FB Twitter

Hill Cottage

Hill Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


If you want to truly 'get away', this traditional Crofters cottage in the remote Highlands of North West Scotland is your destination
Still owned by the family who built it.Sleeps 2/4 plus one dog.
An Ideal base for walkers, sea kayakers & bird/nature lovers ,
1mile from 'Handa Island' Wild life Reserve ferry point
Open March to November for Saturday weekly lets.

Back for more….

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lost track of how many times we’ve stayed at Hill Cottage. From the initial contact with Fiona right up to our Saturday morning rush to get packed, everything was great. The cottage kept us cosy and safe during Storm Kathleen and, as usual, provided the perfect base. The wildlife and walks around the cottage makes it hard to go visit elsewhere, this time around the White-tailed sea eagle was right above the cottage on our arrival - majestic.

Thanks again Fiona!
Mark


Mark from Bridge of Don stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2024


Fiona replied 41 days ago
Mark thank you for taking the time to post this review . We love having guests who return and appreciate the magic of Hill Cottage and surrounds. Do keep coming back for more !

A wonderful place

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage was a wonderful place to stay, amazing views from the property, walks on the doorstep and amazing beaches a short drive away.

Andy from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Hill Cottage for 14 nights in July 2023


Fiona the owner replied 285 days ago
Dear Holman family, delighted to hear that you enjoyed your fortnights stay at Hill Cottage. Thank you for taking the time to add your review & I hope we can welcome you back again in the future to 'our wee bit of heaven.'

Idyllic if wou want to get away from it

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The great thing is the utter quietness if you just stay put, otherwise it is a bumpy 12 minute ride to get to the main road!

Norman from Forres stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in July 2023


Fiona the owner replied 315 days ago
I so agree that Hill Cottage is the perfect ‘get away from it all ‘ location . There are 3 miles of single track road with passing places to reach the cottage ,the closest to real wilderness . Glad you enjoyed your stay .

Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is beautiful and so is the cottage. I enjoyed watching the wildlife and taking long walks. If you are looking for a place to relax, it is perfect. Lots of things to do in the area if you like more action. I intend to come back.

Caroline from 5272 Gansingon stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2023


Fiona the owner replied 356 days ago
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back again. Thank you .

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our third time in Hill Cottage. This time in May and it was good to be in NW Sutherland without midges - for once. We were also taken by the gorse which was everywhere and provided a riot of yellow. The cottage is ideal with its fantastic views of Loch Laxford from the conservatory. If there weren't so many other things to do in the area, I could sit there all day! Also like the large and well-equipped kitchen/ diner which makes cooking a breeze after a long day out. Enjoyed kayaking from the jetty at Fanagmore and exploring Loch Laxford with its wildlife and lovely bays and islands. We also went to Handa Island and saw some lots of birds including Puffins, Skuas, Guillemots and Cormorants. Obtaining a Scourie Fishing Assoc licence allowed us to fish in the local lochs near the cottage. We also enjoyed again walking over the headlands between Oldshoremore and Droman. Weather was mixed with some wild and windy weather but lovely to be there when the evenings were so light - and getting noticeably lighter each day during our stay.

Fiona from Falkirk stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2023


Fiona the owner replied 356 days ago
Always a pleasure to welcome guests back. Fiona you’ve summed up perfectly all that Hill Cottage has to offer, energetic or relaxing ,to suit all tastes. Look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Amazing views in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place to stay and experience the amazing landscape of the very north west Scotland. Remote, with amazing views from the conservatory, a view you would never get tired off. White tailed eagles, hinds and stags wandering down from the hills, curlew and snipe calling at dusk. Stunning beaches and walks, the perfect place to relax and experience a wilder place.

Matt from Branscombe,Seaton stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2023


Fiona replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location, views & opportunities to see wild life . Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Back again….

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely last minute week up in Fanagmore. Hill Cottage, as always, is an amazing place to stay. Could easily stay in the wee conservatory all day, or head out on numerous adventures….did a few of both! Fiona is a helpful and wonderful host and does all she can to make your stay as comfortable and stress free as possible. The new 4G Wi-Fi is a great addition to the cottage, even if it does mean that work can get hold of you now…

Highly recommended!


