FB Twitter

The Pele Tower

The Pele Tower

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 56 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Easter, a new awakening

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had spied this fortified retreat at the beginning of 2023 and had toyed with staying there. Overseas trips and the prospect of a different climate and culture prevailed. As Xmas drew closer, I was looking for an intimate retreat that offered something unique as a gift. This escape was available over an extended bank holiday weekend and made for a perfect present. It didn’t disappoint. Positioned next to a beck in a small hamlet, steeped in history and once acting as a stronghold to prevent incursions from the North, the building had been lovingly restored by the owners Ann and Andy, the attention to its heritage and detail of finish and comfort were plain to see. This project had taken 10 years to complete and well worth the wait from a visitor perspective. The owners live next door operating a small sheep farm of some 125 ewes. Every day was a lambing one and new life could be heard from the lambing shed and the fields around. The four day break attracted a mixture of weather including warm sunshine which we were able to enjoy from the south facing terrace. The owners were always on hand but not intrusive. They were as thrilled to meet city dwellers as we were to engage with their country lifestyle.

Right choice and a new awakening to countryside stays in North England! Par excellence!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
All aspects

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Stay longer

Paul from manchester stayed at The Pele Tower for 3 nights in March 2024


Amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for the warm welcome to Pele Tower where we spent an amazing couple of days for a family break. What a beautiful location and property, and wonderful hosts.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
All the little extras made it a really comfortable and special stay.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing! Thank you!



Dominic from Warrington stayed at The Pele Tower for 3 nights in February 2024


It’s difficult to set aside….

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
….the history and charm of the sensitively rebuilt Pele Tower and concentrate on other aspects of our stay.

Our experience of self catering over many years tells us this place is among the best of the best! From Ann’s very warm welcome outside to the glowing log fire inside, the Pele speaks high quality throughout. The welcome pack is worth a mention here…. the most generous we’ve come across!

The accommodation is very well equipped, you need to look very hard to find something lacking and this includes the Wi-fi which is excellent…a rare feature in such a rural setting!

The owners have worked hard to convert the Pele into homely and really comfortable accommodation; it’s very easy to settle to, most relaxing.

The description on the Pele’s website is very accurate showing many of the lovely features including the en suites, a picture speaks a thousand words….

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The welcome, quality and homeliness.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Our expectations were fully met.

Robin from Peterhead stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in October 2023


Totally Terrific Tower!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ann and Andy have done an amazing job renovating this tower. The quality of the accommodation and the personal service we received are remarkable. A very well thought out welcome pack with quality goodies and essentials. The location was perfect for days out in both the N Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District. Visitor information book is full of useful ideas and local recommendations. We did the Pele Tower circular walk (Route 5 in the visitor book) and Ingleton Waterfalls Trail which is a great hike with fantastic scenery. The tower is also great if you just want to hang out for the day or go for local walks and lounge by the log burner at night. Sedbergh is the nearest small town only 5 mins drive from the tower. Sedbergh Fairfield Mill has a very interesting museum with a great history and demonstrations of wool making, weaving and machinery and tools. Kendal is only a 20 min drive away and we dropped by there on the way to pick up our food for the week at Booths supermarket. You can drive to Windermere in 30 mins and do a steamer trip on the lake. We recommend the return trip - Haverthwaite to Lakeside steam train and boat to Bowness on Windermere. We will be back to the Pele Tower when we get a chance.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
A very beautiful and comfortable place where you can relax and enjoy proper quiet and dark nights.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Provide more of Rosie's flapjacks!

Anne from Dunfermline stayed at The Pele Tower for 5 nights in October 2023


'Far from the Madding Crowd'

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third holiday at the Pele Tower, and it never fails to provide a luxurious, restful stay. You are warmly welcomed by the owners Anne and Andy and a luxurious basket of 'goodies'. The furnishings and appliances are of a high standard making your stay a comfortable and easily organised one. There is good parking, a lovely barbecue area and an amazing balcony overlooking a stream and you are surrounded by spectacular views across the landscape of hills and dales. It is so peaceful and good for the soul, body and mind.
There are so many fabulous walks from the Pele Tower and also many places and villages to explore nearby in the Southern Lake District and Western Dales, and we still have not seen them all!
If you want to escape the stresses and strains of this busy life we all lead, breathe fresh air, be close to nature and have time to relax and enjoy a different pace of life, this is the place for you.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Walking and exploring the area and returning to comfort and luxury.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
nothing..it was so perfect !

CHRISTOPHER from NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2023


Just phenomenonal!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the best places we have ever had the pleasure of staying at, honestly. You're welcomed by the kindest and inviting hosts, the accommodation is perfectly equipped with everything you need, and nothing less than an oasis to be in. Spotlessly clean, beautifully finished, and fantastically comfortable! Just a short drive from Sedbergh (10 mins) and Kendal (25 mins), both the Dales and the Lakes are easily accessible. We would never leave if that were possible!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Just everything about the accommodation is brilliant. Just brilliant. And the hosts are so amazingly welcoming and kind.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing whatsoever.



