FB Twitter

THE BLACK BARN

THE BLACK BARN

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


A beautifully renovated barn in the village of Herstmonceux, East Sussex.

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! Well what a beautiful place the Black Barn is. As previous guests have said, the attention to detail is second to none. We were impressed by the quality of the barn and all the little extras that Liz has though of. It is a real credit to her. The barn is bigger than we had expected and very comfortable with everything we needed for our break. The welcome trug was amazing and much appreciated. The barn itself is well equipped with beautiful accessories throughout. The outside space is well thought out too, having a viewing deck which was a real sun trap and a table and chairs just outside plus an extra grassed area along with parking. I could go on! It really is a gorgeous place to stay and the surrounding area is also beautiful. We would happily recommend and would definitely return if we are down that way again. Thank you



Liz replied 2 days ago
Thank you so much Diane, for taking the time and trouble to leave such a comprehensive review - and I am so glad that The Black Barn surpassed your expectations. It was great to meet you both and your two gorgeous dogs who were such well behaved gentle giants! Please do come and see us again when you are in the area, you will be very welcome.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fabulous place to stay. Everything has been thought of to make the stay really comfortable. Attention to detail is amazing.



Liz replied 2 days ago
Thank you so much Suzy for your fab review - it was lovely to see you both again and hope that you will be back to see us soon!

Amazing home from home stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner Liz was amazing, she made us feel so welcome and explained everything in precise detail.
Everything you could possibly need was provided for in the cottage.
Everything was of great quality.
The thought & attention to detail was outstanding.
Our precious fur baby was welcomed with his own special treats.
The welcome trug was spectacular - thank you!
We can't wait to return!




Liz replied 2 days ago
It was such a pleasure to meet you all and to be able provide a little bit of relaxation following your long journey relocating back home in the UK from NZ. Thank you for your lovely review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Black Barn. You can be sure of a very warm welcome when we see you again!

We were completely spoilt.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our host Liz met us when we arrived at the Black Barn & showed us around, explaining how things worked & where everything was.
It was the most clean, comfortable, well presented holiday home we’ve ever had.
The attention to detail was second to none.
The bed was super large & so comfortable as was the pillows.
A week of luxury in beautiful surroundings with plenty to do.
We shall be returning.




Liz replied 34 days ago
Thank you so much Julie for such a lovely review. I enjoyed meeting you both and really appreciate you choosing to spend your special Wedding Anniversary week at The Black Barn. I will certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Our second visit

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another very comfortable break at The Black Barn. It is a lovely place to relax.
There are many places to visit nearby and the village is so convenient with shops and restaurants.




Liz replied 34 days ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you both back Trevor and so glad that your second stay was as enjoyable as your first. Thanks for the great review!

Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the loveliest stay, we had our 6 month old and Liz was very helpful with a travel cot and high chair. We had a very relaxing time, every detail has been thought of in the property. We hope to come back!



Liz replied 34 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Georgina. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay and I was especially pleased to welcome our first baby guest to the Black Barn! Hope to see you all again some time.

Black Barn - Hermonceux

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Black Barn is perfection both in quality of the barn and the surroundings.
Our holiday stay could not be faulted.




Liz replied 34 days ago
Thanks so much Ann - I'm so glad you enjoyed your break, it was lovely to meet you both!

Brilliant property

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous break at the Black Barn with Moses our chocolate brown Labrador, our host Liz was lovely and very welcoming. it exceeded our expectations, on arrival there was a lovely trug welcome basket full of goodies, we even had some for Moses, some were from the local area.
The Barn was beautifully designed and decorated with underfloor heating and a log burner.
We would like to return when the weather is better and most of the attractions are not closed for the winter.




Liz replied 90 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review Jenny - so glad you enjoyed your stay and I will look forward to seeing you all again in the warmer weather so that you can explore a bit more of what Sussex has to offer!

