FB Twitter

The Shippon

The Shippon

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 55 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Shippon is a fabulous big house in the heart of the South Devon countryside. The 10 bedrooms each with their own bathroom hosts up to 18 people in comfort. It has generous living areas, extensive gardens and outside space including two hot tubs. Its located just a couple of miles along the beautiful River Dart from Totnes and close enough to walk to the village of Ashprington with its popular pub and vineyards.

Amazing location and lovely home

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited with 12 adults, 11 children under 4 and 2 dogs and the house was perfect. Amazing house and gardens, lots for the children to do without leaving the house, nearby walks to distract them and lots in the area when we got in the car. Hot tubs and fire pits within baby monitor range of the house + the excellent recommended caterer made it feel luxurious for the adults in the evening. Best UK holiday we've had in years.



Perfect for a weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the house for a long weekend. It’s in a great location with fantastic views and links via the cycle path to totnes etc. The owner couldn’t be more helpful. We’ll be hoping to go again.



A fabulous place!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
17 friends went to the Shippon to celebrate 3 birthdays- the barn was the best group accommodation we have stayed in. Great all having our own bathrooms, square dining table meant long conversations in to the night, used all the facilities including tennis court, games room, football pitch. Loved the outdoor space and toasting marshmallows on the fire pit every night was just perfect. Also the outside caterer was fabulous and very good value 10/10 from all of us



Perfect location for a family celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
14 members of our family stayed at The Shippon to celebrate various special birthdays. It was the most wonderful place to stay. So much space inside and out. Every room having their own bathroom felt like a luxury. Wonderfully kitted out kitchen with everything we needed. A big kitchen table that we could all fit round. Huge living room. And outside we enjoyed the seating area and fire pit at night. We made good use of the hot tubs, tennis court, football pitch. The location is stunning and special. I can not recommend highly enough. We will definitely return.



Lovely spot and great house

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Shippon. We all had a great time- enjoying the hot tubs, the views and the comfortable rooms. I would highly recommend the Shippon. We took a minibus to the coastline and walked from East Portlemouth to East Prawle- a gorgeous walk. Jo was amazing- great communication and helped with every need. The in house caterers provided amazing food for both nights- we were really treated to great meals and lovely desserts. Now I am home I just want to do it all again. Thanks Jo we had a lovely time!.



The Bartingtons

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the Shippon over Christmas 2023. Plenty of space for our active 3 generation family of 14 ranging in age from 3 to 75. The kitchen is very well equipped for mass catering. Plenty of fridge and freezer space. We enjoyed the hot tubs and outside space. Games of table tennis and football also kept us amused. Good walking into the charming town of Totnes particularly for the market fo buy fresh veg and great street food. Also a pleasant walk to the pub . Access to the property is down a very bumpy lane so watch out if you arrive In the dark. Great views over the river.



The perfect stay for a special occasion

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
18 of us got together to celebrate a very important birthday and I’m so glad I chose the shippon! Everything you could ever need and want for a family holiday of 18 were considered! The children were well catered for, especially one baby (highchair, stairgate, cot etc) and the views from the hot tub are pure luxury, the host was a pleasure to deal with and provided us with lots of information about local attractions and food caterers in the area. Thank you so much!



The house was perfect.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family met up at The Shippon for a few days. It was perfect for us all, the teenagers loved the Games Room. Everybody was happy .



Perfectly located converted Barn with great facilities and space for all the family.facilities

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing week with all the family. The Games room and the hot tubs were the icing on the cake.



Photographic Trip

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Shippon. Jo and Sam were delightful and extremely welcoming. A beautiful and relaxing place to stay. Would definitely recommend to others.



Family Birthday

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week celebrating a significant birthday with the whole family. The house, amenities and service were excellent, everythng as described. Looking forward to next year!



Not our first rodeo

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not our first time at this fantastic location, and not the first time that we really didn’t want to leave!



Going back!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic holiday, The Shippon had everything we wanted and more, a beautiful place in a fantastic location. There was plenty to do and we had fun days out as well as activity days in. Intact, we loved it so much we've booked again for 2024. A great find!



Excellent place for family gathering

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was fantastic, space inside and outside the house was amazing, our 7 year old grandson loved the football pitch to practice on, the hot tubs were both fun and relaxing. Great walks into Totnes or Ashbrington were both exhilarating and manageable. Kitchen area was great for family to gather round, and all be involved whilst the meals were being cooked. The games room, gave us entertainment on the day it rained. Plenty of activity’s in the surrounding area to keep you occupied- would highly recommend the round robin, open top bus, steam train and river cruise from Totnes. In all a great house and a great holiday thankyou.



