FB Twitter

The Roundel

The Roundel

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Roundel was our second 5 star exclusive use of this property that launched onto the market in March 2016. Using the same levels of quality and luxury as Hawkswood House, we have developed a cosy, intimate property to sleep up to 10 guests in 5 en-suite bedrooms.

Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation and a great location. John is a great host, the furniture and kitchen facilities are first class.



Wonderful Week at Hawkswood Country Estate

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group's stay at both Hawkswood House and The Roundel was even better than we had imagined it could be. There was plenty of room to spread out, with multiple lounges, and the bedrooms were incredibly well fitted out. The kitchens were spacious and easily allowed our guests to cook and prepare food and drink if desired. The appliances, all made by Miele, were of the highest quality. We made full use of the hot tub spa's, which came in handy after playing golf at one of the many courses in the area.

One of the primary appeals of the St. Andrews area is the presence of numerous golf courses. Having a place to stay with its own private driving range and practice areas places Hawkswood above the other places which we considered.

One last note of importance: the staff were excellent, being attentive without being omnipresent. They even helped one of our party change a flat tire! Mary-Jo, Joanne and John were phenomenal hosts.




A joint birthday to remember

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked for a weekend joint birthday celebrations and a wonderful stay from beginning to end. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in on the Friday evening at the beautiful dining table followed by an evening dip in the hydro spa.
After our refreshing cold dip from the beach in St Andrews it was back to The Roundel to get ready for our lunch out. John kindly drove us door to door service for our lunch and transfer back followed by a more relaxing Saturday evening in the upper floor lounge.
This property was absolutely spotless, you would think we were the first ever guests.
Beautiful and highly recommend to all.




a great commodious property

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great property for a family get together. Very spacious accommodation. All bedrooms with ensures was lovely for everyone. The giant hot tub was terrific for relaxing plus inside bonus of huge jacuzzi bath. The short golf course was super fun for adults and kids alike and the driving range was well used too.

Very high quality furniture and fittings.




40th Birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An outstanding property in an excellent location.
Huge attention to detail throughout and as a golfer it was nice to hit some balls literally on the doorstep.
We’ll definitely be back and couldn’t recommend this place highly enough for those looking for peace in quiet with a spot of luxury.




The Charleston Theme

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gorgeous place to stay for our joint 60th birthday bash with friends. That place had left us happy memories!! Every bedroom has its own beautiful bathroom which is great due to Covid restrictions - we did not use the downstairs toilet once and we just go to our own privacy ‘toilet’.



Another fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned again as a family after staying 3 years ago...we would have been back sooner if it hadn't been for Covid restrictions!
Situated approx 15 mins drive from St Andrews, the location is simply stunning. We chose to stay in The Roundel which was cosy, comfortable and immaculately clean. Can't fault Mary-Jo and John on service and communication. John was kind enough to taxi us in the mini bus to and from St Andrews when we ventured out for dinner on Saturday evening - a friendly and efficient service as always. The on-site facilities deserve their 5 stars...everything you need is available to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible. We particularly enjoyed the use of the hot tub and, despite the weather, the boys even managed to fit in a few rounds on the putting green before we left. Thank you so much, we are already planning our next trip back.




Family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently stayed within The Roundel and Hawkswood House with a party of 18. We found the houses to be of an excellent standard, well appointed for a large family dinner and just what we were looking for.

The amenities were amazing and as golfers we found the short game area and full driving range to be an added bonus. The hot tubs were immaculate and so much fun for both the adults and children. Robes, slippers and towels specifically for the hot tub went down well also.

The owner, John is a credit to his houses and couldn’t be more helpful in ensuring our stay was as perfect as it could be.

My one and only point which may help the owners resolve any negative comments is the timers on the lights in the bathroom/shower rooms. Guests commented that the lights were extinguished automatically after a short period and guests were left having to leave the toilet and/or shower to start them again. I’m sure this is an easy fix.

Overall we had a great experience with happy guests who loved Hawkswood Country Estate and all the two houses has to offer. Our dine in night with a private chef was amazing.

We will definitely look to book again at Hawkswood or any other facility owned by this family.




Lovely weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect weekend, beautiful house and something for the whole family to enjoy, everything was first class…will definitely be back! Xx



Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at the roundel for a hen party. The house had everything we needed. Defos would recommend!



