FB Twitter

The Boathouse

The Boathouse

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Two adjoining private fishing lakes in the Cotswold Water Park surrounded by trees and grassy walks are the setting for this Architect designed contemporary Lodge.

Third visit in the Last year

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
And two more booked for the this summer! In my opinion the Boathouse is easily the best Lodge on the complex (excluding of course the main house) and has a spacious and well designed kitchen.As regards the fishing there was an initial problem with crayfish lines and traps but this was sorted out quickly and couteously by Jo and the crayfish men was equally helpful when the came to move the lines and presented us with some of the catch. We were very fortunate with the weather and spent most of the time on the platform overlooking the lake. No fish caught but it is called the Trout Lake for a reason and only has a few carp in it which are very hard to locate and catch. I am sure that a profficient trout fisherman would do well.

We absolutely loved our time there .


chris from blewbury stayed at The Boathouse for 4 nights in May 2024


Magical Mini Break

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great stay at The Boathouse. Swimming and kayaking in the lake and chilling in the hot tub.

Katerina from Stroud stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in March 2024


Mini Break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days at The Boathouse. Despite the weather not being great it was still very relaxing and the perfect place to sit back unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet in this wonderful home. The hot tub was amazing next to the lake but a lack of plastic glasses let it down as it does say they are provided in the description. The shower area is lovely but the water does travel towards the bedroom so a floor mop or similar would be useful in this area. There are lovely walks straight from the door and two local pubs in the village serve amazing food.
I would definitely recommend staying here as everything has been thought of. In the nicer weather the decking would be just perfect to sit and watch the wildlife go by.


Gina from Redhill stayed at The Boathouse for 3 nights in February 2024


A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our weekend stay in The Boathouse was perfect! The lake and the boathouse itself are beautiful, the lodge is extremely clean and neat, exactly as shown in the pictures.
The lodge feels safe and secure with a gated entrance to the road that leads to it.
Communication via WhatsApp for any queries was very quick and helpful.
I would highly recommend the Boathouse to anyone considering staying there.


Georgia from London stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in January 2024


Perfect break away ++++

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived and found peace and quiet , relaxation and in such a beautiful setting , kept the log burner and wine flowing and then relaxed in the hot tub
Highly recommend ++++++


Andrew from Bicester stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in December 2023


Perfect and peaceful

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boathouse was just what we wanted... a well appointed cosy home next to some swimmable open water for a few nights away from it all. A wrench to go off-site to do anything else than look at the lovely view.

Nick from Hemel Hempstead stayed at The Boathouse for 4 nights in October 2023


Relaxation at its best

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking to escape for a couple of days to relax and we found the perfect place. Set on a private lake with uninterrupted views the boathouse offers peace tranquillity and luxury for a memorable stay. We didn’t turn on the TV once. The sounds of nature and watching the swan, ducks and heron go about their daily business was enough. Would recommend if you want to switch off.

catherine from Bury stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in October 2023


Beautiful location on a lake we could swim in. Couldn’t have wanted anything more.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location. The Boathouse had everything we needed for a relaxing get away. It was private, quiet and well appointed. The lake was a beautiful place to swim.

Sally from Clevedon stayed at The Boathouse for 4 nights in August 2023


Romantic retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning accommodation in a beautiful location, perfect for a romantic retreat. Lots of lovely walks around the lake with lots of wildlife to see, great pubs within a short drive and beautiful villages near by to visit. Enjoyed every minute especially kayaking around the lake in the mornings

Guest from Brighton stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in August 2023


Relaxing!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tranquil surroundings for a 2 night getaway, didn’t realise the boathouse was situated close to a larger property as not shown in the site images, not a big issue but would have perhaps chosen different accommodation when booking. Overall still a pleasant short stay.

Laura from stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in August 2023


Top Quality!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great house in a great location however one regular seemed to consider the lake his own and the other fishermen were expected to accommodate him using one whole side of the lake to himself
Saying this, we would return as the owners on site were lovely and helpful and the quality of the grounds and house is worthwhile a second visit


David from Northwich stayed at The Boathouse for 3 nights in June 2023


A fantastic property set in a tranquil location with stunning views.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boathouse is absolutely stunning in every way. Was exactly as described, did not disappoint! Will absolutely be returning in the future.

Laina from Bognor Regis stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in June 2023


Idyllic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous position.Quiet and idyllic.Very close to Cirencester which is a shoppers dream.The lodge has everything you could need and we were blessed with sunshine the whole stay which helped.In fact we loved it so much we have been looking at houses to buy on the lakes locally.
A great getaway from your phones and every day life.