Well equipped, clean, excellent accommodation and facilities, lovely location, welcoming hosts,

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed large holiday house, well equipped kitchen, large and comfortable lounge, with tennis court, hot tubs and games room. Comfortable beds. Very clean, everything worked as it should. Satellite internet connection much appreciated by those in our party who needed it. In a beautiful location with welcoming hosts. It lived up to the excellent reviews we saw last year when we chose the Shippon. Our family group of 15 adults and three very young children all thoroughly enjoyed the week we stayed here. We can strongly recommend



A lovely rural holiday for all the family.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a great house with everything you need for a relaxing time whilst not exploring the coast and countryside around this area - loved Totnes, the beaches, Dartmoor and the weather was great, so very little time spent inside!



Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed here many times as my family love it here. The position, hot tubs, views, space and facilities are brilliant



Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at the Shippon, the most amazing house with stunning views. The house had everything you would ever need, the games room was fun, the wood burner was lovely and the outside area with hot hubs, sun loungers, bbq's and a wood pit fire were amazing. Jo was very welcoming and the house was very cosy, clean, comfortable and well organised, we couldn't of ask for anything more.



Easter 2023 - Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shippon for a family get together of 15, including our 7 grandchildren (age range 2 to 15) & our dogs! Everything was catered for, plenty for everyone to do and superb location, we had a BBQ, the fire pit was well used for the cooler evenings & plenty of space for an Easter Egg hunt! We appreciated the Eco friendliness & opportunity to recycle on a massive scale & the thoughtful provision of dog bowls and towels. Highly recommend!



A wonderful family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our extended family visited the Shippon for a week at Easter. Our age range is from 8 to nearly 80 and all found the location and facilities excellent .Though we were a group of max. size there was space and comfort for all. The "teens" made extensive use of the football pitch ,did scooter tricks on the patio, played tennis and and chilled. The younger ones enjoyed the swings etc. and rushing around making dens and playing games incomprehensible to me but having a great time. The hot tubs and wonderful view were enjoyed by all. Our daily outings ranged from walking down to Totnes for early dinner to driving to Bantham for beach cricket and surfing (for those with the aptitude and constitution),a trip to Dartmoor ,fishing at M&B fishery +++.
This was a wonderful holiday and one which we hope to repeat in the future.




Brilliant house and great location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
15 of us had the nicest stay at the shippon house, Jo was there when we arrived and very helpful showing us around and helping with local info and direction.
The house is in a secluded area with amazing view down the valley to the river.
The hot tub and games room are a winner!
Highly recommend and will be back!




Just Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed 3 nights with family and friends at The Shippon for my birthday and we all truly enjoyed this lovely property. Arrived to fire, hot tubs, outside lights which was magic. The house itself is spacious and comfortable and the living room a great place to relax. Kitchen big enough for a group to work and plenty of utensils. Nice sociable eating area. The games room had a fantastic view and enjoyed by us all for a party. Friendly and helpful welcome. Will definitely want to stay there again!



Fantastic relaxing and accommodating

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place had everything we would need for a group get together of old school friends. The views are stunning, not a house in site. Tucked away but still close enough to Totnes to walk there on proper walking trails. Well stocked with kitchen implements and fresh clean bedding and towels.
All in all a fantastic stay and would recommend it to all.




Our 3rd Stay at this wonderful house

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As in our title this was our 3rd stay at the Shippon. The house is clean, and the owners have finished the house to a high standard with quality fixtures & fittings. The location is fantastic to explore Devon and there are great walks from the house through beautiful surroundings. We were 3 families and use all of the facilities such as the tennis court and hot tubs.



11out of 10 from us

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arriving at The Shippon we could not get over the wonderful setting and the views as it is located in a beautiful part of Devon
We were met by the owner on arrival who was very welcoming and helpful and gave us all the information we would need for our stay.
The house itself was lovely with fresh flowers on the tables and a delicious home made cake for us to enjoy.
It was perfect for our families needs giving us lots of space and areas to relax in after a day out. There is a large comfortable lounge and games room and the kitchen was very well equipped enabling us to enjoy many happy meals around the large table.
We all enjoyed toasting marshmallows around the fire pit and taking in the views from the hot tubs.
We had a fantastic holiday and hope to return next year.
11out of 10 from us




Peaceful perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
10 friends stayed at The Shippon for a week in September 2022. We had the most perfect week - the house is in a glorious location with walks from the door into the hostelries of Ashprington or the fabulously quirky Totnes.
We'd definitely stay again - everything a large group could ever need - both in good and bad weather.
Space to get together or spread out - super patio and hottubs - tennis court and garden and sun rises to die for.
House was immaculate with a super layout.
Help and assistance was availablenfrom local owners but not intrusive.






