FB Twitter

The Hollies, Tighnabruaich

The Hollies, Tighnabruaich

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


The Hollies is a new luxury, exclusive-use holiday home in the beautiful village of Tighnabruaich. Ideal for family holidays, special occasions and retreats. Created from the shell of a much-loved local landmark building, The Hollies is finished to the highest modern standards whilst retaining many of the features of this Victorian sandstone villa.

The Hollies Exceeded All My Expectations

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As the organizer of a women's retreat with guests coming from Canada, the United States and Europe, I wanted to give my guests the very best experience in Scotland. Working with Graeme and Lorraine was great right from the start. So knowledgable and going the extra mile to answer all my questions and make connections for me in the village.

Still, photos don't always represent reality, so I was a bit nervous. But when I opened the doors to The Hollies and saw my guests' reaction I knew we had hit the mark. We found the house to be high spec, inviting, beautifully and thoughtfully appointed. We immediately felt at home.

We appreciated the spaciousness of the kitchen and living room, where our group could gather for conversation. The terrace for before dinner drinks. The games room for friendly games of pool in the evening. And the sea views from so many windows!

Each of the bedrooms in special in it's own way and it was nice that nobody felt they got the short end of the stick. The private baths were appreciated. And even in the attic where we shared, the bathroom is so big and beautiful we were not disappointed.

At the end of the week we didn't want to leave. And I can't wait to come back next year.




Graeme and Lorraine replied 4 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful review Darlene. I so enjoyed meeting you and your group on Saturday to show you around the house, and planning your itinerary with you for the prior few months was great fun as we were able to put together a fantastic range of activities and experiences. We look forward to welcoming you and your group back next year for another retreat.

Just perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Hollies to host ourselves and 16 family members for our wedding in April and it was just perfect from start to finish!
We were welcomed by Andy, who showed us around and had kindly bought in the essentials for us.
Our family arrived in dribs and drabs and we arranged a local caterer from Five West to do dinner for us all on the Friday evening. I couldn’t recommend this more as it took all of the stress out of the evening before the wedding.
Andy and Fiona came again on Saturday morning to set up the garden for the ceremony and we got married against the stunning backdrop of the Kyles of Bute. It couldn’t have been more beautiful!
We then had our wedding reception at the Kames Hotel, where 30 of our friends joined.
The Hollies was so good for a lazy Sunday morning where some people enjoyed sitting outside, others playing pool in the games room and others chatting in the comfortable living room, before the caterers came in again to do brunch for us.
We really couldn’t recommend The Hollies enough if you are looking for a special setting for a big group of people .




Wonderful week in a fabulous house

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at The Hollies, family of 16, three generations and there was something for everyone, from the brilliant games room and garden for the children ( toasting marshmallows at the fire pit was a real treat!) to the wonderful relaxing lounge for the adults to chill out in. Fantastically well equipped house with no detail overlooked, kitchen was fabulous and all the bedrooms were super comfortable. We loved the quirky room names!
We have stayed in lots of holiday homes all over the country and The Hollies is without doubt one of the best.




Lorraine replied 40 days ago
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, Alan. We are chuffed to bits that you consider us one of the best holiday homes especially as you have tried so many. We are delighted you all had a great time and we hope you will come again. Best wishes Lorraine and Graeme

A brilliant place for a group holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying at The Hollies. As a big group celebrating a birthday, it offered the ideal set up for big group dinners and general merry making - the petanque arena saw many a game as well!

Lorraine and Graham, the hosts, were incredibly helpful sending us brilliant lists of local attractions, walks, restaurants and suppliers well ahead of time that helped made our stay even more special.

We would all I think 100% stay again.




Lorraine McFall replied 68 days ago
Thank you so much for your review, Mike. We are so pleased you all had a fabulous weekend. You were an absolute pleasure to work with and we hope you will come back again. Best wishes Lorraine and Graeme

Glorious Xmas week

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super stay on the waterfront. Very comfortable property with plentiful activities in the house and nearby. Highly recommend swimming locally (right outside the house) and the west coast wellness yoga with spectacular sauna by the sea.



