FB Twitter

Osdale Byre

Osdale Byre

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


This converted barn provides spacious open-plan living for couples, friends or families to enjoy. With a sociable eat-in kitchen and a double height living room with a feature wood burning stove, it provides character and charm. An remote location to unwind and enjoy the wildlife.The Byre has a kitchen, living room, large boot room, downstairs family bathroom, downstairs bedroom with en-suite shower room and an upstairs bedroom.

What an amazing find...

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You have ticked every single box for what we would look for in a self catering cottage. From the outset your communication was professional and friendly. The cottage was spotlessly clean. Your attention to detail is faultless. Loved the arrival hamper and the dogs loved their 'welcome biscuit'. Having the dog covers for your furniture, the dog shower, dog towels, boot room - all made our holiday so much easier and we relaxed very quickly into our home for 5 nights (which went far too fast!)

Your location is spot on! We felt the remoteness with the knowledge that Dunvegan was within a 10 min drive away.

We all loved our stay and will be sure to stay again :-)





Anne Williams replied 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Osdale. We really appreciate them and know that potential guests fine them very useful. We are so pleased you had a good time staying at Osdale and found it had everything that you were looking for. It was lovely to read your review as we head towards a few quieter months and prepare for 2023. Thank you.

Great place - BUT the track/driveway would put us off staying again

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Short version: great property (hard to fault), but an awful unsurfaced driveway: undulating with large rocks, gulleys, etc. for the best part of 800 metres. It looks fine on StreetView, but when we stayed (Nov 2022) it really is only fit for 4x4s.

If you are thinking about staying at this great little property, I would drop the property a line first to check what the status is of the driveway. If you own a 4x4, you should be fine (it might even be fun!) - but if you are either driving your own normal car or a hire car - I'd not be comfortable staying here again until I'd seen photos of and been assured that all 750-odd metres of the driveway had been made passable again. It clearly needs some work to level, surface, and incorporate drainage to manage the volume of water that flows down it and wrecks it.

The weather clearly takes its toll on the driveway - and there didn't seem to be any man-made drainage, and so the driveway basically turns into a river, with the water washing away large chunks of it, creating the gulleys, and exposing fairly chunky and in some places quite sharp rocks Until it's fixed (and with some reluctance - as it is otherwise great), we wouldn't be able to recommend this property to others.

Beyond this, it's a well-equipped place to stay. Hopefully the driveway gets sorted, and we might very well be back!




Anne Williams replied 12 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of Osdale Byre. Lucy and I were pleased that you found the Byre itself hard to fault. You commented on the farm track. We have always advised against the use of cars with a low suspension at Osdale but have, over the last three years, welcomed many guests who have travelled in a regular car without any problems. However, we know that in the last month exceptionally heavy rain did make the track harder to navigate, particularly for those not in an SUV or 4x4. Following the torrential rains we immediately commissioned a local contractor to undertake repairs. You’ll be please to hear that work started this week and, by the time we reopen in February, we expect to have a much improved track from the one you experienced in November. I am sorry this work could not be done in time for your stay but hope you can see that it is in hand. We would be very happy to give you, or anyone considering a stay, an update on the track at any time. Please give me (Anne) a call on 07712 820494.

October Half Term Break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the most dog friendly accommodation we have stayed in. Not only did it allow us to bring 3 dogs but they had home-made biscuits, luxurious dog beds, bowls and other items.
Local toiletries were very much appreciated and the welcome pack of provisions was a special treat. The style and comfort of The Byre really made this a “home from home”.




Anne Williams replied 35 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Byre. We are really pleased that you found this to be the most dog-friendly place you have stayed in. It's important to us that dogs feel welcome and enjoy their holiday - there's nothing better than seeing your dog relaxing by the fire in its bed after a day walking. It's great that you found the Byre to be a 'home from home'. We have tried hard to provide a comfortable, cosy place to stay. With Skye's autumnal weather, it's particularly important that guests have a wam, welcoming place they can return to at the end of each day.

Another great visit

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As ever the Byre was perfect: stunning location with amazing views and access to all you need. Clean, cosy and well stocked with fabulous arrival gifts. Thanks again.



