FB Twitter

Muir-lan Log Cabin

Muir-lan Log Cabin

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 78 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Muir-lan Log Cabin

Is uniquely situated on the waters edge all comforts of home are provided.
Balcony which boasts breathtaking views across the loch to Canisp and Suilven,and the fishing boats uploading their catches at the pier across the bay.

All round fabulous Log Cabin

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very high quality standard of accommodation with absolutely everything you need to enjoy your holiday. The view of Loch Inver from the terrace is outstanding, especially from the Hot Tub
As they say it in life “You get what you pay for”
Would revisit in a heart beat if ever we are up that way again
Love the Northern Highlands; loved Muir-Lan




Muir Lan

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property at the water’s edge .
Very comfortable and extremely well equipped . Great week away . Hope to return




Muir-Lan lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Muir-Lan lodge and second time just as amazing! The location is wonderful, having a hot tub and a veranda overlooking the lodge with a clear view to Sullivan was great.
The lodge was absolutely spotlessly clean and the bedding is top quality (this is very important to me!).
Suzie and Roy were great! Especially as at the beginning I had made a mistake and thought we were in a different lodge, this was quickly sorted out and they were really helpful and kind.
Given we are all having to think and work differently, we were reassured that everything at Muir-Lan was cleaned to the highest spec within the government guidelines, it exceeded expectations.
Thank you Suzie and Roy for another fantastic visit...we will be back!




Brilliant

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been customers of Suzy and Roy for 25 years and can highly recommend all their self catering units. Cleanliness is exceptional and the location is superb. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Lochinver. Suzy and Roy are always on hand and are extremely helpful. Come and stay , you won’t be disappointed!!



A piece of perfection.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I struggle to find superlatives to describe this gem in the Highlands. The cabin was perfectly positioned, on the shores of Loch Inver, with a view of the two mountains above the village, picture postcard stuff, tinged with snow. Inside it was spacious, immaculate and we settled in within minutes, a true home from home. And the hot tub was the icing on the cake! What a place!



This is why we keep returning!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful 4 night stay at Mountview. Muir-lan is our favourite chalet, so close to the water making otter spotting from the hot tub the most comfortable wildlife hide ever! Spotlessly clean as usual with everything you need and more for a self catering break. Suzie and Roy are obviously passionate about keeping their guests happy. Loved the upgrades, especially the large smart TV great for snuggling up to on the dark winter nights. Cosy and warm cabin in a beautiful setting with awesome views, biscuits, cake and a wee dram on arrival. Needless to say we have ready booked our next stay.



A perfect place for rest and re-charge of the batteries

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was perfect so clean and well stocked...after a mishap with the bedroom door, quick response to get everything sorted.....such a cosy well equipped lodge..will definitely be back at some point. I also feel like the dinner service needs a special mention. Views overlooking the Loch were amazing...especially sunset New Years Eve. Well done to the lodges current custodians for making it such a clean welcoming place to stay.



Returned yet again

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had another excellent week here. Roy and Susan provide outstanding accommodation and service , in an area that is fantastic.



Beautiful cabin, gorgeous area .

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed here in 2009 and loved every minute of it. This stay, we bought my wife's brother and his wife with us and her first words on entering the cabin was WOW...!!! The area is also beautiful, I'm a keen photographer and every corner you turn there is another stunning shot. The village has several places to eat and the Lochinver Larder is a real must if you like pies!!

Many thanks to Suzy and Roy for allowing us to stay.




A perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the third time we have stayed in Muir Lan and it most certainly will not be the the last! Thank you again Suzie & Roy



Another great week in Lochinver

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the wet weather we had a fantastic week in Muir Ian. It's a really comfy and well equipped cabin with superb views and decking that goes straight onto the rocks. We saw otters eagles deer and loads of sea birds. Had great walks and enjoyed the views. We managed a couple of beach picnics as well. Some good trout fishing in the lochs and I caught a decent salmon. All in all a super week. We will be back in March



beautiful mountain views and comfortable and luxurious cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
in short, the cottage is very comfortable and luxury (hot tub on the balcony) , provides beautiful view to the mountains and sea.