Graeme & Lorraine replied 147 days ago
Thank you Matt for the lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas stay at The Hollies, and enjoyed the West Coast Wellness yoga and sauna.

A stunning setting for our special family gathering

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to The Hollies to celebrate our mum's 80th, so there were babies, children, teens and adults of various ages coming together for the first time in years in this fabulous home.
As soon as we arrived we knew we were going to have an amazing time. The house is very handsome and spacious with beautiful, music-themed bedrooms to suit every guest. I stayed in Deacon Blue, a big dramatic room with a huge bay window looking out over the sea, our mum had the super elegant Waterboys room, also with a jaw-dropping seaview, and some of the younger guests shared lovely, cosy twin rooms (the Proclaimers, Orange Juice), all of them with great bathrooms and lovely decor.
The entire house is a haven of style and luxury, with huge velvet sofas in two big family rooms, and so many games, from petanque and pool to X-box and dominoes, making it perfect for any sort of gathering but particularly good for different age groups. I spent a lot of time in the excellent kitchen which has really useful things like two fridges and dishwashers - ideal for group catering - and a big statement dining table that inevitably became a focal point during our stay. Everything is very high tech, from sound systems to hot water taps and coffee machines.
We enjoyed exploring the area, it's easy to navigate and has so many outstandingly beautiful views. We also visited the art gallery in Tighnabruaich and saw a great exhibition of landscape art, we enjoyed homemade soup and cake at the Five West cafe and an excellent Indian takeaway from Fyne Raja, just a few minutes down the road.
It's close enough to catch the five minute ferry from Colintraive to the Isle of Bute, which we did on Saturday morning to join the Park Run at Mount Stuart - an amazing way to start the day, and still be back in time for lunch.
Mum's birthday cake was made at Northern Lights Cakery, a local bakers near Colintraive who created a spectacular chocolate cake decorated with freshly grown flowers - if you're having a birthday celebration, this is definitely where to order your cake.
Overall we had a truly special time at The Hollies. It was such a treat to stay in home like this in one of Scotland's most beautiful (and relatively secret) areas, being looked after so well by the owners. It's fair to say that by the end of our stay no-one really wanted to leave!






Graeme & Lorraine replied 204 days ago
Wow, what a comprehensive review Charlotte. You and your group really made the most of your stay. We are so pleased that you were able to experience the delights of Five West, Tighnabruaich Art Gallery and Fyne Raja, the new Indian restaurant in the village. And we agree Northern Lights Cakery do make wonderful cakes for our guests celebrating special occasions at The Hollies.

An amazing property, furnished to a high quality with fabulous views

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing property, furnished to a high quality. All 8 bed rooms are lovely en suite, Deacon Blue & the Water boys are extra large and very special with amazing views, but all bedrooms are lovely.
The open plan kitchen and dining area is a great space for a large gathering. The games room provided post dinner fun with pool table and extra large TV area.
The house is very elegant and feels very special.
The outside space is well kept and we enjoyed using the bbq & fire pit with the amazing views. We played petanque / boules too.
The owner was always super helpful and quick at coming back with answers to any questions we had both before and during our stay. Plus the local support / care taker was very helpful and prompt if we needed any help during our stay - a high level of service all round.




Graeme & Lorraine replied 204 days ago
Thank you Sue for the lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house and the views.We are always keen to give advice to our guests before their trips and provide any support during their stays. Andy is always on hand locally to deal with anything that needs a quick visit.

Fantastic stay with good facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend and really enjoyed many of the features of the property from the boules area to the excellent barbebue and the Sonos sound system. A very minor issue with one of the dishwashers not working, a problem blind in one bedroom, and lack of wardrobe space in a couple of bedrooms but these did not impact the stay. The house was prepared and decorated to a very high standard, and excellently located with wonderful views. Thoroughly recommended - with lots of suggestions to enjoy the wonderful areas nearby.We enjoyed a wonderful top restaurant quality meal service from Tide & Thyme - prepared and served for a party of 16 in the house, and it lived up to every recommednation!



