FB Twitter

Cadhay House

Cadhay House

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Cadhay is a truly magical place to stay for a remarkable and unique self-catering holiday for groups of family and friends. Though the Tudor manor exudes the history and grandeur of centuries past it is far from a museum. Cadhay is located in Ottery St Mary and has been beautifully restored and offers modern comforts. It is a house where you can live comfortably and confidently in the rural East Devon countryside, the past all around you, yet still very much in touch with the modern world of today.

The large Manor House dates back to the 16th Century and its history and appeal are clear to see. In recent years Cadhay has been transformed into a house used for weddings, holidays, family gatherings and for groups wanting a large house to stay in together.

There are a total of 12 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms/shower rooms throughout the large house which will comfortably sleep 22. This makes us ideal for large groups wanting luxurious accommodation in the heart of East Devon.

Wedding weekend at Cadhay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I chose Cadhay for my wedding venue and could not have been more impressed. Rupert and Jayne were extremely helpful and made the whole experience that much more special. The house is well kept and the grounds are stunning. Would highly recommend.



Cadhay is a fabulous house, it has wonderful gardens and great staff

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing house to stay in. The gardens are really beautiful and it is delightfully peaceful. The owner, Rupert is a real gentleman and very thoughtful and helpful.
I highly recommend this to anyone who is considering booking a stay here




A very special place

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It seems amazing to me that you can stay at somewhere like Cadhay. The gardens are beautiful and extremely well planned and well looked after. The house is historic; it’s unusual and very attractive. Inside it is carefully maintained and beautifully furnished. Jayne, the manager, and Rupert, the owner, are very friendly and helpful. We’ve stayed there twice now for special occasions and I can’t recommend it highly enough.



A celebration of 50 years

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wanting to celebrate 50 years of marriage with our oldest and dearest friends we came across Cadhay House with room for 22 friends to stay we realised it was the perfect venue for us. Booking up a year in advance was always a challenge for us oldies and sure enough the dreaded hospital appointments managed to disrupt five guests, which needless to say was a big disappointment. However the the rest of us all arrived in time on the Friday evening to be able sit in the Sovereigns Court enjoying a Curry dinner provided by Jeffery's restaurant in Ottery. Saturday came with a tour of the house which was so intriguing that we didn't even notice the rain teeming down. That evening was our Black Tie Dinner in the stately dining room with delicious food provided by Ginny Lyons, who had been recommended by Jayne Covell, the house manager. When Sunday dawned sunny and warm we could really appreciate those extraordinary gardens in full bloom. Lazer Clay Shooting and Croquet on the lawn filled the afternoon with pleasure until it was time for another feast from Ginny. All too soon we had to pack up and leave on the Monday morning so the staff could clear up our mess for the next lucky visitors. A truly memorable weekend for everyone. Thank you Cadhay you are great!



Wonderful place for family get together and celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cadhay Manor has a medieval charm.It has an aura of peace and tranquillity.The manor is exceptionally well equipped through out and is warm and comfortable.It was lovely to be able to take advantage of the garden which is well laid out with large attractive ponds miscellaneous flowers shrubs and unusual trees.
The owner Rupert and Staff were very friendly and we were greeted on arrival.
All our family and friends fell in love with the place.




Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time staying at Cadhay and what a wonderful week we all had. The house and gardens are stunning. All the rooms are beautifully furnished and immaculate. Great location for exploring the area and an easy walk into Ottery for local amenities. The house is very well equipped to cater for such a large group. Beautiful bedrooms all with lovely bathrooms and an endless supply of hot water. Jayne and Rupert were very attentive and considerate hosts. We are already planning a return visit.



A beautiful location for a memorable wedding

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose to get married in the stunning roof chamber of Cadhay House and it was definitely the right decision. Many of our guests commented on how beautiful and well looked after the house, bedrooms and grounds were. The property struck the perfect balance of feeling like somewhere very special to celebrate, while also leaving us feeling very comfortable and at home for the weekend. Every bedroom is unique and well cared for and it was fantastic to feel like every guest was getting somewhere great to stay. Overall, the weekend was excellent value for money and Jayne was incredibly responsive and helpful in the run up and throughout our stay. We’d love to return as Cadhay is now incredibly special to us!



