FB Twitter

Acorn Cottage

Acorn Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Acorn Cottage at Oaks Lane Farm, is situated on the edge of the Peak District, 5 miles south west of Chesterfield.

This enchanting and fully modernised, self-catering cottage sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms and bathroom with bathtub upstairs and has the added benefit of a downstairs shower/ WC. Acorn Cottage is dog-friendly and offers a great base for families visiting the Peak District or a convenient rendezvous point to meet friends and family.

Why not take a farm tour, get involved with the animals, meet the donkeys, or enjoy the farm produce! Acorn Cottage is ideal for a self-catering family holiday at any time of the year!

lovely cottage and owners

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Acorn cottage so much like it is our own home in the UK. Very rural and easy acces. Splendidly clean and provided with clean towels and even toilietpaper. We love Veronica and Jo to. They are always willing to help or provide us with anything. We hope that we will be visiting Acorn cottage another 10 years with our border collie dogs.



Another perfect stay at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love it at Acorn Cottage.
Veronica and Jo are lovely and so helpful. We love the cottage and the peaceful location. We have already booked for next year which will make it our tenth year!
I think that says it all.




Derbyshire home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Acorn Cottage was an absolute delight. Veronica and Jo thought of everything to make our stay comfortable.
One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in.




A lovely relaxing Cottage with everything you need to enjoy a hassle free holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We did so enjoy our week at Acorn cottage and settled in almost immediately . The very pleasant owners Veronica and Jo have gone to great lengths to ensure the comfort of their guests with brilliant attention to detail and thoughtfulness including towels and accessories for the dog. It was good to have a gas hob on the oven and all equipment was easy to use.Our Border Collie appreciated the enclosed lovely garden and walks from the door. There is so much to see in the area and the week passed by very quickly. We were glad of the log fire on one chilly evening. The cottage though is lovely and warm and plenty of hot water is appreciated with radiators to dry wet towels. The beds were so comfortable and we slept well each night. Sainsburys at Matlock has everything you could need and the house fridge and freezer was a good size which we found very useful.
Thoroughly recommend this cottage one of the best we have stayed in.




Veronica and Jo replied 64 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to send a review, we really appreciate the feedback. Have a wonderful summer!

Lovely Derbyshire break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come back to lovely Derbyshire every Spring and this cottage is a little gem. Nothing more to say.



A beautiful little cottage with everything you need, in a beautiful part of the country.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Acorn Cottage. When we arrived it was spotlessly clean, and had everything we needed inside, including some fresh eggs, honey and bread from the farm, which was much appreciated. The cottage itself was in a lovely location, very secluded with a lovely private garden, which was so peaceful. The kids loved looking round the farm with our hosts Jo and Veronica, especially petting the 1 day old lamb, the baby goats, and taking the donkey's home to bed. Will be recommending the cottage to others.



Wonderful family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay at Acorn Cottage as a family of 4. We had a complete mixture of weather, started off with bright sunshine and by the end of the week we had snow and sleet - it didn’t stop our fun though! We spent time exploring the local National Trust properties, went to soft play, went up the Heights of Abraham and went to Cromford for a brilliant afternoon tea. Veronica and Jo were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They took us around the farm to see all the animals which was wonderful, our children loved seeing the lambs and kids as did we. Acorn Cottage was a brilliant base for us to explore from and it was nice to have some quiet days in the cottage before heading out. We’d definitely recommend it and will hopefully be returning in the coming years with the children. Our daughter said it was the “best holiday house ever” and spent the majority of our drive home saying she didn’t want to go home!



Veronica and Jo replied 133 days ago
It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your family holiday at Acorn Cottage. Meeting newborn lambs is extra special at this time of year!.

Perfect break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to such a warm welcome from the hosts. There was milk in the fridge and fresh bread on the table.
The cottage was immaculately clean.
After long walks in unpredictable weather it was perfect to return to the cottage and light the wood burner, everything we needed was provided (and extra wood!)
The cottage is in an idyllic location , so peaceful, but also close enough to various attractions.
We would highly recommend a stay here.
Can’t wait to return!




Jo Ferguson replied 175 days ago
We're so glad you had a great time despite the stormy weather.

A great break

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First rate in every respect - we were in serious need of rest & recuperation after Storm Arwen 10-day power cut...
Stunning location with great walks; the cottage is extremely comfortable & well-appointed, without being in the slightest 'overdone'.
Veronica & Jo could not have been more welcoming and accommodating - thank you both again.




Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth time visiting acorn cottage and we just love it..just the most relaxing place to visit and one of the cleanest, well equipped holiday homes we have ever stayed in....the owners take pride in their cottage and try to make guests as welcome and comfortable as possible with lovely little touches such as fresh eggs, biscuits, tea, coffee and fresh milk on arrival..there are also towels, shower gel, shampoo etc in the bedrooms.. all lovely touches and very much appreciated! Bakewell, matlock, chatsworth etc are all near by and fantastic places to visit..also there is chesterfield with a cinema etc..plenty to keep you occupied..The night-time walk from the cottage down the country lanes with torches to the local pub is also a must!.. we love Derbyshire and especially acorn cottage..can't wait to visit again.



Veronica and Jo replied 257 days ago
It sounds like Acorn Cottage has really struck a chord with you and we’re delighted it’s so special for you. we look forward to seeing you again.

A great place to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxed few days at Acorn Cottage, just what we wanted.

We loved popping into Ashover and having coffee at Stamp Cafe, and stocking up on food at the village store. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the beautiful gardens at the cottage, and being able to see the sheep and goats.

Acorn Cottage had everything we needed, was well appointed, warm and cosy. It is tastefully decorated and homely. A lot of thought has gone into making the cottage welcoming and comfortable. We appreciated the bread, jam, honey and eggs waiting for us on our arrival.

It was great to be able to see the sheep, goats and donkeys.

Big thanks to Jo and Veronica for creating a wonderful haven.




Veronica and Jo replied 259 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A lovely, peaceful cottage in the heart of Derbyshire.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dog-friendly Acorn Cottage is a very comfortable, cosy cottage in a delightful, peaceful location, yet within a few miles of the most wonderful countryside and places of interest. It is well equipped and well maintained and, though we were there in the autumn, when the log burner was most welcome, it would be equally delightful earlier in the year, when one could use its private, self-contained garden and patio.
Jo and Veronica provide a warm welcome and are always concerned that your holiday will run smoothly.




Acorn cottage A real treat

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time at the cottage and it was just as we remembered it, From the initial welcome with freshly baked bread, freshly laid eggs and Jam and Honey to the stunningly clean cottage,this truly is a home from home. As a base for the Peaks everything is very central to all the main areas and the village of Ashover a short walk away has four great pubs to enjoy.

The peace and quiet whilst being so close to everything will mean well definitely be back




Veronica and Jo replied 283 days ago
It was so good to see you back. Thanks for your feedback. Cleanliness and a warm welcome are at the top of our agenda so thanks for recognising that. Hope to see you again.

Great stay in the Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rural location, good access into the Dales, good local walks and great places to visit within easy access by car. The cottage and grounds was in excellent conditions with everything needed for a holiday. All appliances you need for a short or longer stay. Fully heated for the colder months and a lovely log burner which generated so much warmth. I found the double bed a little hard, but my partner found it very comfortable, personal choice. Our dog was warmly welcomed too. The hosts were great, a lovely welcome pack with some fresh, bread, eggs, jam & honey all from the farm. We found the app the hosts provided very useful, very informative and extremely useful. A lovely country pub at the end of the lane and 3 more in the village nearby.. perfect break, beautiful area.. fully recommended.



Peaceful, Restful, Beautiful.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At last after two cancellations due to COVID we arrived. It was certainly worth the wait. Acorn cottage is in a beautiful location, spotless clean, everything you could possibly need for a perfect restful week. Jo and Veronica are perfect hosts, there when you need them. Do take time for a tour round their farm, you must meet Barney and Pumpkin their Donkeys. Booked for a return longer visit next year. Can’t wait.



Veronica and Jo replied 301 days ago
It was so good to welcome you at last to Acorn Cottage and we look forward to seeing you again next September.

Wonderful cottage stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn Cottage is lovely cottage to stay in, secluded, quiet and in a nice area. Plenty of room and every thing you need for great a stay.
The owners are very welcoming and make your stay there as comfortable as possible and leave little treats, which is a lovely gesture. Even our little dog was welcome.
This was our second visit and have booked again for next year and looking forward to it.




Veronica and Jo replied 311 days ago
It’s always a pleasure to have you stay at Acorn Cottage. Take care and see you again next year x

A Derbyshire Treat.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A hidden gem in the heart of the Derbyshire countryside. Many local attractions within easy reach. Lots of walks right from the front door. Accommodation was great and Daisy (our Cocker Spaniel) didn't want to come home! Everything ticked all our boxes and we will be back again next year.



Veronica and Jo replied 322 days ago
See you again in April 2022!

