FB Twitter

The Middle Byre

The Middle Byre

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A relaxing weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay hot tub was very relaxing and waking up to the farm animals was a great break from town life.



Another great holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another very enjoyable holiday in Middle Byre. A very comfortable house, well equipped and in lovely peaceful countryside.
An excellent centre for touring Galloway.




Galloway at its best

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location. Peace and quiet, open views and an ideal base for seeing Dumfies and Galloway. For mountain bikers, four of the 7 Stanes are within an hour or so drive away.



Heavenly bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Clauchan Farm for about 20 years now but this was the first time staying in Middle Byre as it could accommodate our extended family. It is also wheelchair friendly with full wet room & a travel cot & high chair is also available upon request. It has everything you need with lots of space to relax inside & out overlooking spectacular views across the country side. Walks & cycle rides can start from the doorstep, with so much more a few minutes away & great for exploring too.



Great family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The ideal spot to come back to after a bike ride or just exploring. Plenty of room to relax and all well equipped including the hot tub.



summer holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have been goin their for 15yrs always have good holidays plenty to do children loved the animals great walking areas for dogs lots of places to explore with kids we were in the hot tub every day and have booked up for the next two years the Clarke family are really friendly if ian can help you with any thing he will



Iain Clark replied 105 days ago
It was a pleasure to host you again as always Jack. Thank you for your continued custom over so many years and we very much look forward to hosting you all next summer.

where to relax

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an excellent relaxing holiday in a very comfortable accommodation with the hot tub an added bonus.



Great stay in a great area

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is spacious, very well kept and in a fantastic location. With the hot tub, Lady Penelope the goat, Cream of Galloway down the lane, good golf courses nearby, you have a great place here. Thank you Iain for your friendly welcome and attention to detail.



Iain Clark replied 165 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review. It was our pleasure to host you all. We hope to see you again soon.

The Middle Byre

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a lovely holiday at Claughan farm. Middle Byre is such a comfortable house - an ideal base for touring the beautiful Galloway countryside. I really enjoyed the sun room and hot tub. The large enclosed garden was ideal for my dog.

There's plenty of wildlife to see in the area and goats, donkeys, pigs etc. around the farm.

I've already booked for the autumn.




Middle Byre Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Middle Byre Cottage is in a beautiful setting. If peace, quiet and tranquility is what you are looking for this cottage has it in bucketfuls. The cottage is excellent and spacious. It has a conservatory as well as a large lounge which means no one would be on top of one another. Very comfortably and tastefully furnished. Each bedroom has its own shower and toilet (2 en suite and one in corridor next to it) with one having a bath. The kitchen is well stocked with essential pots, pans, cutlery etc and spacious. Excellent fridge/freezer with huge capacity. Small dishwasher as well as washing machine and the obligatory cooker. Outside there is a very large enclosed space, plenty of room for at least 3 cars. Although we did not use the hot tub whilst staying, we did get to see how it works and know it would be a big plus for some people. One piece of advice would be, bring the essentials food wise or place an order online with a local supermarket to be delivered before arriving. This cottage had no provisions (ie milk, tea, coffee or any edibles) awaiting one’s arrival and the nearest shop is quite a distance away. Plenty to see and do if inclined that way. Lots of outside space for children and the cottage beside Byre have 4 friendly goats. We can recommend the Skyreburn Teapot (2/3 miles or 2 minutes in car) for snacks and delicious home baking. Small but worth visiting.



Iain Clark replied 188 days ago
Thank you for your kind review Bryson. We are glad you found the house to your liking. We were surprised by your comments regarding the lack of provisions as you were here on a self catering basis so unfortunately your groceries are not included in the cost of renting the house. We were also surprised by your comment about no shops being nearby. Gatehouse of Fleet is less than 5 minutes away and it has a supermarket so we are a little puzzled by this comment as we provide a list of all the local ameneties and things to see and do in our house manual. We would love to host you both again and hope to see you in the near future. Kind Regards Iain

What a Fantastic Place For A Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently enjoyed a 2 night mini break in Middle Byre. The house is huge and finished to a lovely standard. The hot tub is excellent and the views from the house are stunning. We wanted to come back in the summer but sadly the house is fully booked. Maybe next year.



Another very enjoyable stay at Clauchan

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Clauchan and we will be going again. Fantastic location, so much to see and do nearby.
The accommodation was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. The new hot tub was an added bonus!
Iian is such a great host, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
We love this place and had a lovely holiday.
A big thank you to our host.




Iain Clark replied 205 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review Denise. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind Regards Iain.

The Middle Byre Easter 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoy our stay at The Middle Byre and it is the second time we have been. Facilities are excellent.



Great Views, Great Facilities,Great Customer Service

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented a couple of houses at Clauchan Holiday cottages for a family get together. Set just outside the village of Gatehouse of Fleet, the holiday cottages have stunning views of the surrounding hills. Middle Byre was great with its hot tub and Sky TV and Netflix. The customer service is also great as the owner lives on site so if we ever need anything he was only a text message away. Would certainly go back.



Short stay

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable, warm and spacious accommodation. Property is well located for Gatehouse of Fleet and the wedding we attended at GG's Yard.



A weekend Away

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What weekend we had location, facilities accomodation all fantastic. 45 mins walk in Gatehouse of Fleet was one of the highlights of the weekend. If you want a quite weekend away I would recommend coming here. We are looking to come back sometime this year we had such a good time.



Iain Clark replied 255 days ago
It was our pleasure to host you all Jonathan and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to host you again soon. Regards Iain.

Family break -8 adults, 6 children and 2 dogs. We all had a great time and will be back.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here when the barns were first converted and returned for the first time since 2005. Familiar and much improved stay.



Wonderful stay in the Middle Byre.

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were made very welcome and given clear instructions before our trip regarding directions, keys etc. I shared the Middle Byre with my family - 5 of us, as we were attending a wedding. Other family members were staying in the Barn. We all got together in the evening pre-wedding and enjoyed our comfortable surroundings. I would definitely stay here again.



We had a wonderful relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barn conversion had been very well done giving spacious accommodation with a lovely outlook over the fields..The access to local towns pubs was only a short drive away.



October school break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for all we wanted to do for a few days away with three children .
House is a byre conversion and situated on a working farm although this did not interfere with our break .
Good rural quiet setting but close to main road and amenities .
Owner close by if any problems .
Hot tub on sight was a bonus and clear evenings meant great starry night skies .
I would recommend this for a base in the area for a large family .