FB Twitter

The Sheiling

The Sheiling

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


5 Star property in a 5 Star location.

First week of August stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property and location. We all had a great time. Would highly recommend, although those midges are relentless…



July 2022

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most superb time there, house is very well equipped and built to a very high standard, trip around Skye is well worth the drive and for spectacular views go to Applecross, locally for a meal The Shores at Plockton was superb and a little further afield Carron restaurant is worth a visit, if i were to be hyper critical and its a very small point the living area could do with an extra comfy chair as the property sleeps 4 people.



Peaceful haven

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault the accommodation or location. Everything you could need was supplied. Pine martens visits in the evening made this extra special. Wonderful place to relax.



A wonderful property that lives up to all expectations

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location, completely away from it all. No other properties on the Loch, so you have it all to yourselves. Fantastic attention to detail with the property, which met all of our needs. The boat was a very nice touch, and the hot tub is of very good quality and wonderful to use after swimming in the Loch.



My Magical family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from my 2nd family holiday at the amazing Sheiling.
Wow Martin & Mairi have built an incredible lodge on their ‘Own Loch’ Attention to detail is excellent and furniture & fittings 1st class. Stunning views from the spacious decking with hot tub, fire pit & barbecue! Wee rowing boat a gem and great way to see more of the spectacular Loch! Views of the sunset from the picnic bench across the Loch well worth seeing! What a place to relax and unwind! Lived the dream with a week in Paradise!!!
Family had a magic stay and already booked again for next year!




Fabulous property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Newly built property on its own loch. Views over the loch were beautiful. Finished to a very high standard. The beds were very comfy. The bedding was of excellent quality. Both bedrooms were ensuite with beautiful bath/shower rooms finished to the highest standards. Open plan living again finished beautifully with everything you could possibly need for a perfect stay. Owner was very friendly and welcome pack was very generous.



Well earned rest!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shieling is an outstanding place to stay. Location is supeb and it is extremely well equipped. The hot tub was great to relax in after a days walking. Having the use of our own rowing boat was great and despite the weather we managed to get out and row to the picnic bench and jetty on the other side of the Loch.The welcome pack was a real surprise and gratefully received. Martin and Maria were great hosts and contact with them was always quick and helpful. Thanks for an amazing stay. We will definitely be back.



Great Stay at the Shieling - loch Lundie

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed my holiday in May 2022.

Lovely walks o nearby and if you venture to Durinish try the coffee at the Croft







Simply perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Martin and Mairi have created a magical haven of peace and tranquility. The Shieling is unique and stunning and the setting utterly breathtaking. No detail has been overlooked and there are so many kind and thoughtful touches. The icing on the cake are the friendly locals, the amazing seafood and the nightly visits from the pine martens. We gave already booked to return. In fact we wished we didn't have to leave



A week spent at The Sheiling, nr Plockton.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had a fabulous week at this beautiful house. Could not find any fault with it at all.
House itself is first class. All furnishings and fixtures the best quality and the entire house in
Immaculate condition. As for the decking area and view over the loch, well, it surpassed our
expectations. The icing on the cake was our nightly visit from a pine marten. First time we have ever seen
one. What a treat that was.
Congratulations to Martin and Mairi for creating such a beautiful place to stay.

Marion and Bill Williamson




Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely an amazing place to stay, we loved it, from the outstanding property to the most amazing location. We can’t wait to come back in future years to stay again. It is truly out of this world picture perfect



UK No1 for a very good reason!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is incredible - lost for words to articulate how fantastic it is.

We stayed for a week, spent the days exploring very nearby Skye and the evenings in the hot tub under the star filled night sky.

The Sheiling and Loch Lundie are perfect, majestic and all sorts of other adjectives. The amazing pictures you are looking at don't really do it justice, it's better than that.

If you are thinking about booking, then think no more - just do it. You will not be disappointed.

We hope to return in the future. Thank you Martin for being a great host.




Stunning property and location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A totally unique and very special place. Even better than the photos. The location is beautiful and still easy to travel to Plockton, Applecross and Skye. The weather was sunny which meant great use of the decking area, fire pit and hot tub which was just bliss.
A very memorable holiday and so special.




Unbelievable Place

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly amazing place. Warm , comfortable, incredible location with great walks from your door - Truly FABULOUS!



Absolutely outstanding place.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just amazing. Stunning location, so private and what a view to wake up to.
The perfect place to switch off. I would recommend this to everyone.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic peaceful location and superb house. Everything you could want for peace, quiet and comfort. So much thought gone into everything within. The provisions left for our use were appreciated and really were more than expected. We only wish it had been summer to take advantage of the rowing boat and the hot tub. We were cosy watching the wind, rain, sleet and sun!
Can’t recommend highly enough.




Magical

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just thinking about our break at the The Sheiling makes me smile and glow. There is such a sense of calm, backed up with all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel or even better. It captures everything and more that you would want for a relaxing break. I’m excited just thinking about the next time we will be back. Thank you for a magical time with my family, which is so precious.



First class in every respect

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't recommend The Sheiling highly enough. To put it simply, the best non-hotel holiday I've ever had. Superb location, wonderful house, attentive owners (but not intrusive) and every possible requirement met. You couldn't possibly regret booking this house!



A perfect Scottish Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The drive from Loch Lomond to the Sheiling must be one of the most spectacular in the World - it sets you up with expectation, and then The Sheiling delivers ! It is situated on its own Lochan, with no other visible neighbours. It truly is a joy to behold ! The building is gorgeous - warm and welcoming, Immaculately and thoughtfully detailed and presented. Martin was on hand with directions, and everything you would need for an enjoyable and comfortable stay was provided.We took the boat out, and I found it a great place to learn how to row, with no tides to contend with : there are other delightful surprises at the Sheiling too, but enough said ! I have already recommended it to several of my friends as I think they too would enjoy the experience that is The Sheiling.



Weekend Away

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment you walk in the door the view draws you through to the open plan living/dining area where the large picture windows showcase the stunning surroundings of this unique property. The calming quiet of it’s location is like being cocooned in a comforting blanket. The interior is modern and tastefully styled with everything you need. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who needs to recharge their batteries, a romantic getaway or perfect for exploring the Highlands.



Winter breack

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the ideal place to get away to relax and just chill Fantastic view from the decking which was different each day due to the weather conditions Accommodation was first class Would certainly go back



paradise

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
should have booked for two weeks .so much to do in surrounding area .kyle skye applecross plockton superb just chilling out at loch as well will definitely book again in the future.



Best holiday let with a view in the U.K

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning property & location. The owners have thought of just about everything to make your stay as wonderful as possible. The rowing boat is a great addition to your holiday as is the hot tub & fire pit. Some lovely walks in the area and Plockton has a few good restaurants. There is a good BBQ to use & the butchers in Lochalsh sell good quality meat. Plenty of wildlife to see.



Outstanding family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sheiling is an amazing lodge in a stunning location with its own private Loch! (Wow) Magic to have the wee rowing boat to explore, also great for a swim! Design & build outstanding! Furnished to a very high standard! Incredible views from the spacious deck with hot tub, fire pit & barbecue!
Fantastic place to relax and chill out. Great base for travelling to Plockton and Skye!