Outstanding - Homely Grandeur!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place to simply 'be' - comfortable, cozy, grand while also being quirky and really quite unique.



A wonderful house ...

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think this was our 12th or 13th week at Cadhay. We adore the house, and it has become part of our annual schedule now. The house is grand and beautiful, yet on a pleasingly domestic scale, so it always feels cosy and comfortable as well as being historic and spectacular. The house is lovingly maintained by Rupert and Jayne and the team, and it is always immaculately presented and a joy to stay in. We feel quite proprietorial about it now, and have come to know the area quite well - though there is always something new to discover nearby. We love it.



Another wonderful New Year stay at Cadhay!

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and friends gathered at Cadhay for probably the twelfth time! We all love the house so much and I can't stress how special the place is. It is beautiful and historical and also very comfortable and we all feel very much at home there. 24 of us stayed in the Manor and in the Coach House and everyone wants to return. Rupert, Jayne and the team look after us so well and I'd recommend Cadhay as a place to celebrate good times.



Absolutely wonderful !

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cadhay is a magical place for a big family Christmas. Both the area and setting are fantastic with the coast not far away. Our young children adored the space and accss to different areas.
Lovely gardens too. Everything good for comfort and convenience. We've been there 3 times now over 6 years. Beautiful old house full of history and some some quirkiness. Thanks Rupert and Jayne.




Another fabulous stay in this wonderful house

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My second visit to Cadhay House with a group of friends. Everything was perfect! The house is so comfortable and well equipped, All the rooms are beautifully furnished and there is plenty of space so you can escape for a bit of peace and quiet. Nothing is too much trouble for the management team and out special thanks go to Jayne and Rupert. We can't wait to come back.



A wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group of 18 had a superb weekend away at Cadhay. The space suited us perfectly. From the moment Rupert met us until we left, we felt comfortable and relaxed. The dining table worked perfectly for breakfasts and dinners, followed by evenings in the lounges; making use of the delightful piano too. Thank you, we will be back.



Cadhay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect place for a gathering of family and friends. Cadhay accommodates a large group with such ease, from informal concerts around the piano to peace and quiet next to the fire in the morning room. Rupert and Jayne ensured such a friendly welcome for everyone that it was hard to tear ourselves away at the end of the week.



Perfect setting for a family gathering

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love coming together at Cadhay every Autumn. The house is so comfortable with plenty of space for people to chat in small, or large groups. This year we had several people WFH during the day, facilitated by the much improved wi-fi.

Ginny Lyons cooked for us over the weekend producing a particularly spectacular Sunday Lunch which will become part of family folklore. We all look forward to next year's reunion.




The perfect location for our wedding

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had our wedding at Cadhay and we couldn't have wished for a more beautiful location for our wedding. The Manor House and surrounding cottages were very comfortable, really well-equipped and had wonderful, homely features. It meant so much to us to have many of our guests staying at Cadhay for the weekend. The gardens surrounding the properties were absolutely stunning - our guests really enjoyed getting to explore the gardens and we were lucky enough with the weather to be able to have our welcome drinks outside, as well as photographs. Jayne, Rupert and the whole team at Cadhay helped make the process seamless and enjoyable, answering all our questions and helping us both during the weekend and in the weeks prior to our wedding. We would highly recommend Cadhay for your special occasion or gathering of family and/or friends.