Chris from stayed at The Boathouse for 3 nights in June 2023


Wonderful place to stay,quiet and relaxing with beautiful view over lake

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful place to stay.It is so quiet and relaxing with a wonderful view over the lake.There are so lovely walks nearby to pretty pubs.Will be coming back.

Janice from Burntwood stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in June 2023


A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay - perfect if you are looking for peace and tranquility in a secluded hideaway. Everything had been thought about and lots of little touches to make it a perfect stay. Already looking to book again!

Guest from Wigston stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in May 2023


Just Perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect! I came across The Little Horseshoe Lake when I was looking for a short break for my Anniversary. I booked the Boathouse and it exceeded our expectations in every way! The cake and Prosecco was a lovely touch!
The Boathouse is absolutely stunning, clean and comfortable. The location is beautiful and it’s so peaceful. The perfect place for a couple in need of some rest and relaxation. We will definitely be back!


Melissa from London stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in May 2023


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect! We booked this in hope of a total escape without any pressure or guilt to leave and wow - it really delivered. The house has everything you need to stay reading, swimming, kayaking or just watching the wildlife surrounding the boathouse (how lovely it was that every morning the geese came to say hello!). This is certainly going to be a go-to escape for us and we can’t wait to come back! Thanks, Jo and Barry!

Victoria from London stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in April 2023


Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stumbled across The Little Horseshoe Lake when looking for a weekend break for my Fiancée’s birthday. I booked the Boathouse instantly so to not miss out on what I thought was a hidden gem. Well I can say it exceeded our expectations in every way!
The location was perfect, so beautifully nestled in the privacy of the lake with wildlife in abundance all around. It was peaceful, tranquil and ideal for a day exploring the Cotswolds, which is exactly what we needed!
The pictures simply don’t do it justice, you can tell so much care and consideration has been put into making these the perfect luxury escapes. We loved it so much we intend to make an annual visit!


Mark from Crawley stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in April 2023


The Boathouse Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boathouse is absolutely stunning, clean and comfortable. The location is beautiful and it’s so peaceful. The perfect retreat for a couple in need of a well deserved break! The service provided was great and the added extras of coffee, tea, toiletries etc really enhance the customer service. Loved every minute of it and will definitely be back. Thank you so much!

Erin from Romford stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in March 2023


Perfect weekend!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we drove through the private gates we just started smiling. The lake is beautiful and so private, the boat house couldn’t have been any more romantic for us, with views of the lake from bed it was the perfect place to wake up. Those personal touches from the Nespresso machine to having fresh milk in the fridge made it a real home from home and the real extra touches from the Prosecco to chocolate cake made our smiles even bigger.
This place was just beautiful and perfect for our weekend exploring the Cotswolds.
We will be back!


Josh from stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in November 2022


Wonderful lakeside stay

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely three night stay. The house is such a lovely retreat in a very relaxing setting. With some excellent restaurants a short drive away, this is an ideal place to stay & explore the lakes, have a go at any watersports you may like to try & visit some of the Cotswolds. We especially appreciated the sculptures & attention to detail around the property. Highly recommend for a peaceful getaway.

Jo-anne from Gloucester stayed at The Boathouse for 3 nights in July 2022


Absolutely fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can not go on enough about how fantastic our stay was! The boathouse is beautiful, very modern and all the perfect amenities inside one could wish for. The private grounds of the estate are fabulous, paradise away from bustling reality. We stayed over Christmas, so it was cold and wet but we still had the opportunity to have afternoon drinks on the private deck out front, which was stunning. The log burner is the cherry on top really, making the very modern house feel cozy. Customer service also excellent, Florina went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. We cannot wait to come back!

Esther from London stayed at The Boathouse for 4 nights in December 2021


2nd visit to little horse shoe

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned following our first trip last year and can honestly say it didn’t disappoint. Florina is nothing short of amazing, no details are overlooked and it’s just the perfect setting for a short break. Highly recommend, can’t wait to come back next year.

Adam from Basildon stayed at The Boathouse for 2 nights in October 2021


An 11/10 stay ♥

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A magical week-long stay by a tranquil private lake with no detail overlooked. The administration, customer service and small details were all spot on. From the modern open plan design, floor to ceiling glass to maximize the glorious views, to its proximity to walking tracks, kayaking, rowing, swimming and fishing opportunities The Boathouse is a magical retreat for any couple to enjoy some time out. We will definitely be back.

Matt from Windsor stayed at The Boathouse for 6 nights in August 2021