Suzie replied more than 1 year ago
We appreciate you taking the time to send a review thank you Look forward to welcoming you back

Excellent Stay!!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Aug 2019 for a week at Muir-Ian log cabin with my wife, daughter & her partner, very comfortable for 4 adults.
This really is excellent Accommodation & Location for exploring the local area, real home from home, relaxing in the hot tub after a long walk in the hills or to the stunning beach`s was an ideal way to finish the day. View from the cabin is fantastic ideal for photographers, lots of wildlife to spot so take some binoculars, spotted an otter twice in the week we were there right next to the cabin!
Highly Recommended............




A peaceful haven

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Will be returning here for our 5th year running. Stunning location and nothing too much trouble for the owners. Cannot wait to return.



Angus Roy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very kind review Suzie and I are delighted you love coming back to Muirlan and we look forward to seeing you again . Kindest regards Roy and Suzie

Amazing location in a luxury cabin.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cabin is very luxurious, and would be good at all times of the year.
The view from the cabin and decking is spectacular, and the hot tub overlooking the loch is large and a brilliant place to view the wildlife.
Watching the fishing boats and sailing boats come and go across the loch kept us busy (binoculars are a good idea).
There is a larger TV in the living room and the living room furniture has been replaced from what is shown on their website.
Lots of good walks start from the cabin or Lochinver, and the surrounding area is superb.




Muir Lan, June 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it here. The location was great, the cabin had everything we needed. We saw otters in the sea loch, red deer in the garden … and had fantastic views to Suilven and Canisp. What's not to like?
And no midges :)




A perfect retreat for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is s superbly appointed self catering cabin.
It has an idylic setting, located in an area where you can be as relaxed or active as you want.
We will be back again.




our holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location ,.Helpful owners who do everything to make our holiday enjoyable, Everything in the cabin we could possibly need.
We saw 2 otters on the rocks in front of the cabin . Last year we also watched a loan seal pop his head up out in the bay . Deer wandering around freely quite tame .
Perfect to sit in hot tub in the evening with the lights of Lochinver sparkling across the bay.
The minute we arrive we immediately feel at home and relaxed , Have booked again for 2020.Our 4rth visit.




So good, we booked again for next year within 2 hours of arriving.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's wonderful. Right next to the Loch with great views across to Lochinver and the mountains behind. All equipment and facilities are there. The owners live nearby but are not intrusive in the slightest but if there is a problem, they solve it quickly. There are lots of walks and drives in the area.



Second visit March 19

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable second visit to this lovely cabin. Everything a pot on as usual. Played hunt the cutlery drawer on day 1, and then sat in hot tub watching the otters. A rather wet and windy week, but great knowing the cabin is so warm and inviting on your return. Thanks for a great holiday.



Excellent holiday location. Incredibly warm, comfortable and idyllic.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We travelled up North from Edinburgh with our small child, aged 9 months. We found that the house was absolutely perfect for our family in terms of providing basic necessities to make travel easy. The location is truly amazing with absurdly stunning views. The hot tub at night under the stars is something we will always remember. Our baby was nice and comfy in a cot provided by the owners, and he slept well in a room very close to us. We were very happy with our stay!



Wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 7th stay at Mountview, 3rd time in Muir-lan. Fabulous location with spectacular views. Love otter spotting from the hot tub after a great day on the mountains. Beautifully clean & comfortable accommodation with everything you need. Lovely hosts, there if you need them. Have already booked our return. Thank you Suzie & Roy.



Absolutely unbelievable accommodation and welcome from owners

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you.
The best weekend we have had and didn’t have to leave cabin!what an amazing facility and wanted for nothing,everything provided by owners

Thanks you and see you again soon




Stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a stunning location with stunning views. Can’t fault this place and can’t wait to go back



A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy, comfortable, welcoming and very well stocked with all that you need, we enjoyed a lovely relaxing stay



Fabulous week in a stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous week. Log cabin is warm, comfortable and in a stunning location. Couldn’t fault the property and the hot tub was worth the additional cost, fabulous to relax in at the end of the day. Saw the seal pop his head up most days and a Golden Eagle circled over us one day too. Pie Shop in the village is a must to visit although does close at 5pm from October onwards.



