FB Twitter

Betws Bach

Betws Bach

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The historic Betws Bach Farmhouse full of Old World Charm & Architectural Interest, dating back to 1675. Quality 5 STAR accommodation verified by Visit Wales. Accommodation for up to 7 people (+ 1 extra person, with the provision of a quality folding bed on request). 3 Double bedrooms, 1 Single. 1 shower room. 1 bathroom (with shower over bath). Kitchen - diner. Lounge. Snooker Lounge.

Another FANTASTIC stay at Betws Bach Cottage, Rhos Cottages, Criccieth

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Anwens cottages many times and it really is my happy place. We are always met with the most warm welcome from Anwen and nothing is to much trouble for her. The cottages are amazing, very well equipped and extremely comfortable for the whole family to enjoy. The location is perfect set in very quiet surroundings but not to far away from many of attractions that the snowdonia range has to offer you. I could not recommend Anwens 4 cottages highly enough so look her up Rhos Cottages Criccieth you will not be disappointed. We are already looking forward to our next visit thank you Anwen and see you soon.



Perfect for family get together

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay for a family/friend group
Plenty of space and has everything you need.
Added bonus of a snooker room.
Warm, clean and a great location.




A very comfortable sanctuary for our holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We already knew that the area was peaceful whilst also being so conveniently close to Criccieth, as we stayed in a sister Farmhouse last year. Beautiful setting, beautiful cottage and patios; beautifully renovated inside, We couldn`t have asked for more. And AFFORDABLE in these times of ridiculous prices, as companies try to recoup their losses during Covid.
Thankyou, Anwen. We had a great holiday, even the weather was extremely kind - what a contast since!

Margaret & John from Wigan




Betws Bach - a perfect country holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved Betws Bach. We were five adults, a two-year old, a baby and a very lively dog, so our needs are many and varied.
The house is set in beautiful countryside down a quiet country lane which is almost traffic-free. However, it's only a few minutes drive to get onto main roads to beaches on the Lleyn or to Snowdonia, Parking was fine for our van and two estate cars.
As described, the house is comfortable, cosy and full of Olde Worlde charm and we loved the snooker table and were pleased that it had been well looked after.
The dining kitchen was one of the best I have seen. I usually expect to find holiday kitchens have limited cooking utensils, cutlery or crockery. Here, we had everything we needed and cooked meals almost every day. Cooker, dishwasher and washing machine all fine.
Bedrooms and bathrooms were good - although you need to be careful not to bang you head on the top floor.
The gardens were well maintained and ideal for just relaxing or for children or dogs to play in.
Anwen was really friendly and helpful and an excellent host. I would love to stay here again. Ten out of 10!




Excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second year that we have stayed at Betws Bach for 3 weeks with our family (age ranging from 8 to 72 years). We have been coming to this area of Wales for more than 40 years and we always find something new to do – we love it. The location is very peaceful and the views from Betws Bach are stunning. The area caters for all activities including walking in the lovely countryside, mountain climbing, fishing, crabbing and swimming in the sea, lakes and rivers.
The house is well equipped and extremely comfortable and spacious. The snooker room is a great asset and the grandchildren enjoyed arranging several tournaments during our stay.
Anwen (the owner) is so lovely, friendly and helpful – we love having a chat with her.
We will be returning for two weeks in 2022 and we cannot wait to visit again. I would not hesitate to recommend Betws Bach for a lovely, comfortable family holiday. Thank-you Anwen.




Fabulous Holiday venue

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really lovely holiday cottage in stunning scenery. The house is very comfy and cosy with stunning views of the mountains. The owner is absolutely lovely and so helpful and friendly. We had a fabulous holiday and have booked again.



Lovely farm cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and Anwen, the owner, was extremely welcoming and helpful.
Would highly recommend for a stay in the countryside gorgeous views of Snowdon.




Betws bach

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice holiday.
Accomodation very good
Excellent position for a lovely quiet stay
Excellent restaurants nearby




Lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful old farmhouse in a quiet location. Anwen was very friendly and the property is clean and comfortable. We loved the snooker room too! We will definitely be back!



Amazing cottage, amazing stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are back from an amazing week away in the cottage. Cottage was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. It was clean and spacious and I couldn't fault it.
The games room was an absolute hit for my children and husband.
Anwen was helpful and friendly.
I would more than recommend to stay here.
I am already looking for next year!
Thank you so much!