Graeme & Lorraine replied 236 days ago
Thank you Nanette for the great review and we are so pleased you had a wonderful weekend for your company anniversary weekend. Unfortunately, we had a problem with one of the dishwashers which we informed you about before you arrived and we are happy to hear that it wasn't a major issue as we have two! Thanks for your feedback on the hanging space in a couple of the bedrooms. In the rooms without wardrobes we have supplied hanging space and we will look to see if we can add more. Great to hear that you loved Tide & Thyme catering at the house - they never fail to disappoint. We would love to have you back to stay at The Hollies in the future.

Sept stay @ The Hollies

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay @ the Hollies. The house has been beautifully refurbished, keeping the original features of the house but taking it to a luxurious level. It has everything you need and more. The bedrooms are beautifully staged, with super comfortable beds. The added bonus of having each bedroom with ensuite facilities for a big group was really appreciated. Although we went out for lunch, coffee etc., as a group who like to cook dinner together, we had all the accessories we needed in the kitchen and plenty of space to work efficiently and have fun @ the same time.
The scenery from the kitchen/dining room and lounge is stunning.







Graeme & Lorraine replied 236 days ago
Thank you Lillian for the wonderful review. We are so pleased the space worked for your large group and that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and en-suite facilities. It is great that you found our smartphone app to be so useful and had everything you needed in the kitchen. We would love to have you return to stay with us in the future.

One of the best weekends of my life

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Granted.. it was our wedding, however, the Hollies was everything we had dreamed of and more for our family weekend away. We had been dreaming over the photos for over a year, but coming onto the drive and into the house, we were floored. Every little detail has been thought of and cared about, even if it wasn’t our wedding it was the most incredible weekend. The bedrooms, the kitchen, the games room, the garden, THE LAMPS! The windows, the views, the sound proofing!!! I could sit here all night saying how amazing it was. We were a family of 14 plus 2 2 year olds and we never felt on top of each other or intruding on each other but then round the table, sat round the fire or in the games room we felt so comfortable. There wasn’t a single thing that I thought negatively about and we are already talking about when we can come back for Christmas’ or anniversaries.

The hollies, you truly have my heart




Lorraine & Graeme replied 240 days ago
Wow. What a wonderful review, Alex. We are so happy that you had such a great time at The Hollies and it was the special place you hoped for to host your wedding. We designed the house for guests to enjoy all of the things that you mentioned, so we are so pleased that you found them to your satisfaction. As The Hollies has captured your heart we look forward to you visiting again in the future.

excellent place to celebrate a family birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
i have submitted a further review to owners

excellent property enjoyed by all of multigenerational group




Graeme & Lorraine replied 240 days ago
Thank Christine for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a great celebration weekend.

Perfection

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow. We came to The Hollies to get married and it was utterly perfect. The photos actually underplay how big the house is and how beautifully everything is set out. Graham and Lorraine were as helpful as anyone could hope and we're already planning how we can get back next time.

Thank you so much for everything, and for having us in such a special place.




Graeme and Lorraine replied 264 days ago
Chris, we are soooo delighted that you booked The Hollies for your wedding and so pleased you loved it so much.We would love to host you again in the future. Best wishes to you and Emma for your life together.

Beautiful views, but the road in was a bit tricky with the single lane and passing places.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is a good size and lived that all rooms are en suit. I would have loved a topper on the bed - a bit hard for me. Definitely need more towels in the bathrooms especially for a special occasion. We had lots of children and found it a bit tight to sit round the table. The dishwashers need looked at. They’re not attached to the carcass.
Overall we had a wonderful time with our growing family and it is a special location for special times




Graeme & Lorraine replied 273 days ago
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time on your 2-night stay at The Hollies and enjoyed the beautiful views. We are always open to hearing about improvements we can make for our guests. Beds are obviously a very personal preference and we are sorry you found yours to be a bit hard - it is the first time a quest has ever raised this as an issue, but is something we will look into. We supply bath towels and hand towels for every guest and for a 2-night stay there should have been more than enough. If there was a shortage you could have mentioned to Andy, who popped down to stock up with extra fire-wood and BBQ charcoal for you on the Saturday afternoon. The table is sized to fit 18 and again none of our guests have mentioned it is too small - especially with children there should have been plenty of room. Finally, the dishwashers sit within the hand-made kitchen cabinets. Sometimes they move a little bit during use, but don't usually cause any problems. Unfortunately, we can't do anything about the short section of the road that has passing places - a common feature in the Scottish Highlands - and as Andy gave you a tour of the house before you booked, we had assumed you were happy with the location and the route to Tighnabruaich.

