FB Twitter

Acorn Cottage

Acorn Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 55 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Acorn Cottage at Oaks Lane Farm, is situated on the edge of the Peak District, 5 miles south west of Chesterfield.

This enchanting and fully modernised, self-catering cottage sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms and bathroom with bathtub upstairs and has the added benefit of a downstairs shower/ WC. Acorn Cottage is dog-friendly and offers a great base for families visiting the Peak District or a convenient rendezvous point to meet friends and family.

Why not take a farm tour, get involved with the animals, meet the donkeys and goats, or enjoy the farm produce! Acorn Cottage is ideal for a self-catering family holiday at any time of the year!

A special, peaceful and relaxing place.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Acorn Cottage for many years. It is so peaceful and relaxing. The location is ideal in that it offers both seclusion and is within a short distance from amazing places such as Chatsworth and Haddon Hall. Bakewell is only a short drive away for shopping. Eating out is not a problem either with lots of nearby choices.

If you love being among nature you will love your time here. It offers beautiful woodland and many footpaths and ancient tracks.
I always return home feeling reenergised. I find I actually get a decent nights sleep here too which is an achievement.

Veronica and Jo make it their mission to help you get the most from your stay. They are never intrusive but always available if needed. They are very generous in sharing this special place with visitors. Home baked bread and honey goes down well too!


.




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotless, welcoming, everything you need and want. Quiet. Gorgeous garden. On good bus route at end of the road so we used public transport as soooo cheap. Highly recommend the open top bus tours. Already missing the curlews and donkeys. Lovely hosts, and great welcome pack, especially home made bread. Deffo hope to be back soon.



Great location for exploring Derbyshire

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage for peaceful stay in the Derbyshire Dale's. Veronica and Jo have thought of everything when setting up the cottage and are on hand if you need them but leave you to it if you don't. Very clean and comfortable. Great little garden for quiet relaxation with just the birdsong to keep you company.



A perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent another wonderful week at Acorn Cottage. The accommodation is perfect and the garden is wonderful. It is the most relaxing place in lovely surroundings and with loads to see and do in the area. V and J also let you meet their beautiful goats, donkeys and piggies. We shall be back.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family we have travelled to and stayed in many holiday rentals.
Acorn cottage is one that will always be up there as one of our favourites.
On arrival you could instantly see this was a well looked after cottage, a beautiful garden ( enclosed part for private use also) and spacious drive.
Once inside it continued to impress, a nice sized sun lounge, with ample space to hang coats and a rack for shoes.
Off this room is the shower room, a spacious super powerful shower ( wow, enough to make our 2 sons want a shower every day).
The kitchen diner was big and well equipped, with a good sized fridge freezer, great if you want to get all your weeks groceries in one go.
A comfortable lounge with wood burner, we didn't need it as Acorn cottage was warm enough without it.
Two comfortable bedrooms with lots of space and storage, the twin beds are not next to each other, so our sons felt they had their own part of the room with their own space.
The bathroom had a delightfully deep bath, perfect for soaking in after a hike over the hills.
WIFI was ample to support 4+devices
THE IMPORTANT PART OF THE REVEIEW.
Acorn cottage was spotlessly clean,and very comfortable.
Veronica and Jo were perfect hosts unobtrusive but there on call should you need to ask anything.
Also leaving us a delicious welcome package.
Thank you so very much




Magical place.

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in the most tranquil surroundings cows, sheep to meet us as we approach the chocolate box cottage. The outside was amazing with lovely well kept gardens, great driveway and fenced off area for our two pups. Inside the cottage it is so well equipped Extra special touches for dogs ( bowls, beds, blankets, towels to wipe the paws after a good trek around the countryside. Great WiFi signal to keep up to date with the outside world if needed. Veronica & Jo are the nicest host ever and nothing was to much when asked anything . Peaceful place to rest up and relax. Short drive to surrounding towns also Tesco delivery was no problem and on time. Left yesterday booked again for next year straight away. I recommend booking see the magic for yourself including Veronica & Jo’s farm.



Another lovely week staying in Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay. Acorn Cottage is a quiet, well equipped cottage, located in the countryside, with many nearby attractions and delightful countryside walks. Very dog friendly and large windows from which our dog enjoyed watching the birds in the trees opposite. The hosts live on site and are very helpful and approachable. The homemade bread, eggs, honey, sausages and milk provided were most welcome.



Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my third visit to Acorn cottage and I will be back! The location is quiet and rural but close enough to town for shopping. The cottage has been thoughtfully converted and has everything you need and the beds are really comfortable! The garden is secure, so Sidney the dog couldn't escape. The welcome pack was a really thoughtful addition, and typical of the owners, who made sure we knew they were there if we needed anything but were in no way intrusive. Can't recommend Acorn cottage highly enough.



Beautiful cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect for our stay at Acorn cottage, from the first contact with Veronica right to the leaving day.
Veronica even bought some dog meat for our cocker spaniel so he could have his dinner when we arrived!
There was a lovely welcome pack, eggs sausages milk tea coffee fresh bread etc.
The cottage is in a beautiful part of Derbyshire, close to chesterfield where we have family but far enough to help us to relax.
Everything about the cottage was exactly as described on the website. It really is a cosy place, centrally heated, plenty of hot water and a bit of a tardis. We were 3 but it could accommodate more.
There is an enclosed garden too.
It is very well equipped, with comfortable beds and settees, thick soft towels and a well equipped kitchen. The boot room was great as we had wet weather and with our dog, it was good to dry off in there before going into the kitchen.
Very dog friendly with a dog bed and bowl in case you forget your own, and dog throws for the settees.
There is a friendly pub (dog friendly) 5 minutes walk away if you don’t fancy driving.
We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Acorn cottage and if we come back to the area we would definitely love to stay again.
Thank you Veronica for your great hospitality.




A wonderful week at Acorn Cottage in June'23.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week at Acorn Cottage. Home produce welcomed us and was so good we took home loads of sausages and eggs! The cottage is lovely and spacious with everything one needs, plus a fabulous private garden providing views, trees, birds, and the occasional squirrel. Veronica and Jo introduced us to their beautiful goats, donkeys, and pigs. Thank you both for a lovely time - so relaxing. We hope to return!



Fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a very pretty area with easy access to a number of places to visit. Owners were super helpful when we had to change our booking at late notice.

Really well equipped kitchen and big super sized towels.




Best place ever to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, very clean and well equipped. Fabulous location for exploring the Derbyshire area.
The dogs were made to feel welcome too.
I've lost count of how many times we've been to Acorn Cottage over the years but we'd go again and again.
Such a welcome on arrival.
Gorgeous welcome pack too.




Acorn Cottage is full of character and equipped to a very high standard

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn Cottage is a perfect base from which to explore the Peak District, full of character and equipped to a very high standard, with very welcoming hosts.



Acorn cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners were very welcoming and made us feel immediately at home. Everything we could possibly need was available and the appliances were all modern and easy to use



Peaceful farm sanctuary with adventurous days out in easy reach!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you, Veronica & Jo for a wonderful stay in the beautiful sanctuary of Acorn Cottage, Ashover. We loved the farm, and all the fun adventures we had in the area. We hope to be back!



Great week in deepest Derbyshire

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Acorn Cottage to revisit some of our favourite places and meet up with friends.

The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed the garden room on days when the weather was not so kind. The cottage is surrounded by wonderful gardens and was tucked away down quiet lanes.

At the same time it was only minutes away from Ashover with its range of pubs and 15 minutes from the Peak Park, with Chatsworth, Haddon (our favourite) , Bakewell and Matlock within easy reach.

There are walks from the house and plenty more in the Peaks.

Hosts Veronica and Jo were extremely good hosts - they’re when needed.

We had a very good week and hope to return.




A great staycation

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn Cottage was super clean and had a good quality of bed linen/towels.

A lot of careful thought has gone into providing everything that guests need and we enjoyed sampling the delicious farm produce (we couldn't resist buying extra to bring home).

Waking up in the pretty, peaceful setting, to the amazing sound of birdsong, was very relaxing and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to family and friends.

A big thank you to Jo and Veronica for making us feel very welcome.







Excellent all round

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage with easy access,car parking and a private garden( for better weather than we had!) We were made very welcome by Veronica and Jo and greeted with a starter pack of homemade bread, milk, bacon eggs and sausages! The cottage was immaculate and everything we needed had been thought of, even down to throws for use in the lounge. Our second visit and we will return.



