FB Twitter

Golden Fleece

Golden Fleece

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Fantastic girlie weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place. This was my second stay but first for my 4 friends. We stayed in the Golden Fleece and it was stunning. My friends could not get over how beautiful the place was.

We had a wonderful time, relaxing, dancing in the kitchen, delicious cocktails and yummy food.

You have everything you could possibly need to hand and the view from the hot tub is a little slice of heaven.

We have all said that we want to make our little girlie weekend and an annual visit so hopefully we can book again next year.

The owners are lovely and helped with any query we had before arriving and when we were there.

This place is something very special and my friends and I have had a weekend where memories were made that will last a lifetime.

We were all very said to leave. I think shepherds rest has stolen a little piece of our hearts.

Thank you so much.




Absolutely amazing! Couldn’t fault our stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect stay. Where it’s a romantic night away, a girly weekend or some family time. This is the perfect place.
Owners met us on arrival, showed us around, told us everything we needed to know and answered all questions we had. Lovely lady who also left her number for us incase we needed anything from her.
We stayed for a hen so weekend. Being out in the countryside was perfect for a lovely long walk on the 16 acres of land to walk off our hangovers. Also, with no body nearby we could play our music and enjoy ourselves asif no body else was around.
Such a clean, comfy and perfect trip away.
Cannot fault our stay in the slightest. I have already recommended it to soo many people already and we only got back yesterday.
I look forward to coming back - I will most definately be returning!




Perfect place for friends to reunite!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just loved it! 6 middle aged women who have been friends since school had space to chat, laugh and relax. We loved the open plan area as we could just have a natter, eat or play games. The big treat was the hot tub and the amount of space we had to ourselves!



Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
what can I say - what a beautiful place to stay. The accommodation was tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard.

Loved the fact that we could roam around the 16 acres of land with the two dogs.

We would definitely go back and recommend this property to others.




Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous property. Caters for all your needs and outside space is fabulous. Enjoyed the barbecue, hot tub and also the basket ball hoop was great fun for all of us. We also even had green space to do our own boot camp. A lovely way to celebrate husbands 60th birthday with friends. Local pubs and restaurants in Hadleigh too so had it all . Would highly recommend



May Half Term Trip

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time during our stay in Golden Fleece. Great accommodation and setting. The owners have thought of everything to make the stay pleasurable for the family, books, games, outdoor activities as well as the lovely hot tub!



Beautiful clean lodge with picturesque views & a warm welcome.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful clean lodge is a must. Dog and child friendly there is plenty of space & lovely views.



A lovely weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come back from Shepherds rest and would definitely recommend to anyone thinking about it. We will be booking again for the summer. Thank you hosts.



Queenie's stayover

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is absolutely amazing. Had such a lovely time. Couldn't fault anything. Would definitely go back.



Julie Paul

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolute amazing place, been to so many holiday homes and I could not fault yours, great welcome tray of goodies.. Great hosts if any thing needed.
Great grounds, hot tub and outdoor sitting area.
Well I could go on and on , Showers, Beds, TV s all top of the range,
Hope to return asap..

Many thanks to you all x




Hot Tub Heaven!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our group of 8 cyclists took over the whole of Shepherds Rest for 5 days in June to enjoy day rides in this part of Suffolk.
From the generous welcome pack to the soothing hot tub at the end of a long day's bike ride, we found the place perfect for our needs.
Our accommodation in the Golden Fleece was spacious, spotlessly clean and very well equiped and in a quiet rural setting 2 miles outside Hadleigh.
There was generous car parking and safe and secure bike storage in a large barn.
Our only disappontment was the almost total lack of storage in the bedrooms ( no cupboards, drawers or shelves) and very few mirrors in the bathrooms. But for this it would have been a 5 for comfort.




Holiday 2021

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything within the property was on an excellent condition. Very safe and secure for the children. The couple running it were very friendly and approachable. Cannot fault our stay, would book again



Just what we needed

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a case of third time lucky with our weekend away but boy was it worth the wait. The accommodation is high end - spacious and luxurious with lovely views over the fields. The outside area is also spacious with an outdoor kitchen (and gas BBQ), seating area and a hot tub.

Everything is super comfy and we all had our own bathroom. The kitchen is huge and well equipped. Apart from a couple of small things (which weren’t important) it was perfect.

Hadleigh is a short drive away and there’s a few different walks you can do (we tried the one including the Railway Walk & one to Aldham) and a lovely town with coffee shops & independent shops. We didn’t venture out further as we wanted to appreciate the accommodation.

I would highly recommend and I can’t wait to return later this year.




Thank you for such a lovely time. Will definitely be back again

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time away, place, location etc was all excellent and even provided us with jump leads when the car wouldn’t start ! Highly recommend

Only piece of feedback is blinds are needed on bi fold doors as when it’s mid afternoon you cannot see anything, also being dog friendly I would recommend a gate across the opening to the garden

We will visit again next year




The most perfect birthday celebrations weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my friends had the most amazing stay at this beautiful accommodation. A lovely modern house, I couldn’t fault it one bit. It was completely spotless, perfect location with an amazing view and a lovely little town down the road with a delicious Chinese take away I must add! The house was spacious and such good value for money with so many beautiful modern finishing touches. We absolutely loved the hot tub. Rosie our host was amazing anything we needed was provided in minutes. We couldn’t fault this place and will definitely return.



Splendid accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant long weekend spent with friends. Very impressed with the accommodation. Rosie, the owner was an excellent host and very helpful. We would certainly return.



Beautifully Appointed Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully appointed converted cow shed/barn. Comfortable, cosy and just right for a chilled break. Lovely walks, 5 mins drive from the quaint Hadleigh High Street with a handful of pubs and cafe's. Ipswich Marina is nearby for a short stroll and lunch. Lovely to have a hot tub on hand. Great as 3 bed 6 person accommodation and would be a brilliant venue for 12 people/ 6 bedrooms for a gathering (covid restrictions pending of course). Owners lovely and accommodating. Can't fault a thing, can't wait to head back.



Can't fault it!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay, in this beautiful home. Very well equipped, very clean, beds were soooo comfy, hot tub was amazing, well decorated and furnished to a high quality.
Lovely owner too.
Couldn't fault it if I tried!
WILL be coming again