Guest from Tilburg stayed at The Pele Tower for 2 nights in August 2023


Make a booking immediately!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous place this is! A real gem on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, perfect for a holiday away from it all. Peace and quiet in a stunning accommodation, maintained and equipped to the highest possible standard. The hosts are amazing and look after you in every way possible, so you have nothing to want. We will 100% be back, and again and again. Would never leave if we had the chance.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The quality of the accommodation, the lush beds, the beautiful bathrooms, having everything you can possible wish for.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Couldn't say.



Guest from Tilburg stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2023


Utterly, utterly phenomenal!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at The Pele Tower. Beautiful space, the friendliest hosts, comfortable bed, fantastic kitchen, super clean: what more could you wish for? We will definitely be back, 100%.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Quality of the accommodation.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Couldn't say!



Guest from Tilburg stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2023


A wonderfull stay in "The Pele Tower" in Killington Hall

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both owners, Ann & Andy, go the extra mile to ensure you are having a great stay in The Pele Tower, which is a magnificently restored 300 year old building offering all modern comforts you can expect.
On arrival you'll find a nice basket richly filled with locally produced, delicious products.
In addition the venue provides you with detailed maps (and even a GPS and binoculairs) of hiking trips in the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Both are very worthwhile to spend a loth of time in.
The Pele Tower is situated in the middle of a rural area which guarantees quietness, space and a warm feeling of being very welcome.

We strongly recommend the venue for a relaxing stay at the edge of Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales.


What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The friendlyness of Ann & Andy, without a doubt

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Virtually nothing as all is perfect as is!

Cornelis from Breda stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2023


Luxury accomodation in a historic building

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Killington Tower. The accomodation was immpeccable and the service from Ann was perfect. We used the Tower as a base for local walks and drives to beautiful places in the Dales and Lakes. I could write a very long review but there is no need, just check out the pictures and know that the place is every bit as well presented and luxurious as it looks. I will be returning as soon as possible to experience Killington Tower again. Many Thanks x

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The general feeling of peace in the tower, it has a really calming energy.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
The place was great, your help when I hurt my ankle much appreciated so nothing really. A discount for loyal guests would be appreciated so I can return soon.:-)



Peter John from LEAMINGTON SPA stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2023


A Memorable Stay at The Pele Tower, Killington Hall

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Pele Tower in Killington Hall, and I must say, it was an experience beyond compare. From the moment we arrived, we were captivated by the sheer beauty and historical charm of this extraordinary property.

The Pele Tower itself is a true gem. Its imposing architecture exudes a sense of grandeur, taking you back in time to an era of knights and castles, making us truly feel like the ladies of the manor. The tower has been lovingly restored, striking a perfect balance between preserving its rich history and providing modern comforts.

Inside, we were greeted by warm and welcoming owners, Ann and Andy, who ensured that our stay was nothing short of exceptional. Their professionalism and genuine hospitality created a delightful atmosphere throughout our visit. They were always ready to offer assistance, provide recommendations, and make us feel right at home.

The accommodations at the Pele Tower were simply outstanding. Our rooms were elegantly decorated, blending the medieval ambiance with modern amenities. The plush bed ensured a restful night's sleep, and the luxurious bathroom featured top-notch fixtures and an invigorating shower. I appreciated the attention to detail in the room's design, with historical elements seamlessly integrated into the overall aesthetic.

In terms of location, the Pele Tower couldn't be better situated. Nestled in the heart of the countryside, it offers a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.

In conclusion, our time at the Pele Tower, Killington Hall, was truly unforgettable. The combination of its rich history, impeccable service, and stunning surroundings made it a remarkable destination. Whether you're seeking a romantic getaway, a historical retreat, or simply a place to unwind, the Pele Tower offers it all. I wholeheartedly recommend this enchanting establishment to anyone looking to create cherished memories in an extraordinary setting.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Comfort and luxury in a stunning environment

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
I cannot think of anything left to improve

Corella from ROTTERDAM stayed at The Pele Tower for 4 nights in May 2023


Amazing Pele Tower

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful, although too short stay, at this beautifully restored listed property. Hopefully we can return for a longer visit in the future. Ann and Andy should be proud of themselves for what they have achieved….it’s perfection! Everything you could possibly need is supplied and more.
Sorry we did not meet Andy, maybe next time.
Should you find the church opposite open it is worth having a look - it is beautiful.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Everything including the helpful, informative reception from Ann who then remains quite unobtrusive unless needed - perfect host.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing at all.



Joan from Peterlee stayed at The Pele Tower for 2 nights in November 2022


A fabulous place

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and certainly not our last. Everything is perfect, the standards very high and the character and location exquisite. Ann is a superb host and has achieved something really special with the restoration of this magnificent building.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The quality of the property and its interior is outstanding

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
If there could be any flexibility on check-in and check-out times that would be great but not a major issue at all.



