FB Twitter

Blue Anchor Retreat

Blue Anchor Retreat

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


2 bedroom beach house ideal for couples or a young family

  • Open plan kitchen / dining / living room with bifolds onto the front deck
  • Kingsize bedroom with TV and wet room shower ensuite
  • Kingsize/twin bedroom with TV and shower ensuite
  • 2 dogs welcome
  • Parking space for 2 cars side by side
  • In a quiet setting with boules court outside

Lovely comfortable lodge.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with the lodge, it was very clean and comfortable. We only had a couple of problems which were quickly sorted.
The only fault was that there were no instruction manuals for any of the appliances, so using the oven was guess work.




Great 4 night stay out of season

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful lodge, peaceful location, bijoux but fully equipped. Plenty of room for us as a couple with one spaniel.
Adored the bifolds opening onto decked area which has a quiet aspect overlooking a small boules/garden area. Despite it being March, we managed to sit outside with a glass of something on 2 of the days. Would be fab in summer.
Lounge/dining area worked well because the corner sofa defined both areas providing seating for 4 adults comfortably.
Short walk to leisure centre. Enjoyed the pool which wasn't particularly busy at this time of year.




Nice chalet in good location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to The Bay and again we really enjoyed our stay. The chalet is in a quiet location but near to the centre of the village and the swimming pool. Parking right outside the chalet is a real bonus for loading and unloading on arrival/departure. The chalet was lovely and warm and had everything we needed for a short stay. We also thought the boules was a nice touch as the boules court is right outside the chalet. We will definitely visit again - Thank you!



Lovely stay at the Bay.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at the Bay. This was our 4th time there but 1st time staying at Blue Anchor. Every place we have stayed has been clean, comfy, good location and this was no different. Beds were lovely and comfy, kids liked their own little room sharing together. Games for the children to play with and a little welcome pack when we got there was great. It was very quiet, Didn't hear anyone else but only a 3 minute walk to the pool! Would definitely recommend.



Renew the beds if I was to come again

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2024
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation,, everything you need in a property but beds/mattresses so uncomfortable to the point we considered leaving a night early.

It appears a lot of properties put in all good features, decor etc but you go to bed and poor beds/matress. When I go on holiday I go to rest and not been able to sleep waking with back ache doesn’t give a restful holiday.




Paula replied 168 days ago
I'm sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable at Blue Anchor Retreat. It is a softer mattress than some other properties which might not suit some guests, so if you do wish to come again, please contact me as I can advise you on other lodges with firm or orthapedic mattresses in the same street.

Wonderful winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to have a winter break away. Our intention was to have a cosy few days. The chalet did not disappoint. It was so warm and welcoming.
The beds were super comfy and everything was in the chalet that we needed. There weee clear instructions for everything should we have needed them.
The whole experience was great. We will be booking for next year so my daughter and I can have another week away together.




Lovely short break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back from a lovely winter short break at Blue Anchor Retreat. Great accommodation in a quiet location. Spotlessly clean and well equipped. Lots of winter walks on the beach with the dog and cosy pubs. Would definitely return.



Blue Anchor Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday in this nicely positioned, well maintained, comfortable property. Paula responded quickly to any queries.



Paula replied 208 days ago
Thanks for your lovely review - it means a lot to us!

Enjoyed our holiday here

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Clean, comfortable, quiet location. Enjoyed our stay. Have stayed a number of times in various lodges with you and always been highly satisfied.



Paula replied 248 days ago
Thanks for your lovely review and its always nice to have a regular back again!

Time for a change

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Accommodation beginning to look a little tied. Patio step very loose, bordering dangerous. Lack of towels



Paula replied 273 days ago
We have already reported the step to the Bay team as they manage the outside, but have asked them again and they have it on their list for this week. We also have a decorator booked in for a full re-decoration, and apologies my cleaners missed a couple of hand towels and delivered these late to you.

Perfect holiday ✔️✔️✔️

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was excellent, it provided everything we needed.
The Bay Filey complex is very impressive and there are so many different types of accommodation to suit everyones requirements.
The location next the beach cannot be beaten. There is an excellent bus service nearby, no need to use the car.
Our booking through Filey Bay Direct was extremely professional and friendly.
Hopefully will be back next year.





Paula replied 273 days ago
Wow, thanks for your 5 star review. It means a lot. Glad you found the accommodation excellent.

Half term retreat at Blue Anchor

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blue Anchor Retreat is a very comfortable property. It is well equipped with all you would need for a family holiday. It is well situated for the facilities such as the pool, shop and pub. The walk down to the beach and back up provides more than enough exercise for grandparents.



Paula replied 273 days ago
Thanks for your lovely 5 star property. It sounds like you had a lovely time

Blue Anchor Retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A prefect getaway in a lovely setting - excellent location near to facilities. Good shop and good food served in the John Paul Jones pub



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Blue Anchor Retreat.

Relaxing weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For the location and accommodation I’d rate this 10/10, lovely & clean with all the things you need for a relaxing break. Small issue with bed configuration on arrival was swiftly resolved so can’t fault.
My only niggle was the pricing of the food, had a great meal in the pub on the first night, but when trying to get a takeaway from there on the second night, to find out the price for takeaway was the same as eating in, it put us off




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your 10/10 for Blue Anchor Retreat. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the local pub or their prices - but I will pass on your comment about takeaway prices to the general manager as its common business practice for takeaway prices to be cheaper!

Very satisfying

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything fantastic just a small note mattress a bit soft but that is personal preference. The on site bar and restaurant we would usually have dined in but prices have gone through the roof,we therefore eat out in Hunmanby & filey I think they might have priced themselves out of the market,although I understand this might be very convenient for some.



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your third stay at Blue Anchor Retreat Karl! I think the pub is great when they have offers on (happy hour, drink & a meal) but like you say there are lots of alternatives nearby too which we also enjoy :-)