FB Twitter

The Pele Tower

The Pele Tower

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Amazing accomodation

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 of us had an amazing stay at Pele tower. Our hosts Ann and Andrew were very welcoming and looked after us extremely well. Thank you for the generous welcome basket with all the delicious goodies. The tower is blow you away accommodation, I don’t think I stopped saying ‘I love this place’ the whole stay. It looked and felt very luxurious. A great location too, close to the lakes the coast and North Yorkshire. Also felt safe and prepared with Covid precautions. We will be staying without doubt again in this stunning, stunning property. Thank you to Ann and Andrew.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The quality of the property, location and the hosts

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing, it was spot on for us.

Adrian from Wootton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


Perfection - the most glorious place I've stayed.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pele Tower is a fabulous holiday let - genuinely five stars all round; the fascinating story of its restoration and the background history of Killington are simply a wonderful bonus and the owners' welcome is so warm and generous. We have been truly spoilt! We booked several times before through Premier Cottages, through whom we've never failed to be impressed - the Pele Tower is a stand-out, though: it's an exquisite, beautifully furnished property with SO many thoughtful details and luxury touches (the quality and scope of the welcome hamper being one, the extraordinarily well equipped kitchen being another - all the bits and bobs that I usually travel with in case they're missing were redundant!). The magic of the place is extraordinary in its beck-side location (inclement weather meant we couldn't use the decking as much as we'd have liked - such a tranquil spot at sunset), and we loved watching the birds from the breakfast table. Special mention to two things: the sheer spaciousness of the place (the hallways and downstairs cloakroom for when you trundle back from a muddy walk and need to hang everything up, and the living room and double-bed bedroom especially) and the light (the careful restoration having natural light flooding through the windows and, on an evening, a range of uplights and lamps to create the perfect cosy scene). I really could go on with the plaudits. The location was of real interest as part of the 2016 extension of the Dales National Park and we would definitely return for further walks in the area. I should end with a note about the exceptional Covid-secure confidence of the place and the owners - we've been very risk-averse during the easing of lockdown, but felt complete assurance in all the measures Ann and Andrew had taken.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
To be honest, everything!

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Not a thing!

Helen from Oxford stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in September 2020


Wonderfully restored heritage property

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a really relaxing week (in spite of the weather!) in Killington and really appreciated the comfort provided by the high quality finishes in this restored property. The real meaning of the often misused word 'premium'.

Covid-19 cleanliness standards were the highest we've encountered during the pandemic period - no shortcuts here!

We brought quite a lot of day to day accessories with us - quite often we find that 'fully equipped' doesn't mean that. But not here, apart from a couple of very minor things, anyone's stay for a week should be well catered for. Books, games, kitchen accessories, laundry items etc. Plus, the welcome hamper with some basics and a selection of treats sums up the attention to detail and quality of finishes.

In terms of location, for us it was perfect. Off the beaten track in a small hamlet and 20-30 minutes drive to the Lakes and the same to the Dales. Plus, some good walks around Killington itself. The hamlet is accessed by tight, narrow roads which add to the sense of adventure and remoteness - and the odd bit of reversing practice!

The weather wasn't kind to us. English Augusts aren't a guarantee of good weather, as we know, but this week was particularly autumnal - perhaps verging on wintry. We did manage to get out and about a fair bit but when we didn't, this was a really cosy bolthole and we appreciate a little bit of luxury!


