FB Twitter

The Farmhouse

The Farmhouse

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


A wonderful get away.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The organisation was seamless, the property in excellent condition and a very attentive host. The setting is perfect to relax with plenty of landscapes to explore.




Airds of Balcary

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Off the beaten track but ideal for getting away from it all. Extremely spacious and well maintained. Plenty of local walks.



Sue replied 25 days ago
Christmas at Balcary.....we hope our guests enjoyed being off the beaten track - peace, quiet and tranquility to enjoy with family over the festive time, no noise or disturbing neighbours except the cattle maybe with a moo here and there.......lots of memory making, no light pollution - bliss!

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful views and a very relaxing holiday. The farm house is very big and very comfortable. Beautiful dark sky area and sea views



Sue replied 25 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for The Farmhouse. We have great sea views and the dark sky park to enjoy so what is not to like?

Beautiful farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all really loved staying in your beautiful farmhouse, it is a truly stunning property. It was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. The location is stunning with total peace and quiet and beautiful ever changing views of sea and sky. My daughter and I loved walking our dog down the track to the beach everyday and meeting your lovely cows. It is the perfect place to stay to get away from it all. It was lovely to meet you Sue. We hope to be back sometime in the future.
Many thanks




Sue replied 25 days ago
Thank you for this great review for The Farmhouse. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay, the house, the walks, the beach, the views and time away from it all. It would be lovely to welcome them back in the future.

Wow & amazing

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view is a wow & the farmhouse is amazing. Had a fantastic relaxing few days. The farmhouse is modern and so spacious. The location is so peaceful. My old dog loved every minute too.



Sue replied 60 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for The Farmhouse. We are really pleased our guests enjoyed their few days away and look forward to seeing them next year.

Wonderful house in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house in a stunning location. If you want peace and quiet with amazing views then look no further. Beautiful decor, good quality bedding and luxury throughout. The owner even provides hand wash, shampoo, conditioner etc along with a welcome cake - the Victoria sponge with fresh cream was delicious. There are stunningviews from the conservatory and you could quite happily sit in there all day. The only noise is the wind (and rain). The walk around the cliffs and back via Loch Mackie make a great circular route.

We cannot wait to return




Sue replied 60 days ago
This is a great review for The Farmhouse, thank you so much. Our guests enjoyed getting out and about walking straight from the farmhouse door and experiencing the greatness of the Balcary scenery. We hope they will return.

Perfect escape and relax!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning house, stunning location. Perfect to get away from it all and actually slow down to a relaxed pace. Great local walks. Great views from the conservatory to watch whatever the British weather threw at us! Thoroughly recommend.



Sue replied 95 days ago
Thank you for this super review for The Farmhouse. Our location on the beautiful solway coast does lend itself to relaxation and watching the view, tides and changing weather. Thank you.

Homecoming

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was born and bred near to this location so perhaps this review will smack of bias. However, it must be said that returning to this part of Galloway after a long time away makes one realize how beautiful and rugged the coastline is around Balcary Bay.

The farm location leaves nothing to be desired although care should be taken on the rather bumpy approach road. The property affords marvellous views across Balcary Bay with the option of walks along the cliff paths and down to Rascarrel Bay, altogether a paradise for humans and their dogs
The accommodation was first rate and left nothing to be desired although visitors with an electric toothbrush will need an adaptor should the device be powered from a two-pin socket

As a family we cannot wait to return some time next year.




Sue replied 117 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for The Farmhouse. We have to agree that the coastline on the doorstep is amazing whatever the weather. The farm lane is a lovely drive, but pole holes do develop and heavy rain running away does not help but we do try and keep it in good order, its an ongoing maintenance project! All three bathrooms have shaver sockets in them - which are located in the bathroom units, just tucked out of sight.......We are really pleased our guests enjoyed their stay and it would be super if they decided to return.

Destination Balcary

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our recent stay at this farm house, it was very spacious and comfortable. There were some lovely walks near by and beautiful sea views from the conservatory.



Sue replied 122 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for The Farmhouse......when you want to stay in a place like no other.......

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in many holiday cottages this was by far the most pleasant way of arranging a holiday.
Sue was so helpful from the start, answering my questions to offering us a choice of welcome cakes - the Victoria Sandwich cake was delicious
Upon arrival we was blown away with the property, the conservatory was an amazing room where we saw Red Kites flying over overhead & the neighbouring fields.
The wildlife in & around The Farmhouse spotted were a hedgehog, roe deer, hares & porpoises.
We were only at the house for 3 nights but my highlight was walking across to Heston Island, my tip is check the tide times, go barefoot until you hit the causeway & keep your eye on the tide coming back in but it is well worth the walk.
Finally the house itself is so well equipped we had everything we needed to make all our meals (having dogs we don’t dine out) & enjoyed the woodburner whilst watching a film at night.
A massive thank you to Sue & family for creating such a tranquil place to stay, we will return & highly recommend it.




Sue replied 129 days ago
Thank you for this amazing reivew for The Farmhouse. Our guests certainly had an action packed short break. It is lovely to hear of all their experiences they, and its not just us saying these things! We really appreciate this review as we have tried hard to make it "a place like no other" and creating a holiday destination for our guests to enjoy is what we try hard to do.

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse had everything you needed really comfortable beds and an amazing view we can recommend the lemon drizzle cake



Sue replied 143 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for The Farmhouse. Glad our homemade lemon drizzle cake was enjoyed, along with a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and super views.......that is what holidays are all about at The Farmhouse!

Away from it all

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Farmhouse is exactly what it says it is - a house in the middle of a working farm surrounded by fields and farm animals however this house is bang up to date with it's appliances, furnishings and luxuries, everything that you could ever need in a holiday cottage. Although I said surrounded by fields it doesn't conjuror the right image because the house is overlooking the Solway Firth and the views especially from the conservatory are spectacular, looking along the coast to Southerness Point and over the Firth to the Lake District. If you are looking to get away from it all this cottage should definitely be on your short list Sue has put a lot of thought and effort into converting this property into a wonderful place to stay.



Sue replied 156 days ago
This is a lovely review for The Farmhouse, which captures what we try to achieve. Thank you so much for this great review.

Stunning farmhouse in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was exactly the holiday we wanted. Destination Balcary has the most amazing views. We enjoyed doing the coastal walk. The Farmhouse is spacious, spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils you would need. The welcome cake and ice cream is a nice touch. Sue is so lovely and makes you feel very welcome. We would go back in a heartbeat.



Sue replied 176 days ago
Thank you this super review for The Farmhouse - our first review! It is lovely to think that our guests would return in a heartbeat.