A beautiful barn in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous family holiday at the converted barn which is set up in a stunning location overlooking the river Dart.
The holiday home is rightly described as luxurious due to its high standard of cleanliness, equipment and outdoor space with plenty of seating areas, not to mention the hot tubs and play area for the children.
The owner is generous and attentive and the welcome pack comprehensive, so it was easy to start enjoying the holiday from the day one .
We’d love to come back.




A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Away from it all yet close to so many activities, the Shippon has just provided us with a perfect venue for a family gathering. We found the house to be spotlessly clean, well equipped and spacious with plenty of seating room inside and out. We wanted for nothing man’s if we did, there was always help at hand.The website has plenty of accurate information allowing us to plan in advance and enjoy every moment of this relaxing house.



Fabulous!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved this house and holiday.
Perfect for our group of 15 friends and family with a big dining table and huge comfy lounge to seat us all on 7 sofas!




Two lovely weeks at The Shippon

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location/property as a base for three generations of our family. Perfect weather, great holiday.



Fantasticly outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shippam was a home from home where every little detail had been considered. Exceeded all expectations.



Wonderful family get-together in idyllic surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We gathered at The Shippon for a family celebration weekend in what turned out to be scorching hot July weather. The house and location are exactly (and spectacularly) as described and pictured on the website and the weekend was everything we hoped.

The house and environs are spacious, comfortably accommodating all 16 of us without ever feeling cramped, and the kitchen is fully equipped with everything we needed to serve up some monster brunch and barbecue meals.

We didn't need to spend much time in the living room due to the weather, but got full value from the games room, tennis court, and patio area, plus the easy access to beautiful countryside walks.

We would definitely visit again if the opportunity arises; all in all a magnificent weekend. And hot tubs!




Fab Family Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at The Shippon was the icing on the cake to our family weekend. Fantastic all around for all ages



Lovely stay at the Shippon

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 14 and had lots of space with the two single bedrooms unused. The house is spacious, the wifi works well, as do the two hot tubs. The local area has many great walks.
The manager Jo was very helpful throughout arranging cars, referring us to medical help and doing stunts on her bicycle! Thanks Jo.
All in all, a great week!




One amazing weekend to remember

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Shippon the jubilee weekend for my best friends hen party. Not only is it one of the most beautiful location, the house itself is just outstanding and very beautiful. A bathroom with every room, Games room, two hot tubs, large living room. It was just perfect for us and the weekend was so amazing we would love to do it again. The owner Jo is so lovely and welcoming too.



Very comfortable rooms, good facilities for adults and children, good location, lovely views.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite rather disappointing weather we had a great holiday at the Shippon.

The rooms are all very comfortable and the layout was ideal for our family mix of 3 generations from age 80 down to just 1 year old, and the dog.

The house is very well equipped especially the kitchen.

The games facilities and hot tubs were all extensively used by adults and children.

A very good quiet location, close to the lovely town of Totnes, and near to many other attractions that have appeal for children of all ages.




A family holiday for 3 generations

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We organised this family holiday for our 4 children,their partners and grandchildren from 8 to 18 yrs old. There was plenty of space for all and we had a fabulous time,many voting it the best holiday ever.
Families took it in turns to provide dinner, and the facilities for that are great. However, when it was our turn we ordered from Gilliflower,advertised on the website, and the resultant meal tasted great and was very generous wrt. quantity.
It's a lovely place just to be,catch up, and enjoy the view and the hot-tubs,but every day we ventured forth, twice on foot to Totnes or a local pub ,or eg. the magnificent beach at Bantham.I also took some of the youngsters fishing at a local lake,which was v. successful. Other activities included the children playing football and touch rugby on the field in front of the house and we went wild swimming in the River Dart and at the weir in Totnes.
We have already booked for next year




Fantastic stay at The Shippon

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at The Shippon for a week. The location is fantastic, and such a beautiful place to stay. The facilities are amazing - two hot tubs, sun loungers, a games room and a tennis court. The kitchen was fully quipped for the large numbers, everywhere was clean and tidy, and beds were all comfy! The perfect place to relax and explore Devon.