What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
A good night's sleep in very comfortable beds.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Two minor things - a shaving point in the main en-suite and a bread knife (in the kitchen, not the en-suite). :-)

Richard Simon from Stowmarket stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


A unique experience and a spectacular place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the Pele Tower in Killington. The restoration of the Tower has been done with great thought and elegance. The space is perfect for a group of 4 with a lovely big lounge and log fire if it gets chilly. The bedrooms are well configured and comfortable and the views framed by the Tower windows are beautiful. Little touches such as having plug sockets in the right place really matter so it feels like a home from home. I have a very demanding job and the fast broadband meant I could work if I needed to and I didn't spend hours having to connect. My teenage son, who is an only child, was absolutely in heaven with the super fast broadband and a t.v. in every room where you can access Netflix and Prime. This meant that after our long walks exploring during the day, he was able to speak with his friends and watch his movies during his "me time". Everyone was happy. The kitchen is very well equipped and another example of the great thought that has gone into preparing this holiday let. We chose not to eat in restaurants on this holiday and so being able to cook was important and I can honestly say that I loved cooking in that kitchen which is open plan with the lounge so you are in the heart of the house. Ann and Andy are nearby and on hand if needed and they were just delightful hosts. The hamper that greeted us on arrival was wonderful and a really nice touch if you have been driving for 6-7 hours from London. It had some of the basics but also a few treats - very nicely done. I can't recommend Pele Tower enough if you are looking to stay in this part of the world.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
It was the full all round experience.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing in particular

Alis from London stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


A perfect holiday stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome on arrival to an outstanding property. You can see that it has took a lot of hard work and dedication to make this restored tower a wonderful place to stay. An abundance of luxury in an ideal setting. Perfect location for exploring both the Dales and the Lakes.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Location and luxury.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing



Phillip from Hull stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


Review of Pele Tower

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Pele Tower was wonderful. The accommodation was of a very high standard. The Pele Tower has been sensitively refurbished but kept some of the original features which are magnificent. The views of Killington are stunning. The warm and friendly welcome we received contributed to our holiday and our hope is that we will return again in the near future.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Peaceful and high quality accommodation and location

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Nothing



Guest from Braintree stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in August 2020


A truly luxurious summer family holiday in the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly special and luxurious place to stay. Beautiful location and stunning views. Highly recommend.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Luxurious and delicious hamper. Wood burner. An absolute joy to stay in an incredible historical building, fantastically restored to an exceptionally high standard.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Inventory of kitchen and bedroom items .. we bought things with us that we did not need to use .. you kindly provided everything !



Iain from Nuneaton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2020


Ann Newbold replied 28 days ago
It was lovely to meet you all and we are delighted that you chose to book your Summer break with us here in Killington. We are so pleased that you found everything you required to hand and are grateful for your feedback. We hope to see you all again some day.

Pele Tower stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location, a stunningly renovated property and the ability to enjoy it all in peace and luxury, made for a very happy holiday. The hosts were so kind, helpful and friendly. Their vision and perseverance has allowed the resurrection of a dilapidated tower into a home well evolved to suit the needs of the 21st Century. We will be back!

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
Ability to enjoy peace and tranquility in ancient but modern and luxurious surroundings.

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
A toothbrush/shaver charge point in master bedroom bathroom



Guest from Thruxton stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2020


Ann Newbold replied 28 days ago
It was lovely to meet you all and to be able to socially distance and give you further insight regarding the restoration. We are also pleased that you were able to celebrate a wedding anniversary and birthday during your stay. We would love to see you all again some day.

Escape up North

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week away from the home office! Arriving to find a warm (distanced) welcome, beautiful accommodation, fantastic hamper and stunning scenery. We were all set for a lovely week, a get away from it all holiday, in a fantastic self contained property that has been renovated to exacting standards. We experienced the best of 5 star facilities, furnishings and service, in an immaculately clean and cared for private property. We were spoilt for choice with outings and walks either from the doorstep, the Lakes or the Dales. A fantastic property in an excellent location. Very High recommended.

What have you enjoyed most about staying at the Pele Tower?
The comfort and luxury of the accommodation

What can we do to make your stay even better next time?
Sunshine?

Helen from Poole stayed at The Pele Tower for 7 nights in July 2020


Ann Newbold replied 29 days ago
It was lovely to meet you both and you were the perfect guests to help us kickstart the property following Lockdown. We are grateful that you chose to book your stay with us and you gave us the confidence required to keep going following a challenging start. We hope to see you again someday.