A lovely break away

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jan 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Acorn Cottage, the accommodation was lovely and in a good location for our needs. We were welcomed with homemade bread, jam and honey as well as sausages and bacon from the farm - such a special treat! We’ll recommend Acorn Cottage to friends and family and would love to stay again ourselves.



Excellent weekend: thankyou

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend in this well equipped and comfortable cottage. A lot of thought has been put in to consider the extras that make the stay that little bit more relaxing. The homemade bread, jam and honey were a welcome treat



Acorn Cottage Christmas break

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing holiday at Acorn Cottage. Cottage is perfect and very well equipped. Host’s Jo and Veronica are perfect hosts and very welcoming. The complimentary Bacon, Sausage and Eggs were delicious.
We had stayed at Acorn Cottage in the Spring/Summer last year and had the best holiday. It was nice to see the cottage in a different seasonal setting; staying in the winter the cottage had not lost its charms.
Definitely will be back.




Another fantastic stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous stay at Acorn Cottage. When visiting the Peak District my daughter and her family have been staying here for almost 10 years and invited me last year.
Fabulous warm welcome on arrival, with fresh bread, eggs, homemade jam, honey and milk waiting in the cottage.
It is immaculately clean and very comfortable, feels just like home. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need.
Very dog friendly with beautiful walks from the doorstep.
Veronica and Jo are fantastic hosts and literally nothing is too much trouble.
Cannot wait to return next year.




Relaxing half term break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super cottage, lots of lovely walks from the door as well as being well located to visit the main sites of the Peaks. Accommodation is spacious and the cottage has been thoughtfully designed and is very well equipped. Garden is very pretty and fully enclosed for our 2 small dogs. Jo and Veronica are great hosts we felt very spoilt with the homemade bread, jam and honey as well as sausages and bacon in the welcome pack! We would not hesitate to recommend and hope to return in the future.



Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Acorn Cottage with Veronica and Jo being the perfect hosts. The Cottage was extremely clean and had everything you could possibly need for a comfy stay. It was a lovely welcome to find freshly baked bread, jam,honey and milk.The Cottage was very well equipped and even had dishwasher tabs and washing powder, they even provided a sewing kit for emergencies.
It would be a wonderful place for children with all the friendly animals.
The Cottage had great access to lots of brilliant attractions and the wonderful Derbyshire countryside and even had a nice pub at the end of the lane which served lovely food.




Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay and it will not be our last. Beautiful comfy peaceful cottage, stunning scenery. Fully equipped, warm and cosy. Owners are on site but only there if you need them do it is extremely private. Well situated for Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall. Highly recommend.



Always excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another most enjoyable stay at Acorn Cottage. Lovely location and everything we would wish for in the cottage. Good weather was a bonus, and we love the donkeys!



A home from home.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on Sat 3rd Sept, this was our 3rd visit and it was lovely to get there, as usual the cottage was spotless. Having been before it was easy to get sorted and start relaxing. The lawn was quite lush. Also we went to see some of the animals on the farm and we had fresh eggs from the farms hens. Great hosts very helpful and cheerful. Thank you Veronica & Jo.



We can't wait to come back next year

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Acorn Cottage and it is a home from home.
Jo and Veronica are exceptional hosts and ensured everything was in place for us to begin our holiday. The cottage was emmaculately clean, very comfortable and equipped with everything one could need. The enclosed garden is ideal for small children and a relaxing area for adults.
Homemade bread, preserves and eggs from the farms hens were left for us and were delicious.
The cottage is situated in beautiful countryside with lovely walks on the doorstep and close to many interesting places to visit for all ages.
We will definateky be returning next year.




Acorn Cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic holiday cottage in a lovely area. Plenty to see and do within a 30 minutes drive. Would recommend



lovely cottage and owners

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Acorn cottage so much like it is our own home in the UK. Very rural and easy acces. Splendidly clean and provided with clean towels and even toilietpaper. We love Veronica and Jo to. They are always willing to help or provide us with anything. We hope that we will be visiting Acorn cottage another 10 years with our border collie dogs.