A Family Birthday Weekend that no-one, especially the eleven grandchildren will ever forget.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the initial contact and booking, to our leaving Cadhay, nothing was short of perfect. Having lived in Listed houses most of our married life, and assisted in the restoration of a Grade 1 medieval house in West Devon, the choice of Cadhay was easy. A period home, set in extensive grounds, and amidst outstanding gardens, and yet furnished in a tasteful, homely and lived in fashion. With twenty-one in our immediate family it was possible to allocate accommodation in an amicable fashion, where privacy and ensuite facilities were ensured. The ground floor provided multiple options for pre dinner drinks and gatherings, whilst a formal dinner for the eightieth birthdays was possible at one table, with a little imaginative chair movement. The kitchen, as always, became the family hub, as teenagers arrived at differing times to graze and chat. Meeting Rupert in the Tea Room was a bonus, not only on being shown the necessary workings of the house, but in learning more of the Family History, which enhanced our stay. Dave the Head gardener was also a mine of information, never being short of a charming anecdote. And Jayne, who manages the property, provided a highly professional but friendly support to the booking, subsequent visit and guidance on catering and local suppliers. Our family are of one accord...we must go back and annually if possible. Such was the legacy of a truly wonderful weekend.



Wedding Celebration weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an amazing historic home to borrow and share with family and friends for our wedding weekend.
The best self catering property in the land, amazing grounds, and flexibility to have the wedding of your dreams.




Good ambiance

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a pleasure to cook in the exceptionally well equipped kitchen and the
Coach House offers every facility you could want.
The gardens are outstanding and the friendly gardening team show endless patience when answering questions from visitors.
Every bedroom has a charm of its own and Mr. Thistlethwayte’s furniture can be not only admired but actually sat on or slept in. Modern and very old blend seamlessly at Cadhay and the visitor is constantly surrounded by beauty.
The highly efficient house manager responds quickly to any request for help. Anything in the kitchen which is not functioning is immediately replaced and she willingly helps to solve any problem which arises, even if beyond her remit.
Cadhay is a uniquely special place.




Diamond wedding family celebrations

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The facilities available are outstanding, easily coping with 16 adults and children The house is a living museum and full of surprises We found the rooms lovingly kept in perfect conditions.
Jayne managed all our queries immediately and she was most informative . We were greeted and made most welcome by Rupert
The gardens are the most outstanding and beautifully maintained we have ever seen
We will enjoy the photographs we have taken of everywhere for many years to come




Summer wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having grown up in Ottery St Mary with Cadhay around the corner it was often a far away dream to stay at Cadhay, when our wedding came to be we could not have ever matched the beauty, history and absolute perfection of Cadhay. We scoured the county but nothing came to match the standard and generosity of this great house and venue. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cadhay, there is not a single complaint nor fault to be found. The Staff were extremely helpful and take pride in their work each and every day, They made our very special day possible. Every room throughout the house is spectacular, being comfortable and dressed in high standards. The garden and surrounding grounds are something of a masterpiece and not to be overlooked. Cadhay provided us a little escape and canvas to construct many happy memories whether they be on the croquet lawn, around the ponds or cosying around the kitchen table. The Old apple stores facilities were just right providing a perfect wedding reception venue with room to expand out into the walled garden. The facilities included where outstanding from electric car chargers to being able to eat in the court of sovereigns. If you are looking to stay at Cadhay or arrange a special event such as our own then you will do no better than to choose this amazing house.



Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit and we had a great time. Jayne and Rupert made sure we were happy and everything went very smoothly. It’s a great location with cosy spaces and amazing views

We’ll be back!




Brilliant accommodation for 22 people of three generations of our family and great gardens.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We celebrated our diamond wedding here with our family. Everyone loved the place. There is plenty of space indoors and out for all ages and we never felt we all got on top of each other. the gardens are really lovely.



Ruby wedding anniversary celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
July 2023 -This was our second stay at Cadhay as we were there 15 years ago to celebrate our silver wedding and enjoyed it so much that we were keen to repeat the experience. I am delighted to report that it was even better second time around! The gardens have matured and are really beautiful, and inside the house the rooms seem fresh and updated whilst retaining the old character that they had previously. We ate in the dining room every evening with numbers round the grand dining table varying from 11 to 22 over the week, and it was a real pleasure. The only downside was that we also had to do all our own cooking and washing up! However, the kitchen is very well equipped and we shared the labour, spending time comfortably there in the warmth of the Aga. Unfortunately we did not have good weather so were so glad that we also hired the apple store for our party as it was sadly far too wet for our party guests to enjoy the lovely gardens. The apple store provided a great fall back. The weather was so poor during the week that we even lit fires some evenings in both the dining room and the living room and even though it was summer there were plenteous supplies of wood and kindling. Both Jayne and Rupert were very welcoming and did all they could to make our stay a success. We hope to return to Cadhay again in the future!