Mark from Bridge of Don stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2023


Fiona the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to welcome you back .Thanks for all your help with the new internet connection ,I hope it will prove a real asset to some but can be ignored by those seeking total escape . Haste ye back .

Special place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place to stay .
Another world of peaceful surroundings ,stunning scenery.Hills/huge mountain ranges ,stunning lochs and super clean beaches/great restaurants
Cosy cottage
Excellent communication with owners
One to definitely visit


Sue from Ceredigion stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in September 2022


Fiona replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to share my little piece of heaven with an 'Old 'nursing friend ,all the way from Wales.Thank you for making the journey up.As you're in the business too we must return the experience one day . So glad you enjoyed Hill Cottage and its situation Sue.

Annual retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So lovely to have had the chance to get back to Hill Cottage. The anticipation of seeing the cottage as you drive along the winding road on arrivals day never gets old. Best location for both relaxing indoors (Scottish weather) and exploring the wilderness. Thanks Fiona.

Mark from Bridge of Don stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2022


Fiona replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you were able to fit in a visit again and thank you for taking the time to fill in a review. It’s great to have returning guests who love our wee bit of heaven as much as we do. Haste ye back .

Hope to be back

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location with breath taking views. The small conservatory is perfect for the views without the midges, rain and wind.

Dorothy from Bradfield stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in July 2022


Fiona the owner replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay although it sounds like you did experience some of our changable Scottish weather ! However The views are always stunning and everchanging. Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

Top place.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage is an excellent base for exploring west Sutherland and no matter how hot, cold, wet, midgey you always return to enjoy the scenery and wildlife from the conservatory. We observed both eagles, hen harrier and bottle-nosed dolphin from there and about three dozen species of bird. Everything we ask for.

Hugh from Sturminster Newton stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in June 2022


Fiona the owner replied more than 1 year ago
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you point out the weather may not always be perfect but the views from the cottage are always amazing and ever changing.

Wonderful week

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Hill Cottage this time took my sister and her husband we all enjoyed it very much, the view is amazing and area so beautiful. Didnt miss the tele at all! Just have to get yourself out there in that wilderness and be part of nature. Amazing

Robert from Pickering stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in October 2021


Fiona the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Its always a pleasure to welcome guests back. The magic of the wilderness location,views and wild life have obviously appealed.Do come again.

Another great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a long time coming, getting back to Hill Cottage, but the wait was worth it…as always. Great location for exploring all the amazing local areas and beaches, and it gets its fair share of wildlife visitors (red deer and sea eagles this time).

Communication with Fiona is always quick and easy.

Until next time…..


Mark from Bridge of Don stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in October 2021


September break with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Hill Cottage with friends and again we had a great week hill walking, visit to Handa Island, trip to Cape Wrath and Smoo Cave and even a swim in the sea and then back 'home' to a well equipped kitchen to cook up a meal and sit down in the conservatory to watch the fantastic view over Loch Laxford to the mountain Foinavon. Perfect day!

Fiona from Crieff stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Fiona the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to share with friends who love the cottage and location as much as we do .

Great cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage had everything we needed for a week’s stay - though also a few we didn’t, most of them being insects! Nothing can be done about outdoor-dwelling insects like midges in Scotland in the summer, but the sight of moths indoors was a bit dismaying…. The cottage is in a great location if you want quiet surroundings and good views (bring a telescope if you have one!), but the cottage in its tucked-away hillside location won’t suit those with particular accessibility needs, or those uncomfortable with driving along very narrow roads with poor visibility. If you are comfortable with the habitual constraints of a very rural Scottish location, you won’t regret coming!

Claire from Edinburgh stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Fiona the owner. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.Hill Cottage is indeed in the heart of the NW Highlands with wildlife,single track roads with passing places and, as the name suggests ,the cottage is snuggled into a hillside.We advertise it as suitable for bird & wildlife watchers,hill walkers,kayakers ,wild swimmers and other able bodied travellers. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and have indeed booked to return.