A great family reunion place

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first visited The Shippon in 2000 with our parents and it became our favorite place for our family reunions as a family with roots in the Netherlands and England. Everybody enjoys the silents, surroundings/landscape, activities and the house :-) The Van der Ham - Singleton family



A true haven in the country

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say? Me and my party had a dream of a stay as I celebrated reaching ripe ole 40 in style. Set off the beaten track yet a 30 mins stroll into central Totnes, we were able to relax to our own devices. The view from the outside deck overlooking the countryside hills was a pleasure to wake up to every morning (I highly recommend bagging yourself room 10)! I couldn't get over just how spacious the grounds were and whilst the place looks big from the outside, it really is a TARDIS when you enter it. The place has everything including all utensils you could even dream of in the kitchen.

Will definitely be returning and this time with the family, mountain bikes, paddle boards (River Dart on your doorstep) and some slippers....now i'm 40 haha.

Big thanks to our host Jo who from the get go was informative and welcoming. It's clear she is proud of the property and enjoys seeing it bring joy to others.





Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the place very well equipped with good layout and stunning views. The owner was delightful. Made use of the great games room. The hot tubs were great.



Weekend away for my hen party

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shippon for my hen party and it met all of our expectations and more, such a friendly beautiful place, from the cleanliness to the views nothing was an issue we could not of been more happier with the weekend and we got very lucky and had the best weather we could of asked for!



It was the perfect place for the large family gathering we had.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the Shippon. Pervious experience has taught us to go equipped with certain items, especially as we are big into cooking and catered for ourselves the whole stay. We were more than pleasantly surprised with the kitchen facilities. More than enough of everything - we could have saved some space in the car!

Our host, Jo, was friendly and efficient during the whole process, start to finish. Everything was explained in detail and clearly. The location would take some beating - first impressions always count, and I would defy anyone not to be amazed with the views, tranquility, facilities and the way it makes you feel relaxed from the start.

The hot tubs and the games room were fantastic additions and really allowed our large group to spread out when needed. The large wood burner in the huge lounge was very hot - the older members of our group found the heat perfect, the younger members too hot - but thats an age thing!

The living space overall was more than enough for our group of 18.

That rooms were all very clean, tidy and welcoming with plenty of pillows and it was nice to have so many bathrooms.

I'll end as I began, it really is the perfect place for a large family gatherin - it really would take some beating!




A beautiful house in a dreamy location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is warm, stylish, comfortable and super-well equipped, set in a beautiful valley away from everything but close enough to Totnes to also be convenient for shops/trains/restaurants etc. 10 out of 10. We've stayed here at least five times already! Great running and/or walking routes right from the house too.



Birthday weekend with friends and family

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shippon House is absolutely stunning.Well equipped to support all your needs, from comfort, catering, cleanlinesses and amenities.View over the valley and river is glorious.
We had the most amazing weekend.
The location is perfect for walking and discovering the local area.Wonderful food and hospitality in local pubs.Highly recommend the Durant Arms in Ashbrington. Totnes is also worth a visit.
Jo has been the hostess with the mostest.Incredibly helpful from first day of booking to support all our needs and answered all our queries with positive solutions.
We will definitely be booking again
Thank you Jo




A Fabulous Winter Break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
18 of us stayed at the Shippon for a 60th birthday celebration. Everybody really enjoyed the location, views, facilities and comfort. Even at full capacity there was a feeling of spaciousness both inside and out and plenty of parking for 10 vehicles. Good weather helped with daily walks and everybody was able to warm up on return in the huge living room which stayed really warm with the log burner going. Relaxing in the hot tubs under the stars was a magical experience.

Was it good value? My wife and I could have had a 10 day cruise for a similar price but 18 of us really enjoyed a week away, catching up with each other and making new friends and memories so I would class it as excellent value.

Would we visit again? Certainly we and many of our friends would jump at the chance to repeat the experience and hopefully one day we will.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an absolutely beautiful location to stay. Sitting in the hot tubs under the stars was a highlight. The accommodation had everything we needed, was stylish, clean & comfortable.
I can’t fault the customer service & attention to detail. We will definitely return ☺️




An enjoyable Devon stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jan 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Shippon. The facilities are very good and the location and outlook across the River Dart were perfect. The communal areas of both the Lounge & Kitchen were ideal for a group of our size; the kitchen in particular was very well equipped. The hot tubs were also well used by the group and were kept clean regularly by our hosts.
The bedrooms are all well equipped, nicely decorated & each came with either an en-suite or exclusive use of a bathroom close by (water pressure not excellent in most but plentiful supply of hot water!).
Given we stayed at Christmas/New Year, it was nice to have a Christmas tree still up and lights around the property too.
All in all, would certainly recommend a trip to The Shippon.