Jeremy from London stayed at The Pele Tower for 4 nights in October 2022


Exquisite place with delightful and helpful hostess.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This centuries-old, historic place is exquisitely restored. The hostess is delightful and most helpful. Her husband is also a great help. Both of them are very knowledgeable about the tower and about Killington.

Art from Grange-over-Sands stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2022


Beautiful Pele Tower

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a glorious sunny week in August 2022. The accommodation is 5 star. The only issue is the narrow lanes required to negotiate to get there. It is wonderful countryside but quite remote.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Peace and quite in a wonderfully restored Pele Tower

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing



Dennis from CHELMSFORD stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2022


Top quality holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This really is one of the best holiday properties we have ever stayed in. Ann and Andy have thought of absolutely everything and welcome you with open arms. Killington/Pele tower is presented beautifully to a very high specification including the best quality fixtures and fittings, generous welcome hamper and cleaned to perfection. A great base from which to explore the Dales as well as the Lakes with some lovely walks right from the front doorstep. We could not fault our stay and highly recommend booking to anyone who would like a spot of luxury in our glorious British countryside.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The warm welcome and high standards throughout.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
We can’t think of anything.

Jayne from Ottery St Mary stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2022


Superb Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a superb and relaxing holiday. The Pele Tower is beautifully finished and well equipped for a luxurious and comfortable stay. Ann & Andy were excellent hosts and the suggestion of the circular walk from Sedbergh to Cautley Spout provided one of the highlights of the week.

We hope to return as it is a lovely place conveniently located in a beautiful part of the country providing easy access to Howgills, Dales and Lakes.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Beautiful and comfortable place to stay

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing - felt like every detail had been addresses



Anne from Prenton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2022


Wonderful stay at Pele Tower!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderful four night stay at Pele Tower, Killington. The hosts Ann and Andy couldn’t have been more welcoming and the accommodation was beautiful. Real attention to detail and a taste of luxury. Welcome hamper and local toiletries a lovely touch. Particularly enjoyed the visiting birds outside the kitchen window. We had some great days out, including a trip to Lake Windermere. Check closing times before you head out though - many shops and restaurants were closed in Sedbergh when we visited on Tuesday afternoon.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Luxury

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Can’t think of anything!

Robert from Glasgow stayed at The Pele Tower for 4 nights in July 2022


Return to the Pele Tower !

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again the Pele Tower in Killington provided a luxurious, enjoyable stay, with excellent, friendly and helpful hosts who catered for every need or query. The accommodation is very comfortable and clean and is of a high standard. The Pele Tower is situated in a tranquil and beautiful spot where one can relax and observe the wildlife. Within short distances (by car) there are many interesting and historical places to visit, whilst by foot you can take some wonderful walks and explore the surrounding landscapes.
Certainly this is a gem of a property and we hope to return again next year.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Its situation (for walking and easy access to the surrounding places of interest)

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing..it was perfect

Christine from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in June 2022


A perfect June break

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ann and Andrew were the perfect hosts, everything was first class from booking to enjoying our June break. Staying at The Pele Tower is having your own luxury castle!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Total secluded luxury in your own medieval castle.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing, you cannot improve on perfection!



Paul from Henley-on-Thames stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in June 2022


Idyllic location, wonderful hosts and a fabulous restoration of a unique historical property.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a short break to recharge the batteries after a pretty stressful year. From the moment we saw the property on the website we knew this would be the perfect place in which to relax and unwind far away from the hustle and bustle of daily life! Ann and Andy have put their hearts and souls into restoring this wonderful building and the result of their hard work is nothing short of spectacular. What a privilege to be able to stay in such a historical property and to learn about the lives of the previous owners as well as the history of Killington and the surrounding area. We loved the peaceful location. Although situated right in the heart of Killington, we were surrounded by just the sounds of the stream, the birds and the sheep on the hillside. It felt a little off the beaten track, which was what we wanted, but we were actually just a short stone's throw from nearby towns such as Sedbergh, Kirkby Lonsdale and Kendal which provide a great variety of interesting independent shops, pubs and eating places. We loved visiting Fairfield Mill just outside Sedbergh and the weekly market in Kirkby Lonsdale where we stocked up on local produce to take home with us. There were a number of walks starting straight from the door, and although we weren't up for anything too strenuous on this occasion it was wonderful to take a late afternoon stroll along the bridleway, where we saw spring flowers, young lambs in the fields and of course the fabulous views of those hills.
The Pele Tower provided us with the most luxurious accommodation we have ever had! It felt like we were staying in a five star hotel but with all the home comforts included. The property was spacious, light and airy but with all the right touches to make it feel incredibly cosy too. All the rooms were most tastefully designed and furnished, with a real eye for detail. We particularly liked the use of locally sourced furnishings such as the artwork, lampshades and rugs, as well as the photographs of the building and its restoration. We loved the woodburner, the reading nook upstairs, the comfortable bed and high quality linens, the fabulous shower and the extremely well equipped kitchen. We really enjoyed having nature on our doorstep - sitting at the dining table and watching the birds at the feeder and the relaxing sound of the gurgling stream from the balcony. Although we didn't use it during our visit, the recent construction of a fire pit and seating outside was a really lovely touch and we could just imagine sitting out there on a summers evening - that will have to be top of the list for our next visit!
We could go on! However, amazing as the location and property are, what made our experience 5/5 was our hosts and the genuinely warm welcome we were given. Anny & Andy go out of their way to make everything just perfect for their guests and this is undoubtedly what will keep guests coming back to Killington Pele Tower time and time again.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
We have enjoyed absolutely every aspect of our stay. However if we need to pick out highlights these would be - the fabulous welcome from Ann & Andy, the hamper, watching the birds and listening to the stream