Fabulous accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Group of 8 mixed golfers

Fabulous accommodation, top quality warm welcome, golf facilities excellent
Highy recommended




Wonderful Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After several years of not seeing or family, we decided to book The Roundel and it was perfect. We were so well looked after and had the most wonderful time. The place is spectacular and the owners have thought of everything to make your stay easy, comfortable and luxurious. We will be back!



Relax/Recharge

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment you enter the estate you can tell the efforts John and family go to ensure you are well looked after.
Attention to detail and the standards throughout are second to none.
Ideal location to relax and recharge - superb break!




Dad’s 80th birthday

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roundel exceeded our expectations in every way.
It is beautifully decorated and furnished to the highest standard. No corners have been cut or expense spared, inside our out, to ensure you have a luxury stay. The photos are stunning but it’s even better in real life. Also, I have never been in a property that was so sparklingly clean. It’s a real credit to Jo, John, Mary-Jo and their team.




Family Trip June 2021

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roundel is a fantastic place to stay and has more than anyone could ask for in a holiday home. The attention to detail and the attentiveness of the owners would be difficult to surpass anywhere. The layout of the golf practice areas added even more enjoyment to the golfers in our party



Recent short stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived to an excellent property with both the building and interior being finished to a very high standard, the house had everything in it. Great location for a short break, went to St. Andrews and the complimentary bus was an added bonus. Host available when needed via text so good to know they where are hand when necessary. Would definitely return to the property.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb as always. Top class hosts and outstanding facilities. Would wholeheartedly recommend Hawkswood for a holiday.



Staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and i had a wonderful stay at the Roundel. Very comfortable and we felt right at home.
Mary-Jo and John were very helpful and if anything need attention they attended to it immediately.
All the facilities were excellent with the hotel 5* touches.




Luxurious accommodation with very welcoming hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Throughout our booking experience Mary-Jo was there to help with any question/request we had which made the experience very easy during some challenging times. The accommodation is definitely 5 star with everything provided to ensure a very comfortable stay. The house is very spacious inside and out and every room has been thought out with quality furnishings and on arrival everything was spotlessly clean.
Met John and Jo-Anne who are so friendly and happy spending time talking through the property, we also opted for breakfast one morning which everyone should try.
Outside space has a driving range, a short hole area and a beautiful hydro spa which everyone enjoyed.
Only negative was that we had to cancel John for a transfer service for lunch one day, no point going out if you can't have a glass of wine with lunch!
I have no hesitation in recommending the properties and would like to return to try Hawkswood House!




Family of four generations staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth visit to the Hawkswood estate and we are now a family of four generations, from ages 4 months to 85 years!
I cannot praise the owners enough for the house and comforts as well as their attention to detail.
The Roundel is a dream holiday let and whether you want a quiet getaway or to celebrate a special occasion, it adapts itself to either.
The area is a short drive to the magnificent St Andrews beach or the many beautiful villages along the East Neuk of Fife. The coastal walks are spectacular ( it really isn’t all about the golf!) to the many wonderful pubs and restaurants scattered along the way.
We have now made it one of Our family traditions to meet here at least once a year.




Fantastic 5* property near St Andrews

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at The Roundel at Hawkswood Country Estate with family and puppies for a week. The property is fitted out to the highest possible standards and every detail has been considered for the comfort of the guests. Possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! This property is ideal for golfing groups or for families looking to holiday near the lovely city of StAndrews. The complimentary shuttle bus to the links when we were a larger party was an added bonus. All the rooms are very tastefully decorated, really comfortable and with lovely en-suite facilities. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and the Roundel room is stunning for both formal dinners and relaxed drinks on the sofas. My boys loved the golf practice facilities and we all enjoyed the hot tub! The Ainscough family have got a real gem here and they couldn’t have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful to us. We will definitely be back!



A hidden delight

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I believe everything happens for a reason and whilst we were supposed to be half way round the world at the Olympics and all the Americans and top brass would have booked up this property up, we were lucky enough to find some availability and we therefore found COVID presented us with a unique opportunity to discover what a wonderful place Hawkswood is. It is the kind of quality facility you associate with properties abroad and it is literally within 20 minutes of all the locations you need to visit. The hospitality from the Ainscough family certainly meets the Rolls Royce standard they expect of themselves and the microclimate surprised us too as we enjoyed a fantastic week exploring Elie, Anstruther, Crail, St Andrews and Tentsmuir. I am excited to see how the property develops as they are always looking to improve and hope to find some availability that presents an opportunity to return in the future, although hopefully not another pandemic! I would recommend anyone to take advantage of the chance to visit this great place and make some wonderful memories