FB Twitter

Hill Cottage

Hill Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Hill Cottage ,an isolated , traditional Crofters cottage in the remote Highlands of North West Scotland.
The ultimate 'get away from it all ' destination .

With stunning views of hills and loch ,Still owned by the family who built it.
Ideal base for walkers, sea kayakers & bird/nature lovers ,
1mile from Handa Island Wild life Reserve ferry point.

Sleeps 4 + one dog

open March to October for weekly lets.

September break with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Hill Cottage with friends and again we had a great week hill walking, visit to Handa Island, trip to Cape Wrath and Smoo Cave and even a swim in the sea and then back 'home' to a well equipped kitchen to cook up a meal and sit down in the conservatory to watch the fantastic view over Loch Laxford to the mountain Foinavon. Perfect day!

Fiona from Crieff stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Fiona the owner replied 13 days ago
Delighted to share with friends who love the cottage and location as much as we do .

Great cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage had everything we needed for a week’s stay - though also a few we didn’t, most of them being insects! Nothing can be done about outdoor-dwelling insects like midges in Scotland in the summer, but the sight of moths indoors was a bit dismaying…. The cottage is in a great location if you want quiet surroundings and good views (bring a telescope if you have one!), but the cottage in its tucked-away hillside location won’t suit those with particular accessibility needs, or those uncomfortable with driving along very narrow roads with poor visibility. If you are comfortable with the habitual constraints of a very rural Scottish location, you won’t regret coming!

Claire from Edinburgh stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Fiona the owner. replied 50 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.Hill Cottage is indeed in the heart of the NW Highlands with wildlife,single track roads with passing places and, as the name suggests ,the cottage is snuggled into a hillside.We advertise it as suitable for bird & wildlife watchers,hill walkers,kayakers ,wild swimmers and other able bodied travellers. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and have indeed booked to return.

A beautiful old cottage in a superb situation

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage is in an excellent situation for a week away from it all in the far NW of Scotland. The view from the small conservatory is stunning, whether rain or shine, looking over Loch Laxford and beyond to the shimmering quartzite heights of Foinavon and Arkle.
The accommodation is sufficient for up to 4 people. The area is ideal for bird watchers, hillwalkers, geologists, kayakers and people who love seafood. I would certainly recommend the property to others and we hope to return one day.


Guest from Comrie stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Hill Cottage Fanagmore

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage stands in amazing surroundings. We had a most relaxing holiday and look forward to booking again. I think a decent tele with transmission would be an asset in the winter months, also unlimmited wifi.

Robert from Pickering stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Fiona the owner. replied 127 days ago
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Hill Cottage and appreciated it's unique situation and outlook. We have deliberately chosen NOT to have a television and only added limited wifi fairly recently (to enable basis keeping in touch.) Our guests have told us that one of the attractions of Hill Cottage are the 'Get away from it all' and 'Detox' that it offers and is rare to find these days. Therefore we do not plan to make any changes in the foreseeable future.

Guest book quotes

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As the owner I am totally biased towards my wee piece of heaven so I will quote Hill Cottage Guest book instead.
'A wonderful week in this lovely secluded cottage'
'Had a fantastic relaxing fortnight in this idyllic place.Lived in the sunlounge watching wilderness.'
'Highlights included an otter walking through the garden and watching Mars rise.'
'Dont want to leave.'
'Thank you especially to cleaner-cottage is spotless.'


Fiona from Dunblane stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


The quietness was truly marvellous.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 6 days and felt totally relaxed and catered for.
The evening sunsets and the quietness was mesmorizing . No TV, very little phone signal was just what the doctor ordered. We downloaded some programmes from Netflix ,prior to our visit to watch on an evening
Daily we decided where was the best weather and went north south or east to walk. The cottage has a good supply of Maps and walking routes.
This our 5th stay in Sutherland and over the years,sutherland has never .disappointed us. The NC500 has made the roads busier, however the hills and walking routes are empty and you're in one of Europe's last wildernesses..... So enjoy it.


Denise from Stockton On Tees stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Fiona replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to be able to welcome an'old' nursing friend to Hill Cottage. You obviously 'Get' the magic of the cottage and Sutherland. Haste ye back .

Spring break in the North of Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent base for an invigorating spring break. Enjoyed exploring the local endless beaches, playing golf, wilderness walks and eating out at Old School House and Kylesku. Hospitality at Newton Lodge excellent. Local shops well stocked and welcoming.

Mary from Dunblane stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in March 2020


Hill cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not only is Hill Cottage an amazing place to get away with spectacular scenery, but just a short drive away you’ll find stunning beaches and good places to eat,
We had a lovely time discovering the area, walking and cosy evenings.
Thank you Fiona,


from stayed at Hill Cottage for 3 nights in September 2019


Third visit and still coming back for more

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic week. Had excellent communication with Fiona (owner). Wildlife in abundance and fantastic weather. Had spectacular views of sea eagles the first three days, they flew right over the cottage twice a day. Magnificent birds.

