FB Twitter

Rhos Ddu

Rhos Ddu

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 97 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Detached country cottage in secluded and peaceful grounds with views of Snowdon and the Snowdonia National Park. Accomodation for 4 people. 2 Double Bedrooms (one being an en-suite). Bathroom. Large Kitchen-diner and comfortable Lounge. Located 4 miles north of Criccieth; 9 miles from Porthmadog and 13 miles Caernarfon. An ideal LOCATION

Comfortable well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A short drive from Criccieth and nicely tucked away in the rural countryside with spectacular views of the hills especially from the bedroom. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped, I was also pleased to find it had a dishwasher! The garden is also a good size. Enjoyed our stay.



Rhos Ddu cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely cottage set in the middle of the countryside very peaceful with field of cows and field of sheep.The only complaint was the towels were crusty (not soft) everything else was good



Rhos Ddu Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always received a lovely welcome from Anwen the owner. She is so friendly. We had a relaxing stay in spite of mixed weather. It was a chance to catch up on our reading. The cottage is very dog friendly. Lovely beaches and walks for our dog. Also good places to eat such as The Goat Inn and a little restaurant in Criccieth the Poachers where we had an excellent meal. The situation of the cottage is very peaceful. We have been to stay a few times and will definitely be back



Thank you

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday we love staying .
It’s a special place . Lots of lovely walks and places to visit.




A wonderful peaceful find

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in Rhos Ddu and had a fantastic time. The cottage is a real credit to Anwen, the owner. It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. We only used one of the beds, which was super comfortable! We had a minor problem with the heating, but Anwen couldn't have worked harder or faster to get it resolved - an engineer came out to fix it within a few hours! (If only we could get trades people to come out this quickly at home...) The cottage is in a very peaceful location, with fantastic views in every direction. There's lots to see and do within a short drive. We particularly liked Coed y Brenin Forest Park, which has several walking routes - we did the Waterfalls & Goldmines Trail which was beautiful. It was also lovely to visit Portmeirion, Conwy (especially Plas Mawr), Criccieth (on the coast), the Welsh Mountain Zoo, and Gwrych Castle (where I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here was filmed). There's also a local garden centre that does a great breakfast, and we enjoyed a lovely meal at the Goat Inn (but it was busy, so you need to book)! The weather was surprisingly kind, but we went prepared for rain, and the occasions when it did rain were still just as picturesque. If we return to that part of Wales we will definitely hope to stay at Rhos Ddu again (or perhaps one of the other properties that Anwen has). A great place! Thank you Anwen.



New year stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another lovely visit over New Year.
Everything was excellent, can't complain about anything. So quiet and relaxing. Stanley, our dog loves it as it's safe for him to roam around the garden and down the lane. The cottage is ideally located as a base for visiting all the nearby beaches. Anwen always pops in for a catch up, she's a perfect host.
Would highly recommend.




A little piece of heaven !

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed here many times and it never fails to dissapoint .Total peace and quiet in a spectacular location , the best place to recharge your batteries. Anwen is the most amazing host and Rhos Ddu provides everything you need . Just love this little peice of heaven ! Thank you



Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Rhos Ddu and as previous visits it proved to be a very relaxing holiday. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The garden was large and private. The cottage is well situated and within short drives of beaches and lovely walks which suited both ourselves and our lurcher. Anwen checked on our comfort and was always unhand if required. Thoroughly recommended.



Rhos Ddu

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the cottages before with our two dogs. Love the location near plenty of beaches for doggy fun in the sea and on the sand. Really comfortable cottages love the Portmerion china. The hosts are really friendly and welcoming will definitely be returning. Some places say that they are dog friendly but these cottages really are




A rural gem

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rhos Ddu was beautifully clean, well-appointed and had plenty of space. The peaceful outlook towards fields and distant mountains was optimised by mainly dual or triple aspect rooms. The decor is traditional and was perfectly comfortable. The bedrooms were a really good size and and coupled with a spacious bathroom each. The spa shower in the master bathroom was a lovely surprise and a proper treat after a long walk. The host was friendly, relaxed and helpful and we can heartily recommend a stay at the cottage.



Confortable stay in a gorgeous cottage near Criccieth

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rhos Ddu cottage provided all we needed for a much needed rest in comfortable surroundings. We found everything we needed at the cottage.The bathroom and kitchen fittings seemed very new and/or well maintained. The beds and mattresses were perfect.
We were given clear instructions to find the cottage and received a warm welcome from the hosts. We will definitely keep the address for a future visit to North Wales.




