FB Twitter

The Pig Pen

The Pig Pen

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


A beautiful detached bijou, professionally interior designed holiday let.

Offering luxury without compromising on the home comforts . The kitchen includes a cooker , hob, dishwasher, microwave, fridge/ freezer and a log burner.

There is also a two person ( only ) hot tub , within its own private terrace , accessed from the bi- fold doors.

What a perfect stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I Cannot recommend this place enough. Such a high standard accommodation, decorated beautifully modern, yet charming. Had everything you needed with a complimentary basket of eggs bread etc on arrival.
Jayne is such a lovely lady and you can see the love she has for her business. Nothing is too much trouble. Set on a working farm in a lovely village with great pubs and people.
We stayed 2 nights and can only say it was perfect.




Lovely little stay

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent for everything, cleanliness, comfort, condition... Everything you needed for a break here is provided, hot tub, Very happy with our stay . Would return & recommend .



Amazing place

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pig pen was amazing. The interior was beautiful and cosy, especially with the log burner on!

The hot tub was perfect even when it was raining.

Jayne was very helpful, and was always available if we needed her!

10/10 experience :)




Book ASAP

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing break! The cottage exceeded expectations, was modern and immaculate throughout. The perfect getaway break for a few quiet days. Absolute bliss with the hot tub included too.




A much needed relaxing break.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pig pen is a beautifully quaint place to stay, perfectly sized for 2 people.

We had a lovely chilled weekend relaxing and especially enjoyed time chilling in the hot tub.

Everything was extremely clean and the pigpen had everything we needed for the weekend, we chose to cook for the weekend and the facilities were excellent.

Will definitely be back to stay again in the future.

Thank you for a lovely weekend :-)





Frankie says Relax :)

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was situated in a convenient and easy to find area in Betley, it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with contemporary decor and furnishings. We felt right at home from the start and got on famously with the host, Jayne and her family. We would highly recommend a stay at the pig pen and hope to return in the future:)



Mini Moon break

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely pleasant stay. It was spotless and a lovely little care package left of bread milk eggs etc. Communication was brilliant with an email in the lead up to our stay recommending local places to eat etc. Everyone is so polite and friendly. Looking forward to returning.



Mid week break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at the pig pen. The hot tub was lovely and the stay was just what the doctor ordered!




The Paradise Pig Pen

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not of found a more cosy place to spend our mini honeymoon, As soon as you enter the pig pen you feel warm and cosy, it is decorated to a high standard and have all modern yet traditional cottage facilities, there were gowns and slippers in the wardrobe which were a nice touch, the bed is huge too. Both Tv's are smart Tv's so if you want to switch off from the outside world like we did you can log into your prime account and watch movies.

The hot tub is suitable for 2 people only and is great whether day or night, the light looks really cool at night and the lights on the back wall make it all that more cosy. You can position the Tv in the livingroom to face the hot tub so you can watch a movie in style.

Jayne is a lovely host and provided us with some complimentary bread, butter, eggs and milk.

The cottage is kitted out with everything that you need to wind down and relax. If you do venture out please make sure you use the cones to save your car space for when you return.

We will definately be back and highly recommend.

Thank you Jayne and family for an amazing break :-) x





A tranquil, stunning Pig Pen, for a very relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having a weekend away from it all without going too far can sometimes feel ....... too near, but this was perfect.
the Pig Pen is stunning, and decorated so beautifully. I spent so much day dreaming time redecorating our home and planning a big declutter at home !
They had everything we could have needed, and more.
Highly recommend the tea for two, which was waiting for us when we arrived, ideal, and so very tasty, we were still eating cakes on our third day !
The hot tub was amazing, and a lovely treat each evening, whilst watching the tv.
Cant wait to stay again, and have recommended to many many friends.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, you really have a lovely place.

Bethan & Rich




Excellent Get Away

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent a lovely few days on a solo visit to simply 'get away from it all', and boy did the Pig Pen achieve that. An excellently decorated and maintained place with all the mod cons you would expect, Pig Pen is simply wonderful, peaceful and just right for recharging the batteries.
Owners that are there in case you need them, but leave you to your own devises. The bread, butter, milk and water was an added bonus upon arrival after terrible traffic!
Spent much time in the Hot Tub between the showers, fabulous local pubs serving great food, and much to do further afield if you wish.
Would definitely stay again and recommend.




Excellent - we'll be back!