What a place!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a big family gathering, The Shippon was perfect. Spectacular views over rolling hills from the huge lounge, the games room and twin hot tubs form a brilliant focus, with a firepit, tennis court and much, much more making this a place to enjoy in its own right. En-suite bedrooms, a laundry and a huge, well-equipped kitchen sort out the practicalities, while walking - with easy access to the River Dart - and cycling add to the options. What a place!



Another fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here a few years ago and loved it so much we came back again. There has been a few upgrades at the house since our last visit (a new kitchen and outside covered seating area and more importantly the WiFi has been upgraded) which have both added to the experience and quality of our stay.
The house is roomy and has enough space for everyone to eat at the dining table and watch TV not feel on top of each other.
The additional touches of fresh flowers in each bedroom and at the dining table just add to the quality and eye for detail of Jo (owner) who was such a wonderful and cheerful host.
The beds were so comfortable and the quality of the bedding is superb and not like some holiday let bedding we have experienced and very much felt home from home.
We only managed Monday - Friday as the weekends were already booked but if we could have stayed longer we would have.
There is a pathway into Totnes and we managed to navigate back in the dark with our phone lights after sampling the local Jail Ale so maybe a torch would be advisable for those not familiar with this path as to avoid the sheep !!
We used the hot tubs on a few nights and there was plenty of outside lighting if you needed it but we enjoyed the night sky and trying to figure out the star constellations whilst relaxing in the hot tubs.
There is also an addition of a fire pit with log stool seats and we managed to toast some marshmallows in the garden which we loved.
Last but not least is the games room which allowed some of the children (and adults) to have some great table tennis matches.
I would recommend this house (home from home) to anyone who wants to submerge in total relaxation and also have access to walks and local towns.
A perfect combination and caters for all ages - we will be back as soon as we can.




Great venue for big get togethers

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really nice long weekend double birthday family (COVID delayed) celebration weekend at the shippon. It was all well organised ahead of time and everything was fine throughout our stay. House is clean, spacious and can easily accommodate a few more than advertised if younger children don’t mind not having a proper bed. Big eating area inside was able to accommodate 25 of us to eat. Hot tubs were a hit and lovely outside seating area with fantastic and peaceful views of the river Dart, it’s a nice easy walk into Totnes for anyone reasonably mobile. We used the catering recommended on the website on one night, went for the Moroccan feast. Was really delicious and plenty of it so had lots left over but it didn’t go to waste! Thanks to Jo and all who helped make it a great 50th celebration.



Such a great place for a group get together!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant place to stay, often hard to find right balance for a group stay when looking for price and quality-The Shippon does it perfectly! Amazing host, great spot with views. Great grounds and facilities too. Cannot recommend enough. Would love to go back soon.



A hidden gem nestled in the beautiful Devon countryside with everything you could wish for and more.

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shippon is, quite simply, stunning with glorious views across the beautiful Devon countryside. The cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly need, the highlight being of course, those amazing hot tubs. The memory of being in the hot tub with a glass of wine, looking out across the fields towards the River Dart will stay with us for a long time. The shrieks of childrens laughter coming from the tennis court, trampoline and playing field. The games room that saw several very serious ping pong & table football tournaments. The BBQ night that we had been looking forward to so much, bringing all 17 of us together. And the Sunday roast chicken dinner around the enormous kitchen table. A fantastic & memorable holiday thanks to the efforts of Jo & Sam, who were always on hand whenever we needed them & worked tirelessly to ensure we had the holiday we had hoped for.



70th birthday

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and house. Very easy to contact Jo Cooke if necessary.. One of the adults had trouble reaching the fire alarm when it went off. As we had several tall folk it wasnt a problem.. just a thought. Suitable for all age groups and great for children with the games room and tennis court. I wouldnt recommend walking to Ashprington on the road either during the day or evening as the traffic, although there was not much of it, we wouldnt have done it but using the footpath was fine in daylight hours



Family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 27 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Shippon and always enjoyed our stay. The house is very spacious, clean and homely in a fantastic location