FB Twitter

Salty Dog

Salty Dog

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


2 bedroom beach house ideal for couples or a young family

  • Open plan kitchen / dining / living space with bifolds onto the front deck
  • Kingsize bedroom with TV and new shower ensuite
  • Kingsize/twin bedroom with TV and new shower ensuite
  • 2 dogs welcome (can accept 3 dogs if small)
  • Parking for up to 2 cars in the driveway next to the house
  • In a popular location near amenities

A very pleasant holiday in a fabulous place

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Feb 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant stay in a great location. The lodge has everything you could require when on vacation. My elderly parents found it very easy to get about in the surrounding area and were helped by a member of owners direct when having difficulty in gaining access to the key safe. We have already booked again for a family holiday in october



Another stay at the Salty Dog

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed another 6 night stay at the Salty Dog beach lodge..
This was our 4th visit and we never tire of the place.
Great location with easy access to the beach & great walks along the sand to Filey or beyond.(tides permitting)..
The Bay complex is very well maintained, very clean & tidy..
The John Paul Jones bar/restaurant was very friendly warm serving good food & drinks and dog friendly
The Salty Dog itself is very comfortable, warm, clean & very well equipped..
Can’t wait to return ️





Paula replied 92 days ago
We love having regulars at The Salty Dog and Filey Bay Direct - look forward to hosting you again!

Salty Dog

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay in comfortable accommodate.
Everything you needed on hand.
Even the rubbish weather didn't spoil our stay.
The dogs loved it too !




Paula replied 92 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review - it means a lot to us!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic 3 night stay at Salty Dog. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the beach. The on-site pub served lovely food and dog friendly. The accommodation was spacious, really clean and catered for everything. This was our first visit but we will be back



Paula replied 113 days ago
Thanks for being the perfect guests. It was lovely to meet you and your dogs, and I'm so glad to hear you will be back too :-)

Lovely long weekend stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The salty dog lodge was lovely. Very dog friendly and great facilities on site. 4 adults and 3 dogs stayed there was still plenty of room and very cosy.
We had all the utensils we needed to cook and all cleaning products.
The garden at the sides and back were not enclosed however still adequate grass for the fur babies to have a wee. Would recommend staying here. The only thing to be careful of is the wooden rails on the drive as they can become slippy.
A lovely stay and would definitely book and visit again. A great location near the facilities and path to the beach.




Paula replied 113 days ago
Thanks for your review. We have reported the wooden sleepers to senior management as they can be very slippy especially in the wet.

Excellent stay at Salty Dog beach house

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My 2nd stay here and won’t be my last. Perfect position in the village. Lovely personal touches left by the owner, Sara. Perfect place to unwind and relax. Well recommended.



Paula replied 152 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review and recommendation. Hope to see you back at Salty Dog again for your third stay!

We shall definitely be going back

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the very first correspondence, I was happy has I was answered within a short space of time , even sent a map of the place,
Amazing place, everything to hand the attention to detail was awsome.
Really wanted to stay longer,
Outstandingly clean, the little welcome pack was a lovely gesture.
They're isn't enough words to praise this little part of heaven ( the salty dog ❤) a stones throw from a beautiful clean beach ⛱
Looking forward too booking again soon thank you




Paula replied 152 days ago
Thanks for the 5 star review and see you again next year!

Beautiful beach house

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything is just perfect here ..
location
Cleanliness
Comfort!
Very easy to make a booking with Filey Bay Direct




Paula replied 169 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. Sara will be very happy as she works hard on the "Salty Dog" experience, and thanks for the lovely message and goodies you left for her too!

Excellent Stay at The Salty Dog , I would highly recommend it for a summer or winter break with dogs

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well located lodge in a quiet cul-de sac with easy access to the beach. The lodge had everything you could need for a short break.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great stay here. Great position on the Bay site near the pool and eateries/shops. 5 mins to the beach path. The accommodation is clean, modern and comfortable with plenty of mod cons. The only minor criticism I have is that neither of the bedroom tvs were working while we were there.However not a problem for us as we were out and enjoying the area and the room tv was fine for what we needed. We would definitely stay here again.



Paula Foster replied 180 days ago
I'm very sorry Gail - as you know I had someone come to check the TVs but you were out, and then they forgot to come back! It was just a quick retune needed too, but glad it didn't affect your stay.

Relaxed break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a relaxed short break. Great communication prior to arrival made everything straightforward to get in and settled. The Bay is a great base for the surrounding area, is peaceful and has access to a lovely beach. The salty dog is well equipped and cared for. Lots of lovely personal touches really make it feel like a home from home (but with better weather). Feels spacious even though it’s not massive and we had a great time (2 adults 2 children >12). Would love to come back if we get a chance. Highly recommend



Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Salty Dog is a lovely beach house. The owner Sara had thought of every possible(almost) thing you might need. With it being warm and having the windows open, flies everywhere, could done with a fly catcher or deterrent. No coffee machine, I luckily had brought my mini Nespresso(small enough to fit in jute bag) and pods with me.
The theme of Salty Dog runs the whole house and outside on the deck, its fascinating to see it all.
Reason for mark of 4 condition it has been there a while The Salty Dog and it is beginning to show its age, flooring lifting, stains on bathroom door, dishwasher door catching, 4 for cleanliness, ceiling in both bathrooms cobwebs and dust, high ceiling so need a ladder to reach. Unfortunately watch too much 'four in a bed' and now spot these things. My son said the telly in the living area was too small to see and had to pull sofa forward.
Although none of these problems will stop me going back, it was a lovely homely place for a get away, very quiet on site. Had free use of gym and pool and other activities.
Sleeping very important, lovely firm mattress and cooling duvet. Have been to other place and they don't think to put a lower tog duvet on in the warm months, Sara had obviously thought of this, a godsend.
Thoroughly recommend staying here.