Another perfect stay at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love it at Acorn Cottage.
Veronica and Jo are lovely and so helpful. We love the cottage and the peaceful location. We have already booked for next year which will make it our tenth year!
I think that says it all.




Derbyshire home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Acorn Cottage was an absolute delight. Veronica and Jo thought of everything to make our stay comfortable.
One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in.




A lovely relaxing Cottage with everything you need to enjoy a hassle free holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We did so enjoy our week at Acorn cottage and settled in almost immediately . The very pleasant owners Veronica and Jo have gone to great lengths to ensure the comfort of their guests with brilliant attention to detail and thoughtfulness including towels and accessories for the dog. It was good to have a gas hob on the oven and all equipment was easy to use.Our Border Collie appreciated the enclosed lovely garden and walks from the door. There is so much to see in the area and the week passed by very quickly. We were glad of the log fire on one chilly evening. The cottage though is lovely and warm and plenty of hot water is appreciated with radiators to dry wet towels. The beds were so comfortable and we slept well each night. Sainsburys at Matlock has everything you could need and the house fridge and freezer was a good size which we found very useful.
Thoroughly recommend this cottage one of the best we have stayed in.




Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to send a review, we really appreciate the feedback. Have a wonderful summer!

Lovely Derbyshire break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come back to lovely Derbyshire every Spring and this cottage is a little gem. Nothing more to say.



A beautiful little cottage with everything you need, in a beautiful part of the country.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Acorn Cottage. When we arrived it was spotlessly clean, and had everything we needed inside, including some fresh eggs, honey and bread from the farm, which was much appreciated. The cottage itself was in a lovely location, very secluded with a lovely private garden, which was so peaceful. The kids loved looking round the farm with our hosts Jo and Veronica, especially petting the 1 day old lamb, the baby goats, and taking the donkey's home to bed. Will be recommending the cottage to others.



Wonderful family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay at Acorn Cottage as a family of 4. We had a complete mixture of weather, started off with bright sunshine and by the end of the week we had snow and sleet - it didn’t stop our fun though! We spent time exploring the local National Trust properties, went to soft play, went up the Heights of Abraham and went to Cromford for a brilliant afternoon tea. Veronica and Jo were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They took us around the farm to see all the animals which was wonderful, our children loved seeing the lambs and kids as did we. Acorn Cottage was a brilliant base for us to explore from and it was nice to have some quiet days in the cottage before heading out. We’d definitely recommend it and will hopefully be returning in the coming years with the children. Our daughter said it was the “best holiday house ever” and spent the majority of our drive home saying she didn’t want to go home!



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your family holiday at Acorn Cottage. Meeting newborn lambs is extra special at this time of year!.

Perfect break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to such a warm welcome from the hosts. There was milk in the fridge and fresh bread on the table.
The cottage was immaculately clean.
After long walks in unpredictable weather it was perfect to return to the cottage and light the wood burner, everything we needed was provided (and extra wood!)
The cottage is in an idyllic location , so peaceful, but also close enough to various attractions.
We would highly recommend a stay here.
Can’t wait to return!




Jo Ferguson replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you had a great time despite the stormy weather.

A great break

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First rate in every respect - we were in serious need of rest & recuperation after Storm Arwen 10-day power cut...
Stunning location with great walks; the cottage is extremely comfortable & well-appointed, without being in the slightest 'overdone'.
Veronica & Jo could not have been more welcoming and accommodating - thank you both again.




Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth time visiting acorn cottage and we just love it..just the most relaxing place to visit and one of the cleanest, well equipped holiday homes we have ever stayed in....the owners take pride in their cottage and try to make guests as welcome and comfortable as possible with lovely little touches such as fresh eggs, biscuits, tea, coffee and fresh milk on arrival..there are also towels, shower gel, shampoo etc in the bedrooms.. all lovely touches and very much appreciated! Bakewell, matlock, chatsworth etc are all near by and fantastic places to visit..also there is chesterfield with a cinema etc..plenty to keep you occupied..The night-time walk from the cottage down the country lanes with torches to the local pub is also a must!.. we love Derbyshire and especially acorn cottage..can't wait to visit again.



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
It sounds like Acorn Cottage has really struck a chord with you and we’re delighted it’s so special for you. we look forward to seeing you again.

A great place to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxed few days at Acorn Cottage, just what we wanted.

