FB Twitter

The Captain's Cottage

The Captain's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.9


There’s much more to Brixham than its famous fish quay, rainbow cottages and seafaring history. Despite being one of the busiest working fishing ports in the UK, the town has such a wonderful ease about it that it's not only been enticing holidaymakers for decades, but also more recently, a slew of talented artisans, craftmen (and women), and restaurateurs. Being so close to the South Hams as well as to the towns of Paignton and Torquay, means that Brixham is wonderfully positioned to offer visitors some of South Devon’s most popular beaches and attractions too, so all in all this really is a fantastic place to enjoy coastal life at its best.

This lovely home with its Victorian terrace facade and beautifully designed interior creates a fabulous coastal retreat for all the family. Recently refurbished to a superb standard, the house which sleeps six, boasts three immaculate bedrooms along with airy open plan living / dining, a high spec kitchen, two bathrooms and an outdoor utility and games room. Gorgeous furnishings, fabulous wall art and contemporary styling are surpassed only by the exceptional views of the harbour and bay which can be enjoyed from all three floors of the cottage, so whether early risers or night owls, guests can witness the changing moods of the sea and town below from their own unique vantage point.

With attention paid to every detail by the home’s owners, expect superior quality throughout, like luxurious beds from Feather & Black with Harrison Spinks and Hypnos mattresses, Sonos Bluetooth speakers, Grohe rainfall showers and furniture by brands like Loaf and Habitat. Outside there’s a sun-drenched furnished terrace for those all-important evening drinks or for alfresco dining, and for those partial to sunbathing or to catching up on their holiday reading in the fresh air, they'll be able to laze back on the balcony and soak up the views.

*Please note that the external steps are steep and there is a sharp drop off one side. Caution is therefore advised for all guests including children who should be supervised. Guests with limited mobility may therefore find the property unsuitable.

Wow wow wow

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, clean, stylish, house with everything we could possibly need for a week in Brixham.
The garage was easy to get in and out of and following the handy instructions was easy to get to.
Loved the games room for pool and the Xbox.
Yes the steps are very steep in the garden, but worth it for all the facilities.
The views are unbelievable, especially from the top bedroom with it's balcony.
Would definitely recommend and return.




Laura - The Luxury Coastal Team replied 15 days ago
Hi Michelle, thank you so much for your lovely review! The Captain's Cottage is in such a fabulous spot and those views are just incredible! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the games room. We hope we can welcome you back to Brixham again soon. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal team

Family stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with my kids and their partners which relegated me to the twin bedroom at the front. Obviously meant for children with plastic under sheet on beds. Not a problem but the duvet was very small and due to the type of blind the room was always light either from natural or street lighting. Great location and view.



Emily - Luxury Coastal replied 87 days ago
Hello Peter, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the view from the property. The twin room does have standard-sized singles but completely understand you'd rather be in the bigger beds! We would love to welcome you back sometime in the future. Best Wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Absolutely Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is brilliantly located and has the most wonderful views, especially from the master bedroom.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Brixham. Very clean, well-equipped and warm (it was January). The games room was a nice feature.

The owners replied promptly to any queries and were very friendly.

We had a great time and I would happily recommend this house.




Chloe-The Luxury Coastal Team replied 156 days ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the wonderful views and found the property well equipped and clean for your stay. We would be lucky to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team

Lovely Place to Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very nice place to stay whilst visiting the area.
The house is a triple split level with two bedrooms, wet room and toilet on the ground floor with access via a patio door to outside steps leading up to the patio, the games room and, eventually the garage.
The outside steps are quite steep with no handrail along the first couple of flights. The steps can be quite.slippery when wet.
Back inside and up the internal stairs takes you to the kitchen and the very comfortable lounge and dining area which has some magnificent views over the harbour.
The kitchen is very well appointed but a bit cramped when four people are all in at the same time, so Derek and I chose to stay out at all times and look after the wine bottles in the lounge.
Continuing up stairs from the lounge is the master bedroom which has full glass patio doors with a magnificent panoramic vista over the harbour and miles beyond. We watched the numerous fire works going off as our visit coincided with bonfire night.
Through the patio doors is a small balcony which would be loverly to sit out during a a balmy summer evening with a glass or two of your favourite amber nectar.
There is also a separate shower room and toilet located on this floor.
The beds are extremely comfortable and encouraged a lazy lay in.
There is access through the kitchen to the outside steps which lead up to the patio games room and eventually to the garage.
There are lights along the steps which are operated from the kitchen.
Access to the front door is up a short but steep set of steps and the road is extremely narrow and care needs to be taken.
Once luggage has been dropped off the car can be driven back up the hill to the road at the rear.where the garage is located and walked to either by the rear steps or by walking round, which we chose to do.
When we arrived we had no idea where the garage was located as this isn't clear on the promotional blurb but I think another postcode or map should be shown or offered.
When we arrived we found that the owners had left a couple of gifts to welcome us to the house which were very much appreciated.
This is a loverly house in a great location but a certain level of physical fitness is required if intending to walk into town and back.
It is definitely not suitable for the infirm or wheelchair users as there is no access for such.
I would highly recommend this place for anyone wishing to stay in and explore the Brixham area