Best self-catering accommodation we have ever stayed at.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything one wants or needs is in the cabin. Being in the hot tub on the decking within 10 yards of the sea is wonderful. Kitchen equipment is all there. A good TV (and even another in the bedroom). The Assynt is a great place to visit. There are lots of good walks for all abilities. Lochinver has a good pub for meals. During our stay, we worked down the menu of tasty pies from Lochinver Larder. The owners, Suzie and Roy, are on hand nearby if need be but not intrusive in the slightest.



Stunning views!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a comfortable welcoming property. Everything we needed was in the property for a relaxing break. Such stunning views. Hot tub is a must after long days walking. Have already booked again for next year



Perfect location with views to soothe your soul...

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is located on the lochside with wonderful views over Lochinver.

It is very clean and has everything you need for cooking inside and out (BBQ provided).

Only minor point is that the bedrooms are pretty small, but who cares when you can sit in the hot tub looking at Canisp and Suilven, not me!

You can walk from the house round to Lochinver in about 20 mins where there is a Spar , some shops and a lovely pie shop and other restaurants.




Great holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed several times and as always cabin was excellent, very well equipped with good quality items. Location always impresses.



Picturesque base to explore Assynt

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were very comfortable. The location was excellent, right on the shore of Loch Inver, round the bay, but within easy walking distance of the village.The cabin was well-furnished and equipped and warm, in spite of the February weather. We enjoyed the hot tub after a day in the cold - it had great views across the Loch to the mountains, including Suilven, and we could watch the sunset.



Winter Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay here, it had everything we needed! Even though it poured with rain, we were delighted to stay in and play the games they had. Good quality furniture and kitchen wear etc. We would love to go back in the summer to enjoy the outside area and bbq! Would 100% recommend this place!



Amazing cabin with stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was such a cabin, had everything you need in it. As soon as we arrive we had seals at our front door with the breath taken views.



Fantastic, as always!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th stay at Mountview. We spent 4 nights in Muir Lan this time. The accommodation is truly stunning, so beautifully designed, furnished and decorated. Lovely and clean with everything you need and more. We have years of experience in self catering accommodation of many types and we can find absolutely no faults here!! The views are spectacular, we even watched 2 otters from the hot tub. Great location for hill walking, mountain biking or just chilling out. We met Roy for the first time, what a genuinely lovely man. He & Suzie are on hand should you need them but are totally unobtrusive. We have booked to go back again....just can't resist the draw of Mountview. Thanks again to Suzie & Roy for providing such a wonderful retreat.



Muir Lan with a view

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Muir Lan. The chalet is very well equipped and comfortable, the view of the Loch with Suilven and Canisp in the background is spectacular from dawn to dusk. The hot tub after a swim in the Loch or a long walk is definite plus. We will come back!



Only one word ` excellent`

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
...our 3rd stay in Muir - Ian but we `ve already booked for October 2018 - you open the door, and feel at home -:) Thanks Roy and Suzy



On the shore at Muir Lan

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had a superb weeks break at Muir Lan over looking the bay toward Lochinver. The location and views from the outside gave the impression of being somewhere Switzerland, with views across the water to the iconic Suilven and Assynt Mountains. The lodge was fully kitted out with everything you would need , including an array of cooking utensils. The bathroom has a jacuzzi bath and separate shower. The beds are very comfortable and getting a good night's sleep was easy. A 15 minute walk finds you in Lochinver where we found several good places to eat. Only one place actually sold "real ale " though, The Caberfeidh.
Returning to the cabin, we spent most nights sitting outside looking at the wildlife, including the odd visit from a local otter. The only time we struggled was adjusting the hot tub; the instructions show the use of every button, but maybe a" Step One" etc guide would be a bit easier.
All in all, a lovely place to stay and get away from it all.




One of the best locations in UK

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in outstanding location. Dog friendly, but without compromising on comfort. Beautiful views, well placed for wildlife and great base for exploring the area. Hot tub a real luxury and perfect after long walks. Good choice of shops in Lochinver and restaurants to suit all. Weather is pot luck but you make the most of it and plan your day around it. On the wettest days kicking back at the lodge with the views over the loch really makes you relax. Local must experience, any of the beaches, Stoerhead lighthouse, Kylesku hotel for seafood and boat trip, Culag woods, walk to bone caves.