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
We wouldn't want you to change a thing - our stay was absolutely perfect in every way

Alison from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Pele Tower for 4 nights in March 2022


A last minute break became truly memorable.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved every aspect of it. We had come at short notice for a specific practical reason but the Pele Tower immediately transformed our stay into a wonderful short holiday when we discovered how fabulous the location, property, welcome and comfort were.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Everything was better than expectations. Can't single out one factor though the accommodation is of exceptionally high standard

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Can't really think of anything!



Jeremy from Croydon stayed at The Pele Tower for 4 nights in March 2022


Remote, quiet, relaxing and quirky.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying in the Pele tower in October. It is a beautifully restored historical building in the Western Yorkshire
Dales. It felt very remote but only took minutes to drive to the nearest town. We were left a lovely basket of local food treats including eggs from the owners hens. The property has every modern convenience but retains its historical feel. The surrounding area is beautiful and quiet with few tourists. We particularly enjoyed a lengthy walk around the Malham cove area taking in towering cliffs, amazing geology, rivers, a lake and stunning scenery.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
It’s relaxing feel

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Hooks in the bathrooms for bathrobes etc. More rails for wet towels.

Rod from Eastleigh stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in October 2021


A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely lovely week staying here. It's beautifully restored and updated in a way that doesn't spoil its character. Really well equipped, we found everything we needed was supplied and all was spotlessly clean. We felt very well looked after and as safe from covid as possible. The tower's history is fascinating and having the archaeological record book to read was a nice touch. Ann and Andy are gracious hosts and only next door if you need anything. There's a ventilation system which keeps the air in the tower fresh which you can hear at night when it's quiet but it didn't stop us having a lovely peaceful week. There was a generous welcome hamper too which we thoroughly enjoyed.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Peaceful and the space to get out into the countryside

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing. It was perfect.

Guest from Birmingham stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2021


A luxurious break.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived at the Pele Tower until we left our hosts, Ann and Andrew, made us very comfortable an feel
extremely welcome. The Pele Tower is a testament to their hard work and vision and provides a wonderful place to stay. The
generous Welcome Hamper was much appreciated and contained local produce. The property itself is tastefully furnished and contains all the equipment and utensils needed for self catering.
The immediate countryside provides many walks, for different abilities, and these are supported by clear maps and plans which are available at this property. Also, there are many good recommendations for visits, restaurants and places of interest.
The Pele Tower, itself, has a wealth of historical background and there is much information about it in the property.
Whether you wish to relax and enjoy the views or follow up your specific interests or hobbies, the Pele Tower has it all. It's a place to return to as one holiday just isn't enough!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Exploring the countryside and visiting places of local interest as well as relaxing and being cut off from all the hustle and bustle of day to day life.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing -it is perfect!

Christine from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2021


An excellent second visit

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the Pele tower, so we knew what to expect!

We feel like the tower is a real home away from home, a perfect place to take a break and enjoy the beautiful countryside in the Lake District/ Yorkshire Dales.

The tower is beautifully restored and everything is of the highest quality! We absolutely love the warm welcome from Ann and Andy who are amazing hosts and always on hand should anything be needed!

Absolutely thoroughly recommend this property to others and no doubt that we will revisit!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The comfort and welcoming set up!

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing, everything was just perfect.

Kenny from Swindon stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2021


Delightful week at Pele Tower, Killington

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week at Pele Tower. The accommodation had everything you could possibly need during your stay. The house is very stylishly furnished as well as being incredibly comfortable and a great place to relax after a day's activities in the Lakes and surrounding areas. The situation of Pele Tower is tranquil and there are many walks straight from the door. We had a very warm welcome from Anne who was around to give any local information on restaurants and walks when needed.
Throughout the UK, this is definitely one of the finest places we have stayed.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Luxury and comfort of the accommodation in beautiful surroundings.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing

Emma from Shiplake stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2021


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Pele Tower! It's such a unique place and actually a lot bigger than the photos suggest. The tower was spotless and everything is on hand that you would ever need. Fantastic location to explore the Dales or the Lakes or even just enjoy all that Kirkby Lonsdale has to offer!

