FB Twitter

Lakeside Retreat

Lakeside Retreat

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


2 bedroom meadow lodge ideal for couples or a young family

  • Open plan kitchen / dining / living room with log burner
  • Bifolds open onto enclosed deck with sofa seating
  • Kingsize bedroom with shower ensuite
  • Further kingsize bedroom which can also be twin with shower ensuite
  • In a quiet setting, overlooking the lake
  • Parking space with EV charger (charges apply)
  • 2 non-shedding dogs welcome

Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We keep coming back to Lakeside Retreat as we find it ticks all the boxes for us. We like the location it’s very peaceful and it’s lovely to sit out and watch the various wild life that are in and on the Lake. It’s perfect for our dog as he likes the Meadow around the Lake for his walks. The Retreat is spacious and clean with everything you need for a comfortable stay.



Paula replied 5 days ago
Thanks for the 5 star review and I hope you're already looking forward to your next stay with us later this year

Beautiful View

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a perfect stay at The Bay.
Lakeside Retreat has lovely views over the Lake. The Beach House has everything you need for your stay. Beds really comfy. Parking is along side the property which was great.
Thanks Filey Bay Direct for once again a lovely break in one of your properties.




Paula replied 19 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review and it's great to have such a lovely regular guest at Filey Bay Direct.

Great lakeside retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely presented lakeside lodge and great for walks and the beach.Dog friendly area for walks around the meadows and lakes also.We will be coming again.Garry.



Paula replied 19 days ago
Thanks for the 5 star review and hope to see you again in the future

Weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2024
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice accommodation with a lovely view over the lake. Beds very soft so made for an uncomfortable nights sleep ( this seems to be the norm in holiday accommodation)
Good facilities on site.




Paula replied 80 days ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the view. We do find mattresses are a very personal choice, but if you prefer a firmed mattress, I can certainly suggest properties which might be better suited.

Lovely

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love the view love this lodge stayed last year you pay a bit more than other lodges (we've stayed in a few) but well worth it! Always book with filey Bay Direct never had a problem! Paula is fantastic if you have any problems always an automated email who to contact!
Love feeding the ducks! We will definitely be back! Also dog friendly and ours used to love The Bay wherever we stayed! (Unfortunately not with us anymore, but we've still gone back!)




Paula replied 80 days ago
Thanks for your lovely 5 star review and your loyalty to Filey Bay Direct. See you next time!

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a last minute stay during the February half term and what. Wonderful couple of days we had. The lodge was stunning clean, tidy and smelt like you were walking into a Disney hotel! Kitchen was fully equipped for cooking and the bedrooms had more than enough pillows and comfy beds. We used the swimming facilities which were great and even managed a walk along the beach. Can highly recommend booking a stay



Long Weekend stay at Lakeside Retrewt

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of 4 plus 2 non shedding dogs and stayed for four nights at the Lakeside Retreat. Lovely lodge, very clean, lovely touches and great communication with the booking agent.
One or two extra items such as kitchen sponge and hooks in the en-suite to hang dressing gowns would be useful.
Will definitely return.




Another superb stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Lakeside Retreat in late summer and thoroughly enjoyed it. Even though the weather wasn’t as good we have enjoyed another excellent stay. It’s cosy and warm, we had the wood burning stove on which made it feel lovely. We had good communications from Paula and helpful advice numbers should we have needed them. It’s definitely a place to enjoy anytime of the year.



Premier accomadation

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great , first class accomadation , will be 100% going back , from start to finish , bollong the place to staying there 100% satisfied and more



Paula replied 238 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review - it means a lot to us! And hope to have you back again too

Great

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plus Side: Great location, very clean , our stay was absolutely great & we will definitely be staying again & probably for many years to come.
Bad Side : Pot holes in road within the gated area could do with maintaining.




Paula replied 238 days ago
Thanks for your review and hope to have you back again too. The main meadows road is awaiting a new surface next year and the potholes are filled every few months by the management and we will keep the pressure on them to do the resurfacing as soon as possible.

Resent stay at the lakeside retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful property. Top spec appliances. Massive TV’s in living area and bedroom. Lives up to its name Lakeside peaceful stunning views and Retreat to re charge, feeling of refreshed and energised.

This was our 4th stay at the bay and looking forward to next year and will defiantly be re booking this property.

Top marks from Eddie the cockerpoo. He didn’t even bark at the birds and loved the decking. Enclosed and save.




Paula replied 238 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review - it means a lot to us! And glad Eddie enjoyed the decking too - it's great to know dogs can sit out and enjoyed the fresh air safely.

Lakeside Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was excellent and the location. Cleanliness was poor as still had dog hairs in the living room floor when we entered in the lodge. Smell of mould in the bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms. Plug in air fresheners needed to freshen the place up.



Paula replied 303 days ago
Sorry to hear about the dog hairs - my cleaner is very sorry she missed them and would have come back to sort for you. Both my cleaner and myself have checked the bedrooms and bathrooms and we could not find any smell of mould so we are at a loss regarding your feedback. We will continue to monitor on each changeover though in different weather conditions.

Fabulous lodge with a great setting

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge has an amazing setting. We arrived and the sun was shining. The weather was perfect and we made use of the lovely outside furniture and decking. There was even a water feature.

