FB Twitter

Oreo Shack

Oreo Shack

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


2 bedroom pet-free beach house ideal for a young family

  • Open plan kitchen / dining / living space with doors onto front deck
  • Kingsize bedroom with TV and wet room shower ensuite
  • Second bedroom with bunks and a truckle bed for a toddler, TV and shower ensuite
  • Optional sofa bed if required in the living room
  • Parking space for 2 cars next to the house
  • Ideally located for the beach path and playground

Not as good as expected

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2024
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It was comfortable but a little tired. The patio seats were in poor condition. Cleaning was not good



Paula replied 59 days ago
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We discussed the reasons afterwards and we could have helped if we'd known. We do provide deck chairs and folding chairs in the outside store for guests to use as well as the benches as I'm aware not everyone likes a bench seat. We have also appointed new cleaners as of 17 May.

Great for families

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed at The Bay a couple of times before but we were really impressed with Oreo shack. It’s perfectly located by the playground so you can sit on the decking whilst they play. Unfortunately it was a bit too cold to sit out there for a drink when we stayed, but in the summer I’m sure it’s amazing.



Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and the property was very clean and had everything you need for a short break. Plenty of nearby places to visit also. Really enjoyed the stay.



A comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Generally comfortable stay. The accommodate felt a little overpriced compared to other similar stays I have been on. There were a couple of issues in the unit but the agent responded quickly and helped as much as possible.



Paula replied 130 days ago
Thanks for the lovely review. Our properties do include free indoor pool and gym in the price which can make them a bit more than other options around the coast.

Seaside holiday 90

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday good accomodation. Plenty of am
enities. Been many times will be going again. Love this site. Very clean and well care for.




Paula replied 130 days ago
It's lovely to have a Bay regular! Hope to see you back at fileybaydirect again

Lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was beautiful with everything we needed for a great holiday. Close to the beach and very peaceful.



Paula replied 275 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your break at the Oreo Shack.

Loved this warm and comfortable lodge would definitely stay here again

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the oreo shack very comfortable and warm will definitely recommend again in a fab place with lots of parking spaces



Paula replied 302 days ago
Wow thanks for your lovely 5 star review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and you're most welcome back too!

Filey Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous week at the Oreo Shack. Brilliant location and brilliant weather. The accommodation was lovely and clean with everything we needed. Will be back !



Paula replied 302 days ago
Thanks for your lovely review. And see you again next year hopefully as an Oreo regular :-)

Excellent family break

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoy staying here and intend to come back. The only thing letting it down was the pool now closes at lunch time. The queue for the pool can be ridiculous at times.



Paula replied 302 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we have no control over the pool opening hours which I believe are to allow staff a lunch break. I'm also aware the pool is very popular at times in the summer holidays but the previous booking system often meant people booked and never turned up which was a waste so its tricky finding the best solution in school hols.

Fantastic for Families

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for the park, facilities and for the walk down to the beach. Super clean on arrival with everything you could need provided and even extras like beach gear too! More than enough games and dvds to entertain the kids on rainy days. Stayed here for 2 years now and will be back again! Love it!



Paula replied 302 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and see you again next year!

June visit to Oreo Shack, the Bay, Filey

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well equipped lodge for an amazing week's stay at the Oreo Shack. The location by the large grassy playground made it a very good traffic place to stay. This would make it ideal for a family with young children. As a single older person I found the location ideal for out of the school holidays,



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely review. I agree it's a lovely safe place for families with children to stay, but lovely and quiet for adults out of school holidays.

Family holiday in Filey

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd year at the Oreo Shack on Filey Bay. We have a 2 year old so its perfect for us, there is an indoor pool a stones throw away and a park directly in front of the beach house. There is a beach within walking distance but quite a steep walk however we went into Scarborough and Filey to go on the beach.
It has all the amenities to cook for yourself if you wish. It’s lovely and clean and why we came back a second year.




Bank holiday stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property lovely added touches of Prosecco and Oreo biscuits. Great location for people with kids. Only downside on our particular stay was the football tournament that was in the area and a small group of unsupervised children acting and speaking inappropriately around other younger children and throwing stones at other properties.



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Glad you enjoyed the Oreo Shack. I have fed back your experience with the management who have assured us that they will not be taking any more football tour group bookings going forwards.

Second stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our second stay at the Oreo Shack, which says how good it is as we never usually go back to the same place.

It has been recently decorated throughout which has given it a nice new/fresh feel and look. The accommodation comes with everything we need and is ideally located on the site. I did mark down the customer service element purely because the cleaner was still in the property at 16:00 when we were due to check in. We couldn’t get in until about 16:20 but then found that the cleaner had just mopped all of the floors which wasn’t ideal as they were wet and became dirt magnets as we unloaded the car. Not a great start to the holiday but I understand things can happen but maybe a ‘heads up’ would have been useful if the cleaners knew they were running late.




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry to hear the property was not ready at 4pm - Good Friday is always one of the busiest days of the year and there are always unexpected things to deal with on a changeover day. Cleaners do not have access to guest details so giving a heads up would have been difficult but if I had known via the cleaning manager, I would have communicated this to you and I would have given you a later checkout as an apology.

Lovely Beach hut.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family of 5 stayed at the oreo shack for our easter break. The shack did not disappoint it was exactly as it is in the pictures. We loved our stay in the oreo shack and will definitely be returning.



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely review and look forward to having you to stay again!

Absolutely Fantastic!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent chalet in a great location. We loved every minute of our stay! Everything was just perfect. We would have no hesitation to re-book and will definitely come again! Thank-you!



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. It means such a lot, and hope you will be back again soon!

Brilliant last minute find!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stumbled across this place on one of the larger booking sites. They were charging more, and not being that helpful. Got in touch with Filey Bay Direct, directly, and the booking process was simple and appreciated for our last minute holiday. The ‘Oreo Shack’ is lovely, ideally located if you have young ones as the park is directly outside (noisy though due to other little ones….), 2 minute walk to the pool and other facilities. Some minor cosmetic issues with parts such as the taps and woodwork in the bathrooms but nothing that would put us off staying again or recommending to others. Just the usual wear and tear once these units become a year or two old. The biggest issue was the heating, it took around 8 hours for the lodge to get comfortably warm after checking in. We were warned about it and allowed to check in early to switch the heating on but didn’t expect it to take that long, these types of places usually warm up quickly! Overall, lovely place, lovely location and we will definitely be looking to stay again in the future. Don’t hesitate, book it!



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking time to review. It definitely shouldn't take 8 hours to warm up - usually 2-3 hours tops. I can only think that some radiators were shut off - I checked with the current guests who said it was lovely and warm.