It was wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As on previous occasions, everything was perfect. We particularly enjoyed our barbecue in the garden.



Our wedding weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had our wedding at Cadhay on the 3rd of June 2023. We had hired the house to stay in from the 2nd-5th and it exceeded all our expectations. The house, grounds and cottages are incredible. You can spend hours wandering around the house taking in all the history and our guests were blown away with it. The grounds are beyond beautiful and provided a perfect setting for our wonderful outdoors ceremony. From start to finish Jayne was wonderful and so helpful. Always on hand to answer any questions and there on our wedding day to over see everything went smoothly. We and our guests were incredibly sad to leave Cadhay after a fantastic weekend and we cannot wait to return. This beautiful venue will always hold a very special place in our hearts. The whole weekend couldnt have been more perfect.



Stunning wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cadhay House and gardens provided the most magical setting for our daughter’s wedding weekend. The house guests were amazed when they were shown to their beautiful bedrooms on Friday evening and enjoyed relaxing in the lounges as, although it is the most beautiful Tudor Manor House, it has a lovely homely feeling.
We were lucky enough to have sunny weather all weekend, so we used the lawn for the ceremony with the guests looking towards the stunning lake and the Apple Store looked really pretty when it was set up for the wedding breakfast.
The house guests enjoyed the use of the BBQ on Sunday and we had a memorable alfresco meal on Sunday evening which we set up in the enclosed garden by the kitchen area.
Jayne was so helpful from the moment we first visited until the end of the wedding weekend. Communication was excellent, she responded immediately to any questions we had and the information provided was comprehensive.
Cadhay House is a perfect venue for a wedding, lots of the guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to and I can’t imagine how it could have been any better. I would recommend it without hesitation.




Our third visit to Cadhay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have previously taken our family - up to 22 of them - to Cadhay for two 80th birthday occasions. They were both wonderful and, this spring, we did not trouble to look for any other venue for the celebrations to mark our 60th Wedding Anniversary.
The house and its setting is magnificent, the bedrooms are attractively individual and the reception rooms are ideal for entertaining in style.
The garden is large and the different "rooms" in it are delightful.
Jayne could not have been more efficient in making the booking process easy and answering any and all enquiries. On our arrival Rupert was there to welcome us and, instantly, we felt that we were coming home for another memorable family occasion - and so it proved.
If you want to have a really, really special holiday which will be remembered for years by all those lucky enough to have been there, don't mess about searching for venues: just get on the internet and book Cadhay. You will not be disappointed.




What a wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 21 had a glorious time at Cadhay, for the second time, lots of space for little groups to play games, strum on the piano, eat together, a brilliantly equipped kitchen, lovely garden and a really interesting 'museum'. Everyone, from the seven-year old upwards, appreciated the beautiful and precious furniture, antique and modern. We are saving up to come again. The health and safety measures are well thought out and everyone was safe and happy.



A very special house for a special occasion

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a full house and everyone was amazed by the manor. We loved the history, the furniture, the little touches everywhere reminding us of the past. We were warm and cosy in this vast house, which is no mean feast on a cold February weekend.
Our host was attentive, friendly and a mine of information.
The only slight blot on the landscape was the scaffolding on the west wing, but we understood that a place like Cadhay needs constant maintenance and it is because it is being so well looked after that we had such a good time there.




A delightful house.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our thirteenth stay at Cadhay, which I think illustrates very effectively how much we like it. It is a grand and beautiful house and it feels like a privilege to stay there, but it is also cosy and comfortable. The house is always scrupulously clean and beautifully presented, and the owner and manager are helpful and attentive. We have always stayed in winter, and it is a great house for a cold-weather holiday as we stoke up the log burning stoves and enjoy having lots of indoor space for people to spread out. We have booked again for next year ...