Ann and Andy couldn't have been more helpful, they were there when we needed anything and are a lovely couple. Our boys of 11 and 13 had plenty of space and there were lots of games to use or of course just the TV, not that we spent much time indoors with all there is to explore in the area.

This certainly won't be our last stay, we couldn't recommend it more highly.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Immaculate condition and location

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
A 2nd shower would be great but that would be the chee

Paul from Abingdon stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2021


A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Tower. It’s been beautifully restored and decorated, with absolutely everything you would need for a holiday. So many lovely touches, such as the welcome hamper, maps and Garmin for walking, games; the list is endless! The whole Tower feels luxurious, particularly the bath in the main bedroom. It was lovely to have the stream running right outside, we had breakfast outside a few times during our stay- great for wildlife watching too! The surrounding area is beautiful, so peaceful, with plenty of local walks, but lots of villages and towns in easy reach, with some excellent pubs. If We highly recommend!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Everything! But we loved the peace and quiet, with the sound of the stream in the background.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing, it was perfect!

Mark from Royston stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2021


The most perfect holiday!

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pele Tower is hands down the best self-catering property we have ever stayed in. The building itself is stunning and is beautifully decorated. Every detail has been though of, from the locally sourced welcome hamper to the fantastically equipped kitchen. This comes as no surprise when you meet the lovely owners, Ann & Andy, who could not have been more welcoming.

The hamlet of Killington is small but perfectly formed with stunning views just a short walk away and a perfect base for exploring both the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales.

We will definitely be booking again.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The stunning property, attention to detail and beautiful location

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing, it was perfect!

Hannah from Stourbridge stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2021


Truly luxury accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful and fascinating place to stay. The Pele Tower had everything you could want for an easy and luxurious self catering holiday. Ann and Andy had thought of absolutely everything to make holiday makers very welcome and comfortable. The property is in an excellent location for the dales and the lakes and we enjoyed various activities in both. The nearest shop is a few miles drive away but the roads are quiet and shops and restaurants in Sedbergh, Kirby Lonsdale and Kendal were easy to get to. Killington was peaceful and quiet and apart from the rushing stream past the tower (couldn’t hear it inside!) all you could hear was the occasional bleat of the sheep!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Luxury and the warm welcome.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Still can’t think of anything!

Helen from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2021


Rural peace in a luxurious historical setting with outstanding hospitality.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pele Tower is stunning: beautifully restored & furnished, spotlessly clean with a well-equipped kitchen which includes a generous amount of crockery & cutlery for 4. Ann & Andy are the perfect hosts - welcoming & helpful but unobtrusive. We enjoyed the many thoughtful touches including the superb welcome hamper, multiple maps, bird spotting book and super speedy wifi. The location is perfect for access to The Lakes & The Dales & well worth navigating the narrow lanes for. We would love to return.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Identifying the birds feeding from the bird table over breakfast. Sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon sun listening to the water rushing below.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing - we had everything we could want, including perfect weather.

Helen from Nottingham stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2021


Somewhere special

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful historic tower - we loved reading about its history and hearing about ‘the big renovation project’. The result is a stylish, characterful and very well equipped hideaway - maybe slightly off the beaten track - but within easy reach of both the Lake District and Dales. There are some lovely walks from the property and nearby - the free use of the Garmin was most helpful and gave us the confidence to keep walking in the right direction when the path appeared to vanish. We enjoyed visiting Kirkby Lonsdale, Sedbergh, Ingleton waterfall trail, Wray castle, Holker Hall, the Puzzling place in Keswick (on a rainy day) followed by driving over the Honister pass towards Buttermere which has beautiful views. Visiting Cartmel and lunch at L’enclume (to be booked well in advance) was also a memorable highlight of our trip. Ann and Andy were most helpful and friendly and provided a lovely welcome hamper.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Great matras and bedding. Thank you for the welcome hamper.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
We can’t think of anything.

Sabine from Hampton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2021


Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pele tower accommodation exceeded all of our expectations.The space was actually bigger than it appeared on the website and the attention to detail in the decoration, furnishing and fitting out was exceptional. It was also spotlessly clean and it was clear when we got there that the extra time spent getting the accommodation 'Covid Safe' was well used.
Ann and Andy were great hosts - friendly, informative and helpful.
The location is beautiful with lots of walks from the front door as well as being an easy drive for the lakes and the dales. It is also a great place to stay put and relax.
We are already planning a return trip.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Unique accommodation and beautiful location

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
nothing more needed.

Ann from London stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2021


A week next to the Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome to this place by the hosts. A well converted interesting old building tucked away within hilly farmland.
The second bedroom was a bit small and lacked opening windows but with a fantastic shower. The large main bedroom has a bath. We used our friends’ shower.
Outside could do with a dining table and shade (we had some great sunshine). Locally Kirkby Lonsdale, Sedbergh and Kendal easily reached but the local roads are very narrow and steep (but quiet).