A great family get together

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at The Hollies. The house was immaculate with lots of activities for the whole family. The local pubs and restaurants were all within walking distance, even for the younger grandchildren. Looking forward to staying at The Hollies again.



Graeme and Lorraine replied 280 days ago
Thank you John for the lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed, the house, the walks and the pubs and restaurants and we would love to host you again at The Hollies in the future.

Just wow! Photos will never do this place justice!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most incredible house. We drove past it derelict a few times in 2015 when in Scotland for a wedding and I always thought wow, who ever gets theirs hands on that is very lucky. The dream renovation. The owners have done the most incredible job. Photos online will never do it justice. Every detail has been thought out so well. Each bedroom and bathroom is a different style and vibe. The garden is stunning and as for the view, no words. We had the most incredible time at The Hollies. It was utterly perfect. Thanks so much for having us!



Graeme & Lorraine replied 279 days ago
Thank you Claire for the wonderful review and it was so good to show you what we had done with the house since you last saw it in 2015. We loved seeing your photos on social media of the great times you had at the house and surrounding area.

Craig

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay for my 50th birthday with my family. House was great & filled everyone needs from adults to children.
Had issue with F/F which was caused by previous tenants but was dealt with straight away. Would definitely come back .




Graeme & Lorraine replied 310 days ago
Thank you for the review Craig. We are so happy to hear the house suited your needs for your 50th birthday celebration. There will always be little issues to be ironed out but we are pleased that you told us straight away and we were able to quickly resolve it. We would love to welcome you back to The Hollies.

The most beautiful house I have stayed in

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Hollies in June 23 for my hen doo. The house itself is stunning, it has been finished to perfection and it has everything you need for a large group. It’s spacious so you don’t feel on top of each other but also has a lovely open downstairs space, which also leads into to the garden to allow you to be together and enjoy each others company. Our hosts were also fantastic, they checked in with us ahead of time and gave recommendations of activities to do close by but were also available during our stay for any queries we had. They got back to us straight away. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending the hollies for large groups or special occasions and I am already trying to plan my next visit here.



Graeme & Lorraine replied 325 days ago
Emma, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your group found everything to your satisfaction. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from the Hollies where we celebrated my wife's 40th birthday!

This place is absolutely perfect for large groups or multi families getting together, the house is luxurious in every way inside and out, blown away by the stunning views across the Loch and the fact we got 3 days of glorious sunshine at no extra cost!

Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and every request was answered promptly.

Stunning house in a stunning location, you won't be disappointed.





Graeme & Lorraine replied 356 days ago
Thank you Tommy for the wonderful review. We are so pleased you had a great time for your wife's birthday. We shouldn't really take any credit for the views or the weather - but we will :-)

A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were fortunate not just with the weather but in being able to stay in such a perfect house for our needs. As a party consisting of five families we were able to have both individual privacy and group togetherness in this spacious house. Everything has been thought of by the owners to provide a stress free stay., from the en-suite bedrooms named after various Scottish bands to the fully equipped kitchen with two dishwashers, to the restful sitting room and to the games room with a massive tv and pool table, as well as to the outdoor space which includes a fire pit ( blankets provided ) a table tennis table and a pétanque court.
So a big thank you to the owners who obviously take a great pride in their house, yet never intruded on our stay.




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank David for the lovely review. Great to hear you found the space in the house to work for your large group and so happy that you liked the room names. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Our new favourite holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous 3 day holiday for 9 of our family
at The Hollies. Stunning property inside and out. A new family favourite for all ages.




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Jennifer for your lovely review and we are so happy that you are looking at coming back again next year.

