FB Twitter

Osdale Byre

Osdale Byre

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Features of this 150 year-old stone farm building include open-plan living with a large, sociable eat-in kitchen and a double height living room with a feature wood burning stove. The Byre has a kitchen, living room, large boot room, downstairs family bathroom, downstairs bedroom with ensuite shower room and an upstairs bedroom.

Osdale byre

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Osdale byre, the house is great with beautiful views. There was plenty of space for the two of us and our two dogs, they enjoyed the garden and the large boot room was great for them. The Byre is very well equipped with everything you need, it is in a quiet position but close to Dunvegan and many other places to visit.
We look forward to visiting again.




Anne Williams replied 8 days ago
Thank you very much for leaving a review - people find them really useful in deciding whether to stay. We are so pleased you liked the Byre. Please come back and bring the amazing weather you had with you!

The most perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Osdale Byre. The cottage's location is perfect. It is not far from Dunvegan, and the views from the cottage are beautiful, rain or shine! The cottage was really comfortable and clean, and we all felt right at home; dogs included! The dog towels and lead were a great help too. And can't forget the little bits left for us, which were a lovely touch, especially the biscuits for the 2 dogs! We couldn't have had a more relaxing stay, and we will definitely be back.



Anne Williams replied 8 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you found all our doggy bits and pieces useful - if the dogs happy, everyone's happy!

Osdale Byre

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time staying at osdale byre, it has recently been updated and is in a very peaceful location, the views from the cottage are excellent, we were left a welcome pack for our arrival which was very handy even the dog got a treat left for him. We have booked to go back next year. It is in easy walking distance to Dunvegan about two miles.



Anne Williams replied 8 days ago
It was a pleasure to see you back at Osdale after Covid-19 scuppered your previous plans. We are really pleased you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we know people find reviews helpful in deciding whether Osdale is the right place for them.

Typical warm and sunny weather at Osdale Cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week of sunny and warm weather whilst staying at Osdale and what a difference this can make to your stay in Skye!
The cottage is wonderfully situated along a track below the Macleod Tables and has lovely views towards the Cuillin ridge and Dunvegan Bay in the other direction. The cottage is very well equipped and very comfortable living space for 4 people and a dog.
Although the track leading up to the cottage is slightly rough this adds to the feeling of being off the beaten track and slows your pace to holiday mode!
We managed to do the majority of the local visitor highlights and the traffic wasn't too bad at all and enjoyed trips to Portree, Fairy Pools, Old Man of Stoer, Dunvegan Castle, Neist point, Coral Beach, Fairy Glen and met up with friends at Elgol for some Kayaking....
I would certainly recommend Osdale for anyone wanting to experience the North West of Skye as well as having a very comfortable and homely cottage for your holiday.




Anne Williams replied 70 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a review. We are pleased you had a good time. You certainly picked a good week weather-wise and managed to pack a lot in!

Andrew & Aimee - Osdale stay, 05/06/21 - 12/06/21

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The kitchen was amazing and well equipped, the living room was the perfect size, with the log burner being a great feature (even in the summer). Bedrooms were cozy, plenty of storage and the bonus of an en-suite bathroom.
The cottage location was perfect. The farm track road requires some attention at the bottom as its quite bumpy, however, this could be easily resolved.
Would thoroughly recommend this property to others and look forward to staying here again in the future.




Anne Williams replied 78 days ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you liked the Byre and its location. You are right about the track just as you turn off the road - it does require a very slow speed at the moment. It's is on the list of things to do and hopefully should be done in the Autumn. Update: The track has been repaired by the road and no longer so bumpy.

Osdale byre

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying at the Byre, well appointed accommodation and excellent service throughout. Dog friendly and a perfect place to detach and unwind. Looking forward to visiting again



Anne Williams replied 85 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I know you stayed at Osdale Farmhouse some time before we took ownership and am pleased your stay in the Byre was a good one. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Beautiful cottage in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was a wonderful place to stay. It has been beautifully appointed and has lots of lovely touches to really make it feel like a home from home. It has a peaceful location with great views over Dunvegan and McLeod’s Tables and is in a great position for day trips over Skye. We had some wonderful walks including the Waternish peninsula and the Coral Beach. The dinosaur footprints at Staffin were unexpectedly fantastic and we combined with climbing the Old Man of Storr. Book early for local restaurants- The Three Chimneys was excellent and we also enjoyed a meal at The Dunvegan. The cottage was a wonderful base for our stay on Skye and on our rainy day the cottage provided lots to do to keep us busy!