A VERY SPECIAL PLACE

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
FANTASTIC, NO WHERE BETTER. BEEN SEVERAL TIMES AND WE LOVE IT, GIVE IT A TRY AND YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.



Absolutely Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place, it's absolutely fantastic. From the day of booking to the day of leaving Paula has been so helpful and nothing has been too much trouble. The property is beautiful, there are many querky ornaments and the pictures are gorgeous. The dogs kept sniffing at one draw in particular and it was full of dog toys which they loved. Cleanliness is one thing both my wife and myself commented on, it was impeccable. The welcome bag has some really nice goodies in it too, we've brought the bag home and I'll be using it to take my lunch to work with to remind me how much we and the dogs loved the place. One last thing, the bed is sooo comfortable and I loved the rocking chair so much were thinking of buying one for home. Highly recommended.



A wonderful stay at Saltydog

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying at Salty Dog. Spotlessly clean and a cosy feel. Enjoyed all the treats for our dog Monty. Will definitely be back.



Our Gorgeous Family Stay at Salty Dog

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say. We are in the hospitality industry with our own luxury accommodation business on the edge of York and we needed a well earned short break at short notice. Salty Dog beach house was just the answer. We set out standards extremely high and we were not disappointed in the slightest. The attention to detail that has been put into the house is just gorgeous. It was myself, my wife, our little 3yr old girl and our crazy Cockapoo Woody. We had just the best time with lovely walks on the beautiful Filey beach to Humanby. Swimming in the pool and some food in the local pub. I would thoroughly recommend and we plan to return later on the year when our own business hartlakeescapes.com allows. We returned feeling refreshed, Thank you



Loved it !!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the place so much we have book to go back again, salty dog has a lovely warm and cosy feeling to the place, felt like home from home .The site is clean and inviting the beach is the nicest I have seen for a while some really nice walks nice and peaceful the people where friendly.



Paula replied 283 days ago
Thanks for your repeat booking already and hope you enjoy your next stay just as much!

A super stay at The Salty Dog

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a lovely stay at The Salty Dog. It is a very well equipped lodge with lots of lovely touches. We will definitely be returning.



Paula replied 283 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review of Salty Dog. That means such a lot to myself and Sara the owner.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely beach house, home from home everything provided including a dog bowl. Perfect position near pub, shop and the beach.



Paula replied 283 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. It means such a lot to us.

Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and clean and great location, with lovely touches included like the bag of snacks. We were kindly told we could stay longer than the 10am checkout as well; which was appreciated.



Paula replied 346 days ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the extra touches and afternoon checkout.

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the place. Everything we needed was there. It had all the nice little touches which made our stay special from the welcome pack to biscuits for the dog. Clean and well equipped. The lodge is nicely decorated and we loved the porthole windows. The bed in the master bedroom was so comfy and the bedding and towels a nice quality.

One slight negative is the sleepers leading up to the door from the road. They are slightly uneven and slippy when wet, so care needs to be taken.




Paula replied 356 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. Unfortunately the outside space is managed by the resort owners, so we cannot change these, but there are plans to replace these with a more suitable surface.

Salty Dog - our short break

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to the Salty Dog. It is situated in a clean & tidy cul de sac area that has a distinctive coastal theme.. There are parking facilities next to the cabin constructed of old sleepers which is a little uneven underfoot but does allow for easy loading & unloading of your vehicle..
On opening the door into the cabin it was nice to find a welcome pack of treats.
The cabin has a well equipped kitchen area and has all the appliances you need. Cleaning equipment & materials are also provided.
There is a cozy open lounge area with modern TV with a built in DVD player with a choice of DVD films provided. Bi-folding patio doors at the front of the cabin look out to the bench seated area, which is occasionally visited by robins & other wild birds..(We like to put out bird seed to attract them and watch from the comforts
inside.)
There are two clean & comfortable good sized bedrooms both with plenty of storage and with clean & modern on-suits attached to both.
The cabin is warm throughout with an easy to use thermostat control system, so you can adjust the temperature to your liking.
There are lots of little touches throughout the cabin to make it a homely stay…
Overall the Bay complex is well maintained and provides a. number of entertainment opportunities..
The beach is only a 15min walk away and you can very easily stroll all the way to Filey, tides permitting.
We are very much looking forward to returning again..




Paula replied 356 days ago
Thanks for your lovely 5 star review. It is so helpful to share feedback with prospective guests and we appreciate the time you took to write this. See you again soon!

2nd visit to this property,

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We met the owner before our first booking last year, and were not disappointed. Excellent accommodation, very clean and comfortable, has everything you need for a pleasant stay plus sited close to all the amenities ***** just returned from a dry February
7 days. All smiles.....




Paula replied 363 days ago
Thanks for your lovely review and nice to have you as a regular at Salty Dog :-)