FB Twitter

The Byre

The Byre

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Tranquility in the Fells

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Carly & Richard, you have created a beautiful, peaceful holiday retreat. Our family of 4 stayed at The Byre, nestled in amongst the Fells we were surrounded by wildlife and stunning views. Red squirrels, otters, fell ponies and sheep on the doorstep. Every detail in The Byre had been meticulously thought through, the App we received before arrival is a genius idea, so useful in many ways. We would highly recommend staying at any of the holiday properties at The Green, Cumbria.



Richard Duckworth replied 34 days ago
Hi Virginia, thank you very much for your very kind feedback, we really appreciate it. we are so glad you had a great week and would love to see you back sometime in the future. thanks once again.

Homely break away.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is a stunning place to stay. Beds are super comfortable. Kitchen well stocked. The welcome pack was really appreciated.
Only one slight issue for us.. maybe not for others, as the weather was dreadful, we spent nights in and it was difficult to watch TV in a comfortable position from the sofa area.




Excellent Short Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely weekend stay at The Byre and really enjoyed exploring the local area.
The accommodation has everything u need. Overall excellent and we are already planning our return journey x




Richard Duckworth replied 59 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review, we really do appreciate it. We are glad you had a lovely weekend and hope to see you again sometime.

Lovely, luxurious accommodation with everything you could want in a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Carthouse is part of a huge old barn that has been completely gutted and refurbished to a very high standard while still maintaining a charming echo of its rustic past. Bedrooms, kitchens and bathrooms are furnished and decorated beautifully with everything you could possibly need to hand as well as countless thoughful additions and finishing touches.

The setting, in the Howgill fells of Cumbria, is to my mind the most beautiful spot in the country. There are expansive hills and valleys for the kind of walking that reminds you what is is to be alive; countless becks (small rivers) and picnic spots where children can play endlessly paddling, making dams, fishing for tiddlers or if you're small, just throwing stones into the water.

The local village, Ravenstonedale is a great place with two good pubs, a lovely old church and plenty of friendly locals.

I came to the Green with my extended family so we took all three of the properties (the Carthouse, Haystore and Byre) and had a magical time throughout our stay. For this reason I have duplicated this review for all three places but I know I speak for all 13 of us when I say that despite being seasoned travellers, (with more than a couple of centuries experience between us), we have never stayed anywhere better.




Richard Duckworth replied 59 days ago
Hi Jonny, thank you so much for your wonderful comments, it means so much to us. we hope to see you again in the near future.

Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was absolutely perfect, it had everything we needed for a relaxing holiday, right down to the beautiful smelling ’Bath House’ toiletries. The accommodation was immaculate but with a lovely homely feel, we settled in straight away. The location is exceptionally beautiful and ideally situated for both The Lakes & Dales and the sun shone every day, what more could we ask for. We’ll definitely be returning.



Richard Duckworth replied 59 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review, we are glad you had such a relaxing time and we really appreciate your feedback. hope to see you again for another visit.

Amazing!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Green exceeded our expectations and there was everything you needed to make your holiday feel special. This is our first time holidaying in the Yorkshire Dales - Ravenstondale and the surrounding area are of breathtaking beauty and we’ll definitely book The Green again.



Richard Duckworth replied 59 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5* review. we are really pleased you had a special holiday here at The Green. hope to see you another time.

Amazing stay in the Byre

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing week staying at the Byre. The cottage was very well equipped, the owners were so friendly and had thought of everything. The welcome pack of treats waiting for us on the first day was a nice surprise.
The owners made the whole process of booking very easy, going above and beyond to fit us all in. The app with all the information in was very useful.
We all enjoyed a brilliant week especially the visits from the red squirrels.




Richard Duckworth replied 59 days ago
Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us that you had such a good time in The Byre. we really hope to see you again in the future.

Ideal spot for some peace and quiet, with only sheep and wildlife for neighbours.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is a lovely property, well presented, very comfortable and with everything you could possibly think of supplied, as well as its own secure gravel garden to the front, perfect for keeping your little ones or fur babies safe.

We received a very warm welcome from owner Carly, upon arrival and there was a lovely welcome pack waiting for us inside too. The area around the property was beautiful and extremely quiet, with only the sounds of sheep, birds etc and I was lucky enough to get a glimpse of a red squirrel.

The village of Ravenstonedale is a few minutes drive or 20/25 mins walk, where you'll find 2 pubs, both of which provide lovely food and on a Monday there's a local takeaway pizza service [you'll find details for this in the information pack in the property]. The nearest supermarket, shops, cafes etc are in Kirkby Stephen, which is only 4 miles away.

We'd certainly picked the right week to visit, as the weather was hot and sunny all week, although it also restricted us from doing too much, due to us having a 13 week old puppy and was therefore too hot to take him out during the day, but this gave us the opportunity to enjoy short walks from our doorstep and simply relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.




Richard Duckworth replied 59 days ago
Thank you for your review of your stay with us in July this year. We are so pleased that you had a great week here at The Green and hope to see you again in the future.

Fabulous week at The Green.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable stay. The Byre is well equipped and very comfortable- we wanted for nothing.



Fantastic place in idyllic setting

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful barn conversion equipped with everything you might want and need for a holiday stay, including a very generous welcome selection of delicious goodies, toys for the children, comfy beds, a picnic rucksack... and the setting is fabulous, lots of lovely quiet places to sit outside, by the burbling stream, watching the birds and squirrels, and brilliant walks right from the door. A real gem.