FB Twitter

Barney`s Cottage

Barney`s Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Spacious eco friendly barn conversion for 4 people

Superb

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barneys Cottag is a very well designed and clean barn conversion. It is ideal for sightseeing and walking in the surrounding areas. We arrived to find home made scones and biscuits, which were delicious.
The accomodation is well layed out, with very comfortable beds and a kitchen area to ie for.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this property and would definitely go there again.




Autumn holiday break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with the farm cottage we recently stayed in. Very comfortable, beautiful location and very friendly hosts. The delicious compimentary home made cake and biscuits were very much appreciated. Situated in beatuiful countryside with lots of walks on the doorstep and a lovely pub less than a couple of miles away.



Fantastic accommodation, top quality

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is fantastic, very clean with all required amenities. The buildings have been renovated to a very high standard, the host is very welcoming.
The area is tranquil and perfectly located for hiking and travelling to attractions. We highly recommend this venue, we will visit again.




Very happy repeat visitors

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love barneys (and also Robbies next door). We have been staying at these properties since they first opened. Always beautifully clean and warm. Great area to stay for walking and cycling or visiting harrogate



Great location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This converted barn was in the countryside in an excellent location not too far from Harrogate and Pateley Bridge. We found it comfortable and spacious and it felt clean thanks to the lack of soft furnishings. Sue and Brian were extremely helpful: the cottage is in the farmyard facing the owners’ farmhouse but there’s no enclosed garden so not ideal for young children due to farm machinery. Hired an ebike and we had a great ride to Harrogate via back roads and back on one day and to Scar House reservoir via Pateley Bridge another day.



Lovely cottage, great location

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic, well equipped cottage in a great location. My son loved seeing the hens roaming around outside, and it was a peaceful and quiet location, yet near to many places to visit like RHS Harlow Carr, Brimham rocks and fountains abbey.



Wonderful as always

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Barney's cottage. Such a peaceful spot to relax and unwind. Sue is welcoming and provides everything you could need.
The house has plenty of space to sit together as a family or spread out for "alone time".
Close enough to civilisation at Harrogate to satisfy shopping and coffee needs (20 min drive) but sitting in the garden surrounded by chickens listening to the sheep in the field you feel miles from anywhere.
We'll be back.




We had another great holiday at Barney's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Barney's Cottage and we had a lovely time. The cottage is great and there is lots to do in the area. We will be back again!



stay at Barneys Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage on farm location. within easy reach of the Dales and several towns. Good food at two local pubs which are a short drive away one being in walking distance across a couple of fields. Very good Italian restaurant in Pately bridge about 15 min drive away. Plenty of wildlife around farm . Red Kite ,Buzzard, Little owl and curlews to name a few. Lots of walks from the cottage.



Barney's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our recent stay at Barney's Cottage was very comfortable the cottage itself is very roomy with a large kitchen/dinner and a seperate lounge, the bedrooms and on en suites are also roomy. All the rooms were extremely clean
If you are keen on walking or cycling there is a large area on one side of the cottage for storing outdoor wear and cycles and a utility area with a downstairs toilet
The owners are lovely people and didn't hesitate to answer any questions, the scones and jam provided upon arrival are made on site and were delicious, there are some very friendly chickens who by the way produce very nice eggs.
We would not hesitate to recommend Barney's Cottage to anyone who likes a quiet peaceful and beautiful location to spend their break the only thing we would say is supermarkets or local shops are not to close by




Beautiful dales

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage very spacious kitchen/diner room big tv room bedrooms ideal en-suite in both lovely and relaxing.ideal for walking or just relaxing,



Afew slight adjustments would make the cottage more comfortable

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although the cottage was spotless we found the stairs very steep and difficult. There were even steps into the cottage. We also didn't like the square toilets. There is a microwave but no dishes to cook anything in it. There are also no instructions as to how anything works (like the tele). We are not all bright young things that know how everything works. I admit the owners were very helpful.



