FB Twitter

Anchors Away

Anchors Away

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


3 bedroom cottage ideal for a larger family

  • Entrance hall with cloakroom, coat storage and stairs
  • Large kitchen / dining / living space with patio doors onto the sunny garden with seating
  • Main bedroom with kingsize bed, TV and ensuite shower room
  • Double bedroom with storage at the rear
  • Triple bedroom with bunks plus a single bed
  • Family bathroom with bath and shower over
  • Parking bays just outside and others nearby
  • 2 dogs welcome
  • Sleeps up to 7 (max 6 adults)

Last minute escape

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We made a last minute booking for a family break over a long weekend and had a fabulous time. True we were very lucky with the weather but the house was well equipped and had lots of space for us all ( 5 adults, a nearly 4 (very important)year old and a 10 month old). Beds were comfortable and the place was spotless. The outside space was a lovely place to sit out in. No one wanted to go home.



Holiday 2024

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2024
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was warm and beds comfortable.Paint on wood work could do with a little refreshing.Floor covering in main bathroom stained, sticker on floor under the kitchen table, Scared to use outside table and chairs as they looked like they were ready to break



Paula replied 23 days ago
Thanks for the review. We have checked the furniture and flooring as we were surprised with your comments. The outside furniture is all solid and sturdy and there is no stain on the bathroom floor.

Anchorage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All good clean and tidy. Could have done with a non slip shower mat in the en sweet shower and a grab handle.



Paula replied 38 days ago
Thanks for the 5 star review. There should be a shower mat so I will replace with another if it's gone missing.

A fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant time. Lovely clean and spacious house, well equipped and well positioned for the amenities on site. We would definitely stay again!



Paula replied 133 days ago
Thanks for the 5 star review and so glad to hear you loved Anchors Away and hope to have you back in the future too :-)

Extremely well appointed and equipped!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Anchors Away is an extremely well appointed and equipped holiday home! We have hired numerous self catering accommodations in the UK and abroad and this was the best! Anything you might require for self catering was available. Spacious, clean, comfortable sofas, beds and lovely bathrooms.
We chose this accommodation because of the bed configuration which worked well for our family group.
We assume it must be due to excellent insulation but the home was super warm and the heating was often not on.
The location is great for ‘The Bay’ centre, with beach and lake walks close by.

Smart TV with NOW available but the terrestrial reception was poor particularly on BBC. We were staying during Storm Gerrit, this may have affected the reception.

We usually holiday just 2 people but should we require family accommodation again we would not hesitate to return to Anchors Away and will recommend to friends and family.




Paula replied 133 days ago
Thanks for the wonderful 5 star review. It's brilliant to hear you found Anchors Away the best self-catering property you've had!

Very nice

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely time thank you property spacious ideally situated. Tiny thing no pan and brush we like to do a clean. En suite bathroom cabinet, shower head and shower handle not clean the rest was cleaned well. We loved it thanks



Paula replied 133 days ago
Thanks for the lovely review and the feedback on the property. Much appreciated. Glad to hear you loved it!

Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our four night stay was very enjoyable in this spacious three bedroom property. We self catered and there was everything you need (apart from an oven glove!) Beds were comfortable with good quality towels and linen provided The whole property was clean and well maintained. Plenty of relaxing seating in lounge area and large dining table for mealtimes. Thoughtful extras provided include beach chairs, buckets and spades and many board games, books and DVDs. WiFi was very good throughout the property. It is a short walk to the on-site pub, shop and swimming pool. The long, sandy beach is reached in about 15 minutes by a well surfaced path. There is plenty of car parking nearby or directly outside the property if not already taken. The sitting out area behind the house is very pleasant although the grassed area surrounding this needed a trim. Good communication from Paula and Filey Bay Direct.



Paula replied 306 days ago
Thanks for your wonderful 5 star review. Apologies about the missing oven glove - we leave silicone gloves/grabbers but a guest must have taken a shine to them! We've now added some more. Sounds like you had a lovely family holiday.

Ideal family holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. The house was spacious, clean and comfortable for our family. The welcome bag of goodies is a lovely touch, thank you. Ideal location, a short walk to the pool, pub and restaurant. The walk to the beach took us around 15 minutes (with young children ). We had a problem with the high chair, but a quick phone call to Paula and a replacement was provided within a few hours. Great customer service! We would not hesitate to stay here again.



Paula replied 315 days ago
Glad you enjoyed our special summer goody bag :-). And your 5 star review means a lot to us too. Hope to see you again in the future

Lovely Short Break with Family

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious & quiet property, ideal for our family which included four adults and two children. Usual excellent information from Paula, who manages this and other properties we have stayed in.
The only issue is that the designated parking space isn't numbered and so we found that others had parked there most of the time, during our stay. Luckily there is a large general parking area within a short distance, but it would be nice to retain the designated space for unloading/loading the car.




Paula replied 315 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. Unfortunately the spaces are on a first come first served basis in all properties except for those with drives next to the house, so it is pot luck at Anchors Away although usually you can get in that bay. As you say, there is a large car park just across the road too.

Family weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was a long over due family get together for my 70ty birthday which was during lock down - couldn't have been better!! A special thanks for the balloons and treats that were left for us - a thoughtful touch!!!



Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your wonderful 5 star review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your birthday weekend with the family and our little surprises for you!

We had a lovely stay at anchors way.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived to find very clean and well equipped house. The house was perfect for a relaxing time with friends and family. The kitchen had everything we needed. The games cupboard and TV games console was really enjoyed by the kids. The playground was pleasant and the grounds very tidy and quiet. It was a 10 min walk to a beautiful beach. The service at the pub was great, food was a bit basic.
Our only complaint was the swimming pool was very cold so not great for children to play in as they all got very cold quickly. The arcade was fun for the kids but there were tears on the last night as they couldn’t get a prize with all their tickets as this was only available 12-4 pm.
Overall we had a lovely holiday.




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking time to review. Sounds like Anchors Away was perfect for you. Unfortunately the pub, pool and arcade are all managed by the resort but I am sorry to hear of the kids upset on their last night and will check to see if there are notices explaining when prizes can be obtained and feedback to management if there aren't.

Half Term Break with the Grandsons

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our 4 day stay.
Anchors Away had everything we needed. We were warm and comfortable.
The site is quiet and clean.
The swimming pool was a tad small for the size of the site. Our grandsons enjoyed it all the same.
We didn't use the pub.
We did go to the Pie Bald Inn at Hunmanby, and we highly recommend it.
We hope to return in the future.
Thank you to Paula, our host.




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely review Bev and look forward to having you back with us.