FB Twitter

Cwt Mochyn

Cwt Mochyn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 67 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Banceithin is a 15 acre smallholding nestled in a secluded valley in the heart of Welsh Wales, between the Cambrian Mountains to the east and Cardigan Bay to the west. We have two self-catering cottages, Hen Ffermdy (sleeps 2) and Cwt Mochyn (sleeps 6); both are renovated traditional Welsh stone buildings with modern interior design and facilities blending with the character and original features with just the right amount of history left in the mix. We are Gold members of the Green Tourism Business Scheme and proud winners of their Best Self-Catering Accommodation Goldstar Award. The smallholding is a wildlife haven & in a dark skies area; perfect for birdwatching & stargazing.

In a league of its own!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful cottage really is a cut above the vast majority of others we have stayed in over the years. The building has been beautifully renovated to the highest standard and everything has been thought about with the comfort and convenience of guests in mind. The amount of really useful information - including laminated sheets written by our hosts for local walks and days out, complete with hand drawn maps and suggestions of where to stop for food and extra things to see were fantastic - we’d have needed three weeks at least to do them justice. And the guidance for dog owners on where we could and couldn’t take our dog was invaluable. Not to mention the up to minute information about what was on locally. We really appreciated the ability to order local food in advance (the bread was fabulous) and to buy Philippa and David’s lovely eggs, honey and jam when we got there (we didn’t get a chance to try the home made frozen meals). Most of all it was a supremely peaceful and beautiful spot to spend a few days in a lesser visited part of Wales with access to lovely coast and magnificent countryside. We will definitely be back!



Brillient

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay thanks for letting us stay we enjoy the peace and quiet absolutly brillient will be back



Fantastic as usual

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing and comfortable stay, everything we would need in an amazing location. Comfortable yet homely and nothing was missing, I relax as soon as I get there and enjoy every second. Thank you both!



Excellent peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had been recommended and did not disappoint. Owners seem to have thought of everything. From the kitchen facilities right through the cottage. Good recent addition of an EV charger( extra charge as expected ) meant we could bring our EV so saved lots on petrol. Hope to be back someday.



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely LOVED our stay at Cwt Mochyn. Both our kids told us it was the best holiday they had ever been on. Seeing their faces when we opened the door was incredible. They adored it. The cottage is an absolute dream come true. I really didn’t want to leave! We cannot wait to come back. You couldn’t ask for a better place to stay. Everything was perfect. The bara brith was fantastic! A lovely surprise thanks so much. We cannot wait to come back! Already super excited.



A very peaceful area to stay in a perfect barn with everything you could need.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it here, a very well thought out and organised holiday barn full of comfort, even the dog was welcomed with homemade dog biscuits.
The boys enjoyed the games room and we enjoyed trying the products in "the little shop", even bought some honey from their own hives back as presents.
It would be lovely to come back here in the summer sometime!
Thankyou for letting us stay in such wonderful holiday accommodation!




What a wonderful place!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved staying at Cwt Mochyn. From the moment we walked in we knew we had found a gem. A real home from home, lots of personal touches which really give the place character. Very well equipped with games, books, DVDs and even some music. The weather was amazing the week we were there so we were out and about most of the time exploring the area, but it was lovely to relax there when we got back. What a beautiful part of the world!
Lovely friendly owners who obviously care deeply about sustainability, nature and the environment, just how it should be with all holiday rentals. They are way ahead of the curve! We will definitely be back, highly recommended.




Loved it!!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay here. Peaceful location and comfortable clean property. Enjoyed our pizzas cooked by the hosts.



Fine and very comfortabel stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0

A very cosy, private , tranquille place
Nice decorated
The possibility to buy local products eg meat for the bbq




So good we booked it twice in one year

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Banceithin is a great place to stay, with plenty of space in a delightful, out-of-the way setting. The games room, which included a selection items of farm food to buy (strongly recommend the rosemary jelly), was a lovely bonus.