Anne Williams replied 69 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Byre. It is always lovely to see people return to Osdale and it was a pleasure to welcome you back again.

Comfortable and beautiful home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Osdale cottage is in a lovely location surrounded by hills with views of endless sky. It's beautifully appointed with everything needed for your week in Skye. There were so may thoughtful touches - the delicious welcome gifts, towels and bowls for our dog, basic cooking necessities. We really loved the cottage and had a fantastic week there. Thanks



Anne Williams replied 78 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review of the Byre. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt the Byre was a home from home as that's one of our main aims at Osdale. We always find it frustrating staying in self-catering cottages that don't provide all you need to cook a meal from scratch. We try and provide enough so it's possible to cook a full roast dinner!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Osdale. Filled with creature comforts, everything has been thought of. Really appreciated the supplies for our dog Bonnie, a dog bed and towels for drying down saved me bringing our own.
Beautiful views when the weather was clear and only a short trip to local shops.




Anne Williams replied 106 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it. We are so pleased you had a good time at Osdale. We try to make our cottages really comfortable - with Skye's unpredictable weather it's good to have somewhere lovely to come back to!

4 days magnifiquant

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First we came there were all sorts of cows and calves around, a really nice welcome ceremony. We opened the the door and were in the garden in front of us the house. We did not dare to expect such a nice house! Indoor we found a kitchen wonderfully furnished, we did the nicest menu! We could wash and tumbler, but we admired most the view.
The birds around the house were nice to observe and we did 2 walks just from the cottage to the hills around. You have to found your path, but that's what we liked to do. On our first walk we saw a herd of about 40 deers. The views from up the hills were fantstic.




Anne Williams replied 134 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. It's always really nice to hear that what guests have done during their stay. I am glad you enjoyed the Byre and found the kitchen had everything you needed. We like to provide a well-equipped kitchen so guests don't feel they need to eat out all the time. Good to hear you saw lots of wildlife too. Walks up towards Macleod's Table provide good opportunities for seeing deer and sea eagles.

Osdale in Skye

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time that we have stayed here so in that itself says a lot. The location is super two cottages up a lane, which makes it very peaceful. The lane itself you have to be careful driving up and down but this is said on the Osdale booking site, there might be the odd sheep or cow going about on it but have never found them to be a problem. The cottage itself is well equipped with all essential day to day things, washing machine, dryer, fridge, freezer, stove etc and all in good condition. The living area is well set out and comfortable with a tv, dvds, books and what is on in the area. There is also a stove if needed or electric radiators for an extra heat. The bedrooms are spacious with one being ensuite, the main bathroom is a fair size which is just off the bootroom. Dogs are made very welcome here with towels, a dog bath, training lead, and a nice dog treat for them. There is outdoor seating which is really nice to sit and just watch the world go by. We find this a very relaxing place to stay after a day out walking in the area. We hope to make a fourth visit. Thanks again Osdale.



Anne Williams replied 138 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It gives a great description of what the Byre offers. I am so glad you like the outdoor chairs. I always imagine sitting there with a cup of tea relaxing and taking in the view, so it's nice to hear that you have done just that. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to Osdale and look forward to seeing you here again sometime in the future.

Late June Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not our first visit to Osdale, very peaceful location and excellent standard of accommodation. Very clean throughout and great to relax of an evening with the log burner on and a wee dram from the nearby Talisker distillery. Edibane lodge or the nearby 3 chimneys resturants were both good for food and the Oyster shed at the back of the Talisker distillery also worth a visit. Will be returning next year for another relaxing week.



Anne Williams replied 141 days ago
It is always a pleasure to see guests return, particularly those like yourself, who have known Osdale longer than us! We feel so lucky to have some great restaurants close by to us. Edinbane Lodge and The Three Chimneys produce some amazing food and I am glad you got the opportunity to go. Thank you so much for leaving your review - I know potential guests will find it useful in deciding whether to stay with us.