Lovely home and place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing holiday over the last week, most essentials were provided, the accommodation was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable. Where located there is easily accessible shops and takeaways. The owner was very friendly and a lovely lady. Will definitely look to stay here when I’m in Wales again.



Fabulous cottage in quiet, pretty setting, great access to hills and coast too

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting. The narrow lanes leading to the house are full of wild flowers at this time of year.

It's very quiet where the house is located. You'll be unlucky to find a car passing in any 5 minute period. Lovely views from the garden out towards (and including) Snowdon Their cows grazing just beyond the garden itself. Looks like a fab place to be a cow!

The house has a very useful kitchen and large fridge freezer. The main lounge is very spacious and the sofas are super comfy. TV with Freeview via satellite. WiFi is totally fine for browsing the Web and social media. Don't rely on it for streaming services. Fibre has not yet reached this part of Wales but, in almost all ways that's a good thing when you're "getting away from it all". Do not plan to have any Zoom video conference calls here (again, definitely a good thing!).

The snooker table is 8ft (3/4 size table). It's pretty level, and the cushions are in good shape - be warned that you have no excuses - and it's superb fun! With the exception of 1 evening, we played it for 1 1/2 hrs or more each night. Well lit. Such fun! And none of the pressure you get when you play at your local pub Neither of us play regularly, but I'm quite fussy and this floated my boat and was a real plus for the house (we had 2 very rainy days, and this table is awesome for that kind of occasion).

The snooker room has a comfy sofa and TV too - so if you don't all want to do the same thing, you've got plenty of space and opportunity to do your own thing.

We stayed in the top bedroom. The bed is king size and reassuringly firm but soft at the same time. Absolutely perfect! I'm 6'4", so the big size was much appreciated. I don't know what the other beds were like, but the rooms all have charm.

The shower room all works perfectly. There's a very useful shower-over-bath on the middle floor. All looks perfect for a place that sleeps 7.

There are some idiosyncracies to the light switches (to light the snooker table, you need to flick a switch by the external door in that room, and the wall lights in the main lounge didn't switch on at all - our fault for not thinking to mention that to Anwen). The door from the hall to the lounge catches the brand new carpet a bit at the moment - it always takes a while for a carpet to settle down. These are all very small details.

The house is fabulous! And the warmer months, the garden and patio will be fantastic places to relax, enjoy the view and peace and quiet.

Anwen is fantastic! Both of us are always shy about meeting hosts, but we needn't have worried at all. Anwen is just a fabulous person

From the cottage to Pen-y-Pas is about 40 mins drive. The roads are often 1 car wide, with passing places, but it's a lovely drive. Trees overarching the road and fab views. It's not a hardship at all. And the cottage is well located for trips north, and to the coast too. Variety. It's a good spot to be in.

Hope this is all quite useful




Wonderful week in the most beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Betws Bach is set in rolling welsh countryside with fabulous views across Snowdonia. The cottage was absolutely spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. We had a couple of rainy days at the start of the week where we relaxed in front of the fabulous log burner and had a few games of snooker in the great snooker room. The bedrooms were all beautifully decorated and the beds so comfortable! We were really lucky the rest of the week with the weather so were able to explore the beautiful area, visiting Beddgelert and then spending the rest of the week driving around the coast. The cottage is set in beautiful grounds down a little country lane, perfect for walking our Cavapoo. Despite is quiet location, it's so close to all the local highlights such as Criccieth, Portmadog (for the Underground Bakery) and the rest of the Llyn Penisula. This was my second stay with Rhos Country Cottages and I will definitely be back again. Fabulous value for money and wonderful accommodation with a really friendly and accommodating host, Anwen.



Wonderful stay at Betws Bach

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned home after another wonderful staying at Betws Bach. We have been coming to these cottages for many years and have never been disappointed. Betws Bach has ample equipment for a holiday home, and the living space is spacious and clean. Location is quite, but not too far from civilisation and in an ideal location to explore the mountains and coastline. We can’t wait to visit again.
Diolch Anwen for your warm welcome.




Tidy Stay ! Diolch yn fawr Anwen

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always Anwen's cottages are excellent many many staysin RhosDdu over the years& RhosWen. Ist time in Betws bach- Great ! Thoroughly recommend !!!!!!!!!