An excellent place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mountview is a haven of rest overlooking Lochinver. Accommodation very comfortable indeed. Facilities all one would need, and support from owners excellent. The view over the loch and the activities and bird life mean for those who just want a rest they need not venture far. The hot tub experience is not to be missed especially even in the rain! We would highly recommend this chalet, although on the upper end of pricing yet well worth it.



A wonderful place

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful cabin in a great location. The cabin is very well-equipped and very comfortable, and it's lovely to have a hot-tub



Another great stay at Muir-Lan

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th or 5th time staying in Muir-Lan. We have always enjoyed our stays and found the cabin warm, welcoming and well equipped. And every time there seems to have been some improvement/enhancement done by Roy and Susan. This year was the new kitchen - not that there was anything wrong with the old on. I think they've just done it to test the ingenuity of their guests in finding the (well-stocked) cutlery drawer!



Wonderful vacation

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Muir-Ian from the very first second.
It is an excellent cottage in a perfect location. The cottage has everything you could want for a self-catering holiday. There are great views of the harbour and mountains. Sitting in the hot tub, watching the fishing boats is so relaxing!
We would love to return soon!




Fabulous week.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd stay with Mount View Cottages, and 2nd at Muir-lan. Highly recommended. Brilliant wee cottage. Location tip-top, and even a hot tub to soothe aching hikers (!) Ok, 1 bathroom for 4 people may test some people, but hey, you're on holiday! Will certainly be back for another Easter break.



Wonderful return visit

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a welcome return to Muir Lan having stayed both here and at Saorsa before. The cabin had everything we needed for a great week and the Hot Tub was a great optional extra. The cabin was cozy, warm and comfortable with fantastic views both across and down the loch. Wildlife was in abundance around the cabin, with the highlight being an appearance by an otter on two evenings.



Muir-lan Log Cabin - Lochinver delight

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cabin was in great location with wonderful views, only slight -ve was shower pressure + temp, but since there was also a jacuzzi bath and a hot tub it was not a major concern.



Hidden Gem as already described

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous, quality log cabin in a stunning location with fabulous views right on the waters edge. Luxury cabin with everything you need, quality shines through and the hot tub is a must, just finishes it off. Lovely garden area nice and private, will be back again !



Excellent could not be improved

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners have a great eye to detail in the excellent furnishings, comfort and cleanliness as well as having everything you could possibly need and more. The lovely touches such as the tea tray ready for our arrival with the home made fruit loaf makes the difference between good customer service and excellent customer service. The view was to die for and the hot tub was very welcome after walking. Will definitely recommend to family and friends and will also definitely stay again.



Does not get any better in the highlands

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th stay and since the upgrade and provision of the hot tub was even more enjoyable and relaxing. I can't recommend muir-lan enough. Will be going back for years to come.



Perfect Holidays

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
..the second time we booked Muir -Ian for a week and perfect as expected :) - Whether the cabin or the hot - tub - you get everything and more than you expected and also a warm welcome after arrival... Thanks again and the next wee in 2017 is planned



A wonderful week at Muir-lan

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having spent over 20 years staying in the highlands in the autumn, this was our first stay at Muir-lan and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The cabin is very well equipped in every sense and as we make a point of cooking a wide variety of food whilst away we were very pleased to find the kitchen lacking for nothing.
When we needed help to get the hot-tub to work, Susan was there within a very short time on a Sunday to help and Roy followed later to attend to a minor couple of items we had asked Susan about - lovely people and excellent service.
If you are quiet around low tide you are likely to see Richard the sea otter most days directly below the cabin and seals are a common sighting. We were also fortunate to see a pair of white-tailed eagles for about 15 minutes within a few hundred yards of Muir-lan and a Golden Eagle and Ravens on the walk over to Achmelvich Beach (beautiful walk of about 5 miles round trip). Also, having heard but not seen any deer for the whole week there were 4 of them wandering around Baddidarroch to say goodbye to us at 7am on the morning we left.
Thank you Roy and Susan - we had a wonderful week.