Beautiful cosy, quirky and tranquil cottage. Home from home. Friendly hosts.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, great value.
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa




We both love CwtMochyn. Beautiful peaceful location.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here a number of times and it never fails to impress us. Looking forward to when we can return hopefully later in the year. I’m



Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely return visit to Cottage.
Great place to relax and unwind.
Great base for visiting other areas.
Will definitely be returning again.
Ray and Sue




Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had several trips to Cwt Mochyn and loved everyone. Such a peaceful setting and the most amazing night skies, comfy beds and well equipped cottage...wonderful!



Our home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our tenth year coming to this tranquil and lovely place. Perfect for our three generations, something for all of us to enjoy together and the firepit, pizzas and marshmallows to end the week.



Wonderful Stay at Banceithin !

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Cwt Mochyn. It had 3 bedrooms so each of our kids had their own room. There were also lots of games, cuddly toys and DVDs for them to enjoy. We all learnt to be more recycle aware thanks to the great info provided. They loved getting involved with feeding the pigs and checking he chickens for eggs in the mornings ! Highlights for parents was taking advantage of the home cooking in the freezer including home grown sausages from last year (tasted amazing) and honey from the Banceithin bees. Dave and Phil were wonderful hosts and gave us additional information when we needed it. Came away super relaxed and can't recommend this highly enough :)



A Welsh Haven

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bancethin is an absolute haven. We often stay in holiday cottages and l can honestly say the attention to detail, thought and care administered by Philippa & David was second to none.

They are obviously passionate about their beautiful home, and l felt privileged to stay there. The focus on sustainable living, recycling and customer service was a joy to experience.

The cottage during the heat wave was cool, spacious and had everything a stay required. The owners have an artistic eye and the cottage reflects this, such detail.

The games room and market stall was well thought out and visitors are free to roam (considerately) around the small holding meeting sheep, pigs, chickens, bees and l think l also saw a peacock!! There were even home made pizzas on Wednesdays (delicious l must add)

Fully recommended we had a fantastic relaxing break. Thank you so very much.




Banceithin - a perfect escape

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third holiday at Cwt Mochyn, Banceithin. It was just as lovely as we remembered. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable with an enclosed garden which was perfect for our dog. Philippa and David are great hosts. Beautiful home grown flowers and home made bara brith to welcome us thank you. There are easy walks from the door. We enjoyed days out locally. Aberaeron - honey ice cream at the Hive on the Quay is a must. New Quay - boat trip where we saw 2 groups of dolphins and bought a lobster for tea. Llangrannog - stunning coastal walk. Our first trip to National Trust property Llanerchaeron - highly recommended.
Banceithin is very well managed & the eco friendly approach is excellent and inspirational. Loved meeting the dogs, chickens, piglets and talking about keeping bees. Thank you.




Top Score!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot rate this holiday location and cottages highly enough.We urge you to go and try for yourselves ,you will not be disappointed.........its a Welsh Gem!



Fourth Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a peaceful and relaxing stay.

David and Philippa are great hosts and the bolognese from the freezer, and the pizzas cooked by David were delicious.

Is it too soon to book the next visit?




Eco break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Banceithin. What we particularly liked was the ability to order food beforehand. The sour dough bread is delicious. We also liked the ability to purchase products from the Market Stall. The marmalade was delicious as was the complementary Bara Brith! Many thanks.



Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Cwt Mochyn several times and always leave feeling so much better than when we arrived. The cottage is wonderful as is the warm welcome and the surrounding country side. Just briliant



Excellent value for money

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attentive hosts without being intrusive. Excellent value. Peaceful, clean, comfortable and well-equipped.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent family holiday, very peaceful and the kids had a great time exploring the grounds and seeing the animals. Thanks!



We loved our stay at Banceithin and look forward to our next visit :)

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family with 2 young kids, we had a wonderful stay in Cwt Mochyn cottage. The kids loved exploring the farm and visiting the animals and the parents loved the fire pit with vino in the evening ! Everything was very well laid out and explained in the booklets - it was fascinating to read up on the history of the farm. Personal highlights for me were seeing tawny owls and enjoying the fresh local produce. Highlights for my wife were not having to cook and enjoying the homecooked (Cook-style) frozen meals provided as well as the high level of cleanliness. A huge thanks to Phil and Dave for making it such a memorable stay - we will be back !!!