Perfect just perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a break away,, cottage and location again perfect. Owners are friendly and do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. Would highly recommend this cottage.



Idyllic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay in Betws Bach. On arrival we found the cottage spotless and very well equipped. Once we arrived Anwen and her husband came to check that everything was okay and were really really lovely. We got the impression that nothing was too much trouble.

It was a real joy waking up in the mornings in such a comfortable cottage with the spectacular views of Snowdonia. We loved the snooker table and spent many happy hours playing. We were really impressed with how clean, comfortable and well equipped the cottage was.

It was a great holiday despite the pandemic. A highlight for us was taking a boat trip from Anglesey to see the seals basking on Puffin Island.

When we return to North Wales in the future we would love to have Betws Bach as our base again.

Thank you Anwen for our stay!




Great week away

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is quirky with the low ceiling staircase but good.
It has everything you need!
The snooker table was a bonus and we played.everynight!
Its so nice to have a lovely patio and seating outside ( we even managed a bbq in Sept!) but also a nice big garden which the dogs particularly loved.

The area is quiet and relaxing with lovely views.
We used it as a base and went out but also had quiter days to just enjoy getting away from things and did a few strolls along the lanes.

Anwen is on hand if you need her but otherwise left to just enjoy.

Thank you we had a lovely stay and so glad we managed to come.




nice cottage but few issues

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
2.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
2.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
well start with cottage looks fab from outside nice large garden for our nice small yorkies. as u enter cottage its very nice spacious but we few faults with it me and wife had main room in attic looks fab but 2 big let downs as u go up 2nd flight stairs there no mind ur head sign as u have to bend very awkwardly to get up onto the floor 2nd fault is the room by the windows had WOODLICE loads of them and every day n night i was picking them up and flushing down loo told the owner whom said she knew about them but did not sort out so looks as if it been going on for few years or months u can clearly see where they come from a massive 6ft long gap in the wall which needs filling also loads cobwebs and spiders so rooms clearly not been cleaned properly. other issue was we was not told of electric being turned off for 1 day until i saw paperwork and asked her about it and then 2 days(48hrs) without any heating at all and also no instructions on how to use washer dryer so we had to dry on radiators but had to rewash as no heating for 2 days also wifi i useless as main box is in part the house next door not in house ur staying so very poor so main box should be moved to main part ur staying. but as for space in each room they are fabulous sizes nice pool/snooker table with incomplete balls but could still play pool/snooker and other games and very nice detailed cottage inside with old beams etc would we rent this cottage again i'm afraid no and do no reckonmend unless all been sorted im not sure why they are not as they make so much money from renting out they could sort issues . but as there 3 other properties which are a lot newer we would try them out .



Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and all comments have been taken on board. The limited headroom on the stair way to the top floor is mentioned in the description on our website and also there's a photo of the stairway showing the old beam across the top. Sadly you didn't see and read these before arrival. We apologise that a problem occurred with woodlice appearing from underneath the old oak beam that goes into the 3 foot thick stone wall on the top floor. We dealt with the problem as soon as you notified us. Wood lice are harmless and are not a health hazard. Very old Listed Buildings can have problems of this nature from time to time. The electricity was turned off by the electricity supplier so that they could work on the lines in the area. We could do nothing to prevent this from happening and we did leave the letter from the supplier on the hall stand so that you could see it for yourself. The snooker table is 3/4 size and on professional advise, it is provided, short of 5 balls. We were told that this way, a better game can be had. The Wi Fi is not high speed fibre because we are in a rural location and the connection can drop from time to time, but most people find that what we have is adequate. We look forward to see you return to one of our cottages, and as you say, one that is not quite as old as Betws Bach, which goes back a long way to 1675.

Week stay 8th-15 th August

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at Betws Bach. The house was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The large garden has stunning scenery including views of Snowden, and a lovely patio where we enjoyed barbecuing and alfresco eating.

Thank you to the lovely Anwen for her warm welcome and assistance.




