FB Twitter

Hirwaun Cottage

Hirwaun Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Hirwaun is a semi detached cottage which is traditionally styled with beautiful high green oak beamed ceiling, underfloor heating and a quirky loft bedroom. It sleeps 4 people in one double bedroom and one twin room, making it suitable for young families and couples alike.

Fantastic Easter stay in Wales

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole family has had a great time staying at Hirwaun Cottage. Yvonne was a fantastic host and was available throughout our stay. The cottage was lovely... spacious, clean and containing everything one might require. Well recommended. Thank you.



Absolutely beautiful restful break in superb accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were extremely pleased with everything the very high standard of comfort and excellent hosts just topped our holiday



Yvonne Davies replied 292 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

A very comfortable week's stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a rural location surrounded by countryside and you really feel away from it all. Hirwaun was very clean and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our week there. Howell and Yvonne were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble if we had any questions. The location is perfect for exploring many beautiful areas without having to travel too far.



Hirwaun Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage set in beautiful surroundings. It was very well equipped and to a very high standard. Highly recommended.



Fantastic cottage. Great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Looking for a cottage with a downstairs bedroom is always tricky. We found Hirwaun and booked it and so glad we did. The cottages are in a very peaceful location. Its a stunning group of newly renovated cottages. Its in a great location to go exploring up or down the coast (Beaches are a 20 min drive) . Cardigan itself is rather good, lots of places to eat etc. Cenarth is 5 mins away, we ate at the Three Horseshoes three evenings as it was that good. We had a great time!



Wonderful peaceful break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed the convenience of the cottage and the lovely surroundings.There was good access to a variety of things that we enjoy doing. The owners were friendly and helpful.

A couple of suggestions from our previous experience of using cottages booked through Premier Cottages: some milk, bread and cake left on arrival, a few board games and information leaflets about the area in the corrage. However, we wondered if these were missing because of COVID restrictions and also realise that the cottage was cheaper to book than others.

None of these latter points spolied our holiday and we are grateful for having the break after a long year.




Very clean well restored cottages in beautiful area

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, well supplied in a central area to visit beautiful beaches and pretty towns. Owners very helpful and have restored the cottages beautifully and in keeping with the period and local materials. Very clean.



Perfect Covid safe holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very impressed by cleanliness and amenities. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Lots to see and do. The beaches and countryside are wonderful. Will return again!



Peace & Quiet

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed here, but it won’t be the last! It’s simply amazing. Highly recommend the lovely Davies family, they are just the most perfect hosts, from Howell & Yvonne at the cottages to Darren & Sam at Coracles, nothing is too much trouble. If your looking for a week of peace & tranquility this is the place for you.



A very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in this cottage; we were a party of two but it would work well for a family of four. The location is quite remote and visitors need to bring supplies with them initially, as there are no shops in the immediate vicinity. The accommodation itself was comfortable and well-equipped and we immediately felt at home (although our attempts to use the log fire on a very wet couple of days failed miserably!). There is an area to sit outside when it is sunny, and plenty of room for parking one or two cars. Cardigan is about 15 minutes away, and Newcastle Emlyn about the same the other way (although there is no much to see in the latter); but this is a good base from which to explore North Pembs and South Ceredigion.



Stunning Location & Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful well appointed cottage with spectacular open plan living area and a recessed log burner as a focal point. Private parking and pretty garden with established plants, seating area and dwarf dry stone wall topped with slate.
Our stay was peaceful, relaxing and for us the lack of mobile phone signal and internet access within the cottage was bliss !!
Driving is essential as local roads have no pavements, however, with the provided information on places of interest, shops and beaches, a short drive is all that's required.
Overall, wonderful stay in beautiful countryside, with discrete but helpful hosts.




Well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week at Hirwaun Cottage in October 2020. The owner was friendly and very helpful. The accommodation is finished to a good standard, with everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay.



Great break after Covid-19 lockdown

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything very clean and safe. Good location. Owner and helpful. Needs a stronger light over table.



Great stay, within 20 minute drive to a number of excellent beaches and coffee shops.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay, within 20 minute drive to a number of excellent beaches and coffee shops. enjoyed coffee shops adn beaches at Llangranog and Plwmp Tart (Penbryn). Aberporth has a nice picninc/viewing area and the slightly longer trip to Newport beach is definitely worth it.
Couldnt enjoy all the other facilities offered at the cottage (access to Spa) because of Covid, but he had plenty to do. Very quiet and restful rest, thanks.
Only disappointment was Nag's Head pub near Cenarth falls; food was greasy and uninspiring.




Wonderful Welsh break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was spotless, our hosts attentive, welcoming and kind and the location perfect. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the addition of a place to play football, bbq and pool table a real winner with our sons. Great spot to explore the area especially the beautiful beaches.



A week in Hirwaun cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent week in Hirwaun cottage. Yvonne was very welcoming and offered lots of useful tips on the area. Great beaches, and beautiful countryside. Cenarth itself was a lovely village to be close to. We would certainly look to return to this cottage if in the area again!



A recluse from the rat race!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An immaculate, comfortable cottage set in the Cardiganshire countryside, yet within a short drive of both Newcastle Emlyn and Cardigan. The beautiful Cardiganshire and Pembrokeshire coast lines are close by. Hirwaun Cottage is spacious, warm and well equipped - an excellent barn conversion. There are many personal touches that make it feel homely.
The small garden attached to the cottage is very well maintained and provides somewhere to sit and relax at the end of a busy day. Much thought and care has been put into the layout of the garden with many interesting plants and flowers to add to the enjoyment of a stay here. The owners’ presence is unobtrusive but they are there if they are needed!
The only downside is the lack of a mobile signal but, having said that, the WiFi connection is excellent.
A return visit is a must .......




Hirwaun Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, comfortable and well equipped cottage. Owners very helpful. We had a very relaxing break . Thank you.



Relaxing and enjoyable.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Beautiful cottage done to a high standard, very homely and comfortable, private garden space and lovely views.




Perfect family escape!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend these cottages enough! A perfect location for exploring south Ceredigion plus the added bonus of a pool just down the road & an excellent play area on site & football pitch - perfect for a family break!! Diolch yn fawr iawn!!



Short stay in West Wales

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this excellent property
Well appointed cottage in a beautiful setting.
Hirwaun Cottage was a delight.... highly recommended.




Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay to explore West Wales. We received a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Yvonne. Beautiful views from the cottage, and perfect for our mother who needed ground floor facilities and a walk in shower. Lovely outdoor space too. Highly recommended.