Perfect place to stay !

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed here for too many years to mention, we keep coming back ...Why ? Simply because you couldnt receive a warmer welcome from a perfect host to a beautiful cottage in a perfect location with easy access to many places . If you want to recharge your batteries in peace and quiet then Rhos cottages are for you. Quite simply summed up they are good for your soul!



A little piece of Heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our favourite " getaway from it all" place. Lovely quiet and serene cottage. We fed so many varieties of birds in the garden I'm sure they will miss us! Anwen as ever the attentive host and super funny informative chats with her hubby. We look forward to our next visit. Had the best weather ever, beaches close and picnics on the river. Ideal place for touring.



Just idyllic - will definitely return

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are so pleased that we found Rhos Ddu cottage. The cottage combines spacious well-modernised kitchen and bathrooms with a lovely comfortable lounge and bedrooms. The views from the bedrooms are just beautiful, and the beds are really comfortable. Fabulous multi-jet shower in the en-suite and a seemingly endless supply of hot water. The cottage is really well-equipped to a high standard, and it's located well off the beaten track so is lovely and quiet. We loved the rural location and waking up to see the sheep/lambs and cows/calves in the fields - and spent many an evening sitting on the front patio just watching the world go by - and the calves frolicking. I really enjoyed a 4 mile circular walk from the cottage.
There was lots to do in the immediate area, with Criccieth an absolute delight, as was the Goat Inn and the Prince of Wales pub - fabulous meals locally which was lovely. We can thoroughly recommend the Cwrt Cafe at Criccieth if you like 'old-fashioned' and great prices. It's in easy striking distance of many of the main attractions - we visited Snowdon, Bodnant Gardens, Beddgelert, Betws y Coed.
And finally, the owner Anwen is just lovely - she popped by to check we (and my 91 year old mother) were ok and we knew she was just at the end of a phone call if needed, though that wasn't necessary.
We shall most definitely return at the earliest opportunity.




Never disappointed holidaying Rhos Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another really great holiday week cottage spotless,the location is quiet with lovely views and plenty of walking around the area .The owners are very welcoming and should there be any problems they are quick to respond and deal with.



I have greatly enjoyed entering a very clean cottage and well equiped.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is located in a quiet country side. It was clean, well equipped and not with cheap accessories. For example I have greatly appreciated the Portmeirion plates, mugs. Nearly most importantly I met the owner and I have appreciated sharing few pieces of information about the area. It makes you feel not only a source of incomes.



Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at the Rhos Ddu. The cottage was perfect and so was the setting and surrounding area. (Especially the young calves in the field) Everything was within easy reach by car to many different destinations! We also loved the dog friendly beaches which our dog absolutely love. Would definitely recommend this beautiful cottage and Anwen was the perfect host.



A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a a quiet, peaceful and relaxing holiday. With great weather.
Lots of great walks and places to visit.




Great cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The host was very friendly and the cottage was massive, the shower itself is amazing and couldn't keep my son out of it. We had such a lovely time amd would love to stay again.



Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Emma for taking time to do a review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the mixed weather had during the week. It was lovely to learn that you managed to climb Snowdon with snow on the summit durimg your stay. A warm welcome will await you again and I look forward to seeing you coming back for another visit to Rhos Ddu

Wonderful house.

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is superb. Beautifully presented and in a very quiet location. Cannot think of anything which could be improved. Just wonderful!



New Year 2023

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another lovely stay at Rhos Dhu over New Year. As always, the cottage was clean, warm & homely. No complaints from us or Stanley our dog, he absolutely loves his trips to Wales!



Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed in this lovely cottage several times always clean and tidy and very cosy will be back for sure



Fantastic stay at Rhos Dhu

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our weekend. We went to get away from fireworks and peace was exactly what we got. Fields to all sides. Anwen came to say hi and made some suggestions about local attractions. We loved our stay and will go back again. Highly recommend.



Another lovely holiday at Rhos Ddu

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at Rhos Country Cottages many times over the last 20 or so years and we've never been disappointed. This time we stayed at Rhos Ddu, the smaller of the cottages and our favourite. The cottage is well maintained and the owners regularly update/refurbish the properties. There are two modern bath/shower rooms so we have one each which is lovely. The bed is really comfortable and we always have a good night's sleep in the solitude of the countryside. It's lovely to see the friendly cows in the field opposite when you pull up the blinds first thing in the morning. The kitchen/diner is large and well equipped, our favourite room.