Enjoyable family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed in this area for more than 30 years and we had a wonderful 3 weeks stay in Betws Bach cottage. When we arrived Mrs Jones (Anwen) popped by just to check that everything was OK and to ask if we needed anything else. We enjoyed chatting to both Mr and Mrs Jones as they were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
It is in a lovely location, very peaceful and quite with just the gentle sound of the river Dwyfach and the birds singing in the background – very tranquil. The views from the front patio of the countryside and mountains are stunning with Snowdon in one direction and Cader Idris in the other.
The cottage is full of character, very comfortable, clean and well equipped for all your needs. The kitchen diner is spacious and has everything that you need when preparing meals.
It points out on the website that the second-floor bedroom which is quite stunning, with A framed beams, is reached by a staircase with limited headroom, but you soon get used to negotiating it.
It is a great base for enjoying the lovely beaches of Criccieth and Pwllheli and the many walks around the surrounding area of Snowdonia. Also, we enjoyed visiting Newborough Forest on Anglesey.
The fishing on the Dwyfach that was accessed just beyond the garden was enjoyed by my husband (a keen fisherman) and grandchildren. The snooker room was a real bonus and we enjoyed several snooker tournaments especially during the evenings and the few wet days we had.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Betws Bach for a lovely family holiday with lots of attractions and outdoor activities.




Betws Bach

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived amid storm Dennis to be greeted at Betws Bach with the log burner roaring away & a pint of milk in the fridge so we could all have a brew, followed by a quick visit from Anwen to make sure we were OK - greatly appreciated.
Oozing with character, Betws Bach is well equipt, warm, comfortable & cosy, but still has plenty of room for larger parties. The snooker table was great for all the family to play.
It is an ideal base for exploring the Snowdonia National Park & the Llyn Peninsula - mountains & beautiful beaches within easy reach.
It is a quiet, peaceful location yet only a short drive from Criccieth.
Perfect - Thank you Anwen




Lovely place for couples break away

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous time was had by all 6 of us in a charming cottage. Much time was spent either staring into the flames of the log burner, playing snooker or just chilling with a book in the lounge. All agreed another, longer visit would be good!



Amazing return visit

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th year of coming to Betws Bach and it is a home away from home - we love it here! The cottage has everything you could need and the location is beautiful. Would highly recommend.



Holidays everyone should try...

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in any one of Rhos Cottages is always a good experience...this time Beth’s Bach was my choice..lovely location ,stunning views, inside everything you need from comfortable furnishings to a well equipped kitchen. Any queries or problems are dellt with immediately..highly recommended.



Great accommodation & views

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable base for our family holiday, age range 15 to 85! Well equipped & generous accommodation in stunning surroundings. The snooker table was a very popular pastime in the evenings and the BBQ patio area was well used. Great to see the cattle & sheep free to roam in the fields adjacent.

The only area identified for improvement would be the Wi-fi - a mixed blessing though!

The owner was very pleasant to deal with.




Our holiday staying in Betws Bach. most enjoyable fo

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all enjoyed our stay at Betws Bach. The farmhouse was in a great position with wonderful views over countryside and mountains. It was a great base.
Our age range was 8weeks to 70 years and it suited everyone.
The house was very clean and well provided. The owners were very friendly and helpful.




Lovely cottage in very peaceful position with amazing views

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Betws Bach immensely. We chose the cottage for several reason. Firstly because dogs are allowed. There was plenty of space outside for our dog to potter around, and lots of nice walks and beaches in the vicinity. The second reason we choose it was for its proximity to Snowdon which we climbed while we were on holiday. We were also taken in by the snooker table, which we used a lot, especially on the one afternoon when it poured with rain. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked and the whole house has lots of character and is very beautiful. I would like to point out that if you are planning on using the internet a lot whilst on holiday the signal is poor and WiFi also very weak - a good excuse to not do any work or check emails! Also, as it says on the website, there is limited headroom in the top floor due to the low beams, but once you get used to that it's fine. It was so quiet and peaceful, and to wake up and sit on the patio with a cup of tea and amazing views across to Snowdonia was wonderful.



Very peaceful but accessible situation

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious house with bags of character surrounded by beautiful countryside. Lots of land around the house so great for dogs. You walk or cycle out straight onto quiet lanes and paths.
Clean and well kept with the only issue being weak wifi.
An enjoyable holiday.




A wonderful stay. Perfect Location

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time in wales. Came down for 2 days to climb snowdon. The cottage was lovely, great location, clean, warm, lots of original features, beams, etc. Furniture and beds very comfy. Kitchen had all the necessities. WiFi was useful too. Great bbq area with a charcoal bbq and views onto fields and snowdon in a distance. Only took us 20 minutes to drive to the Pyg path in the morning. Not a soul nearby! Seven of us had a wonderful time. Thank you!