Friends NYE get together

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous stay with friends at Cadhay
Very comfortable with log fires burning, so cosy and warm for such a big house.
We couldn’t recommend it highly enough.




Fabulous!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time and have already booked to go back again. Jayne and Rupert are extremely helpful. You couldn't ask for any better.



The Perfect Place To Be

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We book Cadhay every year for a family reunion. Everyone loves the house so much...the 4 year old being especially delighted with her Princess bed.

There is so much space and everything is so beautifully arranged. We even had special Halloween flower arrangements this year!

Bliss.




A splendid venue for family gatherings

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Cadhay for an 80th birthday celebration. The accommodation in the house is lovely with each room having either it's own ensuite, or a dedicated bathroom next door. Everyone was so impressed with the facilities. We hired in a caterer on the Saturday evening and had 22 people seated in the splendid Georgian dining room. It made for a most memorable evening. The house is so well appointed, the kitchen has plenty of fridge and freezer space with two dishwashers and a very useful "back kitchen" for prep. Small touches like the hair straighteners in each bedroom really make a difference. A beautiful house in a gorgeous setting. We will definitely be returning.

Just one small request - a couple of very large teapots please. Tea for 22 took forever!




Jayne Covell from Cadhay replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your review Catherine and we're so pleased you had such a wonderful time. We'll certainly try to hunt a bigger teapot or two down in addition to the ones already in the kitchen. Just a small note that we have mats for hair straighteners but not the hair straighteners themselves so any future guests will need to bring their own straighteners.

A holiday home with style.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really good venue for a special visit. Good range of facilities in the cook house and very comfortable beds. Plenty of crockery, cutlery and glass ware. Two dishwashers very helpful!



It couldn't have been better!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family party of 18, consisting of relations aged from six to 87 enjoyed a week of wall-to-wall sunshine in a luxuriously equipped 1550 house, brought fully up to date with every modern convenience. Everything, food, comfort, ambience, landscape, design and surroundings were absolutely perfect. The result was a wholly enjoyable week of complete pleasure, thanks to the staff, visible and invisible and the wonderful ever-shining sun.



Sublime and Peaceful

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a privilege to stay at Cadhay and we will definitely return. It was our second trip with a group of families with children and it is such a perfect location. The gardens were, as usual, sublime. You can hide away if you want a bit of peace and quiet, play croquet or relax watching the reflections in the fish ponds. The house has been improved year on year and has been modernised whilst respecting the deep history of the building. The Court of the Sovereigns is a stunning space and we spent a lot of time there for coffee, crosswords or dinner. In the evenings it was fun to light a fire in the Living Hall and have a mass participation game before disappearing off to our comfortable beds.
Cadhay is well placed for several beaches and we spent some great days at Sidmouth, Branscombe and Lyme Regis.




Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was absolutely perfect, as always, and we had a wonderful time. Coming again next year. What more can I say to get to the 100 words!



The perfect wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this venue for our wedding, staying the long weekend in the main house with our family. The venue is beautiful, the house facilities were great for 17 people with room to spare. Jayne, House Manager was more than helpful throughout the whole process of planning to the day of the event. We thoroughly enjoyed our special day and our stay at Cadhay and would eagerly recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect wedding venue.



Fabulous House

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Cadhay for a 60th birthday weekend postponed from the previous year and we were really looking forward to celebrating together. We were not disappointed the house and grounds were just lovely, an absolute joy. My friend was so moved she was almost in tears when she saw the house and her room. Everything was perfect, beautifully made beds with fluffy towels in all the rooms. Even with 17 people in the house we never ran out of hot water. The kitchen was large and well equipped, with plenty of fridges to store food and drink. It just felt like a lovely home (albeit a very large one) and everyone really enjoyed being there.
I was also really impressed with the way we were looked after from when we first booked the house right up to when we left. Jayne and team were really brilliant.




