FB Twitter

Gatherley View

Gatherley View

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From walking into the cottage for the first time, I was impressed with the cottage. The whole place has a nice blend of modern and rustic feel and was very clean with has great facilities. The welcome basket was a lovely touch.



All excellent.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nicely appointed accommodation, comfortable and well equiped, in beautiful surroundings, close to good local ammenties.



Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Pros- Great location, lovely welcome pack, pretty location, fabulous farm shop up the road.
Cons- Could have been cleaner, no owners around, heating tempramental, remote controls out of battery to open value.
All in all we had a lovely time, just a few silly things let it down.




Autumn escape

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gatherley View offered comfortable, spacious, well equipped accommodation for our party of two adult and two dogs. Perfect location for beautiful walks straight from the front door through the woodlands and round the lake. We enjoyed being surrounded by the farm livestock. Having the farm shop and cafe so close meant we were able take fresh produce, pies and cakes back and enjoy a cappuccino as part of the shopping expedition.
Lifton is a great centre for touring. Too many places to mention, this time Widemouth Bay, Cothele, Bude and Boscastle all featured.
Second stay at Wooladon - it won't be the last!




Lovely stay on the Wooladon Estate - a welcome oasis of peace and tranquillity.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This spacious barn conversion was both well equipped and very clean. The WiFi was great, the setting lovely, and the location perfect for our needs - next to the A30 but without traffic noise. The information, guidance and support from the Wooladon team was excellent and the farm shop within walking distance was exceptional - perfect for us self- catering. We found some great walks including a challenging coastal hike from Crackington Haven, we canoed along the River Tamar from Cotehele Quay, hired mountain bikes exploring the Tamar Trails, joined the National Trust at Cotehele House then also visited the stunning Lydford Gorge as well as Buckland Abbey. As there’s still so much more to see and do nearby, we’ve already booked here again for next July! Would highly recommend.



Beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location, beautiful walks with very nice local farm shop near by. We would definitely return and would recommend to families and people with dogs.



Needs attention

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A few items need attention leak in lounge window window in toilet doesn’t open masticed shut could do with fan in bedroom as window opens over bed .Toilet seats too small and seats in leather settees do it stay in place so very uncomfortable .



Enjoyed our week

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is as described - spotlessly clean when we arrived and in a lovely spot with Ruby Devon cattle mooching about outside the window. We were only two so there was plenty of space and it was well equipped. The local, associated farm shop provided superb food and produce and the owners and others popped round for the first three evenings to see if all was well, which it was. The loo seats did not fit the loos and a couple of the Velux windows leaked a bit but that’s the only fault with the kit supplied. Sadly on our last night a swarm of midges or gnats or whatever (which are no doubt indigenous to farms) arrived and covered the bedrooms and bathrooms, which was a pity.
All told though, an excellent cottage in a good location.




Post lockdown break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Short break with friends,so great to be able to get all supplies from Strawberry Fields Farmshop with a 10% discount as well!
Requested a bbq and one was left by our cottage and bought some brilliant charcoal from the farmshop The owners popped by to see that all was ok with our cottage- a very nice personal touch.A welcome pack awaited us.... scones jam and clotted cream...went down very well after a delightful walk in the surrounding grounds.




Summer Holidays

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very pleased with location and accommodation
Suggest the vacuum cleaner bag is replaced frequently. When we used said vacuum cleaner the smell was very unpleasant.
Also more attention needed when cleaning basins. I used an old toothbrush to clean sink waste and taps.




A lovely short break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had a lovely four night stay at Wooladon. It’s such a peaceful location and the owners were very helpful and welcoming. On arrival, we received a beautiful welcome gift of cream tea goodies, super fresh bread and milk which was a lovely surprise. Inside the spacious cottage we found lots of helpful ideas for days out and walks local to us. I would highly recommend staying here at anytime of the year.



A Gatherley View Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is in an excellent location, we found the laminate flooring very noisy to walk on even without shoes. The oven indicators for temperature etc. have been rubbed off with cleaning. The kick board underneath the sink/dishwasher fell whenever the dishwasher was opened. Three Playing cards and a bottle top found underneath the settees. On opening the Velux windows because it was so warm, we were showered with dead flies. The Velux control in the single bedded room and adjacent bathroom didn't work, and there were no instruction as to the use of the Velux controls, and had to rely on the long pole to open and close them. It would have been nice to be able to pull down the blinds or use the blinds on the Velux in the bedrooms as the nights are quite bright at this time of year.