The cottage is perfectly positioned to enjoy Snowdonia and the Llyn Peninsula. Beautiful quiet beaches for walking, the mountains and forests. Some excellent pubs in the vicinity too, although you would need to drive or take a taxi.

The owners are very friendly and always come to say hello.

Thank you for another lovely stay, we will definitely be back.




Holiday at Rhos Ddu

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in a beautiful rural location but very easy to get to inland or coastal locations. The cottage is well equipped very clean and comfortable any problems are swiftly dealt with by the host Anwen. I have had many holidays in Rhos cottage’s all having the same high standards . Can’t wait to go again next year….



Country retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely country location with the gentle company of sheep & cows.
Anwen responded very quickly to a small problem we had,which was much appreciated.
A place to relax in .
Would recommend.




An excellent cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Rhos Ddu it’s a very well appointed and well equipped cottage and its own beautiful garden up a private drive. It’s was very peaceful and secluded. The cottage is in an ideal position for getting to lots of places. It was very good for our young Labrador dog too as it’s so safe and there are several walks and beaches for swimming in not too far away. He enjoyed watching the cows and the sheep nearby too.

The owner Anwen was very friendly and helpful. She left us to our own devices whilst always being a phone call or text message away if we needed anything

The cottages was everything that you might need for an enjoyable holiday in north Wales




Beautiful place to relax and unwind

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at Rhos Ddu. We absolutely love it here...it's peaceful and quiet but conveniently located for any activities you may want to do.



Peace &Quiet !

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed yet another amazing week at Rhos Ddu , never tire of this beautiful part of wales! Have been visiting here for many years and it never looses its appeal. If you are looking for peace and quiet in excellent accommodation in a truly beautiful location with the friendliest of hosts then we couldn’t recommend Rhos country cottages highly enough !
Lots of places to visit or simply relax in an amazing location! in all everything you need to recharge your batteries and switch off from the busy world.... just a delight !




A lovely base for a holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Rhos Ddu, which was very clean and well equipped. Anwen had kindly provided all the basics needed - tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, washing up liquid, hand sanitiser, foil, cling film, cleaning materials etc. and a carton of milk. The property was lovely and warm, the master bedroom was very comfortable and the garden was sunny and pleasant to sit in. We would definitely like to return to Rhos cottages again.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay. Everywhere was clean and very comfortable. The area and the views from the cottage where outstanding. The owners where really friendly.We would higly recommend that you stay here.



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have asked for a better holiday, it makes you feel at home straight away, we were able to bring our well behaved animals. Over our stay there were lambs in the field next to us which was amazing, very quiet area.
Cannot wait to go back for our next holiday.




March long weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again, another lovely stay at Rhos Dhu. As always the cottage was clean, comfortable and warm. Lovely welcome from Anwen, our perfect host. Spent each day on various beaches then late afternoon and early evening sat in the garden, as the weather was perfect. Stanley, our dog, loves it here. Would highly recommend all of Anwen's cottages.



brilliant holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Rhos Ddu. Everything was perfect, it was clean and warm. Everything you needed when you returned after a long day out. Our little dog loved the garden. We had brilliant weather and blue skies every day. We will visit Rhos Ddu again. Thank you.



New Year's Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Rhos Ddu. A lovely cottage in a great location. Ideal for visiting beaches and exploring the peninsula.
Clean and warm with everything provided. Anwen always comes to say hello and to check you're ok. Stanley our dog, loves coming here too!




Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week and the cottage is so comfortable and clean, and in such a beautiful rural location we really do hope to return! The kitchen was really well equipped too. Within easy reach of both the sea and mountains.



Two week stay at Rhos Ddu

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Rhos Ddu with our two dogs. The location of the cottage was excellent - in the "middle of nowhere" but within easy reach (by car) of Criccieth and the environs. The cottage was clean and tidy and the owner, Anwen, was very pleasant and helpful. It was a great base to explore North Wales, which is a great part of the country. We recommend buying bird seed/fat balls for the bird table and bird feeders, as we got a lovely display of blue tits, coal tits, great tits and nuthatches - along with the occasional couple of squirrels! The only "issue" (and it wasn't really an issue at all) was the slow internet speed - but this is expected, I guess, out in the countryside. I would highly recommend Rhos Ddu for your next holiday.



