FB Twitter

Cadhay House

Cadhay House

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Cadhay is a truly magical place to stay for a remarkable and unique self-catering holiday for groups of family and friends. Though the Tudor manor exudes the history and grandeur of centuries past it is far from a museum. Cadhay is located in Ottery St Mary and has been beautifully restored and offers modern comforts. It is a house where you can live comfortably and confidently in the rural East Devon countryside, the past all around you, yet still very much in touch with the modern world of today.

The large Manor House dates back to the 16th Century and its history and appeal are clear to see. In recent years Cadhay has been transformed into a house used for weddings, holidays, family gatherings and for groups wanting a large house to stay in together.

There are a total of 12 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms/shower rooms throughout the large house which will comfortably sleep 22. This makes us ideal for large groups wanting luxurious accommodation in the heart of East Devon.

What a magical place to stay for a family celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just been back to Cadhay for a weekend celebrating another 80th birthday with all our family.
It is a magical place to stay, plenty of space for everyone. Each room has its own special atmosphere. Grandchildren love the stylish bedrooms.
The welcome is warm, the grounds are lovely.
All the family want to go back again. It is their No.1 choice from all the places they have ever stayed.




Birthday weekend at Cadhay on a windy November

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second trip to Cadhay . For a combined birthday weekend . There were 21 of us - the age range 1- 89 ! The pre preparation was as excellent as ever with lots of helpful contact from Jayne and her team . Rupert, the owner, greeted us on arrival for a very useful tour of the house. As charming and welcoming as ever. The whole weekend was superb. Brilliant accommodation with loads of bathrooms. Grand rooms through to attic bedrooms for the younger members. Log fires, stunning dining room and plenty of atmosphere. Cadhay has everything you could need for a weekend. Coupled with a great location, brilliant team working on the estate and a welcoming owner who very much leaves you to it- but is there if needed. Thankyou Cadhay !



To celebrate with my 94 year old mother who lived there during the war.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cadhay performed beautifully ❤️ The weather also turned out to be perfect which was unexpected for end October/early November. Like Camelot, the rain came in bucket loads at night leaving fabulous floods in the surrounding areas that soaked away during the day. The house was warm and perfect. Fresh flowers, beautifully clean and everything provided. The memories we have made will be long lasting - especially meals in the spectacular dining room and the evening games in the sitting rooms.
Cadhay is in a great area with lots to discover, easy shopping, long walks and The Pig nearby. I cannot recommend it mote highly.




A fantastically good place for a break

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 22 of us from Bristol, a walking group that has grown old with the years. Cadhay was perfect: beautiful inside and out; lovely gardens and a memorable Head gardener who told us tales of fetes and shoots; beautiful furniture, some made by the owner, Rupert Thistlethwayte; lovely pictures and artefacts; stunning flower arrangements; hot water everywhere; an Aga to wake us up gently; interesting newsletters; a great dining table that accommodated 22 at the same time; comfortable beds; luxurious bedrooms; wonderful pictures everywhere, a silver store to dazzle the eyes... AND best of all the attitude of the owner, Rupert who is self-effacing, modest, quiet, under-stated. He even asked if he could enter his own house as he regarded us as "owners " for our stay; and Jayne Cowell, the mots helpful and patient and co-operative of manages who made it such a pleasure to plan for this event... the superlatives run out quickly!



Superb Tudor Manor House

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a weeks stay at Cadhay House for a family get together and had a throughly good time. The house was beautiful and well presented. Highly recommended.



a special place

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are glad we found Cadhay because it is perfect for our needs and has a lot of character. We have got to know the gardener well over the years which is part of the attraction.



A beautiful house, brought together with love and attention

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time, our second visit and we have already booked for a third. We loved watching the kingfishers, in the quiet garden. Jayne, Rupert and the team were exceptional and answered our questions even whilst we were there. A couple of the sofas swallowed us, another light in the gaming room would help, but we really loved it!



Jayne at Cadhay replied 162 days ago
We're so pleased you had a fabulous time at Cadhay. On your next visit we'll show you the secret switch in the Roof chamber so you have more light for playing your games. Being swallowed by a sofa does sound quite snuggly but once we know which ones are a bit too soft we'll arrange for a bit more stuffing/plumping to be done before your next visit.

Could not have asked for a better wedding location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here and had our wedding over a June weekend in 2021. From the moment we first visited and met Jayne we knew that not only was this the perfect wedding venue for us but that we would be well looked after and accommodated by Jayne, Rupert and their garden and house teams.

In spite of a pandemic, we were always welcomed and accommodated in our contact and visits. The house is fantastic and well suited to large gatherings, whatever their nature. Neither us nor our guests felt anything was missing from the house itself and, along with the grounds, provided a spacious and relaxed atmosphere. Throughout our time at Cadhay we felt like it was ours to use as we wished, never that we were intruding on someone else’s house! The house is well maintained and equipped and filled with some beautiful furniture and finishings, particularly those made by Rupert.

For our wedding itself, Jayne was invaluable for her knowledge and proactive approach to the ever changing and uncertain rules which we needed to adapt to and we will be forever grateful for the help of Rupert and herself.

We look forward to hopefully returning in future years and know that we will be given the same warm welcome.




Heavenly

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a place of peace and beauty. We have been before and will go again. The whole family loves it.



DIY wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The House and gardens were magical and the staff could not have been more helpful. We loved every moment.



A delightful stay in East Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a group of 11 friends originally destined to go to Greece, however, that got cancelled due to Covid and so I set out to find a staycation to accommodate all of us. What a find!

Cadhay House is simply beautiful..It was grand without being enormous, with comfortable sitting rooms, of which there were several, and very comfortable bedrooms, all en-suite. They had even provided separate kitchens and lounges to accommodate the 'rule of six' thus providing large outside get-together areas for us all to congregate.

The house is steeped in family history, and the owner of the property was able to fill us 'in' with the bygone era of family life. It even has it's own museum. A must to see!

The Gardens were also delightful. So pretty, with flowered walk-ways, various ponds and super Flora and Forna specimens. Not forgetting the stunning views...

We all loved it so much, that we are planning a return next year.




Jayne from Cadhay replied 162 days ago
We're so pleased we made up for not making it to Greece and will look forward to welcoming you back next year.