Osdale Byre

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cottage in a stunning location. Spotless throughout. Fab kitchen with all the usual items you might require and more. Really comfy bed. The Owners had provided a comprehensive guide to the area - things to do, places to visit, places to eat and lots of useful tips. They had also very kindly stocked the fridge with milk & butter, and left a loaf of bread and a bag of treats - a lovely gesture. Guide books and local walking maps on the bookshelf.



Anne Williams replied 162 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's a good summary of what we provide for guests at Osdale. We are pleased you found the digital guidebook helpful. This was one of our lockdown projects which we update regularly to reflect what's going on - I'm just off now to add a few more bits and pieces.

Amazing place to stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I have just returned from a brilliant week spent at the Byre with our two dogs. The cottage is very well equipped with a very homely feel. It has amazing underfloor heating which is an added bonus. The views from the cottage are spectacular. The welcome package was a lovely touch and gratefully received.
The dogs were also well catered for with beds, towels, treats etc and absolutely loved the garden!! It’s remoteness was perfect to get away from our usual busy lifestyle, but close enough to visit the island’s attractions. Anne and Lucy were very accommodating and their communication was second to none. We would highly recommend Osdale to anyone thinking about staying in Skye.




Anne Williams replied 207 days ago
We think Osdale is great and could go on about it all day, but it's words from people like yourself that potential guests really want to hear. So thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We couldn't have summed up Osdale any better! Thank you.

Great stay in a great place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again, Osdale has lived up to our expectations! Unparalleled location, and wonderful, warm stay



Anne Williams replied 215 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review of Osdale Byre. It is particularly nice to receive such comments from guests who have known Osdale much longer than us! Thank you for coming and staying with us again.

All round excellent comfy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little homely well appointed cottage in good, but remote location with wonderful views. Fitted out to a high standard with good quality equipment and comfy beds and bedding which is often lacking in other holiday lets. Thoughtful welcome pack containing essentials - Bread, milk, eggs and a sweet large handmade doggie biscuit. Cottage contained everything we needed, including a really useful dog bed, whcih although we brought our dog crate for nightime it was really useful to have a dog bed as well. Set in grounds that were decent enough for our dog to play and run around a bit with a ball. We didn't really find that there were any suitable dog walks straight from the cottage, we did have to drive everywhere so that is one downside to the location. Only other downside, which we often find in self catering places is there is no cupboard space in the kitchen to store any food that you bring or buy whilst there so you end up having to leave it out on worktops which limits the space and clutters the sides.

Customer service and welcome pack were both great too. Was nice to have an online welcome pack so that you could view away from the cottage whilst out and about. The cottage was a short 10 minute drive from Dunvegan; which for a village in Skye had several shops and eateries. The bakery and Jans's cakes are both well worth a visit.

Note the cottage is down a long track which is rather bumpy and rocky with pot holes so may not suit everyone and the broadband is very slow, which was only an issue for us as we needed to log on remotely to work a few times. Picking up the odd email problems wouldn't cause any problems.

Overall defintely one of the best self catering places we have stayed in and would recommend and stay again. It certainly felt that the hosts had made every effort to make you feel welcome, at home and comfortable in their property.




Anne Williams replied 220 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and helpful review of Osdale Byre. We were so pleased to read that you think the Byre is one of the best holiday cottages you have experienced and that it had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. You mentioned a few downsides. I am pleased to say we hope to improve the satellite wi-fi with a new 4G connection in the next few months. We expect this to be faster than it is now but accept that our remote location means we will never be able to offer the fastest speeds. You mentioned storage space in the kitchen. We have now created some space for grocery shopping in the cupboard under the stairs. Regarding suitable dog walks from the cottages, it is correct that roaming sheep limit off-lead walks. This is a limitation across Skye where sheep roam freely, so we often use a tracking lead to exercise our dogs. We leave one in each cottage for guest’s use too - while it’s not running free it’s the next best thing. There are some local walks where dogs can enjoy time off-lead but, as you say, they require a short journey in the car. These are listed in our digital guidebook that guests receive upon booking. We are very grateful for your feedback. This helps us provide guests with the best experience we can and helps potential guests decide whether Osdale is the place for them.