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Peace and quiet. Nice noisy stream. Local walks with great views

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
As above



Bob from Timperley stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2021


Fabulous stay at 5 star accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pele Tower which is a real piece of history and wonderfully restored. Couldn’t fault the accommodation which was in a beautiful and quiet location about 10 minutes drive from the Lake District. Owners made us feel very welcome and were on hand if needed. We had fantastic weather during our stay and enjoyed days out to Morecambe Bay, Kendal, Kirkby Lonsdale and the surrounding local countryside.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Peaceful and high quality accommodation in a great location

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing



Jeremy from Loughborough stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in June 2021


Enjoyable stay in a fantastic place

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at The Pele Tower. A beautifully restored building, kept immaculate and equipped with everything you could possibly need, thanks to the welcoming owners who live on site.

Provided a peaceful place to unwind and a base from which to explore Lakes to the west or Yorkshire Dales to east. There are also some lovely walks around the location itself.

Oh, and even the wifi is amazing, which is unheard of for a holiday rental.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Being in such a lovely place and building.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Honestly can't think of anything.



Tim from Hartlepool stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in June 2021


Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pele Tower is a wonderful property. Beautifully furnished, comfortable and welcoming. Lovely location, peace and quiet - perfect!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The hosts, Ann & Andy were so helpful and very welcoming.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Can’t think of anything!



Michael from Birmingham stayed at The Pele Tower for 14 nights in June 2021


Wonderful unique property

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pele Tower is a fabulous holiday property. It is dramatic, spacious well equipped and comfortable with wonderful views over the countryside. Great welcome hamper with lovely homemade produce. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the outside space next to the brook. It is in a good location for walking and not far from Sedburgh which has a good range of independent shops and places to eat. We enjoyed walking in the Howgills and Lune Valley on the Dales Way, in half term, and yet hardly saw anyone else. A very restful and peaceful week, thank you.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Peaceful location

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
It’s hard to think of anything!

Tanya from Matlock stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in May 2021


Relaxing week at Pele Tower

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful property in beautiful surroundings.
Excellent hosts who were very friendly and welcoming, and happy to help with any enquiries.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Beautiful setting

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing really.



Daniel from Glasgow stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in May 2021


All round excellence

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easily the best Premier Cottage we have ever stayed at.











































The 100 word requirement is ridiculous

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Attention to detail, luxurious interior, curated local walks

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing!



Eugene from West Byfleet stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in December 2020


Staying at Pele Tower October 1/2 Term.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From first contact after booking online, the owners could not have been more helpful. Pele Tower uses specific cleaning products, however due to allergies the washing product was not suitable for us, Ann understood this and changed for the product we use. she also ensured all bedding and towels were washed in our preferred product before we arrived. This attention to detail and helpfulness was shown in every interaction with Ann and Andy.
Pele Tower itself impresses from first sight, we arrived early evening (in the dark) to be welcomed by Ann outside and inside a warm welcoming fire and a fantastic welcome hamper packed with lots of local treats. The tower is decorated and accessorised to an incredibly high standard. The tower is stocked with everything you could possible need, nothing is missing, again this shows the attention to detail.
Due to the excessive rain we spent a very chilled week in the tower relaxing and recharging from a very difficult year and this is just the place to do it. I also have to say this has the faster wifi I have ever had.
The rooms are all of a generous size, but remined warm and cosy throughout our stay. The tower is a real piece of history wonderfully restored and yet with so many modern touches that fit seamlessly into it.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Staying in a unique holiday home.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Arrange for better weather, but as this is not possible I'd say change nothing, you really have got this perfect.

Alan from Shrewsbury stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in October 2020


Beautiful place to stay to enjoy the Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house showcasing the history of the building while providing all the modern comfort one can expect. We’ve all thoroughly enjoyed our week - so many local walks and lots of helpful advice from the owner who is very friendly yet discreet. A special mention for the cleanliness too, everything was spotless.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The character of the building and the local area

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
More sunshine! :)



Asli from London stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in October 2020


Exceptional!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first break we felt able to take in this very strange 2020. So pleased we did. What a beautiful place with wonderful scenery & some lovely local walks right from the front door. Ann & Andy have thought of absolutely everything & made us feel so welcome & comfortable. What a fantastic job they have done restoring the Pele Tower to it's former glory. Also for us the added bonus that David's 14th great grandfather built the hall & tower which we only researched after we had booked.
We would highly recommend & have, & will definitely return.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Everything!

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing!