June wedding

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing 3 night stay at Cadhay to celebrate our wedding. From the planning stage through to completion of the occasion the whole process was very straightforward. Jane and Rupert are readily available to show you round the beautiful property and promptly answer queries by phone or email.
Jane and Rupert are friendly and very happy for Cadhay to be fully enjoyed by all that stay.
The rooms are beautifully restored and furnished both with original fixtures and fittings which blend well with Rupert’s creative designs.
The kitchen is well stocked. The aga is warm and welcoming. Wood is supplied for the open fires to provide a very homely atmosphere in a historical property. On arrival home baked cakes were waiting for us and beautiful floral displays in several rooms were much appreciated extras and show how Jane and Rupert go the extra mile to welcome guests.
The gardens and lakes are stunning and incredibly well maintained. Residents are not excluded from enjoying all outside areas. A croquet set is provided to use on the lawn.
The place is picture perfect which makes it a truly wonderful wedding venue. However it is not exclusively used for weddings.
We hired the barn, which we were allowed to decorate as we wished. Canapés were served in the garden which made it very atmospheric and a truly special and memorable occasion.
Our guests were blown away by this incredible venue and some are looking to book the house for family celebrations.




A perfect wedding location.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house, the grounds and the rest of the buildings were so lovely. We really did have the best weekend of our lives, it was like a dream. The owner and support staff were all so helpful and fixed any issues really fast. Highly recommended.



Amazing venue, beautiful house

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful experience celebrating our wedding at Cadhay. The house and grounds are beautiful and we really enjoyed having the house for the weekend. Cadhay was perfect for us in that it had space for both the ceremony and the reception within its grounds. Our guests really enjoyed attending the ceremony by the Bothy, sitting outside the Old Apple Store socialising in the evening, exploring the beautiful gardens and playing croquet on Sunday.

The guests that stayed in Cadhay house felt that the house is very well provisioned, the dining rooms perfect for everyone to sit around the table. We are all really impressed that for such an old house, the kitchen and bathroom facilities are really modern and the rooms are all very spacious and comfortable. It felt like such a privilege to stay at such a historic house.

Many thanks to Rupert, Jayne and the team for their support in the run up to the wedding and over the weekend.




Family Break

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family break at Cadhey. It was perfect for our mixed age group. The grounds are absolutely stunning. We hope to return very soon!



Best holiday ever!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a brilliant stay at Cadhay. From playing croquet and cricket with the children on the lawn to exploring nearby beaches, it made for a magical holiday that has created memories that will last a lifetime. Beautiful gardens, stunning views and perfect accommodation for our large group of family and friends...best holiday ever!



Celebration stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
16 of family had a wonderful stay at Cadhay. Every comfort and so much history to enjoy. We shall revisit.



A wonderful house

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our eleventh stay at Cadhay, which is testament to how much we love it! It is a wonderful house - beautiful and historic, yet also comfortable and cosy - and it is always impeccably clean and welcoming. We would recommend it unreservedly.



What a magical place to stay for a family celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just been back to Cadhay for a weekend celebrating another 80th birthday with all our family.
It is a magical place to stay, plenty of space for everyone. Each room has its own special atmosphere. Grandchildren love the stylish bedrooms.
The welcome is warm, the grounds are lovely.
All the family want to go back again. It is their No.1 choice from all the places they have ever stayed.




Birthday weekend at Cadhay on a windy November

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second trip to Cadhay . For a combined birthday weekend . There were 21 of us - the age range 1- 89 ! The pre preparation was as excellent as ever with lots of helpful contact from Jayne and her team . Rupert, the owner, greeted us on arrival for a very useful tour of the house. As charming and welcoming as ever. The whole weekend was superb. Brilliant accommodation with loads of bathrooms. Grand rooms through to attic bedrooms for the younger members. Log fires, stunning dining room and plenty of atmosphere. Cadhay has everything you could need for a weekend. Coupled with a great location, brilliant team working on the estate and a welcoming owner who very much leaves you to it- but is there if needed. Thankyou Cadhay !



To celebrate with my 94 year old mother who lived there during the war.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cadhay performed beautifully ❤️ The weather also turned out to be perfect which was unexpected for end October/early November. Like Camelot, the rain came in bucket loads at night leaving fabulous floods in the surrounding areas that soaked away during the day. The house was warm and perfect. Fresh flowers, beautifully clean and everything provided. The memories we have made will be long lasting - especially meals in the spectacular dining room and the evening games in the sitting rooms.
Cadhay is in a great area with lots to discover, easy shopping, long walks and The Pig nearby. I cannot recommend it mote highly.