A beautiful old cottage in a superb situation

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage is in an excellent situation for a week away from it all in the far NW of Scotland. The view from the small conservatory is stunning, whether rain or shine, looking over Loch Laxford and beyond to the shimmering quartzite heights of Foinavon and Arkle.
The accommodation is sufficient for up to 4 people. The area is ideal for bird watchers, hillwalkers, geologists, kayakers and people who love seafood. I would certainly recommend the property to others and we hope to return one day.


Guest from Comrie stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Hill Cottage Fanagmore

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Cottage stands in amazing surroundings. We had a most relaxing holiday and look forward to booking again. I think a decent tele with transmission would be an asset in the winter months, also unlimmited wifi.

Robert from Pickering stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Fiona the owner. replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Hill Cottage and appreciated it's unique situation and outlook. We have deliberately chosen NOT to have a television and only added limited wifi fairly recently (to enable basis keeping in touch.) Our guests have told us that one of the attractions of Hill Cottage are the 'Get away from it all' and 'Detox' that it offers and is rare to find these days. Therefore we do not plan to make any changes in the foreseeable future.

Guest book quotes

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As the owner I am totally biased towards my wee piece of heaven so I will quote Hill Cottage Guest book instead.
'A wonderful week in this lovely secluded cottage'
'Had a fantastic relaxing fortnight in this idyllic place.Lived in the sunlounge watching wilderness.'
'Highlights included an otter walking through the garden and watching Mars rise.'
'Dont want to leave.'
'Thank you especially to cleaner-cottage is spotless.'


Fiona from Dunblane stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


The quietness was truly marvellous.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 6 days and felt totally relaxed and catered for.
The evening sunsets and the quietness was mesmorizing . No TV, very little phone signal was just what the doctor ordered. We downloaded some programmes from Netflix ,prior to our visit to watch on an evening
Daily we decided where was the best weather and went north south or east to walk. The cottage has a good supply of Maps and walking routes.
This our 5th stay in Sutherland and over the years,sutherland has never .disappointed us. The NC500 has made the roads busier, however the hills and walking routes are empty and you're in one of Europe's last wildernesses..... So enjoy it.


Denise from Stockton On Tees stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Fiona replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to be able to welcome an'old' nursing friend to Hill Cottage. You obviously 'Get' the magic of the cottage and Sutherland. Haste ye back .

Spring break in the North of Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent base for an invigorating spring break. Enjoyed exploring the local endless beaches, playing golf, wilderness walks and eating out at Old School House and Kylesku. Hospitality at Newton Lodge excellent. Local shops well stocked and welcoming.

Mary from Dunblane stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in March 2020


Hill cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not only is Hill Cottage an amazing place to get away with spectacular scenery, but just a short drive away you’ll find stunning beaches and good places to eat,
We had a lovely time discovering the area, walking and cosy evenings.
Thank you Fiona,


from stayed at Hill Cottage for 3 nights in September 2019


Third visit and still coming back for more

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic week. Had excellent communication with Fiona (owner). Wildlife in abundance and fantastic weather. Had spectacular views of sea eagles the first three days, they flew right over the cottage twice a day. Magnificent birds.

Looking forward to visit #4 soon!!


Mark from Bridge of Don stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Fiona The Owner replied more than 1 year ago
We are always extra delighted to welcome back previous guests. You obviously love and appreciate Hill Cottage and its location as much as we do. Haste ye back.

Second stay - looking forward to third.....

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent communication prior to stay. Stunning location away from it all. Wildlife in abundance and scenery changes each hour with different sunlight. Take binoculars / telescope to get even better views.



Mark from Perterhead stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Hill Cottage May 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an absolute dream. In the middle of the wild. We could not imagine a better place for our vacation.
Ideal for those who like it quiet.
Joe & Andrea


Jochen ,Joe & Andrea from D 77654 Offenburg stayed at Hill Cottage for 14 nights in May 2018


If you want to relax and get away from it this is for you.....

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply fantastic, wonderful cottage, amazing scenery, incredible wildlife and so enjoyable we've booked already for next year.