A warm welcome and a wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had a wonderful stay at Rhos Ddu. The cottage was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well-equipped and the owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. We will definitely stay with Rhos Country Cottages again and would not hesitate to recommend them to others.



Home away from Home

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second time staying here and certainly not our last.
Very much home from home with everything you would need.
The host is always at the end of phone and responds to messages quickly.
Remote and quiet, the silence is almost deafening- it was just what we wanted.
We cannot recommend Rhos Ddu highly enough




Family stay at Rhos Cottage in August

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely stay. Superbly clean and comfortable, peaceful location. I would thoroughly recommend.



A lovely cottage in a gorgeous location

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Rhos Ddu. The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything that we needed for our stay. Everything in the cottage was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated - the shower was fantastic! We had a warm welcome from Anwen who was on hand nearby in case we needed her.
It was great to be able to do lovely walks along the quiet lanes from the doorstep and the cottage was in a great position for exploring the Llyn Peninsula and beyond.
We would highly recommend this cottage and will definitely stay here again if we head back to this area for a holiday.




A super break in Wales in this beautiful dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Rhos Ddu with our two spaniels, Betsy and Millie who loved the cottage with its large garden. The cottage a traditional detached Welsh house with a modern well equipped kitchen and granite work tops leading to a separate area for dining where you can look out onto the lovely Welsh landscape. The traditional cosy sitting room is perfect after a day at the beach (only a short drive away). The master bedroom has a modern en-suite with a "state of the art" shower which we found great fun to use!
The second double bedroom is also comfortably furnished and another separate modern bathroom can also be found off the landing at the top of the stairs.
Anwen the owner of the cottage makes sure everything is spotless and gives you a warm welcome. We will certainly book Rhos Ddu again if we visit North Wales.




Peaceful place to stay with ideal location for reaching lots of places

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful rural location, peaceful and quiet but very easy to get to many beaches and places to visit if required . The setting is truly beautiful and the accommodation very clean and welcoming .The cottage is well equipped and owner Anwen couldn't be more friendly or welcoming . A little gem !



Rhos Ddu holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Rhos Ddu was delayed from last year due to the Coronavirus pandemic restrictions, and we were looking forward to our stay after so long. We were not disappointed. The cottage is in a beautiful quiet location and is marvellously appointed. The two double bedrooms, en-suite and bathroom suited all our needs very well. While the kitchen had everything you could image having in your own kitchen, let alone one for a holiday. With a young grandson with us for our first week, access to a washing machine and a large garden to run around were especially welcome.
The location is excellent for touring around the area, with a short ride to Criccieth and Porthmadog, and access to a nearby trunk road for trips further afield. We only tried a few places to eat locally, yet more were on offer, so anyone taking a welcome break from cooking would be well supplied.
We would be very happy to return to Rhos Ddu again, and would hope that the weather was as good as during our visit this year.




Lovely place, will definitely be back.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolute gem of a place, run by lovely people. The cottage is set in beautiful countryside and is located perfectly for all activities...never more than a 30 min drive for everything we wanted to do. The cottage itself is clean and tidy, and really well appointed with anything you might need. Anwen was very kind and helpful, making the whole experience top notch. You must stay here!



Another wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at our childhood holiday cottage. Brings back so many lovely memories and such a beautiful peaceful location. Excellent customer service from Anwen as always.



A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with Rhos Ddu it was clean, spacious, well maintained and had all the facilities we could wish for. Anwen was particularly helpful and visited us twice during our stay. The location is great albeit with some narrow lanes around and about. Our neighbours were a herd of dairy cows and their calves and a flock of sheep. A lovely part of the world and definitely somewhere we would stay again should the opportunity arise. No hesitation giving this property 5 stars.



Fantastic week in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rhos Ddu is a lovely spacious cottage with great facilities, the kitchen is very well equipped, bathrooms are both modern and the two bedrooms are comfy with gorgeous views. We also enjoyed making use of the large garden and barbecue. The location of the cottage is ideal for exploring numerous attractions and beautiful beaches in North Wales. Anwen was super helpful and friendly, we would 100% recommend and hope to return in the near future.



