FB Twitter

Cley Corner Cottage

Cley Corner Cottage

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
63% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.6
Location
5.0
Value
3.6
Customer
Service
4.3


2 bedroom cottage with stunning sea views over the marshes. Great location on the coastal road. Nearby local pub.

Very Unsatisfied

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2024
1.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Downstairs grotty and unclean; the furniture falling to bits, ancient and looks like it has been placed there from a house clearance. Downstairs is not a nice place to be. Website does not mention the very steep stairs which are bare wood with cracks and very uneven and slippy coming down probably due to the black paint that has been used on them, certainly unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems. A rip off for the price paid. Norfolk Stay have not responded to my emailed complaint along with photographs which doesn’t surprise me with the condition of the property, hence to say I would not book with them again.



Norfolk Stay replied 57 days ago
We're very sorry to hear that the cottage did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Cley Corner is an older cottage with a rustic charm, that is reflected in the furnishings and this appeals to many guests who have provided much positive feedback over the years. Unfortunately, we did not receive an email from you and so were not able to respond directly, but would have been happy to do so.

Salthouse stay

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2024
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The customer service and location was fantastic. The cottage is a decent size but was damp downstairs and in need of some tlc. We had a lovely stay but helped by the weather being so good, had we needed to be inside the damp would have been an issue. A little tlc and a good clean and this place would be wonderful.



A true gem of a cottage in a quiet stretch of Norfolk coast

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in mid February with very few people in the village and on the beach, heavenly location overlooking beach and marshes on doorstep. Great for long walks with dog on the beach. The lovely gastro pub and artisanal village shop are almost next door. Couldn’t be more convenient. The cottage is comfortable and warm, private and quiet. Well equipped for our stay. Fast internet and TV with AirPlay. Two cosy bedrooms upstairs with views of the marshes. Locally made cookies for us and some treats with a toy for dog greeted us upon our arrival, were really nice touch. Thank you :) We will be coming back.



Perfect location for birdwatching

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage,looking directly out onto the marshes and just round the corner from the pub and village shop; comfortable beds. Could do with some games, some scales; salt and pepper. And something done about the awful smell from the oil fired boiler.



Pluses and Minuses

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It's a comfortable place to stay. The parking was adequate but a little challenging when the grassy slope to the parking is wet. Lots of pots and pans but no space really to put any food you might bring with you. I'd suggest removing the pans from the freezer cupboard and offering this space for food storage. No DVD player. No dishwasher. Querky to have the main bathroom off the kitchen. Comfortable for the two of us but wouldn't have worked for more with one bedroom leading off the other. Nice views from the main bedroom. Location is very good. Quiet. Good if you have a Dog. Plenty of walking close by. A bit mean having the heating set to come on only from 7-9 morning and evening...whilst the morning is okay, the evening period is too short meaning you are cold before it comes on and cold again when it's off at 9 p.m. We over-rode the setting. Would have been better to have a proper shower over the bath...there was no shower curtain! There are a lot of negatives here but it was good enough value for what we paid in October 2023. The price looks to being going up substantially next year and the negatives will need addressing if it needs to avoid being bad value in the future.



A lovely cottage in an ideal position for exploring the North Norfolk coast.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely cottage is situated in easy access to local amenities which include pub, local shop, and Cookies Crab Shop.It is also convenient for Coastal transport.



Amazing location and view

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've always booked with large well known companies so I was a little dubious about booking with Norfolk Stay, I needn't have worried as the booking process was easy and smooth. Cley Corner Cottage is a bird/nature watchers paradise. The view from the front bedroom window across the saltmarsh out to sea is stunning, it can even be seen from lying in bed! Waking in the morning and watching a pair of marsh harriers swooping over the marshes and hares relaxing in the morning sun with a large variety of wading and sea birds was amazing. The cottage was warm and had everything we needed, loved the good sized kitchen. The lounge although very small was enough for the two of us and our tiny dog, the front lounge window has the same lovely view as the front bedroom. The bathroom looks new and clean, the shower is a mixer tap and very powerful with constant hot water. An upstairs toilet between the two bedrooms was perfect for nighttime visits. Right next-door is the quiet but busy Dun Cow pub, so handy when you're too tired to cook! There's a lovely small village shop for essentials and gift bits. A short walk up the road between the shop and pub one, of the houses sells lovely fresh eggs and local honey outside with an honest box. The cottage has a peaceful secluded feel without being isolated. We have never returned to cottages we have stayed at in the past but I would return to Cley Corner Cottage in a heartbeat.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. Although we are a small company we pride ourselves on our customer service as our guests satisfaction is very important. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the great location with all the wild life and scenery at your doorstep. Your lovely comments about the cottage and the village, I am sure, will help other visitors when choosing a place to stay. You are more than welcome to stay at any time.

Fantastic location, great for a break in any season of the year

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were cosy and warm in this cottage and loved the views over the marshes. Bird watching from indoors during bad weather is a bonus. Great local pub and shop and easy access to Cromer, Sheringham and Cley with walks from the door. Cottage well equipped.





Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Cley Corner Cottage. It is a very popular cottage and it sounds like you made the most of the location being so close to nature and the sea but close enough to amenities. We hope you come and stay again. You would be very welcome.