FB Twitter

The Cider Press

The Cider Press

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Cider Press is the smallest of the three cottages we have available at Cadhay. It is a single-storey building standing on its own which has been converted into a very comfortable cottage with either a double or twin bedroom. It is spacious, filled with light and has a panoramic outlook to East Hill and the surrounding countryside.

It may be our smallest holiday cottage, but you’ll not be short of room inside. There’s a spacious lounge with a wood burner at its heart, great for relaxing in front of after a long day exploring.

You will find all of the equipment you would expect from a modern and luxurious holiday cottage, including a well proportioned kitchen / diner. The Cider Press is ideal for couples wanting a relaxing break in quiet and peaceful surroundings.

The Ciderb Press

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Press is an excellent place to stay. The location is beautiful & scenery gorgeous too. I particularly loved seeing the sheep in the nearby field.



A beautiful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit for us and everything was as comfortable as before, the fire ready to be light and milk in the fridge for that needed cuppa after our journey. We enjoyed a perfect, easy and relaxing stay, thank you



100%

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
100% that’s why we enjoy coming every year, cider press and the surrounding areas are a
wonderful place to be.





Wonderful views and very well equipped

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our guest who stayed at the Cider Press enjoyed the wonderful views from the cottage and thought that the Cider Press was very well equipped.



The Cider Press

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another very enjoyable stay in a lovely location. The Cider Press is very well equipped and maintained and makes for a relaxing and stress free holiday.



We’ll be back.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our seventh stay at Cadhay, and we can’t wait to make it eight. Now we have a puppy, we appreciate even more the excellent walks on your doorstep. The Cider Press is peace and tranquillity, with a good range of shops within a mile for all your needs on holiday. The walled garden is an inspiration for gardeners, and so peaceful to wander round at will.



Retreat to the country

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider press is situated in a quiet location, and ideal for two peoplle. It is also ideal for anybody with mobility problems, being single storey with a shower and no steps throughout the property. Furnishings are of a very high standard and we slept very well in a comfortable bed!we had Family staying in the stables and coach house which was only a stone’s throw away, so it was a wonderful way of all being together, enjoying the peace and Tranquility of Cadhay
There is plenty to do in the area including walks on the doorstep and the coast just a few miles away. Jayne, the house manager was very helpful ensuring we had a great time and we will return




Cider Press

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was exactly what we wanted and needed. The peace and quiet was wonderful, with everything else we needed in the cottage.
Good amenities nearby, with a Sainsburys in Ottery St Mary.
Lots of wonderful places very close by to visit without the need to do many miles.




Lovely comfy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Press worked really well for us as our friends had rented Cadhay House for the same week and we were able to easily attend the party they arranged on Saturday and also pop in for morning coffee and join them for some evening meals. Cadhay House is absolutely beautiful and the gardens are stunning.
We enjoyed staying in the Cider Press. Everything needed was provided and it is spacious and very comfortable. The view from the cottage of the House and East Hill beyond is lovely. The friendly flock of sheep in the field in front of the cottage was a nice surprise. The location is great for accessing all the places to visit in the area. We received lots of useful information before our stay with suggestions of good shops and pubs to visit both locally and further afield. These came in very useful. Not knowing the area we also used the excellent suggestions for walks, the coast villages and towns and other places to visit. Jayne was extremely friendly and helpful and Rupert was the ideal host.




Weekend wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accomodation for our wedding guests for the weekend was perfect. Everything was spotless, homely and we couldnt have asked for more



A perfect short break at 'The Cider Press' Cadhay.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfectly relaxing break at Cadhay, self catering but all essentials provided, a comfortable countryside retreat. The Cider Press is set in the grounds of the Cadhay Estate with access to some interesting countryside walks, and when wishing to explore further afield is in an ideal location for travel to the coast or other areas of interest in Devon.



An Anniversary to remember at Cadhay

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our sixth visit says it all really! Cadhay is peaceful, clean, near enough to stuff to be convenient, yet away enough to be tranquil.
Back again in September, can’t wait.




Cadhay is great

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, well equipped, cosy. We enjoyed our stay very much. Pleasant walks nearby and stunning scenery and walks along the coast.



Winter Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at the Cider Press during a bracingly cold week in January .The supply of wood and the wood burning stove made it a welcoming cosy place to chill out after some lovely country walks with our Labrador .Its proximity to Sidmouth made it a special place to stay.
Everyone from Cadhay made one feel very welcome. I would recommend the Cider Press to anyone who want to get away from urban life.




Perfect stay and ideal location

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a truly relaxing and very comfortable stay at The Cider Press. And with the enchanting snowy conditions we enjoyed the beautiful log fire. Home from home, thank you



The Cider Press

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to the Cider Press and as usual, it lived up to its high standards. Everything we would want for our stay is provided. Rupert was there to welcome us soon after we arrived and came back to say goodbye at the end of the week. We know that he would have been available, had there been any problem. We find it is a good location for visiting the coastal towns from Exmouth to Beer. This was our first visit this late in the year, but we were lucky that the weather was exceptionally warm and dry. Hopefully we will be back.



