FB Twitter

Anchor Down

Anchor Down

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Versatile 2 bedroom accommodation for up to 6 (max 4 adults)

  • Kingsize bedroom with TV and storage closet
  • Twin bedroom with TV and storage
  • Open plan kitchen / dining / lounge (with double sofa bed)
  • Bathroom and downstairs toilet
  • 1 medium or 2 small dogs welcome
  • Beautiful cottage in a lovely setting
  • Patio with BBQ and parking nearby

Comfortable and quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Anchor Down was excellently kitted out. The furniture was quality and the bed super comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom are modern with all the utensils one could wish for. The accommodation was spotless and the garden area was great for relaxing and having a barbecue. Parking was very convenient and information on the facilities of the park were in the accommodation. All in all we had a really relaxing stay with our seven year old grandson.

One criticism of the actual park facilities is the football field area. The nets in the goals are really dilapidated and need replacing.




Paula replied 30 days ago
Thanks for the 5 star review, we will certainly pass your feedback on to the resort to buy a couple of new football nets!

Anchor Down good but The Bay tired

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2024
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Facilities at the Bay were very tired, grounds overgrown. The amusements did not work, but took your money. Pool was cold. Coffee shop closed.
The experience was not as good as the last time we stayed at the Bay.

Would recommend the property but not the facilities on the Bay.




Paula replied 40 days ago
Thanks for recommending Anchor Down, but I'm sad to see your disappointment with the Resort as a whole - us owners do all we can to bring issues to the attention of the resort management and with a new General Manager now in post we are hopeful for some positive change in the near future.

Amazing Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time i have stayed at anchor down with family, i can honestly say once again it didn't disappoint. Paula and her team have thought of everything in this gorgeous cottage down to the smallest detail. We had an amazing stay and although chilly outside we were warm and cosy inside. I would highly recommend staying here to all of my friends and family. Great location close to all amenities and a short drive to some beautiful places. The cottage was pristine with access to all manor of pots, pans etc we were able to stay here with a home from home feeling. Massive thank you to all of the team that work hard to ensure you have the perfect stay.



Paula replied 40 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review and hope to see you again!

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As an owner with Filey Bay Direct, my property was booked, so I decided to book another with my 3 children and dog for the Easter holidays. We all felt right at home. There was plenty of parking nearby, and the kitchen was well-equipped. It was handy having TVs upstairs too so we could use one for my son's games console.



Paula replied 40 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review.

Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need for a break away, comfy beds with nice bedding. Very peaceful and excellent customer service



Paula replied 40 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review and hope to see you again!

Lovely house, well equipped and very comfortable, a short walk from the sea.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Anchor Down is a nicely situated, very well equipped and furnished house in The Bay Holiday Village. Although we did not use any of the extra facilities on site (except the shop) they seemed to be good. The beds were comfortable, we slept very well, and enjoyed lying in the bath after a strenuous walk. This was the second property we have stayed on at this site, and by far the better of the two. The owner has taken a lot of care to make the house a 'home from home'. We plan to return.



Paula replied 40 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star review and hope to see you again!

A short stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is excellent and the area is kept clean and tidy..
Not impressed with the stained mattress cover or the missing pillow protectors and old stained pillows.
Kitchen sink was not overly clean. Considering the fact that you have to leave by 10am and you are not allowed to enter until 4pm the should be plenty of time ensure a better level of cleanliness. The property had definitely not been hoovered. If I was to recommend I would say the above as a caution.




Paula replied 287 days ago
I am sorry to hear about your experience and better systems have been put in place as a result. Please note that we need a few hours to allow for cleaning, maintenance and other jobs - our cleaners sometimes service more than one property a day across the local area so we need to build in time to travel to each job and the order may change each time too. This is industry standard for self-catering properties and at The Bay. At quieter times we can offer early arrival and late departures.

Filey Bay, lovely seaside get away

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great facilities on The Bay site though disappointed the coffee shop that shows on Google maps is no longer there. Pool, activities and pub (which is a bit pricey) are good. Short walk to the beach - very steep path down which might be useful for some to know and a lovely walk up to Filey town.