Our special retreat. Comfortable, well equipped, clean and spacious in a beautiful peaceful setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely area with splendid walks for the dogs. Lovely owners and we enjoyed their pizza evening, many thanks



Third Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The title says it all. Wonderful to come back after the madness of the last two years. A lovely peaceful break, exploring local beaches. Quality of all the items in our food order was exceptional. The Wednesday pizzas, delivered in the rain to the door by Philippa were hot and tasty. A treat for our last evening. Thanks again to you both.



A very welcome break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time away from home after 14 months of self- isolation couldn’t have been in a better place. Perfect in every way.



Birdsong paradise

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was so lovely to return to Banceithin - to sit outside for breakfast and listen to the symphony of birdsong, to visit the pigs and walk through the willow grove.

We were also lucky enough to be there for the first of David and Philippa's pizza nights - challenged but not defeated by a heavy shower of rain. Delicious pizza!

It was a restorative break.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Cwt Mochyn, despite the lockdown tiered restrictions. The cottage is perfectly set up to have everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is very spacious and cosy in equal measure, it has traditional stone walls and wooden flooring, with some modern elements such as the bathroom (and a very nice shower over bath). Across the path from the cottage is a “Games Room” which has a table tennis table and darts for guests to use. It also houses the “market stall” - a help yourself store hold where you can buy top up firewood (once you have used the complimentary basket that is there on arrival), local jams, marmalade’s and coffee, as well as some excellent frozen ready meal food that has been handmade and well prepared. We utilised this a lot as all pubs and restaurants were closed during our stay. David and Phillipa were excellent hosts, very helpful and accommodating with our arrival and checkout, as well as providing us with an extra heater to keep our bedroom consistent temperature for our 6 month baby (who ended up having the best sleep for a long time during our stay).
There are quite a few guidelines to take in, but once you give them a good read and practise they don’t affect the relaxed atmosphere of the cottage and surroundings, which includes a lovely private garden. The location is a bit more remote that we were initially expecting, but again, once you’ve driven the route a few times it all becomes very familiar and the cottage soon becomes a home from home. Highly recommend visiting and we will be back again in the summer! Thanks again to Phillipa and David for a wonderful stay.




5* from us.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well equipped, warm and comfortable cottage in a quie trural situation.
The web site says it all.
Highly recommend.






Cwt Mochyn - A very special place

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a relaxing, comfortable stay at Banceithin. Cottage very spacious & extremely well equipped. Beautiful area with so many lovely walk. Set between the coast & the Cambrian mountains this area offers something for everyone.We look forward to returning.



Winter short break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely, peaceful stay to chase the winter blues away, have returned home feeling relaxed and rested.Delicious bacon and sausages from the small holding.Fantastic eco credentials and recycling facilities.Thank you for a lovely stay




5 stars

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Why stay anywhere else...just perfect for a relaxing week away. We just love this cottage it has all you need and so much more for a wonderful holiday...try it.



Cwt Mochyn, charming, peaceful and very comfortable

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
David & Phillipa made us very welcome but were never intrusive. This property is in a beautiful setting with a peaceful garden. Inside is welcoming, comfortable, spacious & warm. Kitchen is well equipped plus there are lots of games, DVD's etc for rainy days or just relaxing. We appreciated the binoculars as we enjoyed watching the red kites & smaller birds. This lovely bungalow would be a great place to bring children. Unfortunately ours are now grown up but our 2 dogs enjoyed themselves. Phillipa's home made meals were welcome, the rhubarb & ginger crumble most delicious.
Lots to do in the surrounding area. Ynslas, with it's lovely beach & sand dunes, is a must. Beautiful Elan Valley in the Cambrian Mountains never fails to impress. Lovely walks in Hafod & Hafren Forests. Also at Black Covert. Cors Caron also a must. Watch the world go by at Aberaeron whilst enjoying a honey icecream. This is a beautiful part of Wales to visit with quiet roads, friendly people & something to do for everyone. Looking forward to returning later in the year.