Shirley from Kent stayed at The Pele Tower for 6 nights in October 2020


Amazing service

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pele Tower is a wonderful place to stay. The restoration has been done exceptionally well and looks fantastic. Ann is an amazing host with nothing being to much trouble. Ann goes above and beyond to make your stay a fantastic experience, we had a very personalised welcome box with all dietary needs taken into account which was a lovely surprise, wonderful gluten free bread, diary free butter and milk + lots more.
The cottage has everything you would need in it and so much thought has been put into both the decor and the equipment included.
The location is in a small hamlet rather than a village/town location with shops etc but it is an excellent location for both the Yorkshire Dales and also the Lakes, giving you the best of both worlds. We hired some electric bikes which was brilliant and a relief when getting up all the hills! We were able to store them safely and charge them on site, all organised by Ann and her husband. There is so many wonderful things to see in the area and amazing walks to go on. Kirby Lonsdale was a favourite with wonderful shops and places to eat.
The only point I would make is if you are two couples staying, the master room has a beautiful bath but no overhead shower, so just take that into account when deciding who is going to stay in which room.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The cottage is a wonderful place to stay, with amazing and such helpful hosts that made such a difference to our stay.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
If it is possible to add in an overhead shower over the beautiful bath in the master bedroom, that would just complete the bedrooms.

Alison from Virginia Water stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2020


A wonderful stay in an amazing property!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the Pele Tower. The property was spotless, beautifully restored and decorated with period features and artwork. Great hospitality from Ann and Andy - we arrived to a well stocked hamper of local goodies and home baked brownies. The area is beautiful, fields all around - the property is down a narrow lane but the remoteness made it all the more appealing! We explored and walked in both the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District and felt it was a great location for seeing both. Hoping to return again soon!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Staying in such a beautifully restored property

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing

Caroline from Leamington Spa stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2020


Fantastic unique acommodation, highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were incredibly impressed and delighted with our stay at the Pele Tower! We spent a week exploring both the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales which are both easily accessible from the location of the cottage.

We booked this cottage based on the reviews of others and the pictures, we were not disappointed! The cottage is wonderful, the conversion of the tower is to the highest standard and everything you need (and more) was available.

We were very nervous about our travel plans given the Covid situation, however, Ann and Andy have gone to every length to make you feel incredibly safe and the process was simple to follow and re-assuring!

We really enjoyed our trip and the accommodation was the icing on the cake. We have already been recommending the property to our friends and family and are hoping to book a future stay in sping 2021.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The comfort of the rooms; the cosy set-up in the living room with the fireplace; the wonderful hosts.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing, everything was just perfect.

Kenny from Swindon stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2020


Amazing accomodation

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 of us had an amazing stay at Pele tower. Our hosts Ann and Andrew were very welcoming and looked after us extremely well. Thank you for the generous welcome basket with all the delicious goodies. The tower is blow you away accommodation, I don’t think I stopped saying ‘I love this place’ the whole stay. It looked and felt very luxurious. A great location too, close to the lakes the coast and North Yorkshire. Also felt safe and prepared with Covid precautions. We will be staying without doubt again in this stunning, stunning property. Thank you to Ann and Andrew.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The quality of the property, location and the hosts

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing, it was spot on for us.

Adrian from Wootton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


Perfection - the most glorious place I've stayed.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pele Tower is a fabulous holiday let - genuinely five stars all round; the fascinating story of its restoration and the background history of Killington are simply a wonderful bonus and the owners' welcome is so warm and generous. We have been truly spoilt! We booked several times before through Premier Cottages, through whom we've never failed to be impressed - the Pele Tower is a stand-out, though: it's an exquisite, beautifully furnished property with SO many thoughtful details and luxury touches (the quality and scope of the welcome hamper being one, the extraordinarily well equipped kitchen being another - all the bits and bobs that I usually travel with in case they're missing were redundant!). The magic of the place is extraordinary in its beck-side location (inclement weather meant we couldn't use the decking as much as we'd have liked - such a tranquil spot at sunset), and we loved watching the birds from the breakfast table. Special mention to two things: the sheer spaciousness of the place (the hallways and downstairs cloakroom for when you trundle back from a muddy walk and need to hang everything up, and the living room and double-bed bedroom especially) and the light (the careful restoration having natural light flooding through the windows and, on an evening, a range of uplights and lamps to create the perfect cosy scene). I really could go on with the plaudits. The location was of real interest as part of the 2016 extension of the Dales National Park and we would definitely return for further walks in the area. I should end with a note about the exceptional Covid-secure confidence of the place and the owners - we've been very risk-averse during the easing of lockdown, but felt complete assurance in all the measures Ann and Andrew had taken.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
To be honest, everything!

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Not a thing!

Helen from Oxford stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2020


Wonderfully restored heritage property

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a really relaxing week (in spite of the weather!) in Killington and really appreciated the comfort provided by the high quality finishes in this restored property. The real meaning of the often misused word 'premium'.

Covid-19 cleanliness standards were the highest we've encountered during the pandemic period - no shortcuts here!

We brought quite a lot of day to day accessories with us - quite often we find that 'fully equipped' doesn't mean that. But not here, apart from a couple of very minor things, anyone's stay for a week should be well catered for. Books, games, kitchen accessories, laundry items etc. Plus, the welcome hamper with some basics and a selection of treats sums up the attention to detail and quality of finishes.