Looking forward to visit #4 soon!!


Mark from Turriff stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Fiona The Owner replied more than 1 year ago
We are always extra delighted to welcome back previous guests. You obviously love and appreciate Hill Cottage and its location as much as we do. Haste ye back.

Second stay - looking forward to third.....

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent communication prior to stay. Stunning location away from it all. Wildlife in abundance and scenery changes each hour with different sunlight. Take binoculars / telescope to get even better views.



Mark from Perterhead stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Hill Cottage May 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an absolute dream. In the middle of the wild. We could not imagine a better place for our vacation.
Ideal for those who like it quiet.
Joe & Andrea


Jochen ,Joe & Andrea from D 77654 Offenburg stayed at Hill Cottage for 14 nights in May 2018


If you want to relax and get away from it this is for you.....

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply fantastic, wonderful cottage, amazing scenery, incredible wildlife and so enjoyable we've booked already for next year.

Richard & Pam from Bridlington stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The big plus of the cottage is its very beautiful and peaceful setting. It is a pleasure to spend time there, enjoying a panoramic outlook and usually only hearing natural sounds. Especially so, as the main road up to Durness is now rather busy. There were a few niggles with appliances – the toaster seemed past its sell-by date and the grill in the oven was also slow, But everything else that I used was fine. Had to lubricate the door locks, which became very ‘notchy’. For a single occupant/driver, having been warned to keep sheep out of the garden, the gate on the steep access might have made this very difficult – but luckily there were no sheep around during my stay. For someone interested in birds, as I am, the constant turnover of birds at the feeders in the garden, and the other species visible and audible roundabout, meant that there was always something of interest to observe when at the cottage, whatever the weather. The whole coastal area is very good for seabirds, with the piece de resistance being Handa, the ferry for which is close by. I saw 89 species during my stay, with Kyle of Tongue and Knockan Crag my longest excursions north and south, respectively. All in all, a great ‘away from it all’ location.

David from Stirling stayed at Hill Cottage for 14 nights in May 2017


Fiona the Owner replied more than 1 year ago
I'm delighted that David enjoyed his stay at Hill Cottage , it's stunning location and proximity to Handa Island. I am sorry that he had some 'niggles' with appliances. Both the House keeper and Caretaker live in nearby Scourie and their contact details and mine as Owner, are displayed in the cottage . If the guest had contacted us during his stay we would have endeavoured to address any of the points raised. We do ask guests to keep the garden gate shut as the cottage sits on a working croft. This does require some getting in and out of your car as we know too. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hill Cottage.

FABULOUS HOLIDAY!!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay. The cottage is situated in a quiet, peaceful location with fabulous views. Really well equipped for its' remote location. We didn't use the living room at all, preferring to sit in the conservatory where the view was best! Great that it's dog friendly and our dog loved the large garden which is very secure. No issues with water supply despite it being 'off grid' and water pressure was good! If you want to get away from it all and truly relax at peace, this place is for you. You can do as much or as little as you want. Great that there was WIFI to keep in touch with home but almost a bit disappointed it was available because you can't but help use it and can't be truly 'tech free'! Plenty books/games at our disposal which we took advantage of. We'll return in the future. Thanks Fiona!

Ash from Dunfermline stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Comfortable house, too many places to visit to mention here - lovely area for walking everywhere.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I love the area anyway but Hill Cottage was in an excellent location for almost all round views.
I would have preferred prior warning that the water may not be fit for drinking by everyone. I boiled it, let it cool then drank it from my flask as I walked along - but my coffee, when indoors, tasted ghastly - the only difference in making it was the water supply.
I wasn't too comfortable with the arrangement with the keys. The bending to get them out of, or put them into, the click lock-seal box could be tricky when there were voracious midgies trying to get up one's nose.
However, we had everything we needed in the house and so many places to visit - by walking or driving (then walking) that we had everything we needed indoors and out for a comfortable and energetic stay.
We loved watching the birds from the conservatory.


Priscilla from Glasgow stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Heavenly peace

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The elevated coastal location of the cottage is stunning, with beautiful, ever changing views over the sea loch from the sun room and outside table. The peace of the location is extraordinary. If you stayed at the house you would see no other human all day, except maybe a lone kayaker or the salmon fishery boat on the loch. However, you would become aware of the non - human inhabitants with which you were sharing this pristine environment. Wildlife is abundant, deer, buzzard, cuckoo, twite, snipe, geese, common garden and sea birds seen from the garden (and in the garden) every day. Very handy for Handa Island, which is both beautiful in itself, and abounding with sea birds. We enjoyed evening walks doing the loop to Tarbet and back.
The house is basic but comfortable. The necessary simplicity of the arrangements in this remote location add to the charm. The booking and arrangements are straight forward and the owners friendly and helpful. If you want a complete getaway in a beautiful wild place, complete peace and relaxation, Hill Cottage is ideal.


Margaret from Malvern stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016