An Excellent Restful Break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we spent a week there complete with the hot tub option which is well worth it, many walks. The deer coming to see us was a bonus



Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Muir-Ian is indeed a find and I defy anyone staying here not to want to come back. Location is pefect for relaxing, exploring, eating, wildlife and the people of Lochinver very friendly. Log cabin has everything you need and the hot tub well worth the extra. Dog friendly too and that is a real bonus. My only down point is that it is so popular that I could not book two consequetive weeks on September but that is a measure of its excellence.



Muir Lan

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another excellent visit to Muir Lan. The setting is idyllic and the cabin very comfortable.
Many improvements since our last visit - New settees, hot tub, shower cubicle.
Glad to see a holiday property that is being invested in.
Would suggest a Sky TV package for the future - a good addition for when the weather is not good.




Sensational surroundings at a perfect price

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
With out a doubt, Muir-Lan log cabin at Mountview provided one of the most relaxing holidays I've had in years. The cabin is completed to an excellent standard and provides practically everything you need to feel right at home from the moment you walk in the door. The views from the balcony a truly stunning, with the beautiful mountains of Suilvan and Canisp towering above Lochinver and it's harbour on the other side of the loch, providing the perfect backdrop especially at sunset. The cabin is spacious despite it's relatively compact size, and the seating and beds are incredibly comfortable. People with limited mobility will also appreciate a wide walk-in shower, which worked perfectly for the group I was travelling with. More remarkably though, the property was incredibly well priced for the quality that was delivered.

Lochinver has a wealth or restaurants to suit all budgets and two convenience stores which stock just about everything you'll need for a week or two away. For me though, it was the combination of this property with the beautiful Assynt mountains and local beaches with their crystal-blue waters that made the holiday particularly special. If you are looking for somewhere in the north of Scotland that offers the perfect mix of the great outdoors, relaxation and tranquillity, this property ticks all the boxes.




Excellent property near Lochinver.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Muir-Lan. The property is a good size with lovely views from the outside seating ares across to Lochinver. There was plenty of parking space and the house is very private, not being overlooked by anyone.
Inside the furnishings were comfortable and the kitchen spacious and very well equipped, plus we enjoyed our welcome pack of homemade cakes and everything for a cup of tea on arrival.
We particularly liked the the way you can sit on the sofas and watch the fishing boats and wildlife through the large sliding glass doors on chillier days. You can also sit and watch the changing colours of Sutherland's unique mountains as the light changes through the day.
The property is well situated for exploring the delights of Sutherland which include its spectacular scenery and beaches. A trip to the bird reserve on the island of Handa was a highlight of our visit. The wonderful Achmelvich beach is reachable by an up and down 3 mile path that goes through the Assynt moorland.
It is only 5 minutes walk to a local shop, and 10 minutes walk into Lochinver which has other shops, restaurants and tourist places.




A beautiful week in May

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful sunny week in Muir-Lan. This is the 4th or 5th time we've stayed but the first for a number of years. In the intervening time there have been various upgrades to the facilities (new couches, hot tub, new shower, upgraded heating etc) which have added even more comfort and convenience.

Can't fault it! Indeed have already booked again for next year.




Perfect place for a peaceful break

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Absolutely perfect cabin and location for a peaceful break. The cabin was very clean and well equipped with some local pottery and the welcome tea tray complete with home made cake was a bonus!
We chose to pay the additional cost to have access to the hot tub and wow what a great choice that was, we took advantage of this early morning with a cuppa watching the fishing boats go out and later in the day with a glass of bubbly watching the boats come back!
There was plenty of leaflets and information available within the cabin regarding the local area and its attractions, the scenery was absolutely beautiful as was the wildlife; stags, seals and various birds, we found a couple of fantastic sandy beaches local to the cabin
Would recommend to anyone wishing for a peaceful, relaxing break




Colin & Vivien

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
first class accommodation very relaxing and beautiful views. will be going back. Lodge was very clean and comfy and nice touch with a fruit loaf left with a tray set for tea. Hot tub and jaccuzi were great. Wildlife was good and lovely surrounding areas. Nice place to escape to.