Christmas at Osadale

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a brilliant place. We had a fantastic Christmas and New Year at Osadale. A brilliant place with excellent local input in the funishings. We were well looked after by the owners.
Great for the dog with excellent provisions.
Thank you for a great stay.




Anne replied 328 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Osdale. We are so pleased you all had a good time staying with us and are thrilled you noted our support for local suppliers. We love shopping so it's been no hardship discovering them all!

Osdale in December

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic visit to a beautifully warm and comfortable cottage with spectacular views. The dogs loved the garden and Anne and Lucy could not be more hospitable, but unobtrusive hosts.
We will be back




Anne Williams replied 343 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I think your summary of our approach to staying guests is spot on - we are here to help should you need us, but otherwise leave you in peace to enjoy Osdale as your own. So glad you enjoyed Osdale in December.

Fabulous cottage in idyllic location

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Osdale Byre was perfect in everyway and beyond expectations. Our hosts had thought of everything and the cottage is extremely well equipped, cosy and comfortable. The early morning view of the sunrise over the MacLeod's Tables was truly memorable and the walks from the cottage invigorating. Ideally placed to explore the sights and delights of Skye, it was an absolute joy to stay at Osdale Byre and a return visit will be a must.



Anne Williams replied 343 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - they are really helpful in helping people decide if Osdale is the right place for them. We are so pleased you had a lovely time and liked Osdale Byre and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

A great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my wife and three dogs had a great stay in the cottage, we had some great days out walking and great views from the cottage. Our stay was cancelled a few times due to covid and the owners were very understanding and accommodating in moving dates. This was our second stay and we absolutely love it and will be going again



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Byre. We are grateful to you for sticking with us through the pandemic and it was great to finally see you here. We look forward to welcoming you back.

October on Skye? Oh yes! And the crowds have mainly departed

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (husband/wife/dog) stayed at Osdale Byre for a week earlier this month. Despite its rural location and distance down a track, the Byre is extremely well prepared for visitors, to a high standard of comfort, and very thoughtfully equipped. The views from the windows emphasise its remoteness and the walk up the nearby Macleod's Tables, although challenging, was very rewarding. You just strike out from behind the cottage and follow the sheep tracks. Decent map and walking gear essential, but you will not meet a soul. The cottage has funky furnishings, there is everything you need in the kitchen, two good bathrooms and lovely bedrooms. At our home we have open fires, a log burner as we cook on an elderly Rayburn solid-fuel stove, so we are familiar with fires. Therefore, if we have any minor criticism, it is the eccentric log burner in the living room at the Byer, which seems to be more about appearance than functionality. It has a very tiny firebox, too small for most purchased logs, and does not stay lit for long without regular attention. We could not find anywhere selling the small briquettes. But with very effective under-floor heating, the Byre was never cold. Skye has many well-publicised natural attractions and up-market restaurants, which we avoided. Locally, we thought the Old School restaurant was fine. Two good pubs selling hand-pump bitter (rare in the highlands and islands) are The Old Inn at Carbost (good food as well) and The Stein Inn on the Waternish Peninsular. After our week at Osdale we went on to the Outer Hebrides and Skye is a very convenient and lovely stop-over for the Uig to Tarbert ferry. We had an excellent week at Osdale, with helpful hosts available of needed but otherwise leaving you alone. Thank you to them. Stewart and Mary



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are pleased you found the Byre well-equipped, comfortable and characterful. I am sorry the wood burner was a disappointment though. Inherited from the previous owners. it's long-term future has been debated on several occasions so it's very useful to hear the experience of a guest. I am pleased to hear another guest tackling Macleod's Tables too - a great walk if the weathers fine with amazing views at the top.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay to explore the Isle of Skye. The Byre had everything you need for body nights in. We can’t wait to stay there again.



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to welcome you back to Osdale after six years and so good to know that you enjoyed your return visit. In Skye's autumnal weather a warm, cosy environment is essential for nights in and we are pleased you found that to be the case at the Byre.

A well equipped and comfortable place

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to come back to each day. We highly recommend the accommodation. Beautiful views and very peaceful.