A comfortable country cottage handy for leisure activities

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have stayed in this cottage twice and enjoyed both times. It's pleasantly situated with one adjacent property, very quiet, surrounded by farmland. There's plenty of parking space. Its private garden has a patio, a lawn and the usual equipment. Inside, it's comfortably furnished with a good kitchen - the Portmeirion crockery shows that nice attention to detail which characterises the fittings.
There are lots of good things to do nearby. There are pleasant walks right from the door, for example, and my jogging on the lanes round about was largely undisturbed by traffic.
Our children used to play on the beach in Criccieth ( about 3 miles away ) but now we caught the train there and made trips along the beautiful coast to Harlech and Barmouth and, once, just to the first stop along, Porthmadog, from where we walked back along the coast to Criccieth.




Rhos Ddu

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is in a very quiet and peaceful location surrounded by beautiful countryside, with just the cows and sheep for company.
This is a lovely setting and ideal place to relax and unwind and not too far to travel to Criccieth/Porthmadog. We had a great holiday could not have been better and our thanks to Anwen who made us so welcome. The facilities are excellent and everything you could want is provided, super shower. The cottage certainly lives up to the 5 star rating and you could not wish for a better place to stay.




A Great to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation is the best I believe I have ever stayed in and would have no hesitation in recommending Rhos Ddu to anyone. Whilst relatively isolated in its situation, it is within easy access to all attractions/ beauty spots etc.
This is quality!




Rhos Ddu - an excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rhos Ddu is an excellent cottage in a lovely peaceful location, ideal as a base for exploring the Lleyn Peninsular and North Wales.
Whilst you can enjoy the rural location you are only a few miles from the main routes, the best of both worlds!
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need, spacious, very clean and tidy, a home from home, and very relaxing.
Anwen and her husband couldn't be better hosts, were always keen to help if necessary, but were not intrusive at all.
We have also stayed more than once at nearby Hendre (3 bedrooms), another of the Rhos Country Cottages, which we also loved,
We would not hesitate to recommend any of Anwen's properties and would certainly stay again if visiting North Wales.




A Short Break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful week away in Wales. Perfect as usual and not one negative. Hopefully it won’t be too long till we can get back. Thank you again Anwen.



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having decided to stay-cation this year and having had several years of family holidays at Rhos Ddu in the 70s, my mum and I were delighted with our holiday at Rhos Ddu this year.
The farmhouse/cottage has been beautifully updated and extended, with a new kitchen and modernised bathroom and ensuite, since we were last there 40 years ago, but it still retains many of the old features that I remembered and that bring such warmth, familiarity and cosiness. The cottage was clean and tidy everywhere and felt very safe, which is vital in these Covid times.
We had forgotten how beautiful the views were and how clear the skies at night. We were also very lucky with the weather!
It was really fabulous to see Anwen again after so many years and reminisce about the passing years and we could not have asked for a warmer welcome from her. We very much look forward to future visits and catching up with Anwen again.




Review

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable stay in what is most definitely a 5 star property. Although we were pre warned by the owners that due to covid 19 certain items would be removed including that there would not be a welcome hamper-however, a vase of flowers and a bottle of wine would have been appreciated instead.



Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to do a review and for all your kind words. You were so blessed with beautiful weather to enjoy Snowdonia at its best. Hope you'll return one day, with Covid19 being history, when we can all move around freely without social distancing. Anwen

Rhos Dhu near Criccieth

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was spotlessly clean and well stocked. Port meirion crockery was a pleasant surprise. Comfy beds. Lovely modern bathrooms and powerful showers. Secluded location with one other cottage next door, but not encroaching on each other’s privacy at all. A delight to wake to cows in one field and sheep in another, right outside the windows. Very central location to visit snowdonia/beaches/Anglesey. Very peaceful and faultless hospitality and communication from our host Anwen. Would happily return.



A great stay at Rhos Ddu

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is in a great, quiet location and yet only about 10 minutes from Criccieth. The property was of a high standard, very clean and well presented. Out of the master bedroom we could see sheep from one window and cows and calves from another which we thoroughly enjoyed. Anwen was a great and welcoming host and we would highly recommend staying at the Rhos Cottages.



Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay at Rhos Ddu and once again Anwen was the perfect hostess. The cottage is always sparkling clean on arrival. There are fields all around with sheep and cows so the views, particularly from the main bedroom, are lovely. It is a very peaceful area with few local houses and minimal traffic. Anwen and her husband are extremely friendly and helpful. I intend to return very soon.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful peaceful location. Cottage was well equipped and very clean.
Lots of great places to explore nearby.