Lovely property with a bathroom upstairs & shower downstairs in a rural location with a nice garden.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at Acorn Cottage and would highly recommend it to our family & friends. Lots to do in surrounding area



Veronica and Jo replied 330 days ago
We’re delighted you were able to pack so much in to your stay at Acorn Cottage

Fantastic relaxing holiday at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week here in the school summer holidays and it was great from start to finish. We were welcomed by a wonderful welcome pack of bread, milk, jam and eggs from the host's own chickens. We were given a lovely tour of the animals on the small holding and our 6 year old got to lead the donkeys.
Acorn Cottage's location is spot on, feeling like the middle of nowhere with lovely countryside walks from the doorstep, yet a few minutes drive from the main routes to local towns and a short walk to the local pub and village shops.
The accomodation itself is highly appointed, clean and comfortable with an amazing shower! It was great for our dog and kids with a secure garden.
We are already talking about returning again and we have only just arrived home! 10/10




Veronica and Jo replied 344 days ago
We're so pleased you had a great time at Acorn Cottage - it means a lot to us that guests feel at home here!

An amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Acorn Cottage and as we were unable to visit in 2020 we were super excited about our visit and nothing disappointed. If possible my ratings would be 5+ as everything deserves this rating.
When we entered the cottage we were greeted by the smell of freshly baked bread as Veronica and Jo had kindly left a home baked loaf and home made blackcurrant jam for us together with some eggs from their own hens. What a treat.
The cottage is extremely comfortable with everything you need for a family stay and it is immaculately clean. The garden is very safe, enclosed and ideal for small children and my two year old grandson enjoyed time in there before and after our visits out..
The cottage is ideally placed for visiting the many places of interest in the area and for local walks and if asked Jo and Veronica are more than happy to suggest places to visit.
As on our previous visit Veronica and Jo were excellent hosts. They are very friendly and welcoming but not intrusive and we now feel as though we are visiting as friends.




Veronica Kemble & Jo Ferguson replied 350 days ago
It was lovely to see you all again, Henry has grown so much since we saw him before! So glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage!

Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed several holidays at Acorn Cottage over the years and have never been disappointed.
Excellent customer service (friendly and helpfull), cleanliness and comfort.
The cottage is located in a beautiful peacefull spot.
Its a credit to Veronica and Jo.




Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind remarks, it's always lovely to see you. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and safe cottage for our guests and know this means a lot to you. Until next year ...

A Derbyshire Delight

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn cottge is well located to explore both the North and South Peak District areas, without difficulty. It is situated in a rural setting of tree lined lanes and open fields, which make for excellent evening strolls after a day of exploring.The facilities are as advertised and generously equiped with everything to make a self catering holiday easy - just bring your clothes! The cottage is a tasteful barn conversion, located in a delightful courtyard surrounded by lush planting and plenty of easy parking right outside the door. It is spotless and well layed out for modern living. All rooms are well decorated and have plenty of space. Hot water is on demand and the shower is well pressured to deliver a good spray. There is also a separate bath, for soaking away aching limbs while someone else is in the shower! A very private garden is situated to the side of the cottge and is equiped with a tranquil seating area, suitable for relaxing outdoors. In addition to a cozy lounge with wood burner, the garden room on the side of the cottage is a great place to sit if the weather is not kind and is also a sensible place for wet coats/boots/dogs etc. Veronica and Jo are very warm, generous and attentive hosts and readily provide any guidance required, to ensure a fulfilling visit to the area. As well as tea, coffee and milk, we were delighted to find homemade bread and jam waiting for us and were also gifted eggs from their own chickens. It is a real Deryshire Delight!



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind words. We love sharing this beautiful area with our guests!

Two week holiday break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault accommodation, everything you need. Immaculate! Beautiful garden and surroundings. You will not be disappointed. Lovely welcome pack, fresh baked bread, homemade jam, fresh eggs and milk. Who could ask for more! Many thanks to Veronica and Jo.



Veronica Kemble replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your fortnight at Acorn Cottage.

Beautiful cottage and great attention to detail.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for a good few years, and really love it. It is very clean, beds very comfortable, shower very efficient and the cottage is in a beautiful setting. It is very well looked after and everything works as it should. The enclosed garden is fantastic for us and our small dogs. All great! Hosts work very hard to provide the best cottage rental we have ever stayed in.



Veronica Kemble replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you again and so glad you had such great weather.

Our Holiday in Derbyshire

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages in the UK and this is probably the best one. Location is good for visiting places such as Chatsworth, Bakewell, Buxton and Chesterfield. Clean, comfortable, spacious with helpful and friendly owners. What more could you ask for?



Veronica and Jo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you John and Sally for your kind comments. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage and hope to again in the future.

A Lovely stay at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jo & Veronica the owners of Acorn Cottage were so welcoming and helpful but not intrusive.A clean,Well equipped cosy cottage with a lovely enclosed garden in a good position for visiting the surrounding peak district which is stunning.We would highly recommend this cottage and we will book again .



Veronica Kemble replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Sue, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage and we’d love to see you both and your dogs again. Veronica and Jo