Beautiful Holiday Home in Tighnabruaich with 7 bathrooms!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect accommodation for seven university friends celebrating our 60th birthdays. The house is amazing. We each had a very comfortable bedroom and our own bathroom. The communal living areas were perfect for conversations, meals, cooking and generally relaxing. The views were to die for. There was so much to do - from an amazing trip on the Waverley, to a swim in the sea at beautiful Ostel Bay beach to a walk to Portavadie through fields and forests. Everything in the house is perfect and really well thought through. The communication with the owner was very impressive throughout. Responses were quick and informative by email prior to our arrival and then immediate with solutions by phone while there. Thanks to the app and information provided by email and at the house itself there was very little more that we needed to ask but Graeme was very helpful when we did. We all left having had the most wonderful time in the most beautiful home we could have imagined.



Graeme and Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Louise for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed all of the space and the facilities at the house and so pleased to hear that you were able to explore the local area with the added bonus of a trip on the Waverley! Also, great to hear that our smartphone App and email suggestions prior to your visit helped with your planning. We would love to have you and your group of friends stay at The Hollies in the future.

Superb!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is by far the best place I have stayed in Scotland. Everything about it from the day I booked till the day I left was 5 star.
Graeme and Lorraine have created the most amazing place for a five star family/ friends get together. The furnishings and bedding are top of the range and the outdoor space is as good.
The communication has always been excellent and much relevant information was sent in the lead up to our visit that we were all super excited to get there.
It’s worth every penny and more.




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the lovely comments Joan. We are so glad you enjoyed your birthday celebration at The Hollies. And it is great to hear that the information that we send in advance was useful to you.

Perfect wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to book the hollies for our wedding. It did not dissapoint.

The house is amazing. It was big enough for everyone. The rooms were all generously sized and the social spaces were big enough for everyone. Beautifully decorated throughout. All the fittings felt solid and luxury, the rainfall showers were a hit with all the guests.

The gardens are beautiful with outstanding views. We had a lovely time playing bowls and table tennis and even had the chance to sit round the firepit.
The garden also provided us with a beautiful place to hold the wedding.

There is plenty of crockery and glasses and the benefit of having two dishwashers meant we never ran out.

The breakfast bar was well stocked with everything we needed.

We also had two 11 year old in the party and there was enough to keep them entertained the whole week.

Our whole party had a relaxing week and didn't want to leave.





Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Colleen & Duane, we feel so privileged to have been able to host your special day and we are so delighted that you and your group found that The Hollies suited your needs. We would love to host in future years for your anniversary.

If you want “the wow factor”

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
15 family and friends spent two nights at The Hollies for my husband’s birthday, last weekend. From the moment we drove up the driveway on the Friday, until we closed the door on our departure on the Sunday, we had The most special and luxurious time. The house is large enough that we never felt “on top of one another”, we could spread out but still felt cosy. The decor is beautiful and each bedroom is sumptuous. The kitchen has everything one needs to cater for a large number. We also organised for a local chef to cook for us on the Saturday night which was such a treat. Graeme and Lorraine were incredibly attentive in the lead up to our stay and reassuringly on hand during our stay if required. I would not hesitate in recommending The Hollies for a large family gathering, it was beyond perfect. I attempted to twist Graeme’s arm in letting us come back this weekend but he assures me they’re booked!!



Lorraine and Graeme replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review Kirsty. We are so pleased you had a great weekend for your husband's birthday celebration. Sorry, the house was booked this weekend!! but we would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future.

Mid Term Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we parked up-we said to Bells “is this where we’re staying?”
Such a grand traditional house with all mod cons immaculate!
Although we didn’t stay in my favourite room(Orange Juice ) We staying in sea view Deacon Blue. Large room with en-suite. Providing everything we needed.
What can I say about the the kitchen-it’s wonderful with patio doors out to the amazing grounds-we played bowls Fun!
I found entertainment watching the coming and going from the small garage across the the road-great breakfast viewing.
The games room was a firm favourite. Our son (Reub) was so pleased to see an Xbox and pool is now something he really enjoys. I spent a lot of time in the peaceful living room reading.
We spent most of our time at the the house. Walked to the local stores were we picked up some bargains in the antique store. I’ll have to come back to get inside gallery-have some lovely ceramics.
One day we took the ferry to Talbert- was a wee adventure and had a drive round the area. Gorgeous views and sense that you’re somewhere else.
Now I can picture you all when on retreat and what a wonderful experience it is for all involved. We had a lovely stay and didn’t want to leave.
Thanks for having us.
Robert+Gemma+Reuben xxx




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Gemma and Robert for the review. Sounds like you had a great half-term holiday with your family. So glad you found all of the rooms to your liking and the trip to Tarbert, Loch Fyne is always a fun day out. Please come again.