In terms of location, for us it was perfect. Off the beaten track in a small hamlet and 20-30 minutes drive to the Lakes and the same to the Dales. Plus, some good walks around Killington itself. The hamlet is accessed by tight, narrow roads which add to the sense of adventure and remoteness - and the odd bit of reversing practice!

The weather wasn't kind to us. English Augusts aren't a guarantee of good weather, as we know, but this week was particularly autumnal - perhaps verging on wintry. We did manage to get out and about a fair bit but when we didn't, this was a really cosy bolthole and we appreciate a little bit of luxury!


What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
A good night's sleep in very comfortable beds.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Two minor things - a shaving point in the main en-suite and a bread knife (in the kitchen, not the en-suite). :-)

Richard Simon from Stowmarket stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


A unique experience and a spectacular place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the Pele Tower in Killington. The restoration of the Tower has been done with great thought and elegance. The space is perfect for a group of 4 with a lovely big lounge and log fire if it gets chilly. The bedrooms are well configured and comfortable and the views framed by the Tower windows are beautiful. Little touches such as having plug sockets in the right place really matter so it feels like a home from home. I have a very demanding job and the fast broadband meant I could work if I needed to and I didn't spend hours having to connect. My teenage son, who is an only child, was absolutely in heaven with the super fast broadband and a t.v. in every room where you can access Netflix and Prime. This meant that after our long walks exploring during the day, he was able to speak with his friends and watch his movies during his "me time". Everyone was happy. The kitchen is very well equipped and another example of the great thought that has gone into preparing this holiday let. We chose not to eat in restaurants on this holiday and so being able to cook was important and I can honestly say that I loved cooking in that kitchen which is open plan with the lounge so you are in the heart of the house. Ann and Andy are nearby and on hand if needed and they were just delightful hosts. The hamper that greeted us on arrival was wonderful and a really nice touch if you have been driving for 6-7 hours from London. It had some of the basics but also a few treats - very nicely done. I can't recommend Pele Tower enough if you are looking to stay in this part of the world.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
It was the full all round experience.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing in particular

Alis from London stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


A perfect holiday stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome on arrival to an outstanding property. You can see that it has took a lot of hard work and dedication to make this restored tower a wonderful place to stay. An abundance of luxury in an ideal setting. Perfect location for exploring both the Dales and the Lakes.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Location and luxury.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing



Phillip from Hull stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


Review of Pele Tower

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Pele Tower was wonderful. The accommodation was of a very high standard. The Pele Tower has been sensitively refurbished but kept some of the original features which are magnificent. The views of Killington are stunning. The warm and friendly welcome we received contributed to our holiday and our hope is that we will return again in the near future.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Peaceful and high quality accommodation and location

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing



Guest from Braintree stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


A truly luxurious summer family holiday in the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly special and luxurious place to stay. Beautiful location and stunning views. Highly recommend.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Luxurious and delicious hamper. Wood burner. An absolute joy to stay in an incredible historical building, fantastically restored to an exceptionally high standard.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Inventory of kitchen and bedroom items .. we bought things with us that we did not need to use .. you kindly provided everything !



Iain from Nuneaton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2020


Ann Newbold replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all and we are delighted that you chose to book your Summer break with us here in Killington. We are so pleased that you found everything you required to hand and are grateful for your feedback. We hope to see you all again some day.

Pele Tower stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location, a stunningly renovated property and the ability to enjoy it all in peace and luxury, made for a very happy holiday. The hosts were so kind, helpful and friendly. Their vision and perseverance has allowed the resurrection of a dilapidated tower into a home well evolved to suit the needs of the 21st Century. We will be back!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Ability to enjoy peace and tranquility in ancient but modern and luxurious surroundings.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
A toothbrush/shaver charge point in master bedroom bathroom



Guest from Thruxton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2020


Ann Newbold replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all and to be able to socially distance and give you further insight regarding the restoration. We are also pleased that you were able to celebrate a wedding anniversary and birthday during your stay. We would love to see you all again some day.

Escape up North

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week away from the home office! Arriving to find a warm (distanced) welcome, beautiful accommodation, fantastic hamper and stunning scenery. We were all set for a lovely week, a get away from it all holiday, in a fantastic self contained property that has been renovated to exacting standards. We experienced the best of 5 star facilities, furnishings and service, in an immaculately clean and cared for private property. We were spoilt for choice with outings and walks either from the doorstep, the Lakes or the Dales. A fantastic property in an excellent location. Very High recommended.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The comfort and luxury of the accommodation

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Sunshine?

Helen from Poole stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2020


Ann Newbold replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you both and you were the perfect guests to help us kickstart the property following Lockdown. We are grateful that you chose to book your stay with us and you gave us the confidence required to keep going following a challenging start. We hope to see you again someday.