PERFECT Holiday - - ideal for a week `in a different world`

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What`s the best compliment for a holiday accommodation ? When you book it straight away for the next year and we did it so...- If you need a special place for a holiday you never forget... try this one.. and btw..- Lochinver with good Restaurants is so close...:) and another argument...



peaceful and relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful, quiet, restful holiday in a beautiful, spacious well equipped lodge. Everything was clean, with good quality fittings and furnishings. There was everything that you would need a real home from home. Loved the Highland Stonewear dinner service and bits around the house. The bed was super comfortable. The hot tub was fab....the directions for use were unreadable having been allowed to get wet by previous occupants....however the internet saved the day. Very good internet connection. We saw plenty of wildlife beautiful birds and seals but no people ...exactly what we wanted. However there would be plenty to do if you were so inclined. Recommend the pie shop, well worth a visit or two!
All in all an excellent holiday in excellent acommodation.




Our recent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have stayed with Susan and Roy before (Saorsa) and both are very nice - definitely look forward to staying again. As we enjoy travels to Scotland (Highlands) in the off-season, the location is wonderful - quiet, beautiful, many different walks readily available, very nice beaches close by, etc. Also, several good restaurants nearby (check Kylesku Hotel as well as those in Lochinver). Cabin is well outfitted with everything required for a comfortable stay. Excellent views of mountains from deck and right on the water (at high tide, deck is within 25-30 feet of the shore) - great weather while there; sunrises awesome. Great fun!



A great place to stay in Lochinver.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay overall and the cabin was really well thought out which provided all the facilities we needed. We loved the hot tub and it was great to sit and relax in it after a long walk on the mountains !!
Suzy and Makcolm were also very helpful if we needed anything.
We all loved the cabin.




A great place to stay in Lochinver.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay overall and the cabin was really well thought out which provided all the facilities we needed. We loved the hot tub and it was great to sit and relax in it after a long walk on the mountains !!
Suzy and Makcolm were also very helpful if we needed anything.
We all loved the cabin.




Relaxing Week Away From It All

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again we spent a lovely peaceful week at Muir Lan. Excellent facilities and fantastic location. Thank you Susie and Roy. No complaints whatsoever! Planning a repeat visit.



Hot tub with view on Suilven

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Since I am not an english native speaker, I will keep this short to avoid annoying you with my bad english. Stayed at Mountview Lochinver in the Muir-lan Log Cabin in May 2015 and we really enjoyed that. I strongly recommend to book the hot tub despite the extra charge. Relaxing in the tub with view on Suilven is wonderful. The house itself is very clean and in a very good condition and everything required is provided if not even more.

Hints: check Drumbeg Stores, Highland Stoneware and Ullapool Food for thought to make more of your vacation. If tired of cooking try the Caberfeidh pub - we liked it.




Great holiday experience

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was really comfortable with everything u need and more. The hot tub on the balcony was an ideal way to relax after taking in some of the stunning local walks. The views and location right on the shore were breathtaking no matter the weather. The cabin was warm, beds cosy and living area roomy enough for 2 adults and two teenagers to relax in. It is in a quiet location but within walking distance of shops, pubs and restaurants. Really relaxed and enjoyed the whole experience and will definitely book again.





mountview

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely holiday cabin spotless clean and tidy big spacious bath and shower room .bed is so comfy . the kitchen is well equipped with everything you possibly need it is like home from home even has washing machine tumble dryer and iron and ironing board.lovely comfy sofas to relax on after a day out exploring. the icing on the cake has to be the hot tub and the scenery so lovely to sit out at night and watch the wildlife and the activity with the boats across the water. so good we have already booked for next year. many thanks to Roy and Susan for sharing this special jewel with us,,



Nice place to get away from everything...

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A good place to relax and explore Scotland's most stunning landscape and beaches. The cabin has a well equipped kitchen and a cosy living room. It is situated right at the Lochinver bay and you can enjoy views over the sea.



Experience the magic of Assynt in comfort and style

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Imagine stretching out on a comfortable sofa, your beloved dogs at your feet, looking out across the mirror-like surface of a tranquil sea loch towards the iconic "sugar loaf" of Suilven towering over the fishing village of Lochinver. Muir Lan appears to float like a ship on the water, adding to the magic of this unique corner of North West Scotland. As you relax in the fading evening light, having eased the aches of a long day walking the hills with a soak in the Jacuzzi bath, your partner prepares a meal in the spacious and well equipped kitchen (with supplies pre-ordered, delivered and waiting for you on your arrival courtesy of the excellent service offered by the Drumbeg Stores).