Multi family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay at the luxurious Hollies. Beautifully decorated, comfy, cosy with superb views on your doorstep. The men and boys enjoyed the TV/pool table room and the women the livingroom chatting and taking in the view. Kitchen dining was the perfect space to cook eat and blether. Garden area was lovely and we enjoyed table tennis and boules or just sitting (weather permitting) watching the boats.
We had a relaxing spa day with treatments at portavadie marina, well worth a visit and enjoyed a meal at Kames hotel.
We hope to return at some point to the Hollies and the stunning secret coast.
Our hosts Graeme and Lorraine were very helpful and responded quickly to any of our enquiries.




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Dawn for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and managed to make use of the house facilities and the what the local area has to offer - even in February. We would love to have you back as guests in the future.

Fabulous house shame about the weather!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners have renovated the property to a really high standard. They had decorated it beautifully for Xmas, much appreciated.
Ground floor, a games room /less formal reception room, with a pool table. Very comfortable. Next door, also a very comfortable living room with views out to sea. Huge kitchen, but not very well equipped for 18 people. We were only 8, but we weren't rattling around!.
Our main issue was the lack of control of the heating and hot water. We never understood the instructions despite phone calls and visits. The underfloor heating, which was critical, worked in some bedrooms but not in others, but not at a time we could control. We ended up with very warm bedrooms and very cold bathrooms which for us was the wrong way round.The towels had to be dried on the bedroom radiators as there was no heat in the bathrooms, not usual in a house of this quality. Same with the hot water, on a timer that we never got to grips with.




Graeme and Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sally for the review and we are so pleased that you found the house fabulous and appreciated the effort we made to decorate for Christmas. We know you had some issues fine-tuning the under-floor heating in the bathrooms to meet your needs and we spent some time on the phone with you, and with our housekeeper attending the house. The under-floor heating was clearly working but it was obviously a frustration for you not to have it work the same as your heating at home. As we didn’t hear from you after the first 24 hours we assumed that you had got it working. The hot water can be controlled by guests in the house and we can control remotely so we could have done something about this if we had known, but you did not report it during your stay. Again, in the kitchen it was only when you had left that you raised issues with the equipment. We have external caterers using the kitchen frequently and no-one has ever raised any issues. If we had known what you were looking for we could have sourced for you. We are sorry that you don’t feel able to recommend the house to others, despite finding it fabulous, comfortable and decorated to a high standard. We want all our guests to be delighted by their stay at The Hollies and we’ll take your feedback on board. Best wishes for 2023.

New Years celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hollies was the perfect house for a bunch of pals to bring in the bells. Highlights being looking at the stars by the fire pit, waking up to stunning views of the Kyle of Bute & we’d thoroughly recommend getting in tide & thyme to cater for your stay for a night.

The owner was beyond helpful and always at the end of a text too, which made the stay all the more pleasurable.




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Lucy. You were our first New Year guests and we are so happy that you enjoyed the house, the village and a meal from Tide & Thyme - and enjoyed sitting on the terrace around the fire pit! We would love to have you and your group stay with us again.

Simply perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow , what can I saw about The Hollies apart from absolutely fantastic.

We were 18 of us in Tighnabruaich for a week for a family event, with ages ranges from 8 to 88 and The Hollies catered everybody needs.

No stone has been unturned with regards to the upgrade of the old hotel. Every room has something really special about it. ,mainly the stunning views across the water but the decor is also just right. All the furniture and fittings ooze quality without being overly ostentatious, bathrooms are just superb and everything just works perfectly.

The main kitchen is the heart of the house, with a huge dinning table to to meet the need of large family. There has clearly been a lot of time invested to ensure that you can easily cook up a storm for a large party. Two massive fridges and two dishwasher are a god send

The games room took a bit of a hammering with the kids and everybody’s pool skills were sharpened up thats for sure.

