FB Twitter

The Bothy

The Bothy

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was immaculate and a perfect size for the 2 of us. The location was ideal as we wanted to relax and we definitely did that. Definitely value for money and will definitely book again.



Family Get Together

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 4 of the properties as the same time for a family get together. We all really enjoyed our stay. Lots of space for the kids to play out. House was really nice. Would stay here again.



Was one of the best holidays I have ever had.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the bothy over new year. From the very beginning at time of booking ian could not have been more helpful. We arrived and the place was immaculate. The bed was so comfortable I had the first decent nights sleep in months. Everything was perfect I can honestly say there was nothing that was dirty and there was nothing wrong needed and didn't have the property is in stunning surroundings no noise . Our fur bubbas were made to feel welcome as well which is a big thing for is. Dogs are welcome as long as they are not left alone and are well behaved. We enjoyed our stay so much that we rebooted for this new year for the middle byre for 7 nights. The bothey in august for 7 days and a long weekend in the barn in april. I am an extremely fussy person when it comes to holidays and incant wait to go back. The value for money is outstanding. We are trying all the properties to see which is our favourite for future stays. Ian is one of the nicest people I cant recomend rhis little farm enough. Dont just take my word for it try it for yourself you will not be disappointed.



Iain Clark replied 167 days ago
Wow Gail. Thank you so much for such an amazing review. We can't wait to host you guys again in April. See you soon. Iain and Jackie.

Tis' The Season To Be Jolly

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely festive break in The Bothy. The house was lovely and warm and beautifully decorated for our arrival. The kitchen had everything we needed and the owners were on hand if we needed anything (we didn't but it was nice to know help was on hand). Very peaceful place. Would definitely go back.



A lovely few days away

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time visit to to this part of the country. We loved it here in Galloway. The changing colours of the forest and the crisp air was most enjoyable whilst walking our dogs. The house was lovely and clean and warm and was a perfect base for getting our and about. The owners are on hand if anything is needed but we were fine and had a great time.



Peaceful break.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect little place for a getaway. Cosy, clean, comfortable, friendly hosts. The only slight niggle was that there is a cattle farm very close by and the sound of the calves , newly separated from their mothers, was quite distressing.



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another super holiday at the bothy.Always made very welcome .Super accomodation and good location.Plenty to see and do in the area or just to relax.Already looking to our holiday next year. Barry and Frances.



Superb

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely holiday everything really good already looking forward to our next holiday in the autumn.



Fantastic, relaxing trip as always

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time i have stayed in The Bothy and again I had a great time. It's the perfect space for couples to get a few nights away.



Cosy getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage in a fantastic location. It had just what we needed for a relaxed weekend away. Liked having morning coffee in the sun lounge with the heater on. Being in the dark skys area meant we got some amazing stars and caught the lunar eclipse on the last night.



Weekend stay for wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcome from Iain. Ideal location for us to stay while in the area to attend a wedding at GG’s Yard. We found the downstairs accommodation much smaller than we had imagined from the photos on the website. Bedroom very comfortable but worth noting that bathroom downstairs.



Great break for me and the dog!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Small, quirky, two-storied property attached to main farm-house; therefore private but within hail of others. Very clean, well equipped, comfortable and nice and warm - important as it was January! Nice bathroom. As a 'shower' person I liked the electric over-bath shower. Extremely comfortable bed (wish I could've taken it home with me!) in a lovely bedroom featuring TV/sitting area. Perfect for relaxing at night. Dog-owners will appreciate that the stairs are 'filled in' and carpeted, many dogs disliking open-style and slippy wooden stairs. Plenty of space for my dog's beds up and downstairs. Kitchen/dining area is small but well equipped; I had everything I needed. Plenty of storage for groceries, cases and clothes. Information folder very helpful; easy connection to Wifi. TV in kitchen as well, with little sofa. Enclosed yard. In good weather, there's a summer-house for outside seating and patio area. I was there just after New Year after busy seasonal time, so just wanted to chill with the dog. Did a bit of walking around the area (dog on lead, because there are animals around) meeting the pigs, goats and donkeys. Shopped in Kircudbright, where again it's possible to walk the dog down by the waterside, and other towns are within easy distance, too. Lovely area. Proprietor very friendly and helpful. Great stay altogether. Would like to come back!