FB Twitter

THE BLACK BARN

THE BLACK BARN

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


A beautifully renovated barn in the village of Herstmonceux, East Sussex.

Anniversary week away

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy barn with everything you could need set in a quiet peaceful location. Liz was an amazing host and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back one day.



Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn was fitted and furnished to a very high standard with lovely personal welcome and gift trug.
Great location close to village




Liz replied 42 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Simon - it was great to meet you both and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

A lovely break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Black Barn was a very comfortable place to stay. It was so well equipped with a real attention to detail.
The location was very good for exploring the local area.
We definitely plan to stay again.




Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Nunningham Farm was fabulous . The barn is beautiful and extremely comfortable , couldn’t fault it .
It is also in a great location for the coast , walks and National Trust properties .




Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay. The Black Barn has everything you will need for a comfortable stay. Lovely touches like the welcome Trug filled with lovely treats, fresh flowers, beautiful toiletries and room sprays makes you feel you are staying in a 5 star hotel! We can not fault the Black Barn. Don’t hesitate to book you will not be disappointed. Liz you made us feel so welcome thank you for having us and we will see you soon x



Retreat for Two

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place for getting away from it all. The property is very well appointed and is within easy walking distance of plenty of eating places in the village. Liz is a fabulous host and nothing is too much trouble for her. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area.



Practically Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long while researching country cottages that allowed pets, so we could bring our mischievous Westie on holiday. We found the Black Barn and were more than happy with our stay. Liz the owner called and emailed us to ensure everything was perfect from the moment we arrived in Hurstmonceux, through our stay to the sad day we had to leave. Liz had thought of everything. Everything in the Black Barn was ideal, from the wood burner stove, to the bedding, the glorious bath and power shower, the bathroom products and the lavender pillow spray that made the perfect, comfy bed even better, the barbecue and all the advice she gave on what to do in the locale.

The use of nearby fields and enclosed pond area was a delight, and the viewing platform that doubled as our "go to" tea spot, was used everyday, from the moment we would get up and enjoy a cuppa in the morning to relaxing at the end of a long day sightseeing in East Sussex.

We wouldn't change a thing about the barn, we loved every second of our stay. Thanks Liz, we can't wait to come again.





A very special place to stay very comfortable Liz and Eliza are fantastic hosts.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful experience at the Black Barn felt very special comfortable place excellent location wonderful views. Have recommended to many friends and family.



Wonderful relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Black Barn was a wonderful place to stay for a holiday in Sussex. It was an excellent standard and Liz the owner was welcoming. The welcome trough and the little extras made it a fantastic holiday. I would recommend the Black Barn.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a great week at the Black Barn, the facilities are excellent and the owner is very welcoming and helpful.
Would highly recommend.




Our stay at The Black Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Black Barn for a week. All the facilities in the barn are of the highest quality. Everything has a touch of luxury about it. It really is a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. The owner provides comprehensive information about the property, local area and places to go and visit (as well as an excellent Welcome food pack!). The barn is situated on the edge of the village, making it very peaceful and providing beautiful views of the countryside. We really enjoyed our stay there and would thoroughly recommend!



Like staying a five star hotel but with the beauty of your own space

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place! Stunning in every way. The attention to detail is incredible. Quality. Peace and quiet. A little slice of heaven. A great base for the area. Everything made all the more special by Liz being such a fabulous host. Thank you.



A little jewel

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came across this little gem browsing the web for a short notice, pet friendly short stay for two. Liz, the host, went above and beyond what we expected. She met us on arrival and made sure we were happy with everything. The hand crafted East Sussex trug filled with essentials (bread, milk, coffee etc) was a lovely touch. Liz has furnished the barn with top quality furniture and fittings including the most amazing room fragrances. It was everything we could have wished for and more. East Sussex (an AONB) is somewhere we haven’t visited before but we will be back and will be staying at the Black Barn in the future. Thank you Liz, we had one of our best holidays ever. Russ, Mandy & Ted x



Beautiful Barn in Beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was such an amazing find, a true home from home. Liz , the host, had thought of absolutely everything you could ever need from a holiday home, a and all furnished to an impeccably high standard. Lots of thoughtful touches that were above and beyond anything we could ever have expected. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome., as were our 2 dogs. Conveniently located to lots of attractions from castles to beaches. A 5 minute walk to the local town of Herstmonceux, where there were pubs, shops and restaurants. Would definitely recommend a stay here and will be visiting again. It was certainly value for money.