Short stay in early January

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 4 night stay and made to feel very welcome. The barn is very cosey and comfortable with excellent décor. It is very well equipped too to a high standard and has everything you need for a self-catering stay.

The host Liz was very helpful and has provided loads of information on the local area including where to go, places to eat and local walks. The welcome box with some essentials and treats was a nice touch and much appreciated.




Liz replied 127 days ago
Thank you for your review Richard - I'm so glad we were able to accommodate you for your last minute break and that you enjoyed not only the Barn but some of the local area too. So pleased that you liked the 'goodies' in the Welcome Trug, we are so fortunate to have a wealth of local produce and talented artisans in the area to supply us!

Extremely comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Black Barn has been very carefully put together. We had a really comfortable, perfect stay while visiting family.
Liz was very attentive and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed.
The Barn had all you needed to stay there. A lot of thought has been put into it.




Liz replied 127 days ago
Thank you so much for your review Chris - so glad we were able to accommodate you so that you could visit your family in the village. It was lovely to meet you both and hopefully you will think of us next time you are planning a visit - you will be most welcome!

A wonderful relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was lovely to be greeted with a personal welcome by the owner, Liz, who gave us a run through and workings of the Barn, especially for the log fire, something we have never used before. The welcome basket was very good with local goodies, and even some treats for our dog, all of which were very appreciated.

The barn has everything you need, where you can while away the time. We didn’t do much exploring of the area, as the weather wasn't very good, however the barn is so cosy it was lovely just being able to relax and enjoy the entertainment on offer, i.e. the TV, games, puzzles, books etc. We even enjoyed the long forgotten (to us) art of playing Snap :-). Our little dog also enjoyed his walks around the area.

The village is only a short walk away where there are restaurants, a pub, a few shops and a lovely coffee shop called Geo's Coffee House. Geo's does great paninis, brownies, and coffees, some of which we enjoyed, along with lots of other items we didn't have time to try, but will in the future :-)

We will be going back again, hopefully in better weather to truly enjoy the area. Thank you Liz and family for a wonderful, much needed break.




Liz replied 127 days ago
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. It was lovely to meet you both and of course little AJ! So glad you were able to enjoy the comforts of the Barn despite the rather awful weather, and were able to venture out to sample some of what the village has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again at some point in the future.

Lovely property

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nicely furnished and decorated. Well equipped kitchen with quality appliances and equipment. Lovely situation in easy reach of all East Sussex has to offer. Liz is an excellent host.



Liz replied 127 days ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you both and thank you for your kind words! Glad you were able to enjoy a little slice of East Sussex during your stay and hope you will come again to explore further!

Exactly as described...and extremely well appointed

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an impromptu week booked in November 2021 and the Black Barn seemed just the right property for us. Absolutely spot on !
The booking procedure, the contact, and the welcome were all perfect...Liz and her two girls met us during the stay and were very attentive...ensuring that everything was satisfactory.
The Barn is extremely comfortable, very well furnished, warm and secure. The deck set to the rear looks over the extensive rural views and was a lovely place to sit with a cuppa or a glass of something !
Herstmonceux has some lovely walks , a very nice pub and a a very good, somewhat old-style, Bistro. Hailsham is a 10 min drive away and has a great selection of shops and places to eat.
We thoroughly recommend and will return when we're back in the area.....a big thank-you to Liz and the team!




Liz replied 127 days ago
So glad you enjoyed staying at The Black Barn and that you were able to explore some of our local area. It was really great to meet you both and hope that it won't be too long before we see you again!

Anniversary week away

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy barn with everything you could need set in a quiet peaceful location. Liz was an amazing host and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back one day.



Liz replied 127 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Black Barn for such a special occasion, it was a pleasure to meet you both and hope that you may consider us again in the future - you would be very welcome!

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn was fitted and furnished to a very high standard with lovely personal welcome and gift trug.
Great location close to village




Liz replied 213 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Simon - it was great to meet you both and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

A lovely break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Black Barn was a very comfortable place to stay. It was so well equipped with a real attention to detail.
The location was very good for exploring the local area.
We definitely plan to stay again.




Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Nunningham Farm was fabulous . The barn is beautiful and extremely comfortable , couldn’t fault it .
It is also in a great location for the coast , walks and National Trust properties .




Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay. The Black Barn has everything you will need for a comfortable stay. Lovely touches like the welcome Trug filled with lovely treats, fresh flowers, beautiful toiletries and room sprays makes you feel you are staying in a 5 star hotel! We can not fault the Black Barn. Don’t hesitate to book you will not be disappointed. Liz you made us feel so welcome thank you for having us and we will see you soon x



Retreat for Two

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place for getting away from it all. The property is very well appointed and is within easy walking distance of plenty of eating places in the village. Liz is a fabulous host and nothing is too much trouble for her. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area.



Practically Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long while researching country cottages that allowed pets, so we could bring our mischievous Westie on holiday. We found the Black Barn and were more than happy with our stay. Liz the owner called and emailed us to ensure everything was perfect from the moment we arrived in Hurstmonceux, through our stay to the sad day we had to leave. Liz had thought of everything. Everything in the Black Barn was ideal, from the wood burner stove, to the bedding, the glorious bath and power shower, the bathroom products and the lavender pillow spray that made the perfect, comfy bed even better, the barbecue and all the advice she gave on what to do in the locale.

The use of nearby fields and enclosed pond area was a delight, and the viewing platform that doubled as our "go to" tea spot, was used everyday, from the moment we would get up and enjoy a cuppa in the morning to relaxing at the end of a long day sightseeing in East Sussex.

We wouldn't change a thing about the barn, we loved every second of our stay. Thanks Liz, we can't wait to come again.





A very special place to stay very comfortable Liz and Eliza are fantastic hosts.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful experience at the Black Barn felt very special comfortable place excellent location wonderful views. Have recommended to many friends and family.



Wonderful relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Black Barn was a wonderful place to stay for a holiday in Sussex. It was an excellent standard and Liz the owner was welcoming. The welcome trough and the little extras made it a fantastic holiday. I would recommend the Black Barn.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a great week at the Black Barn, the facilities are excellent and the owner is very welcoming and helpful.
Would highly recommend.




Our stay at The Black Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Black Barn for a week. All the facilities in the barn are of the highest quality. Everything has a touch of luxury about it. It really is a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. The owner provides comprehensive information about the property, local area and places to go and visit (as well as an excellent Welcome food pack!). The barn is situated on the edge of the village, making it very peaceful and providing beautiful views of the countryside. We really enjoyed our stay there and would thoroughly recommend!



Like staying a five star hotel but with the beauty of your own space

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place! Stunning in every way. The attention to detail is incredible. Quality. Peace and quiet. A little slice of heaven. A great base for the area. Everything made all the more special by Liz being such a fabulous host. Thank you.



A little jewel

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came across this little gem browsing the web for a short notice, pet friendly short stay for two. Liz, the host, went above and beyond what we expected. She met us on arrival and made sure we were happy with everything. The hand crafted East Sussex trug filled with essentials (bread, milk, coffee etc) was a lovely touch. Liz has furnished the barn with top quality furniture and fittings including the most amazing room fragrances. It was everything we could have wished for and more. East Sussex (an AONB) is somewhere we haven’t visited before but we will be back and will be staying at the Black Barn in the future. Thank you Liz, we had one of our best holidays ever. Russ, Mandy & Ted x



Beautiful Barn in Beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was such an amazing find, a true home from home. Liz , the host, had thought of absolutely everything you could ever need from a holiday home, a and all furnished to an impeccably high standard. Lots of thoughtful touches that were above and beyond anything we could ever have expected. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome., as were our 2 dogs. Conveniently located to lots of attractions from castles to beaches. A 5 minute walk to the local town of Herstmonceux, where there were pubs, shops and restaurants. Would definitely recommend a stay here and will be visiting again. It was certainly value for money.