It was well equipped and very clean. The lodge was short of nothing, even dog bowls. Nice touches with the Alexa and bedroom fans. This was our second visit to The Bay this year and it did not disappoint.

The bed in the main bedroom was a little too soft for us, but other than that it was perfect.




Paula replied 306 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. We are considering replacing the main bed as it came with the property and is quite low/soft so won't suit all!

Everything was amazing.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 6 nights at the Lakeside Retreat. Everything was amazing, the lodge was spotless, clean and tidy. The views over the lake were lovely and the location was perfect with gorgeous views and easy access to all amenities. Beds were comfy and we all had a fab holiday. Thank you. We will definitely book again



Paula replied 315 days ago
Sounds like you had the perfect holiday. Look forward to hearing from you again for your next stay with Filey Bay Direct

Fabulous lodge in a peaceful setting

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge (Lakeside Retreat) was absolutely immaculate. It exceeded all my expectations with every single item and accessory you could wish for, and more. We were all hugely impressed by the quality of the furniture, linens, the sound system, fans, utensils and even accessories such as candles and diffusers which were all expensive brands. Fabulous addition of everything we could ever need for our dog too which was a super surprise. The best location on the lake and even included a huge box of outdoor play equipment and a trolley to take to the beach! I would not hesitate to return. Thank you for a wonderful break



Paula Foster replied 326 days ago
What a lovely review and its so nice to know all the little touches are appreciated.

Lakeside retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely few days at lakeside retreat. beautiful lodge,very comfortable,well equipped and gorgeous setting.Great communication throughout our stay.Would definitely recommend. Cant wait to return again.



Paula replied 315 days ago
Thanks for your lovely review and hope you'll be back again soon for your next stay with us!

Lakeside Retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Lakeside Retreat. The lodge was amazing and very well equipped. The location was fantastic and we enjoyed the lake and all its wildlife. We will be back.



Paula replied 315 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. Glad you enjoyed Lakeside Retreat and hope you'll be back soon!

Lake view lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Peaceful location and lovely view but with price of property expected a bit more comfort . Pillows in main bedroom were poor quality ,expected a bit more of a welcome pack ,no bath mat to step out onto in shower room ,could do with a lamp in room instead of big ceiling lights .But where the lodge was situated was beautiful.



Paula replied 315 days ago
Thanks for your review. We have acted on your feedback (if we'd have known at the time we could have sorted immediately) but we have new pillows, and a small lamp for mood lighting. The bath mat must have just an oversight by the laundry not putting it in the bag on linens and towels. Apologies.

Had a fantastic stay at Lakeside Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculately clean, comfortable and spacious - so relaxing and gorgeous view across the lake. Handy for the beach and the dogs loved it too. When we had a problem with the electric, Paula was on hand to help and was great.
This is our happy place and we will definitely book again, only sorry we couldn’t stay longer!




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you both - just a shame it was because there was a power cut! Hope to see you back again soon.

A great break

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location and really well furnished and equipped property, can't think of anything else we might have needed or wanted.



Paula replied 315 days ago
Wow, that's great to know. Thanks for your 5 star review!

May half term @ The Bay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was exactly as expected, no real issues and good location. Service from Paula was great and the overall experience very pleasant.



Paula replied 315 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. Glad you had a lovely stay at Lakeside Retreat

Peaceful and private

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful, well-equipped cabin, with the most glorious views over the lake, fields and sky (and you can see the sea when you stand up!). It's very peaceful and not overlooked by any other properties so feels very private and out of the way. Spent many a happy hour watching the ducks and ducklings (please don't feed bread to ducks!) and the swallows diving to catch flies off the lake. Indeed a swallow perched up on the balcony (as did a crow, collared dove and blue tit!). The meadows are a lovely place and will be even more lovely when more flowers come out later in the spring.
The beach is a short walk away and the coastal path goes through a lovely wooded area (from where I saw deer and, of course, lot of birds!). I walked to Bempton Cliffs which is 6.5 miles and quite tough, but went along the beach on the way back which made it easier.
The cabin has everything you need (and more!), the beds are so comfy, the towels mega-luxurious, everything works perfectly.




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. It sounds like you had a lovely stay at Lakeside Retreat and enjoyed watching the local wildlife. I've never walked to Bempton but its on my list for the future!

Perfect location.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at The Bay on several occasions. Lakeside Retreat is the perfect spot for complete relaxation. The positives are great location, perfect views, very quiet, smart kitchen and high quality units and appliances. Lots of cleaning products and dishwasher tablets were available.

The negatives are the mattress seems past it's best and maybe needs replacing, small bedroom sizes. Our biggest disappointment was that this is the only property we have stayed at in The Bay were no welcome pack, however small was left for us. We were told there would be coffee pods and tea bags. There were coffee pods but no tea bags. Basics like milk and sugar were expected for the price we paid. Leaving us only one toilet roll was, in our opinion, very mean.

Overall, the cleanliness was very good. However, underneath the sofa & T.V. unit there was dust & crumbs.




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your experience. The mattress came with the house which is very new but we will look at it. I have already apologised for the oversight with tea bags, and I did offer to drop some off but you had shopped before arrival and had some already.

Lovely setting

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful beach house, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need.Clean and comfortable.
A wonderful setting with a view over the lake complete with baby ducklings.
Will definitely come again.




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely 5 star review and recommendation. Hope to see you again!