A beautiful cottage with plenty of character

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week at this lovely C17 Welsh farmhouse. I loved the history of the place. The house is very comfortable with everything you need and four generations of our family from 85 to 4 months had a very relaxing week. The views are fabulous, Snowdon in one direction and Cader Idris in the other. It was lovely to meet Anwen who was very helpful. I could go on and on, it really was a lovely house.



Excellent family Easter break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the property. It had everything we needed as well as having lots of character. Beautiful quiet location with great views of mountains. The added bonus of the snooker table went down well with the children. The location was great, we were able to enjoy Snowdonia and all its activities as well as exploring the lovely coastline of the LLyn peninsula. Would definitely return.



warm character cottage with special atmosphere

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed four nights over Christmas and we felt very welcome from first step in by warm character atmosphere and fire already made in stove. It is very well equipped cottage with lovely owner ready to help. Just pack and go...




Outstanding Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is outstanding. It is full of character and old charm, but also has all the mod cons to make it a home from home.

The whole cottage is very clean. The beds are very comfy, with top quality linen.

The kitchen is very clean and top quality. All cutlery, crockery and utensils are provided. There’s a dishwasher and washer/dryer. The fridge/freezer is a great size. A great pleasure to cook for the family. Cleaning up is no problem with the dishwasher.

The living room is very comfy and warm. The snooker room is a real bonus. Great for snooker or just as a second living room. There is also a couch, TV and fireplace in there.

The outside grounds are very pretty. Great large garden for the kids to run around. There’s picnic tables outside so you can have a brew and watch the kids. The kids would always enjoy cows or sheep coming into the field behind the garden. The views from the garden are great. Beautiful countryside. Also, plenty of space to park your car.

Would definitely visit again.




Amazing

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this cottage - this is our 5th visit and it never disappoints - it’s a beautiful location and feels like a home away from home. We will be back next year!



Immaculately presents cottage, well equipped, tranquil location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Rhos cottages several times over the years and have never been disappointed. The cottages are immaculately presented, very comfortable and equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay. The rustic charm of the cottages and the tranquil location provide a very relaxing break and nothing was too trouble for the owner.

We used Betws Bach for a family get together catering for ages from mid twenties to nearly 80 and all loved it. The younger end loved the pool room and the older end loved siting by the log fire. Our poochie loved the massive garden and spent many a happy hour chasing one of three footballs he found in the bushes!

The cottages are a little isolated therefore a car is really a necessity with the town around 3 mles away and a range of supermarkets towards Porthmadog (7 miles away) or Carnarvon (7 miles the other way). Criccieth beach is glorious and has a large dog friendly section which our pooch loved. There's good walking and lots of attractions nearby to keep you occupied should you want to venture out. The adventurous should look up Zipworld and the more sedate might enjoy a chop choo trip up mount snowden or on the narrow gauge to Ffestiniog. There's so much to choose from in this beautiful area.

If I could make one suggestion, it would be to possibly make a couple of bicycles available at extra cost. Hiring locally was almost impossible and ultimately rejected as it was very,,very expensive (£80 for the week) and as some of our party didn't drive it meant they were at the mercy of the driver to get out and about.




new year in wales

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
so we thought we would do something different this time for new year as we had guests from Australia and a friend had stayed at Betws Bach and recommended it to us.
we arrived at the cottage and unpacked the cars and shortly after we was met by Anwen (owner) who asked us if there was anything we needed and she told us if there was anything that we could just give her a call.
the cottage is set in a beautiful part of Wales with some outstanding views and is not too far from the local village which we visited.
there is also a circular walk which takes about 90 min to complete.
the cottage itself is beautiful with wooden beams and log burners the beds are very comfortable there is everything you need in the kitchen washing machine,dishwasher,fridge, etc.
I cold go on and on but that's boring just book it and see for yourself.




Lovely cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks a million to Anwen for a wonderful stay in your lovely cottage. Loved the wood burning stoves. And loved the kids learning snooker.



Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to do a review on your stay at Betws Bach. It was lovely to have you and the family stay at the farmhouse and to know that all went well and that the children enjoyed the snooker table. Hope you'll return one day to explore more on our beautiful area - Snowdonia.