Two families New Years stay Banceithin farm

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Cwt Mochyn holiday cottage, we had a fabulous couple of days. The cottage was well equipped, clean and very welcoming with Philippa and David thinking of every fine little detail. There is plenty to do indoors and outdoors with an array of board games and local walks readily available in the cottage and cottage pack. We particularly enjoyed the games room and the market stall where we could buy fresh products from the farm. Would highly recommend



Beautiful cottages and great location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages are lovely, very comfortable beds, and we loved the local art and sustainability focus. Being able to order food and get things from the games room is very convenient. Both owners were very helpful whenever we needed advice or a lift home! The huge bible full of tips of things to do is also incredibly useful.

A couple of other things to note - the shower head in the en suite in the large cottage is incredibly high, which means water pressure is low by the time it gets to you. Also it was surprising that only 1 roll of toilet paper was provided per bathroom! With so much else provided like washing powder, dishwasher tablets, handwash etc we thought this 'essential' would be. Obviously these things didn't detract from the holiday at all but may be useful to mention!

We had a fantastic time and would absolutely come back and recommend to others.




Just Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from another wonderful stay at Banceithin. David and Philippa go that extra mile to make you feel welcome the basket of goodies and treats for the dog are just a delight. After a busy day the cottage is warm and cosy with super comfy beds, whilst the well equipped kitchen makes self -catering a home from home. Their recycling ethos is second to none and one that we can all learn from. Cwt Mochyn is the perfect place to unwind and recharge...Thank you



A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I visit the area regularly and count this pair of cottages as a real find. With only 12 hours' notice I asked to change from the smaller to the larger cottage and the owners couldn't have been more helpful in arranging this. Both properties are delightful and the location was quite beautiful. We loved the peace and quiet at Banceithin but also found it very convenient for our regular haunts such as Aberaeron. Although well off the beaten track, it wasn't difficult to find if you follow the instructions supplied beforehand. We look forward to staying again.



A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage, one down side is the small kitchen. Cottage was comfortable, and a great place to chill out and relax.



Best place in mid Wales

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place, peaceful and relaxing. 20mins from good food and great walking. Central location for exploring. Dog's loved the beach's and ran their legs off.



Idyllic location, perfect eco accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start?
We were able to totally relax here. It was difficult to tear ourselves away from the small holding.
Lovely walks in the grounds of the cottage, a tree house and hammock, fire pit and a bench sited to watch the sunset.

Accommodation - Very comfortable, well equipped, dog friendly, easy access, fabulous information in the Banceithin Bible
Garden - a very pretty space, enclosed and safe for our two dogs.
Excellent quality home made produce available to buy which meant there was no need to go out.
The fact that Banceithin is run as sustainably as possible is also a massive positive.





Resting in wales

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Positives: We very much enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The hosts were very welcoming and easy going. We stayed with our 3 year old daughter and the layout of the cottage was ideal for her running around.
Loved the eggs, Bertha cake, and generally the location and peaceful environment. Also useful was the games room/ aka larder.

Negatives: the towels and bedsheets although laundered has seen better days. The towels didn’t smell great and were very tough. The bedsheets also seemed quite old and although clean had a old stuffy musky smell.
The kitchen was functional but the cooker was a little bit of a pain for a self catering cottage. As a family we planned to cook at home most days and nights but the round cooker was not very good at conducting heat or cooking multiple things because of the shape. The oven also stopped working a few times. That aside we enjoyed the layout of the cottage and managed to use the kitchen fully.
The ensuite shower was very high to manoeuvre changing position of your shorter than 5ft 8! Other than that the bathroom was fine
The bedrooms themselves were comfortable.

We loved or stay but would suggest a deep clean of the living room sofa and cushions to rid the place of stuffy smell, pet dust etc. I wasn’t able to sit on the sofa due to dust allergy from pets or house dust.