As the evening fades into darkness the lights of the fishing port reflected in the water provide an enchanting background to the scene and when sleep finally calls you away from the view, you are assured of a good night´s rest in one of the very comfortable beds.

With full laundry facilities and an outside hosepipe you can easily clean your clothing and equipment (and your dog's!) after an active day but if a laid-back holiday is on your agenda, the peaceful haven of Muir Lan also gets that Bill superbly. If you eat to experience the magic of this corner of Scotland, make Muir Lan your base and you will not be disappointed.




Great Stay at Lochinver

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time in Lochinver. Cabin was perfect in every way. Well appointed and everything you would need. Great views from decking and hot tub was well used. Weather was so good we had to use the aircon! thanks Roy and Susan!





Get Away From It All!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable relaxing lodge on the edge of the loch with tremendous views and wildlife on your doorstep (literally). The addition of new sofas adds to the comfort not to mention the new spa bath on the balcony. The only addition I would recommend would be a shaving mirror in the bathroom.... Enjoyed our stay so much, already booked for next year.



Gem in Lochinver

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Muir Ian cabin is a gem with everything you need for your stay. The view over the loch from the deck and living room is breathtaking. We saw many birds, as well as enjoying the arrival of the spring colours. Roy and Suzie take excellent care of you. This was an excellent base for exploring the northern highlands.



muir-ian log cabin lochinver

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
log cabin in excellent order throughout. furniture and equipment all of a high standard. lovely and warm even when freezing outside. bed nice and comfy. shower a bit disappointing but the Jacuzzi bath makes up for it. fabulous view. would highly recommend.



Truly a week to remember

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoying a unique position right on the waterfront, this lovely log cabin strikes just the right note between quality and comfort. Everything you need for a relaxing week is here - from the highland stoneware crockery down to proper outside furniture and a hot-tub that - once you get the hang of it - provides instant relief for tired legs. And you will be tired, you can't help but walk and walk when you're located somewhere so special. A choice of good quality places to eat is only a short stroll walk away, the local wildlife duly appears and 'performs' as desired, and the owners really do live locally and care both about the village they live in, and that you enjoy your break. The views are fascinating - the comings and goings of a busy wee port as well as the awe-inspiring weather over the mountains. Do get out and travel around Assynt - there are delightful treasures of tea-rooms and shops - don't miss the 'Little soap and candle shop', the stores at Drumbeg, - the tea-van at the lighthouse and the Panini van in the village. And, of course, the pottery is highly desirable (of course we bought some). Weather obliged, too, with three down-to-shirt-sleeves days in the last week in September. Magical! Hope we're allowed to come back!



Roy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review,We really appreciate your comments,and that you really truly love this area, see you again soon Kind regards Roy

November in Lochinver

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the third time we have stayed with Roy and Sussie and we just love the chalet and the area. There is so much to do and if you go at the right time of the year you are gaur entered to see wide life. We saw red deer close up. Large stags that were just beautiful. Otter and seals in the bay and a golden eagle.



Roy and Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your return visit,Its wonderful to hear how you enjoy your stay with us,and appreciate the many things you can do in this unspoilt area, Kind regards Roy

Watching the world go by.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a gem of a place to stay, we were delighted with our surroundings.
Had great fun clocking the fishing fleet coming in & out of the harbour . Sitting on the deck at high tide was like we were on a "River Cruise'. Very well appointed & only a short walk to Lochinver.One of those places you are sad to leave.




Roy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your kind reveiw,So pleased to see you enjoyed watching the fishing fleet returning to the harbour with there catch,and enjoyed the amazing veiws from the balcony, Hope to see you return in the future. Kind regards Roy

Good

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was delightful on arrival - happy to be there - lovely tray of tea and special cake which was delicious. I have no complaints whatsoever however my cousin who was also on holiday said she thought the cabin was a bit dark and not as bright as where she was staying. My sister also said the soundproof between the two bedrooms was poor not that it mattered and it was a bit costly I was very happy with everything . It was a delight to be in the wonderful area of Lochinver and yes I would stay there again and I did visit the special henhouse nearby which I loved. Kindest Regards E. Yeomans.



Roy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your Kind review,Your comments are considered and appreciated,Hope to see you back,