We visited The Hollies in December , so it was just a tad nippy to get out and use all the facilities in the garden but we are all going back in the summer time as with all fell in love with the place

In Summary , if you're looking for a property with absolutely beautiful surroundings then look no further. It's was an absolutely doodle to get their to... and we all loved the wee ferry trip across

Also, ten minutes drive away is is Ostel Bay Beach, make a wee trip there as you will not believe you are in still in Scotland.

Cheers
Ross




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Ross for the lovely review. We are so glad you found the house to your satisfaction. We are also glad you made the short trip to Ostel Bay. It really is stunning isn't it - even in winter! We would love to host you and your family again in the summer.

An excellent few days in a beautiful home with even more beautiful views celebrating my 21st b-day

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I spent 3 nights at the Hollies in September 2022. We had dinner on the first night at Tide and Thyme. It was only a short walk from the Hollies. They were very accommodating for a table of 18, food was delicious and the drinks came very quickly. We explored nearby beaches the next day and some guests went on a hike. We absolutely loved the location, it was the most relaxing few days but there was still lots to do and see. We enjoyed a bbq for lunch. We had no issues using the big green egg after we read the manual. We had a wonderful sit down dinner that night and had no issue cooking for 18. There was enough stove, oven and microwave space for everything to be ready at the right time. There was a lot of room in the fridge and an extra wine fridge which we found very handy. We very much enjoyed playing boules, table tennis. The pool table especially was a massive hit. The sound system worked very well for enjoying music with people in different rooms on the ground floor. The TV was well equipped with Netflix, Disney plus and other streaming sites. There are a few village shops which had the necessities but the closest big supermarket is in Dunoon. it is a beautiful drive to Dunoon but I would recommend scheduling a delivery or picking up groceries on route to the Hollies. I had the best time celebrating my 21st birthday at the Hollies. My friends and I still regularly talk about how great of a weekend it was. I will remember it forever, and can't wait to go back sometime in the future.



Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank Alex for the wonderful review. We love to hear that guests are getting the full use of the house facilities and exploring the local area and all that it has to offer. We are so happy we were able to host your 21st birthday celebration and look forward to hosting you and your group at some point in the future.

Amazing property. Amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property for a friends or family get together. The attention to detail is excellent. Guarantee you will not be disappointed. Location is beautiful.



Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Meg. Pretty succinctly summed up what we are trying to achieve. We are so glad you loved your stay.

Just perfect for a family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our full family spent 3 nights at The Hollies, for a joint birthday celebration and we were not disappointed!
This newly renovated house has been finished to the highest specifications, from furnishings to gadgets - all of our party were well impressed indeed!
From the individualism of each of the bedrooms, enormous TV, a lovely pool table, board games for all ages, wine fridge PLUS 2 other fridge freezers, they really have thought of everything you could every need.
The location has the most beautiful views and if you are lucky enough to have a clear morning, then sunrise will pop up over the hills over Bute. We also had a very nice meal for a party of 14 just 2 mins away at The Royal An Lochan Hotel - also very accommodating.
Now we just need another excuse to head back to The Hollies





Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Scott for the lovely review. We are so glad you and your extended family enjoyed the house and the views. It is great having The Royal An Lochan Hotel just a few doors down for a meal or a drink. No excuses needed to come back!

Family reunion

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location, fantastic property perfectly suited for large family get together. Fishing, walking, golf, bbqing, beach, day trips, great food, delightful scenery. Thoroughly recommend a visit. Excellent hosting. Lots of happy memories made.





Graeme and Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Dan. We are so happy that your family found The Hollies worked well for your reunion. It is great that you were able to enjoy all of the things that the Secret Coast has to offer.