Philippa replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Despite the positives, we were so sorry to read that you had difficulties with the kitchen and were unhappy with the bedding and living room. I can assure you that all bedding is thoroughly laundered between each stay. We do not, however, use chemical based cleaners or a tumble dryer, as neither is in keeping with the sustainability we aim for. Towels and bedding are all dried and aired on an outside line. Nevertheless, we have noted your comments and will review what might need replacing. Similarly, the living room is cleaned and the sofa hoovered down between stays, especially so when there has been a family staying with their dog, even though for dog stays we have different cushions and throws on the sofa to minimise problems with dog hair and dust. I appreciate though that people with allergies to pets might still be affected. Again, sorry that this spoiled your enjoyment of the cottage. We have inspected the oven and found that the bulb for the light inside had blown and tripped the fuse for the oven, which would account for it not working. We have now fixed that, but apologies that this happened during your stay. We hope this goes some way to addressing the negatives of your review. Many thanks.

Another wonderful holiday in a beautiful spot

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at Banceithin for six years now and our family holidays have extended to bringing friends for New Year as well as great spring/summer breaks. We especially love having a great campfire in the evenings but whatever the weather this is a perfect holiday spot to share some happy moments relaxing over breakfast in the garden while spotting red kites, or cosy indoors on a cold night and the opportunity to play table tennis or darts, there is absolutely something for everyone, all ages, whatever the weather. We have always felt so welcomed (the flowers and cakes on arrival are a clue!) and it is a pleasure to enjoy the great care and thoughtfulness which has gone into making this such an idyllic spot, from the fantastic tree house to the sunset spot with thoughtful provision of blanket and insect spray. The family have said we must book our next visit straight away.



What an amazing cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing cottage. The interior is beautiful, with very good quality fixtures and fittings. We stayed in the super king bedroom, the bed was so comfortable. During our stay, we were celebrating a birthday, and were given a bottle of Prosecco along with a loaf of bara brith (cake) and a handwritten note, which was a really nice touch. The garden was secure which was great for our dog. The owners have thought of everything, the cottage manual is the best we have ever seen, lots of ideas for things to see and do, there is even a section on bird and plane spotting! It was so interesting to read how the cottages were transformed from farm buildings to the luxury accommodation we enjoyed. The food available from the market stall (in the games room) was excellent, and there are even instructions in the smaller cottage manual on how to cook these meals. We recycle as much as we can, but what the owners are able to recycle takes it to a whole new level. This is the best cottage we have stayed in to date.



Weekend stay with grown up children!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely weekend stay with family. The cottage has everything you need and more! Plenty of space for two families and lots of lovely touches like the freezer full of home cooked food and the log burner ready to go! A great location for getting to know the west wales area made all the better with wonderful weather during our stay.Would definitely recommend the cottage and would most likely visit again.



February visit

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage has been very thoughtfully set up to provide everything you could need. We didn’t use the garden but could see it would be a lovely extension to the house at other times of the year.



Penwythnos i ffwrdd o boen y byd !

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aethom am benwythnos i Gwt Mochyn, a gwahodd ffrindiau draw atom ni. Roedd y chwech ohonom yn bles iawn gyda'r cyfleusterau a safon y llety. Yn bersonol, roeddwn yn falch iawn i adael y ffôn llaw a'r i-pad adra a chanolbwyntio ar sgwrsio wyneb i wyneb. Roedd y llofftydd wedi eu haddurno yn hyfryd, lliwiau gwahanol i bob un. Pawb yn hoffi'r gorchuddion o frethyn Cymreig ar y poteli dŵr poeth, yn wir y pethau bychain fel 'na oedd yn ein plesio fwyaf !
Dim ond un peth bach oedd o'i le: y lamp yn y lolfa. Er i mi nôl bwlb nid oedd y lamp yn gweithio. Ond roedd popeth arall yn ein plesio yn arw, ac rwyf wedi cymeradwyo'r lle i nifer o ffrindiau yn barod.
Digon posib y down ni yn ôl am wyliau eto yma.
Gyda llaw, roedd y prydau bwyd parod yn flasus iawn hefyd! Rydym hefyd yn canmol eich ymrwymiad i wneud y pethau bychain dros ein ddaear.




Great short break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was, as always, just really lovely - the cottage was wonderful, the setting is lovely, it makes for a very relaxing break.



stay at cwt Mochyn

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage to stay in. Peaceful and remote but not too far for supermarkets and pubs to eat out at. .David and Philippa made us very welcome and helpful.