Great break

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great stay a lovely cottage and location. Everything you need in the cottage and very comfortable. Will be booking to stay again.



Perfect just perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a wonderful stay at Rhos Ddu, perfect location, perfect cottage and wonderful owner. Perfect!



home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very friendly. excellent accommodation. beautiful area. only problem was that the steam cabinet was not working



SIMPLY FANTASTIC

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Rhos Cottages on a number of occasions this being the first time at Rhos Ddu.
As always it failed to disappoint us.
The cottage was beautifully presented, VERY clean and had every thing that we needed as a family.
The location of this property and the other Rhos Cottages is simply Idillic with stunning surroundings and views.
The owner Anwen always gives you a warm welcome, an extra special touch being a birthday banner hanging in the kitchen upon entering the property.
We have already re-booked for next year and can't wait to return for yet another relaxing break in beautiful North Wales.
You are not to far away from the attractions within the snowdonia and surrounding areas.
We would highly reccommend staying at Rhos Cottages.




A peaceful cottage location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our recent stay in Rhos Ddh cottage and found it an excellent base from which to visit the Llyn peninsula, Caernarfon, Harlech, the railways from Porthmadog, Portmerion village and of course lovely Criccieth itself which is only 4 miles from the cottage.
The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. The only sound was an owl hooting!
Booking the holiday was easy and we were able to alter the normal start date which was very helpful. If we stay in the area again we will most certainly stay here if we can.




Cosy comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rhos Ddu is a lovely cosy cottage in a scenic and rural location. The cottage was well equipped and spotlessly clean with a nice big garden which was handy for our dog.

Rhos Ddu is within easy reach of Criccieth, and many other places of interest, including some beautiful beaches on the Llyn Peninsula, most of which are dog friendly.

We would definitely recommend this cottage and would certainly stay there again.




Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been here and to next door, Rhos Wen many times, it never disappoints. Hope to come back again in the very near future.



Wonderful place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rhos Ddu is a delightful cottage with peace and quiet and perfect views to the surrounding mountains. The cottage is extremely well equipped and comfortable, the beds extremely comfortable, and the garden is private and a good size for young children to let off steam! This part of Wales is absolutely marvellous for family holidays, and the nearby seaside town Criccieth is lovely. Anwen was a helpful and welcoming host, and we would definitely like to return sometime.



A lovely base for exploring the area

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired two adjacent houses whose large safe gardens were ideal for our six young grandchildren and two dogs . A highlight was seeing a huge hare in a nearby field. Diolch



Thoroughly enjoyable stay in North Wales.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful location, yet only a few miles from beach, shops and places to eat. The cottage was a lovely mix of old and new furniture and the beds very comfortable. Special mention for the owners, who are kind, friendly and very welcoming. Lots to do in the area or just stay put and watch the cows in the field at the front of the cottage. A most enjoyable week and we would thoroughly recommend.



Sunshine a comfortable home from home and stunning views

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Anwen sent very detailed directions to the cottage , arrived to find a very lovely clean cottage
There was tea/ coffee and milk waiting for us there which was very welcome
The cottage was short of nothing, comfortable beds , amazing bathrooms and very cosy furnishings
The garden was a gorgeous sun trap with BBQ and seating
It was extremely quiet but not far away from civilisation/ shops/ beaches
Would highly recommend and definitely want to go back soon




Idyllic piece of tranquility

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned for yet again a refreshing break from the hustle and bustle of life. So love everything about this cottage from the character features to mod cons & most of all the sound of silence and restful sleep. Entertained by the wildlife in the garden , beautiful woodpeckers , finches and the three mischievous squirrels on the bird feeder. The cottage is situated perfectly for visiting local tourist spots and close to beaches and walks. The sun shone for us making it a truly wonderful week. Oh yes not to mention Anwen is truly a warm friendly host ensuring our stay had everything we needed. We will return .



Property just like home

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Anwen friendly and helpful .gave us helpful directions to find cottage .plenty of things to do for a rainy day eg jigsaw puzzles cards dominos music and DVD s



Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in one of Rhos cottages means having a good holiday...lovely clean places filled with all you could need to make for a good time..nothing to much trouble for the owner...have stayed many times and will continue to do so .