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't fault The Pig Pen, the whole stay was first class. We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we pulled into the courtyard to the morning we left. The standard of the cottage was excellent from the quality of the furniture to the fitted kitchen. The ensuite shower room with the large walk in shower was lovely. The village of Betley was so nice with a couple of pubs within a few minutes walk and at the time we were there all of the bunting and decorations were up for the Coronation. I'd like to think we'll be back at some point. If I could give 11/10 I would, made our 30th wedding anniversary so special.



Beautiful short break

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bought as Christmas gift for my son ands his partner they had a fabulous stay in a beautiful cottage with picturesque surroundings. The host met at property she was very friendly and the cottage and hot tub very clean 5 star review from us



Beautiful stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cleanliness, location, attention to detail, customer service all spot on. My partner and I stayed for two nights and loved every minute of it, we didn’t want to leave! The hot tub was spotless and well maintained. Jayne was very accommodating. We can't wait to return!

Thank you Jayne for providing such a beautiful place!

Mia x




The perfect romantic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pig Pen was a wonderful stay, decorated beautiful and set in a private area not to far from home but far enough to enjoy some time off work to celebrate my partners birthday. A couple of pubs down the road so finding places to eat and drink was no problem. The Pig Pen is a beautifully renovated cottage with all the amenities you’d need from your own basket of eggs to a relaxing hot tub , which is a perfect way to end the day . Tea room was delightful offering full English breakfast and an array of treats . All in all , a wonderful staycation and we wish we could stay long. Thank you to the wonderful host , who checked in on us everyday to make sure everything was perfect . We really appreciate your hard work ! Hope to come again soon.



A wonderfully modern, yet beautifully quaint, holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a weekend for my Fianceé's 30th Birthday. We had a lovely stay, the interior of this cottage is beautifully done. The facilities provided are excellent and leave you wanting for nothing.
We felt right at home and loved every minute of our stay.

The surrounding area is peaceful and we had two lovely evening meals at the local Pubs and Restaurants.

We will return!




OMG! This place is amazing! The pig pen is gorgeous!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in between Christmas and New Year for 2 nights, we just wanted somewhere quiet to relax and not too far from home.
What can I say the Pig Pen is amazing, it's been refurbished to a very high standard, the decor is gorgeous, the bed was super comfortable. Jayne was in touch as soon as I booked to let us know about the local pubs and restaurants etc, and she's thought of everything you could ever need for a few nights away. We had a little hamper with milk, eggs and bread etc, we did also have the Afternoon Tea which was waiting for us when we arrived and that was lovely and great value for money.
There are toiletries in the en suite, Bathrobes and slippers to use for when getting in and out of the Hot Tub, which was great, nice and relaxing. There is even a torch which we used to walk to the local pub for an evening meal! The meal at The Crown was very nice and would highly recommend.
There was even a little Christmas tree and decorations! A blanket if you got cold! Jayne has thought of everything you could ever need and she's just so lovely.
We had such a relaxing time, it's so quiet, we really enjoyed and will definitely return. Thanks Jayne




Amazing new year stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation was outstanding! The cleanliness, location, attention to detail, customer service all spot on. My partner and I stayed for two nights and we fell in love with this little beauty and didn’t want to leave! The hot tub was spotless and well maintained. Jayne was very accommodating. We will return.



Problem with shower

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed staying at the Pig Pen, particularly the hot tub. But we had a major problem with the shower. The water from it was dangerously hot and we were unable to turn the temperature down. We told the owner but unfortunately nothing was gone to rectify this during our stay. We even considered leaving but instead managed without using the shower. As the apartment doesn’t have a bath this want easy.




Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect, cosy little weekend away.
very clean, everything you could need from milk in the fridge to robes and blankets.
Jayne the host was lovely and helpful

We will be back again.
thank you :)




Just perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked here to relax and unwind from the daily stress and fuss of life! It was perfect we really did enjoy our two nights so peaceful and quiet, lovely little private hot tub and everything you need in a fully equipped cottage, spotlessly clean and a roaring log burner to top it off! We will definitely be escaping here again.




Excellent all round stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I begin, from the beginning of our stay until the end do not have a bad word to say about it . Beautiful well maintained and immaculately clean cottage on this working farm, lovely little welcome pack provided with fresh produce, Jane couldn’t have been more accommodating, so much so we have booked to go again for bonfire weekend for the display before we even left . Hot tub was an added bonus and the cakes in the tea shop were fab. Thank you so much for your help and hospitality.



Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent hosts, very helpful and ensured facilities and provisions were immaculate upon our arrival.



Vickers family

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, very spacious, very beautiful, would recommend to family and friends, that’s for having us.