A fantastically good place for a break

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 22 of us from Bristol, a walking group that has grown old with the years. Cadhay was perfect: beautiful inside and out; lovely gardens and a memorable Head gardener who told us tales of fetes and shoots; beautiful furniture, some made by the owner, Rupert Thistlethwayte; lovely pictures and artefacts; stunning flower arrangements; hot water everywhere; an Aga to wake us up gently; interesting newsletters; a great dining table that accommodated 22 at the same time; comfortable beds; luxurious bedrooms; wonderful pictures everywhere, a silver store to dazzle the eyes... AND best of all the attitude of the owner, Rupert who is self-effacing, modest, quiet, under-stated. He even asked if he could enter his own house as he regarded us as "owners " for our stay; and Jayne Cowell, the mots helpful and patient and co-operative of manages who made it such a pleasure to plan for this event... the superlatives run out quickly!



Superb Tudor Manor House

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a weeks stay at Cadhay House for a family get together and had a throughly good time. The house was beautiful and well presented. Highly recommended.



a special place

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are glad we found Cadhay because it is perfect for our needs and has a lot of character. We have got to know the gardener well over the years which is part of the attraction.



A beautiful house, brought together with love and attention

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time, our second visit and we have already booked for a third. We loved watching the kingfishers, in the quiet garden. Jayne, Rupert and the team were exceptional and answered our questions even whilst we were there. A couple of the sofas swallowed us, another light in the gaming room would help, but we really loved it!



Jayne at Cadhay replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you had a fabulous time at Cadhay. On your next visit we'll show you the secret switch in the Roof chamber so you have more light for playing your games. Being swallowed by a sofa does sound quite snuggly but once we know which ones are a bit too soft we'll arrange for a bit more stuffing/plumping to be done before your next visit.

Could not have asked for a better wedding location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here and had our wedding over a June weekend in 2021. From the moment we first visited and met Jayne we knew that not only was this the perfect wedding venue for us but that we would be well looked after and accommodated by Jayne, Rupert and their garden and house teams.

In spite of a pandemic, we were always welcomed and accommodated in our contact and visits. The house is fantastic and well suited to large gatherings, whatever their nature. Neither us nor our guests felt anything was missing from the house itself and, along with the grounds, provided a spacious and relaxed atmosphere. Throughout our time at Cadhay we felt like it was ours to use as we wished, never that we were intruding on someone else’s house! The house is well maintained and equipped and filled with some beautiful furniture and finishings, particularly those made by Rupert.

For our wedding itself, Jayne was invaluable for her knowledge and proactive approach to the ever changing and uncertain rules which we needed to adapt to and we will be forever grateful for the help of Rupert and herself.

We look forward to hopefully returning in future years and know that we will be given the same warm welcome.




Heavenly

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a place of peace and beauty. We have been before and will go again. The whole family loves it.



DIY wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The House and gardens were magical and the staff could not have been more helpful. We loved every moment.



A delightful stay in East Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a group of 11 friends originally destined to go to Greece, however, that got cancelled due to Covid and so I set out to find a staycation to accommodate all of us. What a find!

Cadhay House is simply beautiful..It was grand without being enormous, with comfortable sitting rooms, of which there were several, and very comfortable bedrooms, all en-suite. They had even provided separate kitchens and lounges to accommodate the 'rule of six' thus providing large outside get-together areas for us all to congregate.

The house is steeped in family history, and the owner of the property was able to fill us 'in' with the bygone era of family life. It even has it's own museum. A must to see!

The Gardens were also delightful. So pretty, with flowered walk-ways, various ponds and super Flora and Forna specimens. Not forgetting the stunning views...

We all loved it so much, that we are planning a return next year.




Jayne from Cadhay replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased we made up for not making it to Greece and will look forward to welcoming you back next year.