Short family break

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with breath taking views. The cottage has a warm homely feel and is decorated to a high standard. We loved the small holding and so did our young children. We visited the animals and explored the site. We enjoyed a picturesque BBQ on the evening which was provided with the cottage and a log fire. The beaches are just a short drive away and lots of fantastic walks. I have recommended already to all my friends, family and colleagues and hope to return again soon.



Short stay (not long enough)

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Absolutely perfect property which could not be improved upon in any way whatsoever. Everything you could possibly need is provided and we shall return again and again but for longer. Congratulations Philippa and David, you have got everything just right.




A relaxing Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for a truly relaxing, get away from it all holiday. The digital detox was fine for the adults, but slightly more challenging for the teenagers, but they survived. Helping David deliver a lamb made up for not being to access internet 24/7.

The setting is stunning and the hosts are amazing. Philippa and David are on hand to assist if you need them and are extremely helpful.

Everything you can think of is there - well equipped cottage with top quality fixtures and fittings and a games room with something for all ages.

Thank you for a lovely stay on your small holding:)





What a wonderful week..

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really relaxing and comfortable stay in glorious sunshine. Dave and Philippa were great hosts and had thought of everything. We fell in love with this region of Wales and plan to return! Thank you.



A very relaxing week!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay, a very lovely cottage in utterly peaceful surroundings. The breakfast pack we pre-ordered was as excellent as ever, as was the Lamb Bhuna we had from the freezer. So nice to just lounge around free of the demands of email and social media! Looking forward to our next visit.



Cwt Mochyn

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, warm, welcoming and well-equipped, we wanted for nothing and looked forward to returning each day. Have stayed in many holiday cottages and Cwt Mochyn has been one of the best.



Another relaxing getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in the smaller cottage for two, and thoroughly enjoyed that, we decided to try Cwt Mochyn this time.

Once again, could not fault the welcome, the surroundings and the cottage and its' facilities.

Although there were only the two of us, this cottage would be great to bring the family as there is so much to see and do, both at Banceithin, and in the local area.

Planning another visit.




A fantastic stay in Bethania

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Huge thank you for a fantastic stay at the Cwt mochyn holiday Cottage. We had an extended stay of Five weeks visiting family in the area From Australia and it really was a home from home.
The cottage is beautifully decorated, with really thoughtful touches throughout. From hot water bottles to Epsom salts in the bathroom. The cottage has a private outlook into farm land but situated near Phillippa & David's home if we needed anything. No wifi or mobile phone reception but it was great to get off line, catch up as a family, read books and watch movies. Love the 'bible' with all the suggestions of where to go and what to do. The games
Room
And market garden are a lovely addition and we loved being able to buy home cooked frozen meals & meat when we couldn't be bother to pop out. We also loved The Eco aspects of the cottage which is inline with how we live at home. The low toxic household products were brilliant and great for our small kids. Thoroughly recommend The cottages. Brilliant hosts who couldn't do enough for you and always fun to catch up with. I've no doubt we will back!




Perfect for cosy Autumn break.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The renovation and ethos of this peacefully-situated smallholding is truly admirable. Banceithin is warm and comfortable, well furnished and decorated and there is a keen awareness of sustainability, conservation and of the locality. Delicious home-cooked food (including vegetarian), home-made sausages and organic bread are available in the deep freeze. There are freshly-laid eggs, jams and Banceithin's own vegetables available to buy. It is a great base for exploring Ceridigion either on foot or, as we did, by car. Lots to see and do locally - Cardigan Bay is nearby and there are good pubs and restaurants at Aberaeron and Tregaron.



