FB Twitter

The Retreat

The Retreat

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


An open plan ground floor luxury barn with king size bed, walk in shower and a fabulous hot tub! Covered by a glass roofed gazebo in the private garden, a perfect retreat for two.

Wedding stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow wow wow, I couldn’t of wished for a better location to stay during our wedding weekend! We relaxed and the service is first class. We shall be coming back for our anniversary. A very special place and recommend to anyway wanting a relaxing short break.



Beautiful Property

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used The Retreat as a base for the bride and bridesmaids when our daughter was getting married at nearby Grangefields. It was ideally situated and Philippa was a fabulous host - so incredibly helpful. The house was lovely and very clean and comfortable. Would thoroughly recommend.



Absolutely faultless

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we got to the farm, Phillipa and jules were so welcoming and kind. We had the most terrific stay here at the retreat.
We have 0 faults to report we couldn’t have asked for a better host or place to stay. Our dog Hunter absolutely loved it aswell. So Thankyou to Phillipa and jules again, it was a pleasure meeting you guys and we look forward fo visiting again.

Josh & Ashleigh




Nothing short of extraordinary

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot express enough gratitude for the outstanding service provided by Philippa & Julian. From the moment we arrived, it was evident that our hosts was dedicated to ensuring that our stay was nothing short of extraordinary. Their attention to detail, warm hospitality, and genuine care for our experience made our wedding weekend truly unforgettable.

Our hosts went above and beyond in every aspect, from the immaculate preparation of the accommodation to their thoughtful gestures that added a personal touch to our special occasion. After an issue with our transport on the morning of the wedding our hosts did not hesitate to ensure the Bride got to the venue on time and in style, allowing us to focus on celebrating our big day.

The accommodation itself was nothing short of spectacular. Every room was impeccably clean, beautifully decorated, and equipped with all the amenities we could possibly need. The stunning surroundings and breathtaking views provided the perfect backdrop for any occasion, and our guests were equally impressed by the quality of the accommodation and the level of service provided.

I cannot recommend Philippa & Julian and their accommodation highly enough. If you are looking for an accommodation and hosts that will exceed your expectations and make your special occasion truly unforgettable, look no further.




Perfect retreat!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful cottage is a perfect cosy place to spend a romantic weekend with great walks and a great pub in the village serving the best pie menu!
Great hospitality, the hosts cannot do enough for you, we will be back!!!




A perfect stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Retreat as newlyweds and spent the weekend there whilst our bridal party stayed in the Mews and Old Smithy. The set up was perfect. The Retreat is a beautiful relaxing space, we are already planning our next visit! Philippa is such an amazing host, she went above and beyond to make our wedding weekend so special. We recommend staying in any of the hall farm houses.



Brilliant wedding stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired all the cottages for our friends, for our wedding.
They were so beautiful inside, had so many compliments from our friends.
Location was great too as it was just around the corner from our wedding venue which was a bonus.
We will definitely be back in the future!




Wedding Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely fantastic wedding weekend stay! The accommodation was not only lovely but also filled with luxurious features that added an extra touch of elegance to the experience. Our host was truly amazing, ensuring that every aspect of our stay was perfect. Thank you for making our wedding weekend so special and memorable!



Perfect for our wedding weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Retreat at Hall Farm Holidays as we were getting married at a nearby venue - Grangefields. From the moment we arrived until we left, Phillipa was a fantastic host and nothing was too much bother for her. She made us feel really welcome and the eggs, milk and lemon cake on arrival was a very thoughtful touch. The cottage itself is a converted stable, with more than enough room for two people (and for several bridesmaids, photographers, and hair/makeup people!).

The farm complex is gorgeous and keeps within the local countryside feel. Absolutely loved meeting the sheep and the hot tub was the perfect place to unwind after a hectic wedding day! We would definitely recommend staying there and hope to return ourselves. While we didn't get time to enjoy the surrounding countryside it's perfectly placed for anyone wanting to visit Ashbourne or Dovedale!

We're so glad we picked this for the wedding weekend as it was everything we needed and more. We would definitely recommend it to any couples getting married at Grangefields (or guests). Thank you Phillipa for a great weekend




Lovely accommodation for our wedding

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the retreat for 3 nights for our wedding at Grangefields. We could not recommend the property and Philippa the host, enough! It was perfect for what we needed and in an ideal location for the wedding venue but also a tranquil escape to enjoy the couple of days after our wedding. We will definitely be back!!



One of our best stays in England. Beautiful decor and location with amazing hosts.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Walking distance to a local Inn, short drive to a local town, beautifully appointed barn conversion with all the amenities that we needed.