Good central base for exploring Snowdonia and the LLyn

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was spotlessly clean, appointed with high quality furnishings and made a cosy, light and cheerful base.



Definitely will be coming back here when we are next around Snowdonia

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found out about This County Cottages by mother in law as they have been there 2 years prior, they absolutely loved it as well. First impressions were amazing, didn't expect the house to have such a homely feeling. Everything was there for us to use in the kitchen to cool meals or have a BBQ. The shower was lovely and we also had a choice of a bath which my husband loved.

The bed was very comfortable, and we both had great night's sleep whilst there.
Fields filled with sheep over lambing season with an amazing view from the bedroom windows.

Anwen was lovely, she kept in contact with us and saw us in the week we stayed. She was very helpful with where to eat and go from the visitor book she had left in the living room.

We will definitely be back.




Return visit

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here and in the adjacent property many times. Always enjoyable, beautiful place, a hidden gem.



Rhos Ddu

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rhos Ddu is such a beautiful place to stay. It’s the perfect place to go if you are looking for peace and quiet. The house itself is really clean and cozy which made us feel right at home. Anwen the host is very attentive and is quick to respond to messages. We loved our stay at Rhos Ddu and we will definitely be back soon for another stay! Thanks Anwen!



Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect weekend in a perfect location, cottage is very homely and the location is Stunning. Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend.



Lovely short break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time staying in this lovely cottage. Great location for peace and quiet, but also for exploring the area. Anwen always friendly and welcoming and always on hand if needed. Looking forward to visiting again soon.



Excellent location to visit North Wales, Snowdonia and of course the Llyn Peninsula. Lovely house.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The position of the house is perfect being right in the countryside. It is very quiet and there are lovely dark skies at night.

The house has everything you need for a comfortable stay. There is a lovely garden at the back and a small patio at the front. The master bedroom and en suite are bright and the steam shower is wonderful! The kitchen diner has all of the equipment needed.

There are lots of places to eat and drink in Criccieth which is only about 4 miles away. We had a lovely week exploring the area and the weather was very kind to us.




A good

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place for holidays ...amazing scenery...a really comfortable cottage,...very clean ..best quality fixtures and fittings..customer service is excellent..nothing too much trouble..over the years have stayed in three of the cottages and the experience just gets better each time...



Stunning !

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this cottage so much. Beautiful location. Cottage traditional with modern fittings. Every appliance you could possibly want. Shower off main bedroom is amazing. Such pretty location and waking triple aspect to mountains sheep and cattle is a so relaxing. Anwen is very friendly and makes you feel very welcome. We will going back for sure.



Perfect stay...

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is immaculately kept. The finishing is very good. Anwen is a very nice host. The layout appeals to both family with kids or a romantic getaway. Arriving to the cottage can be mildly challenging the first time. The kitchen is very well equipped. If you are after peace and an excellent accommodation, look no further. Very well connected to Snowdonia area.



a delightful, well-equipped cottage in a very peaceful location

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious, warm, comfortable cottage, lovely little garden, views of fields and mountains. Excellently equipped, much better than comparable cottages we have stayed in: a freezer in utility room, range of kitchen knives that were actually sharp enough (!), plenty of storage, good range of pans, dishes, utensils (lack of any of these can be a pain), though kitchen scissors would have been useful. Portmeirion plates, bowls etc! Hand gel in the bathrooms very welcome. Large shower with jacuzzi jet options and lighting programmes was a great novelty in the en suite. Games and puzzles and a small selection of DVDs. We really enjoyed our stay, and would like to return. It's a really good base for exploring the Lleyn peninsula, the top half of the west coast, Snowdonia of course, and the north coast and Anglesey are also within reach. Large Tescos nearby in Porthmadog, and the little town of Criccieth close by on the coast is lovely and unspoilt, with castle remains on the headland with glorious views (on a good day!). The owners, on whose farm the cottage sits, are friendly and helpful (we had a minor issue with a tap) - left us in peace, but popped round within a day to check all was well.



good

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a beautiful house that cannot be faulted in any way at all. Well appointed and a charming owner who takes pride in her property



Rhos Ddu Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Rhos Ddu for several years. We love it because of its comfort, cleanliness, countryside location and the friendly helpfulness of Anwen, the owner. The cottage is situated off a country lane and overlooks fields and cows. There is plenty of crockery and cutlery etc. and the bedrooms are comfortable as are the modern bathrooms. Can thoroughly recommend this cottage.