June 2022 wedding

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our time at the Hollies was just wonderful in every way and made even more special by the fact that we held our wedding there.
The house is simply devine, from decor, to location and size.
We had a small intimate wedding at The Hollies June 2022 and it was everything we could have dreamed of.
The bedrooms are all beautiful and gave everyone plenty of room and the gazebo outside allowed for us to have some dancing later on at night.
The whole weekend was perfect.
Lorraine and Graeme were so helpful in everyway, sending suggestions for everything and guiding us along the way to planning our wedding. We hired in Joanne from Geranium and Thyme who cooked us a beautiful meal on our wedding day and also made our wedding cake.
Lauren from Tide & Thyme provided us with a delicious meal the night before and breakfast on the day of the wedding.
If anyone is looking for a small, intimate, relaxed wedding then I highly recommend The Hollies. It was very special and the location and setting made the weekend so romantic.




Lorraine and Graeme replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Gabriella. We are so glad you found the house so ideal for your wedding. It was great you were able to use Tide & Thyme and Geranium & Thyme for your catering. They always do a great job. It was so special to have the first wedding in the building for 20 years. We look forward to having more weddings at The Hollies. Please come back to celebrate your anniversary!

Perfect venue for a family gathering to celebrate special birthdays

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hollies is an absolutely stunning property in an amazing location by the shore. The views are simply stunning. The house had everything we could have wished for and more, and the help and advice at booking and before arrival was also really helpful. It was so tastefully decorated and spacious - there were no fights over bedrooms as they were all fabulous. The communal rooms downstairs also have so much space - the pool table was a big hit with the children. We were spoiled with some lovely weather so made the most of cooking and eating outside. Tighnabruaich and the house were so lovely that we did not need to venture too far, we found some lovely walks and visited the deli a few times. It was really great for our family to all be together again for the first time in over two years and the venue was just perfect.

Thank you




Graeme and Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Aileen for the wonderful review and we are so happy we were able to host your family reunion. It sounds like you made the most of the house, the garden and the local area. We hear your group also had a great wild-swimming session with Dan. You were a great group and are welcome back any time.

Girls Weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stumbled across the Hollies online via the Susan Reid Collection and couldn't believe what i had found. This house is even better in real life. The interiors, the space, the gardens, it is all just really wow and makes you feel very special that it gets to be yours for the weekend. We had great weather and therefore used the outside area a lot which was great and all the games that came with it! You are quite literally directly across from the water and it is just amazing to sit outside or in (great views from wherever) with a cup of coffee or glass of wine and enjoy the scenery around you. We had 17 of us and it didn't ever feel cramped as there is plenty of spaces for everyone to hang out and all the bedrooms are finished off beautifully even the smaller ones didn't feel like you were missing out.
We had the best weekend and Graham was super helpful with answering all my questions in the lead up to the weekend.
We are already looking at dates we can book to go back.
Would reccommend to anyone - thank you so much!




Graeme & Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you found us! It is great to see guests making full use of the various spaces and activities - just as we envisaged. And we are so happy that you felt it was 'yours for the weekend'. We would love to have you back as guests anytime. Thank you.

Glorious Argyll House

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 16 friends who hadn’t gathered for over 2 years booked the hollies to celebrate early retirements birthdays and simply being able to get together. The house exceeded expectations giving each coupke private facilities and three huge social areas to congregate. Days were spent Cycling walking and exploring the wonderful coastline whilst evenings were for cocktails and supper and banter. Special mention to Tide and Thyme who delivered a fantastic Persian meal for us all to enjoy.

Already planning our return to this warm bright and stylish home.

Thank you.




Graeme and Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Iona for your kind words. It sounds like you made the most of the house and the wonderful activities locally, and enjoyed yourself just relaxing. And Tide and Thyme never disappoint -their food is always first class. Thank you.

A house we will visit again. The Hollies was beautifully designed, clean and fun. The best time!!!!!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hollies was outstanding. The house was amazing and the surrounding area is stunning. So fun!!!!!



Graeme and Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
We would love to have you and your group back. So happy that you enjoyed the house and area.

Fabulous property, stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful property The Hollies is! We have had a fabulous week and we feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to stay in your fabulous property, in such a stunning location. As a family group there were fantastic spaces to allow us all to be together but to also have adult and child space! The games room and kitchen / dining room were just perfect!



Graeme and Lorraine replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you found the spaces worked well for adults and children alike! We designed the house with that in mind and it is great to hear people using it that way. Thank you and we would love to have you stay with us again.