views. Rachel and Gavin were so kind and provided a warm welcome when we arrived, showing us around the house and explaining how everything works so we could get the most from our stay. They also made sure they came to say goodbye when we were leaving. We would have no hesitation in staying again or recommending it to anyone.



beautiful house at a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for my girlfriends birthday from the 9th to the 12th, horrendous weather but was actually really nice. Watching the weather out the bay window. Heaven