Richard & Pam from Bridlington stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The big plus of the cottage is its very beautiful and peaceful setting. It is a pleasure to spend time there, enjoying a panoramic outlook and usually only hearing natural sounds. Especially so, as the main road up to Durness is now rather busy. There were a few niggles with appliances – the toaster seemed past its sell-by date and the grill in the oven was also slow, But everything else that I used was fine. Had to lubricate the door locks, which became very ‘notchy’. For a single occupant/driver, having been warned to keep sheep out of the garden, the gate on the steep access might have made this very difficult – but luckily there were no sheep around during my stay. For someone interested in birds, as I am, the constant turnover of birds at the feeders in the garden, and the other species visible and audible roundabout, meant that there was always something of interest to observe when at the cottage, whatever the weather. The whole coastal area is very good for seabirds, with the piece de resistance being Handa, the ferry for which is close by. I saw 89 species during my stay, with Kyle of Tongue and Knockan Crag my longest excursions north and south, respectively. All in all, a great ‘away from it all’ location.

David from Stirling stayed at Hill Cottage for 14 nights in May 2017


Fiona the Owner replied more than 1 year ago
I'm delighted that David enjoyed his stay at Hill Cottage , it's stunning location and proximity to Handa Island. I am sorry that he had some 'niggles' with appliances. Both the House keeper and Caretaker live in nearby Scourie and their contact details and mine as Owner, are displayed in the cottage . If the guest had contacted us during his stay we would have endeavoured to address any of the points raised. We do ask guests to keep the garden gate shut as the cottage sits on a working croft. This does require some getting in and out of your car as we know too. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hill Cottage.

FABULOUS HOLIDAY!!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay. The cottage is situated in a quiet, peaceful location with fabulous views. Really well equipped for its' remote location. We didn't use the living room at all, preferring to sit in the conservatory where the view was best! Great that it's dog friendly and our dog loved the large garden which is very secure. No issues with water supply despite it being 'off grid' and water pressure was good! If you want to get away from it all and truly relax at peace, this place is for you. You can do as much or as little as you want. Great that there was WIFI to keep in touch with home but almost a bit disappointed it was available because you can't but help use it and can't be truly 'tech free'! Plenty books/games at our disposal which we took advantage of. We'll return in the future. Thanks Fiona!

Ash from Dunfermline stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Comfortable house, too many places to visit to mention here - lovely area for walking everywhere.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I love the area anyway but Hill Cottage was in an excellent location for almost all round views.
I would have preferred prior warning that the water may not be fit for drinking by everyone. I boiled it, let it cool then drank it from my flask as I walked along - but my coffee, when indoors, tasted ghastly - the only difference in making it was the water supply.
I wasn't too comfortable with the arrangement with the keys. The bending to get them out of, or put them into, the click lock-seal box could be tricky when there were voracious midgies trying to get up one's nose.
However, we had everything we needed in the house and so many places to visit - by walking or driving (then walking) that we had everything we needed indoors and out for a comfortable and energetic stay.
We loved watching the birds from the conservatory.


Priscilla from Glasgow stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Heavenly peace

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The elevated coastal location of the cottage is stunning, with beautiful, ever changing views over the sea loch from the sun room and outside table. The peace of the location is extraordinary. If you stayed at the house you would see no other human all day, except maybe a lone kayaker or the salmon fishery boat on the loch. However, you would become aware of the non - human inhabitants with which you were sharing this pristine environment. Wildlife is abundant, deer, buzzard, cuckoo, twite, snipe, geese, common garden and sea birds seen from the garden (and in the garden) every day. Very handy for Handa Island, which is both beautiful in itself, and abounding with sea birds. We enjoyed evening walks doing the loop to Tarbet and back.
The house is basic but comfortable. The necessary simplicity of the arrangements in this remote location add to the charm. The booking and arrangements are straight forward and the owners friendly and helpful. If you want a complete getaway in a beautiful wild place, complete peace and relaxation, Hill Cottage is ideal.


Margaret from Malvern stayed at Hill Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016