Loved this cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful, rural location with lovely views of the mountains. Very comfortable and extremely well equipped for self catering.
The owner was very helpful and greeted us on arrival.
Well placed for visiting both Snowdonia and coastal resorts.
We had everything we needed for a very good holiday.
Would definitely return if holidaying in this area.




Excellent house in private location very close to numerous attractions and beautiful beaches.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Generally excellent condition of house apart from a few issues with some lamps around house not working and batteries in iPod dock does not work therefore no radio.Batteries in one remote corroded so could not swap over. Garden very overgrown and full of weeds. Grass not cut. Broken washing line which I tried to repair a few of the lines. These items can easily be fixed by a simple check list of items to be inspected prior to a new holidaymaker arriving. BBQ in shed but did not use because it did not look very clean. This is a shame as we were very pleased with the house cleanliness, facilities and its location and these minor items spoil the overall opinion of this property. If you put a comments book in the house requesting customers to register any items not working or items that need attention this would alleviate these comments in the review.



Superb holiday stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay in this cottage and enjoyed just as much as the first time. Facilities within the cottage are superb. The locality is definitely rural although easy reach with a car. We love it and would certainly recommend it.



Happy holidays!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my family (including one dog) had a lovely time at Rhos Ddu. The cottage is set in beautiful and peaceful area which is ideal for anyone wanting to 'get away from it all'. On arrival we were welcomed by the owner and always felt we could contact her if any problems arose. The cottage was clean and comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The steam shower was a big treat for me but all the facilities were good. The dog had a garden to play in and there were no shortage of walks available down the surrounding country lanes. Looking from the windows upstairs there was farmland as far as the eye could see. We certainly intend to visit again and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Rhos Ddu.



A great place !

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this place. Been coming to these cottages since 1996, firstly with two children, now just me and the wife. Always a great welcome, clean, tidy and very comfortable. The cottages are updated with regard to fixtures and fitting and redecorated regularly to maintain high standards.



Delightful peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at rhos ddu, which we initially chose for being well equipped and dog friendly, and in a rural location. Clean and comfortable, with everything you need for an extended stay, the large kitchen is very well equipped with plenty of storage. the bedrooms have excellent views of the surrounding countryside, and the kingsize bed is extremely comfortable. The en suite has a steam shower cabinet - what a treat!
We had a very relaxing time here, it's a perfect winter stay when the light is fading and activities are limited. It's so nice to come back to.
It's a short drive to criccieth and porthmadog and is a great base from which to explore the northern coastline. We would definitely return here, and would highly recommend it.
The owner, Anwen, has ensured this cottage is a perfect retreat at any time of year.




A great relaxing stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my friend stayed here over new year, it was a lovely comfortable stay really is a home from home. Just far enough away from amenities you can relax. Plenty of places to go walking and not far from the coast.

Had a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone.




A beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Homely, comfortable and with a very high standard of modern appliances including modern integrated kitchen and diner, modern bright bathroom and separate modern bright shower room which boasts an LED steam shower with massage jets with two individual seats. The bathroom has a blackout blind to optimise the effect. Adequately suited to dogs with a nice big garden and well away from main road. Beds are comfortable. All windows are double glazed and you’ll want to go back just as we do. Just hope this review doesn’t me my chances of booking are any less because I’m being honest. It’s lovely!! In addition, Anwen or a family member will greet you shortly after arrival to see if all is well with you and to welcome you.



Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly host and excellent cottage in a good location: quiet and “out of the way” but still easy to access the Llyn attractions. Well laid out and comfortable.



Excellent cottage for Llyn Peninsula and Snowdonia

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage for Llyn Peninsula and Snowdonia. Great location in a very quiet location on a working farm run by a lovely very helpful couple.



Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. The peace and quiet provides very relaxing surroundings at Rhos Ddu and it is not too far off the beaten track. Within a few minutes your on the main road and can head off in any direction. Be it Snowdon or The Llyn Peninsula.

Couldn't fault it.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a relaxing retreat, all the comforts of being at home. Well laid out with everything you could want, comfortable bed and what a shower.
Top place and would recommend this to anyone.




Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Stuart for leaving a review on "Up Front Reviews". It's nice to know that everything met with your approval. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you'll retrun one day. Snowdonia has so much to offer and a warm welcome awaits you.