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for Osdale Byre. We aim to provide a home-from-home experience so are delighted to hear that you enjoyed coming back to the Byre after a day exploring Skye. We are pleased you appreciated the peace of Osdale too - a weight always seems to lift my shoulders when I arrive.

Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a beautiful cottage away from it all but not too remote, Osdale Byre is the place for you. The views from the cottage are wonderful and the accommodation has everything you could want. We will definitely return.



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you appreciated the setting of the Byre and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Osdale byre

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Osdale byre, the house is great with beautiful views. There was plenty of space for the two of us and our two dogs, they enjoyed the garden and the large boot room was great for them. The Byre is very well equipped with everything you need, it is in a quiet position but close to Dunvegan and many other places to visit.
We look forward to visiting again.




Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving a review - people find them really useful in deciding whether to stay. We are so pleased you liked the Byre. Please come back and bring the amazing weather you had with you!

The most perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Osdale Byre. The cottage's location is perfect. It is not far from Dunvegan, and the views from the cottage are beautiful, rain or shine! The cottage was really comfortable and clean, and we all felt right at home; dogs included! The dog towels and lead were a great help too. And can't forget the little bits left for us, which were a lovely touch, especially the biscuits for the 2 dogs! We couldn't have had a more relaxing stay, and we will definitely be back.



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you found all our doggy bits and pieces useful - if the dogs happy, everyone's happy!

Osdale Byre

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time staying at osdale byre, it has recently been updated and is in a very peaceful location, the views from the cottage are excellent, we were left a welcome pack for our arrival which was very handy even the dog got a treat left for him. We have booked to go back next year. It is in easy walking distance to Dunvegan about two miles.



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to see you back at Osdale after Covid-19 scuppered your previous plans. We are really pleased you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we know people find reviews helpful in deciding whether Osdale is the right place for them.

Typical warm and sunny weather at Osdale Cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week of sunny and warm weather whilst staying at Osdale and what a difference this can make to your stay in Skye!
The cottage is wonderfully situated along a track below the Macleod Tables and has lovely views towards the Cuillin ridge and Dunvegan Bay in the other direction. The cottage is very well equipped and very comfortable living space for 4 people and a dog.
Although the track leading up to the cottage is slightly rough this adds to the feeling of being off the beaten track and slows your pace to holiday mode!
We managed to do the majority of the local visitor highlights and the traffic wasn't too bad at all and enjoyed trips to Portree, Fairy Pools, Old Man of Stoer, Dunvegan Castle, Neist point, Coral Beach, Fairy Glen and met up with friends at Elgol for some Kayaking....
I would certainly recommend Osdale for anyone wanting to experience the North West of Skye as well as having a very comfortable and homely cottage for your holiday.




Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a review. We are pleased you had a good time. You certainly picked a good week weather-wise and managed to pack a lot in!

Andrew & Aimee - Osdale stay, 05/06/21 - 12/06/21

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The kitchen was amazing and well equipped, the living room was the perfect size, with the log burner being a great feature (even in the summer). Bedrooms were cozy, plenty of storage and the bonus of an en-suite bathroom.
The cottage location was perfect. The farm track road requires some attention at the bottom as its quite bumpy, however, this could be easily resolved.
Would thoroughly recommend this property to others and look forward to staying here again in the future.




Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you liked the Byre and its location. You are right about the track just as you turn off the road - it does require a very slow speed at the moment. It's is on the list of things to do and hopefully should be done in the Autumn. Update: The track has been repaired by the road and no longer so bumpy.

Osdale byre

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying at the Byre, well appointed accommodation and excellent service throughout. Dog friendly and a perfect place to detach and unwind. Looking forward to visiting again



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I know you stayed at Osdale Farmhouse some time before we took ownership and am pleased your stay in the Byre was a good one. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Beautiful cottage in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was a wonderful place to stay. It has been beautifully appointed and has lots of lovely touches to really make it feel like a home from home. It has a peaceful location with great views over Dunvegan and McLeod’s Tables and is in a great position for day trips over Skye. We had some wonderful walks including the Waternish peninsula and the Coral Beach. The dinosaur footprints at Staffin were unexpectedly fantastic and we combined with climbing the Old Man of Storr. Book early for local restaurants- The Three Chimneys was excellent and we also enjoyed a meal at The Dunvegan. The cottage was a wonderful base for our stay on Skye and on our rainy day the cottage provided lots to do to keep us busy!