Anne Williams replied 89 days ago
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed Osdale and got to see lots of Skye. Glad you got to experience The Three Chimney's too - we are very lucky to have such a special restaurant close by.

The Byre

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect, to many facilities to list. The view is fantastic and the owners are superb and so helpful, would 100% recommend.



Anne Williams replied 111 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was lovely to welcome you all to Osdale.

We will return

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Osdale Byre is a brilliant cottage in a perfect location with stunning panoramic views. Ann and Lucy are great hosts and their web guide really helpful. We will return.








Anne Williams replied 118 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of Osdale Byre. Lucy and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to welcome you as our first guests after lockdown.

Absolutely gorgeous Tier-2 winter stay-cay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this property for it's excellent cancellation flexibility - fully expecting to have to use it, due to the pandemic. However, we happily were allowed to travel from Tier 2, at a time when most of the rest of the world was locked down. Our stay was utterly blissful.

The cottage was immaculate, the communication from the owners was spot on, and it was the perfect change of scenery and escape after months of working from home. Beds were SO comfy, and the whole living space was gorgeous. Even in late November - when the forecast was pretty rubbish - we only had 1 day, in our whole week, of genuinely bad weather. The rest of the time we got out for some stunning walks, and had a burst of sunshine every single day.

We were really touched by the welcome of dog-biscuits, eggs, butter, home-baked bread etc. The decor/ furnishings are top notch, and the underfloor heating is so lovely in winter. It was too mild for us to try out the fantastic looking wood-burner. We'd highly recommend and would definitely come back. Thanks so much.




Relaxing Skye Escape

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent a wonderful week at Osdale Byre. The house is beautifully decorated and felt like a home away form home. The views from the cottage are absolutely stunning, and the location is perfect. Lucy and Anne made me and my dog feel very welcome, which I especially appreciated as a woman traveling on her own. I highly recommend staying here and hope to be back again soon!



A Stunning week in Skye, staying in Osdale Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Key to a wonderful holiday is where you stay and our holiday at Osdale Byre was very special. Sat below the striking Macleod's Tables the Byre commands beautiful views and from the moment we turned the key and entered we felt very much at home. The Byre is spacious and beautifully furnished a very comfortable base which to explore this fantastic region of Skye. Highlights of our stay included having breakfast and watching the sun rise from the breakfast table and the absolutely wonderful dark night sky, a real treat for stargazers.
Situated very close to Dunvegan which has the castle, walks and excellent shops, cafes takeaways and a brilliant little bakery.
We also recommend visits to Nishe point, Waternish point walk from Tumpan, Coral beach at sunset, Dinosaur footprints at Staffin and Duntulm and a visit to Quairang
We will certainly be back and we heartily recommend Osdale Byre if you want a home away from home on beautiful Skye




So good we rebooked whilst we were there .....

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully styled home from home in a stunning location and an ideal base, we explored all corners of Skye when we stayed. The Byre offers everything and more for a wonderful stay on Skye. Already looking forward to returning next year.



Wonderful stay at Osdale Byre

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a fantastic time at Osdale. From the initial emails when booking through to the time we spent there, it was excellent. Really thorough COVID clean, which made us feel so reassured. Lovely setting off the road, so it felt secluded despite being a great base to explore Skye. Do not hesitate to book!



A great home for the week

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre provided us with a great place to stay for our time on the Island.

It is cosy, very well equipped and an incredibly lovely place to stay. Great care has been taken to tie in local crafts and art within the Byre.

The Byre is ideally located for exploring the Island.

We were really fortunate to have great weather which meant that unfortunately we didn’t get to use the log-burner. Hopefully next time!




Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at The Byre as Anne and Lucy's first post-COVID-lockdown guests. We felt supremely relaxed throughout and the owners' hospitality/genuine friendliness stood out. We will be recommending Osdale to everyone. And albeit at the north end of Skye, it was a stone's throw from Dunvegan, so easy access to all the sites. Thanks, Lucy, Anne (and Ned)