A very relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a peaceful location. Very welcoming host, who offer you the opportunity to wander anywhere on their small holding, so the first morning we did just that past the vegetable patch, poly tunnel, through the field with the sheep and then finally on the wet land to the corner with a bench my the stream. There is also a tree house and fire pit in the other direction. We fully utilised the hosts (Philippa and David)'s produce - fresh eggs from the hens who come to meet you every morning, delicious jam from fruit grown on their land, homemade bread, sausages from their pigs, cottage pie and apple pie. The cottage is 15 min drive from the nearest seaside village with a few restaurants and then 30 mins to the nearest main town but that's part of its attraction. There is a very comprehensive guide book in the cottage with information on everything in the cottage, menus from local restaurants, things to do and various walks including several from the cottage. I think this place is suitable for both couples and families, and I have to stay I have never felt so relaxed and at home staying in a UK cottage



Short of nothing.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay with every need thought of from dog requirements to our own. Beautiful and quiet . Owners very welcoming.





Lovely Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have had a fantastic weeks Holiday. The location and cottage are beautiful, ideal for exploring the area. Our dogs were well looked after and the property is very dog friendly.
David and Philippa were lovely hosts and made us all feel very welcome. We would not hesitate to recommend them to others and we will definitely return.




Summer holidays

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage and surrounding area is just perfect. Very peaceful and relaxing. We loved everything about our stay. Easy access to lovely beaches. Miss having breakfast in the garden watching the red kites overhead.
Can't recommend this cottage enough!




Fantastic location for a family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault the attention to detail. The welcom pack was great really enjoyed the cake with our first cuppa. The accommodation provided everything we needed. The games room was a great facility for our family table tennis competition, inspired by the olympics! The availability of cooked foods meant a couple of easy nights in the kitchen!



A fantastic break away-from-it-all

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very warm, comfortable and extremely well equipped. The information book was well organised and contained many helpful suggestions of local walks and places to eat. The circular walks around Banceithin and the views of the sunset over Ceredigion Bay were gorgeous. We particularly enjoyed watching the birds on the bird feeder and we were amused by the free roaming chickens mopping up any of the scattered seeds. We had a very good sighting of the barn owl crossing the garden one evening and hunting in the trees in the valley. We walked around the small holding most days, met the sheep and lambs and the weaners, and surveyed the fruit and veg plot and the bee hives. The produce for sale in the shop was delicious. David and Philippa were friendly and we were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them. Their eco-lifestyle was evident everywhere. We would like to return one day and would recommend it to others as a good place to go and escape the bustle of everyday life.



Wonderful experience, great hosts, fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed at Banceithin for 5 days in early April. It was wonderful from the moment we arrived. The location is fantastic - great views, surrounded by lovely countryside and farms, nicely "away from it all" but within a short drive to local villages and towns that we didn't feel too cut off.

The cottage was really good. Very tastefully converted from an old barn, very comfortable and all mod cons (except wifi - which we liked because it forced us to switch off completely while inside the cottage!). There was a basket of fresh fruit and some groceries waiting for us when we arrived (definitely worth ordering the delicious organic fruit basket and the breakfast pack with local bacon and sausages!). The hosts, Philippa and David, even brought us some freshly baked Welsh cakes that they had made that afternoon - a nice touch.

Banceithin was great for our young daughters (5 and 3 yrs old). Philippa and David very generously took us for a walk around the grounds, encouraging the children to play with Terri the dog (very friendly), 3 cats, feeding numerous chickens and sheep. We were lucky enough to be visiting during lambing season, and one of she sheep had twins while we were there (Philippa and David were kind enough to name the lambs after our daughters!).

We have nothing but the highest praise for Banceithin. A great escape from our hectic city life, very comfortable and with many thoughtful touches from the owners. Too many to mention, but I particularly liked the games room which also contains a self-service larder and freezer stocked with fresh local produce and home-made meals (I strongly recommend the cottage pie!); well-stocked DVDs and book library in the cottage; lots of games and activities for all weather; very comprehensive guest folders with a history of the property and recommendations for local walks, activities, restaurants and such like.

Last but not least, the hosts, Philippa and David, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They made us feel very welcome and were wonderful with our daughters. I thoroughly recommend it!




Fantastic Place

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything (and more) that you need for a relaxing break.and is ideal for a couple or a family. Everything is of a high standard and the setting is great. There is easy walking from the front door or the coast is only a few miles away. The food in the freezer was very welcolme and meant we didn't have to waste time in the shops. We hope to return in the future.