Mary - Luxury Coastal replied 188 days ago
Thank you Roy for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed Brixham and took the job of guarding the wine bottles very seriously! Thank you too for your feedback about the directions for the garage which future guests will find is attached to their Arrival Letter emails. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Christmas 2023

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas break in this beautiful cottage. Everything was just right - and the owner's directions to find the garage were extremely useful. All the extra touches were much appreciated - the Christmas decorations and the welcome hamper especially. Even the seals came out to play in the harbour and we spotted dolphins (porpoises?) off Berry Head - just magical!



Hope - The Luxury Coastal Team replied 195 days ago
Hi Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Captain's Cottage and everything was just right for you. We do hope to welcome you to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal team

Wow factor

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I’m lost for words, this place is amazing.
Amazing clean, nothing to want for! Lovely welcome package on arrival!
Absolutely everything you need!
Every inch of the place is done to a high standard! I wanted to pick it up and bring the whole place back with me, no Infact I would like to move there permanently!
Thank you to the owners and thank you to Luxury Coastal who was all very helpful
See you next year!




Mary - Luxury Coastal replied 225 days ago
Hi Nicola, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay at The Captain's Cottage. We have passed on your kind words to the owners and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Great place to stay in Brixham

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Captains Cottage. Every little detail was thought through, from a well provisioned kitchen to the blankets to snuggle up in and enjoy the stunning harbour view from the living room and master bedroom. Would recommend staying here!



Emily - Luxury Coastal replied 247 days ago
Hello Stacey, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful week and enjoyed the stunning view from the property. It is great to hear you would recommend the property and we would love for you to return! Best Wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Lovely House

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house very close to Brixham centre. Really well equipped for self catering with fantastic views, comfortable beds and very convenient location. All in all we really enjoyed our stay although the steep setting means it may not be ideal for everyone. We travelled with a baby and struggled with the steep steps up to the garage as well as down into the town centre.



Fionnuala-Luxury Coastal replied 281 days ago
Hi Emily, thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back one day. Best wishes, the Luxury Coastal team

Lovely house, great views

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You are likely to be fitter by the end of your stay! You can’t avoid series of steep flights of steps everywhere in Brixham. Obvious when you look at how it has developed on the two steep hillsides around the harbour.
The steps from the garage are steep. You need to be fairly physically active/mobile to feel comfortable with this, especially making repeated trips up and down when loading/unloading your stuff. Just a warning to those less able!
The house is well designed, has a lovely sunny aspect and fantastic views.
Lots of interesting things to see/do in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.




Hope - The Luxury Coastal Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Janet, Thank you for leaving a review on your stay at The Captain's Cottage. We are so pleased to hear the house was lovely and you enjoyed the fantastic views. We do hope to welcome you to stay with us again in the future. Best Wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team

What a Cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Full credit to the owners for creating such a wonderful holiday home. It really has everything you could want in a self catering property coupled with being comfortable and clean.

The views over the town and harbour are wonderful from the master bedroom roof terrace, especially the sunsets with a glass of wine in hand!

As Luxury Coastal comment you do have to be comfortable with lots of external steps due to the location on the hillside. The garage being 40+ steps above the house! Also there are some pretty steep steps down into the town, some worse than others.

We really enjoyed our week at Captain's Cottage and made full use of many local restaurants all of which we found to be good.

A good base for exploring Devon from.




Katie - The Luxury Coastal Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Hugh, Thankyou for taking the time to make a review on your stay at The Captains Cottage. We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay, with lovely views over the town and harbour and it was a great space to see the sunset with a glass of wine on the roof terrace. Its also really nice to hear you made use of the local restaurants which were lovely too. We hope to welcome you back to one of our properties again in the future. Kind Regards Luxury Coastal