We loved popping into Ashover and having coffee at Stamp Cafe, and stocking up on food at the village store. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the beautiful gardens at the cottage, and being able to see the sheep and goats.

Acorn Cottage had everything we needed, was well appointed, warm and cosy. It is tastefully decorated and homely. A lot of thought has gone into making the cottage welcoming and comfortable. We appreciated the bread, jam, honey and eggs waiting for us on our arrival.

It was great to be able to see the sheep, goats and donkeys.

Big thanks to Jo and Veronica for creating a wonderful haven.




Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A lovely, peaceful cottage in the heart of Derbyshire.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dog-friendly Acorn Cottage is a very comfortable, cosy cottage in a delightful, peaceful location, yet within a few miles of the most wonderful countryside and places of interest. It is well equipped and well maintained and, though we were there in the autumn, when the log burner was most welcome, it would be equally delightful earlier in the year, when one could use its private, self-contained garden and patio.
Jo and Veronica provide a warm welcome and are always concerned that your holiday will run smoothly.




Acorn cottage A real treat

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time at the cottage and it was just as we remembered it, From the initial welcome with freshly baked bread, freshly laid eggs and Jam and Honey to the stunningly clean cottage,this truly is a home from home. As a base for the Peaks everything is very central to all the main areas and the village of Ashover a short walk away has four great pubs to enjoy.

The peace and quiet whilst being so close to everything will mean well definitely be back




Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
It was so good to see you back. Thanks for your feedback. Cleanliness and a warm welcome are at the top of our agenda so thanks for recognising that. Hope to see you again.

Great stay in the Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rural location, good access into the Dales, good local walks and great places to visit within easy access by car. The cottage and grounds was in excellent conditions with everything needed for a holiday. All appliances you need for a short or longer stay. Fully heated for the colder months and a lovely log burner which generated so much warmth. I found the double bed a little hard, but my partner found it very comfortable, personal choice. Our dog was warmly welcomed too. The hosts were great, a lovely welcome pack with some fresh, bread, eggs, jam & honey all from the farm. We found the app the hosts provided very useful, very informative and extremely useful. A lovely country pub at the end of the lane and 3 more in the village nearby.. perfect break, beautiful area.. fully recommended.



Peaceful, Restful, Beautiful.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At last after two cancellations due to COVID we arrived. It was certainly worth the wait. Acorn cottage is in a beautiful location, spotless clean, everything you could possibly need for a perfect restful week. Jo and Veronica are perfect hosts, there when you need them. Do take time for a tour round their farm, you must meet Barney and Pumpkin their Donkeys. Booked for a return longer visit next year. Can’t wait.



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
It was so good to welcome you at last to Acorn Cottage and we look forward to seeing you again next September.

Wonderful cottage stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn Cottage is lovely cottage to stay in, secluded, quiet and in a nice area. Plenty of room and every thing you need for great a stay.
The owners are very welcoming and make your stay there as comfortable as possible and leave little treats, which is a lovely gesture. Even our little dog was welcome.
This was our second visit and have booked again for next year and looking forward to it.




Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
It’s always a pleasure to have you stay at Acorn Cottage. Take care and see you again next year x

A Derbyshire Treat.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A hidden gem in the heart of the Derbyshire countryside. Many local attractions within easy reach. Lots of walks right from the front door. Accommodation was great and Daisy (our Cocker Spaniel) didn't want to come home! Everything ticked all our boxes and we will be back again next year.



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
See you again in April 2022!

Lovely property with a bathroom upstairs & shower downstairs in a rural location with a nice garden.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at Acorn Cottage and would highly recommend it to our family & friends. Lots to do in surrounding area



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
We’re delighted you were able to pack so much in to your stay at Acorn Cottage

Fantastic relaxing holiday at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week here in the school summer holidays and it was great from start to finish. We were welcomed by a wonderful welcome pack of bread, milk, jam and eggs from the host's own chickens. We were given a lovely tour of the animals on the small holding and our 6 year old got to lead the donkeys.
Acorn Cottage's location is spot on, feeling like the middle of nowhere with lovely countryside walks from the doorstep, yet a few minutes drive from the main routes to local towns and a short walk to the local pub and village shops.
The accomodation itself is highly appointed, clean and comfortable with an amazing shower! It was great for our dog and kids with a secure garden.
We are already talking about returning again and we have only just arrived home! 10/10




Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you had a great time at Acorn Cottage - it means a lot to us that guests feel at home here!

An amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Acorn Cottage and as we were unable to visit in 2020 we were super excited about our visit and nothing disappointed. If possible my ratings would be 5+ as everything deserves this rating.
When we entered the cottage we were greeted by the smell of freshly baked bread as Veronica and Jo had kindly left a home baked loaf and home made blackcurrant jam for us together with some eggs from their own hens. What a treat.
The cottage is extremely comfortable with everything you need for a family stay and it is immaculately clean. The garden is very safe, enclosed and ideal for small children and my two year old grandson enjoyed time in there before and after our visits out..
The cottage is ideally placed for visiting the many places of interest in the area and for local walks and if asked Jo and Veronica are more than happy to suggest places to visit.
As on our previous visit Veronica and Jo were excellent hosts. They are very friendly and welcoming but not intrusive and we now feel as though we are visiting as friends.




Veronica Kemble & Jo Ferguson replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you all again, Henry has grown so much since we saw him before! So glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage!

Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed several holidays at Acorn Cottage over the years and have never been disappointed.
Excellent customer service (friendly and helpfull), cleanliness and comfort.
The cottage is located in a beautiful peacefull spot.
Its a credit to Veronica and Jo.




Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind remarks, it's always lovely to see you. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and safe cottage for our guests and know this means a lot to you. Until next year ...

A Derbyshire Delight

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn cottge is well located to explore both the North and South Peak District areas, without difficulty. It is situated in a rural setting of tree lined lanes and open fields, which make for excellent evening strolls after a day of exploring.The facilities are as advertised and generously equiped with everything to make a self catering holiday easy - just bring your clothes! The cottage is a tasteful barn conversion, located in a delightful courtyard surrounded by lush planting and plenty of easy parking right outside the door. It is spotless and well layed out for modern living. All rooms are well decorated and have plenty of space. Hot water is on demand and the shower is well pressured to deliver a good spray. There is also a separate bath, for soaking away aching limbs while someone else is in the shower! A very private garden is situated to the side of the cottge and is equiped with a tranquil seating area, suitable for relaxing outdoors. In addition to a cozy lounge with wood burner, the garden room on the side of the cottage is a great place to sit if the weather is not kind and is also a sensible place for wet coats/boots/dogs etc. Veronica and Jo are very warm, generous and attentive hosts and readily provide any guidance required, to ensure a fulfilling visit to the area. As well as tea, coffee and milk, we were delighted to find homemade bread and jam waiting for us and were also gifted eggs from their own chickens. It is a real Deryshire Delight!



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind words. We love sharing this beautiful area with our guests!

Two week holiday break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault accommodation, everything you need. Immaculate! Beautiful garden and surroundings. You will not be disappointed. Lovely welcome pack, fresh baked bread, homemade jam, fresh eggs and milk. Who could ask for more! Many thanks to Veronica and Jo.



Veronica Kemble replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your fortnight at Acorn Cottage.

Beautiful cottage and great attention to detail.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for a good few years, and really love it. It is very clean, beds very comfortable, shower very efficient and the cottage is in a beautiful setting. It is very well looked after and everything works as it should. The enclosed garden is fantastic for us and our small dogs. All great! Hosts work very hard to provide the best cottage rental we have ever stayed in.



Veronica Kemble replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you again and so glad you had such great weather.

Our Holiday in Derbyshire

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages in the UK and this is probably the best one. Location is good for visiting places such as Chatsworth, Bakewell, Buxton and Chesterfield. Clean, comfortable, spacious with helpful and friendly owners. What more could you ask for?



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you John and Sally for your kind comments. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage and hope to again in the future.

A Lovely stay at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jo & Veronica the owners of Acorn Cottage were so welcoming and helpful but not intrusive.A clean,Well equipped cosy cottage with a lovely enclosed garden in a good position for visiting the surrounding peak district which is stunning.We would highly recommend this cottage and we will book again .



Veronica Kemble replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Sue, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage and we’d love to see you both and your dogs again. Veronica and Jo