Would’ve been nice for there to be some ‘welcome info’, local leaflets and tips for nearby restaurants/takeaways etc left in the property but we couldn’t find this.
House was lovely and clean, bed very comfy and perfect amount of space for our short stay. Could do with better oven gloves and some coffee pods being provided (why have a fancy machine if not providing the pods?!). Also, desperately needs a fly trap! Seemed a Filey issue re the flies rather than Anchor Down as they were everywhere but some provision to deal with them would’ve been much appreciated.
Also, would’ve been useful to know in advance that there’s no space for the travel cot in the second bedroom.
So, a few niggles but a good place to stay overall.




Paula replied 287 days ago
Thanks for taking time to review. I've looked into some of your comments: Google maps does highlight the coffee shop as "permanently closed". We do explain in the info that the path to the beach is steep. There are some leaflets left by guests and all our restaurant tips are in the info sent to you and in our app - after covid we had to remove all paper copies of things! Oven gloves are provided by our cleaning team so will depend on their stock. We do leave silicon gloves/grippers too. As we aim to keep prices down for our guests, we just provide the basics for your arrival and advise guests of this - pods can be purchased in the local Tescos. The flies took us by surprise - we did leave fly spray but maybe it has been taken. Sorry about the cot not fitting in bedroom 2 - we have a new clothes storage unit and didn't realise it no longer fits. I will update the description online now.

Great family weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked last minute weekend away as we were let down by away resorts. Well what can I say best thing that happened to us. This was booked so my mum and partner could have their only holiday this year. This place was like a home from home comfortable, clean and cosy. Every thing was thought of for our stay. Great welcome pack on arrival instructions on getting to the property were spot on. We’ve stayed at the bay before bu this is by far the best we’ve stayed in. I’d recommend this property to all of my family and friends. Paula went above and beyond to make our stay the best. Thank you Paula and team



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice and comfortable cottage.
My only problem was the thumb turn to lock the front door my wife as dementia and could easily open the door meaning I couldn't even go to the shop without leaving her and I think it could be an issue for families with children.




Paula replied 303 days ago
Thanks for your 5 star "excellent" review. From 1st October, by law, all holiday rental properties have to have thumbturn locks, although we do understand that this does pose other safety issues for some of our guests.

Stay at Anchor Down with the kids

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at Anchor Down, which is a lovely residence with easy access to the beach and leisure facilities. Will definitely stay again!



Paula replied 315 days ago
Thanks for your glowing recommendation for Anchor Down. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

A lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay at Anchor Down! A family-friendly cottage that had everything we needed and more - I love the little games and books that were available too as well as children's cutlery and plates - these little touches make all the difference. We stayed here with our 6-year od and twin 4-year-olds and it was fine for us. The location on the Bay was great too with a short stroll to the beach and amenities on site. Would definitely recommend it and would also return!



Paula replied 315 days ago
Wow thanks for your 5 star review and recommendation! We really couldn't ask for more!

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Anchor down! We just wish we could have stayed longer! All the facilities you could possibly need for a stay away from home. The only suggestion I could make would be to put some rubber grips under the door mats as they were super slippy and my son often skidded on them coming in and out of the back door. I also wondered if the site provided a recycling option as we had no means of recycling our rubbish as there was only 1 bin at the bin store



Paula replied 347 days ago
Thanks for your feedback. I will look to get some grippers for the rugs. As mentioned in all the info, the rubbish is all sorted by our contractors off-site - there is a separate glass bin, but everything else should go into the main bin for proper sorting.

A great family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely family holiday at The Bay staying at Anchor Down. The cottage was perfect for a family of 4, very well equipped and a great location.



Paula replied 315 days ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. It means a lot.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was provided plus manuals for usage which were really helpful if not formiliar with any of the appliances




Paula replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your 5 star review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found us a real home from home.