Our stay in Nidderdale

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay, we were made very welcome, thanks for the Scones and Jam , delicious, and the milk in the fridge, lovely area, good walks from the door, the property is spacious, light and airy, bed in master bedroom very comfortable, nice big bathroom, if I have a comment to make, could do with a plug, near dressing table, for a hairdryer, and perhaps a shelf in the bathroom near the sink to put i.e. shaving things on, really apart from that it was excellent. Many thanks for a pleasant week .




Repeat visitors

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at ‘barneys’ (and ‘Robbies’ next door) since they were first available. The location is ideal in a quiet part of nidderdale. You can do lots of walks and cycle rides without using the car, or very easily drive further into the dales or into harrogate. Cleanliness is always excellent and Bryan and Sue are always helpful and friendly. We’ve booked again for our usual slot in September



Ideal spacious house in lovely rural setting

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful stay. Easy access up Nidderdale to valley and Moorland walks (at least 2 good reservoir walks nearby). Yet 30 mins to centre of Harrogate with lovely cafes, shops, parks and gardens. Bolton Abbey and Fountains 2 good full days nearby. Excellent day at Malham Tarn and Cove too.
House sleeps 4 but the reception rooms would be fine for 6. It is a recently converted milking barn, so modern and well finished. Very comfortable beds, and lovely showers. Sitting out terraces at front and back pleasant but no garden. Farm courtyard parking.
Hosts helpful, on hand, but not overbearing. We were welcomed by homemade scones and jam, a delicious thoughtful treat.






Fourth Wonderful Stay at Barneys

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we have stayed at Barneys Cottage. It is a beautiful home and is ideally situated to reach countless local beauty spots and attractions. Sue and Brian are very welcoming and helpful and we will be back very soon.



Brilliant stay at Barneys cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely first class accommodation set in the beautiful Nidderdale valley surrounded by some fantastic wildlife.
Ideal location for visiting some of the best locations Which Britain has to offer.
Everything about our first visit to this idyllic cottage over achieved our expectations by a country mile.
A hidden Gem in stunning settings.




Regular repeat holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barneys is light, spacious and warm. It’s a very relaxing place to stay, beautiful views and many walks from the cottage and handy for walks further afield in the dales. Sue and Brian keep it spotlessly clean and it feels a safe place to stay to avoid covid. We shopped locally (Dacre, Darley, Pateley Bridge). We are repeat visitors and will stay again



Autumn Walking Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely peaceful location with beautiful walks locally and around nearby reservoirs.
Very welcoming hosts who recommend some beautiful areas to visit.
Comfortable cottage, very clean and spacious.
Missed the little added comforts that had been removed due to Covid. However, reassuring that everything was being done to keep us safe during our stay.
I would certainly recommend the accommodation and area for a relaxing holiday.




A wonderful Break

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous cottage and location. We brought our son back to Yorkshire for the first time in 47 years and he loved the area and the comfort of the cottage. We have been before and we were not disappointed. Significant observations include the workmanship and quality of the apartment. Also very clean and comfortable. The location is very central to many wonderful places to visit. We hope to come again. Well done.



Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay at Barney's cottage. Sue was very helpful and welcoming. House was spotless and they have obviously gone to a lot of trouble to make it covid safe.
Beautiful peaceful location. My daughter loved talking to the sheep through the living room window every morning. Great base to explore Harrogate and into the Dales.




Covid stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay in both Robbie and Barney's cottage. The cottages were clean which was important due to current covid situation. Location was ideal with lots of quiet lanes and footpaths to investigate. Wellington Inn was also very good for beer.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic holiday in Barney's cottage. The house is spacious, comfortable and equipped with everything you might need for a self-catering holiday. It's also in a fantastic location - peaceful, beautiful scenery but not far from nearby towns and cycle routes. The house was very clean and we really appreciated the socially distanced approach to check-in and check-out. We will be back.