When these little niggles are sorted, it would be an excellent place to stay, especially with Strawberry Fields being so close, but would probably choose a different cottage within the complex.




Perfect stay in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Gatherley View. We love the cottage- it is bright, warm and cosy with lovely views over surrounding countryside. Loved the welcome pack with produce from the amazing farm shop which we visited several times. Very helpful and accommodating owners.



92/100

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very clean, pretty central location, well provided and maintained. Good weather would have made the trip even better.
We will certainly recommend to others and would love to come again.




A welcome break after lockdown

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The estate is tucked away in a beautiful setting with lots of pretty walks. The cottage has great views, it is spacious, warm and comfortable with the added bonus of two shower rooms. There could be room for a bigger divan bed in the main bedroom. The linen was crisp and white with plenty of towels provided.

We pre ordered groceries from Strawberry Fields Farm Shop and these were all delivered to our cottage and put away along with an unexpected welcoming cream tea.

A maintenance issue was dealt with promptly and courteously.

We will definitely return and recommend.




Gatherley View

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have just completed my second stay at this beautiful,well equipped accommodation.The setting is idyllic,peaceful,very relaxing,with plenty of lovely walks right on your doorstep.Access to an abundance of beauty spots within a short drive,the farm shop is full of tasty savoury and sweet options along with plenty of gift ideas to take home.Have recommended Wooladon to a friend who has already booked and I am sure she will not be dissapointed!!! Already planning my next visit but thinking of trying the Rookery and bringing the whole family !!!



Wonderful yet again

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was lovely again. Views were gorgeous. We even watched a family of deer one evening. The walk into lifton was great with some lovely pubs. Great layout for a young family with two adjoining bedrooms. Can't wait for our next visit.



Short Break in covid times

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely short break here as were visiting family - the property was maintained to a high standard and exceptionally clean. There were lots of extras such as a welcome pack from the farm shop but I marked down one on customer service as during our stay we left a phone message and no one returned our call. We didn't see any staff but we were only staying 3 nights and everyone is keeping their distance.
The estate grounds are fabulous and we walked along the river and in the woodland - 7 deer ran across our path one morning!




An idyllic spot

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weeks stay in Gatherley View. The walks in the estate are lovely - the animals fascinating and the view from the lounge area to die for.
We used the farm shop - good value for excellent food.
The estate is a short drive from the Moor, only 40 mins from the coast and 20 mins from Okehampton.
Customer service was good - when dealing with Heather pre-arrival or when Steve called round to check all ok.
Highly recommended.




Autumn break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow!!!!! What a beautiful place to stay,barn conversion spacious and well thought out,well equipped and comfortable.Walks around the estate very relaxing,plenty of wildlife to spot.Good location for touring around with plenty of places of interest to visit,I am already planning on booking a return visit next year!!!
Only fault we experienced was water pressure occasionally went low causing slight problem if using showers.




Only wish we could return in 2021 !

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is great, and with the support of Steve, Adam, and not forgetting the ‘farm shop’ , we had a great time.



Accommodation, restaurant and farm shop very good

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family enjoyed our time at Wooladon. Meals in the restaurant excellent. Farm shop we thought was rather expensive. Cottage cleanliness was excellent. Pity about the creaking floor and wardrobe in bedroom!!!. ( note earlier similar comments in visitor book so not yet corrected) Would recommend .



Great property on a lovely estate close to the A30

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The booking process had a few glitches but the customer service from Heather was excellent. All staff were really friendly.

The property was lovely and the estate it is on is wonderful with a gorgeous lake and walks down to the river. Our teenagers were able to go off on their own and explore which they enjoyed.

The only issues were a very noisy flush in one toilet which sounds like air in the pipes and the beds creak so you can hear people turning over in the next room.

All in all a beautiful property on a great estate close to easy travel to visit the sights locally, we are looking to book again!




Gorgeous views and great location

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely estate- so peaceful with wonderful views of the estate, loved overlooking the cows. Well appointed cottage with everything you need and lovely outdoor space, enjoyed a glass of wine on the terrace in the evening and also had a couple of bbqs with amazing steaks from the farm shop. Nice touch with a discount card and we would stop by for provisions at the end of each day. Great location and we explored each day into both Cornwall and Devon with ease. Hope to return next year.