Birthday break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent property, comfortable and clean. One small suggestion - the large metal gate needs to have wire screening attached. Without it small dogs can easily pass through or under the gate and thus can’t be let off lead outside the Cider Press ie no real free area for dogs.



Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again everything was “spot-on” at the Cider Press. We’ll be back for sure. Near enough to stuff to be handy, yet away from it all if that’s what you want.



100/100

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4 nights at The Cider Press were very pleasant and enjoyable.
The facilities were first class, it was comfortable, clean and tidy and everything was in good working order. It’s set in a peaceful and convenient location, close to shops, other amenities and major routes.




A very well equipped and comfortable cottage. Strongly recommended.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely - with everything provided. The guestbook was extremely detailed with local facilities and places to visit. The location was very quiet, and we welcomed the chance to look round the gardens of the main house.



Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
But actually we didn't use it, as we were staying in Cadhay House and didn't need it. And Cadhay House was just wonder ful, as ever.



Stay at the Cider Press, CadhayHouse

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage, superb location. Great welcome, and faultless customer service. Highly recommended.



The Cider Press - a gem.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the start of our holiday (a warm welcome from Rupert & Jayne), to when we left, it was a pleasure to stay. Lovely country side, lots of walks, and excellent places and eat and visit all within a 25m radius. The gardens were well worth exploring, being dutifully maintained to the character of the manor house, as a bonus the weather was really good to us.



A very happy stay

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An immaculate and well- equipped dog-friendly property with heaps of useful information provided in advance. Rupert, the owner, was welcoming, friendly and interesting. We would happily stay again if the opportunity arose.



So good we returned for more!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to this property. Still immaculately presented and equipped. Still peaceful, yet ideally situated for visiting south and east Devon. Still with that beautiful early morning view of the sun rising over Cadhay House, the sheep in the fields, and the hills beyond!



Mid-October week in Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always our stay at Cadhay the Cider Press was perfect. The weather had its moments, but the property and area were perfect.
We WILL be back. House manager Jayne and owner Rupert are lovely, and nip by to see all is well a couple of times. Can’t recommend this place and area enough.




Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best cottages we have stayed in. Ideal for a relaxing break in a beautiful location. The Cider Press was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped.
We enjoyed sitting on the patio in the sun with views of the Manor House and surrounding countryside and sheep in the field next to us.




A SHORT STAY

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
WE WERE PLEASED WITH HOW CLEAN THE CIDER PRESS WAS ON ARRIVAL VERY MUCH A HOME FROM HOME EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY WANT FOR A HOLIDAY STAY, THAT WAS JUST AS WELL BECAUSE THE WEATHER WAS TERRIBLE LOTS OF RAIN.WOULD CERTAINLY STAY THERE AGAIN.



Our third visit to Cadhay and hopefully more to come

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in peaceful and stunning countryside, with all the facilities you need.
Managed by Jayne, who is always friendly, efficient and accomodating.
A hidden gem.




Beautiful Countryside Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying in the Cider Press. The cottage was immaculate, nicely furnished and with every facility you could wish for; for a relaxing holiday. We hope to be back sometime in the future.



An excellent cottage for couples

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used The Cider Press to accommodate guests at our wedding and it could not be faulted by them. The contact with Jayne beforehand was exemplary. The accommodation was well equipped and provided everything our guests needed for their stay. Cadhay is a beautiful location to spend time either on holiday, enjoying the local area, or at an event in the grounds, such as ours. Highly recommended and we hope to return again!



A peaceful retreat with wonderful views

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Press is a relaxing and comfortable get-away-from-it-all cottage for two people with views of the Manor House and countryside. The cottage has a spacious and well-equipped kitchen/diner and is located within easy reach of Ottery St Mary as well as the coastal towns/villages and beaches of East Devon. The gardens at Cadhay were a pleasure to walk around on the Friday afternoon of our arrival (at the time of our stay they were open every Friday afternoon from May to September). We thoroughly enjoyed our short break and hope to visit again.





An excellent place to stay. But the weather did spoil our weeks stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd visit and as before a lovely place to spend holiday. near to the coast and an interesting local town. We hope to come again



98/100

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well equipped, warm and comfortable. The area is rural and quiet, the whole estate is well cared for, with very pleasant walks.
The only problem we had was that the settee in the lounge was very low for older people.
Despite the weather we throughly enjoyed our stay.
Thankyou
Jo and Cliff Kindon




Cider barn Cadhay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice area and a welcome break and the weather was good to us.
Nice walks along the sea fronts and country walks with the dog.




Rupert replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry you found the cider press uncomfortable. Could you let me know what the problem was

Cosy base for exploring East Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, cosy, high-quality accommodation in a beautiful and peaceful location. Wood burner, well-supplied kitchen, patio for sitting outside, lovely rural views, Sainsburys close by. Great base for exploring East Devon. Friendly and welcoming hosts. Ideal too for people with disabilities. Highly recommended.



Beautiful Otter valley and Cadhay Estate with the warmest of welcomes.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Cider Press, just the right size for two and a spaniel!
The warmest of welcomes from Jayne and Rupert and super efficient organisation.
We look forward to returning soon!