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed Osdale and got to see lots of Skye. Glad you got to experience The Three Chimney's too - we are very lucky to have such a special restaurant close by.

The Byre

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect, to many facilities to list. The view is fantastic and the owners are superb and so helpful, would 100% recommend.



Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was lovely to welcome you all to Osdale.

We will return

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Osdale Byre is a brilliant cottage in a perfect location with stunning panoramic views. Ann and Lucy are great hosts and their web guide really helpful. We will return.








Anne Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review of Osdale Byre. Lucy and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to welcome you as our first guests after lockdown.

Absolutely gorgeous Tier-2 winter stay-cay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this property for it's excellent cancellation flexibility - fully expecting to have to use it, due to the pandemic. However, we happily were allowed to travel from Tier 2, at a time when most of the rest of the world was locked down. Our stay was utterly blissful.

The cottage was immaculate, the communication from the owners was spot on, and it was the perfect change of scenery and escape after months of working from home. Beds were SO comfy, and the whole living space was gorgeous. Even in late November - when the forecast was pretty rubbish - we only had 1 day, in our whole week, of genuinely bad weather. The rest of the time we got out for some stunning walks, and had a burst of sunshine every single day.

We were really touched by the welcome of dog-biscuits, eggs, butter, home-baked bread etc. The decor/ furnishings are top notch, and the underfloor heating is so lovely in winter. It was too mild for us to try out the fantastic looking wood-burner. We'd highly recommend and would definitely come back. Thanks so much.




Relaxing Skye Escape

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent a wonderful week at Osdale Byre. The house is beautifully decorated and felt like a home away form home. The views from the cottage are absolutely stunning, and the location is perfect. Lucy and Anne made me and my dog feel very welcome, which I especially appreciated as a woman traveling on her own. I highly recommend staying here and hope to be back again soon!



A Stunning week in Skye, staying in Osdale Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Key to a wonderful holiday is where you stay and our holiday at Osdale Byre was very special. Sat below the striking Macleod's Tables the Byre commands beautiful views and from the moment we turned the key and entered we felt very much at home. The Byre is spacious and beautifully furnished a very comfortable base which to explore this fantastic region of Skye. Highlights of our stay included having breakfast and watching the sun rise from the breakfast table and the absolutely wonderful dark night sky, a real treat for stargazers.
Situated very close to Dunvegan which has the castle, walks and excellent shops, cafes takeaways and a brilliant little bakery.
We also recommend visits to Nishe point, Waternish point walk from Tumpan, Coral beach at sunset, Dinosaur footprints at Staffin and Duntulm and a visit to Quairang
We will certainly be back and we heartily recommend Osdale Byre if you want a home away from home on beautiful Skye




So good we rebooked whilst we were there .....

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully styled home from home in a stunning location and an ideal base, we explored all corners of Skye when we stayed. The Byre offers everything and more for a wonderful stay on Skye. Already looking forward to returning next year.



Wonderful stay at Osdale Byre

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a fantastic time at Osdale. From the initial emails when booking through to the time we spent there, it was excellent. Really thorough COVID clean, which made us feel so reassured. Lovely setting off the road, so it felt secluded despite being a great base to explore Skye. Do not hesitate to book!



A great home for the week

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre provided us with a great place to stay for our time on the Island.

It is cosy, very well equipped and an incredibly lovely place to stay. Great care has been taken to tie in local crafts and art within the Byre.

The Byre is ideally located for exploring the Island.

We were really fortunate to have great weather which meant that unfortunately we didn’t get to use the log-burner. Hopefully next time!




Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at The Byre as Anne and Lucy's first post-COVID-lockdown guests. We felt supremely relaxed throughout and the owners' hospitality/genuine friendliness stood out. We will be recommending Osdale to everyone. And albeit at the north end of Skye, it was a stone's throw from Dunvegan, so easy access to all the sites. Thanks, Lucy, Anne (and Ned)