FB Twitter

Aird House

Aird House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Aird House is a high quality 4 star, sleeping up to 6 guests in 4 bedrooms. A private garden with stunning views to Mull, Scarba and Jura can be enjoyed while watching the day go by, or the setting of incredible sunsets. A fully equipped kitchen/diner, lounge with wood burning stove, with special touches for a family holiday or a get away from reality.

Expectations well exceeded by this wonderful home in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (mum, dad and four kids aged 10, 8, 5 and 2) had the best week at Aird Farm in a truly exceptional holiday home.

The farm and land is stunning, we had grand plans to base ourselves here and go driving out to see other sights each day but ended up only leaving the farm once, and that was the most disappointing day of our trip.

We walked miles each day exploring in every direction and seen some beautiful wildlife from field mice to deer and horses on land and seals, otter and dolphins near the shore.

The hosts were wonderful, making sure the kids were having a great time and we had everything we needed, I can't speak more highly of them, a highlight for my son was going out with Malcolm on his Polaris driving through the farm track.

There is a great wee local store about 3 miles from the property which offers everything from fresh butchers meat to a good selection of wine.

The real gem of the holiday however is the cottage, a real home away from home, actually my wife says she wishes our house felt as homely as this!

It was warm and inviting and had everything we could possible need, washing machine, dryer, log burner etc, and all supplies needed to use them were generously provided. For me the most desirable part of the cottage was the quality throughout, mattresses, duvets, linen, towels etc were all high end that really made a difference. So many holiday lets look great on the surface but don't have the nice touches Aird Farm provides.

All our future holiday homes will unfairly be judged against this one, the bar has been set very high and we look forward to visiting again in the future.




a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a house with spectacular views, the house is very cosy and comfortable and well equipped.
Alison and Malcolm are very friendly and helpful host.




My favourite place on earth

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love this place, the area is my favourite place on earth.
The house has everything you need for a comfortable stay.




Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable house with incredible views out to the islands, Very peaceful with friendly, helpful hosts. Highly recommended.



Very comfort house with fantastic view

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This 4 bedroom house is very warm,comfort and has the best views you can imagine.
The owners leave 6 fresh farm chicken eggs, and a fruit loaf home made.
Very clean and so peaceful.
I would recommend this house.




Reluctant to leave!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glancing through the Guest Book- many families have been drawn back to Aird House for multiple revisits....and I can see us doing likewise.
The location is stunning- with wonderful views across to the Islands. It feels remote and yet is very well positioned to explore mid Argyle.
The Farmhouse itself is very well equipped and homely- the kind of place you would still enjoy in the depths of winter with a roaring fire.
Alison and Malcolm are lovely people- very welcoming, generous and helpful.




A piece of heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? One of the most beautiful places we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. From the minute we arrived to a clean, spacious very welcoming Farm House to the gift of fresh eggs laid by the farm hens, the homemade fruit loaf (and the rather lovely bottle of wine!!!), we truly were in awe of the fantastic views from this gem of a find. It's abit of a journey , tricky to find - but soooo worth it. Looking forward to visiting again in the New Year.



Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Previously a farmhouse the accommodation offers everything you need for a comfortable self-catering holiday for up to six. It was very warm, the kitchen was modern, there was a separate downstairs toilet and all was immaculately clean. The owner and family were very friendly (even bringing the new puppy over for my seven year old granddaughter to see) - and greeted us with wine, eggs and homebaked fruitcake. Could not have been better.



Fantastic Hosts in a Fabulous Location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to get away from it all. The house contains everything you could wish for. We had a great time, it was our first visit but I'm sure it will not be our last. A big 'Thank You' to Alison and Malcolm for sharing such a gem.



A week of summer holiday @Aird House with three kids

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a week in July 2018 at Aird House. The location is spectacular, and my kids (6, 8 and 10) loved it! It is a fairly remote location, not in the absolute sense but relatively. 6 km down a single track road from Ardfern, no other neigbors but the farm, and a view on an uninhabited landscape. My kids liked the animals (cows, sheep, a horse, a cat, geese, chickens etc.) a lot. That, and the sea on your doorstep. My wife and I enjoed the views on Jura and Scarba, the atlantic ocean, and the total peace and quiet. At night there are no lights(!) to see, fairly special in western Europe. The craignish peninsula is nice enough, and a bit further out there is plenty enough to see and do. If you are not a lover of the outdoors- don't bother. If you are this is a very, very nice place to be. Comfortable enough (4 bedrooms !) and practicable as well. The hosts are very nice people indeed - they are there if you need them, and won't bother you at all if you don't.

I can empathically recommend this place to a family that wants to spend some time together, away from it all, with nature.




Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming. Peaceful quiet place with fantastic views. Very comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Loved being on a working farm.



Would definitely stay again.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aird House was a lovely, comfortable and spacious house to stay in with fabulous views. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location, seeing the farm animals and other wildlife, and being able to walk in all directions from the house on the suggested walks with route-maps provided.



a good holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
although it was a long drive from Sussex it was totally worth it .the house was warm very clean and the view was fantastic over the loch to the western isles. Alison and Malcolm were informative. the house was well equipped and comfortable. we had wonderful weather and a fantastic time there. would we stay there again we would love too.



Lovely cottage, fantastic views

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting this cottage for ten years and always have a good time. It is very peaceful and has fantastic views over Jura and Scarba, and along to Mull. There are many places to walk in the local area, and plenty of wildlife. It sleeps six very comfortably.



Stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been many times over the years, and the house gets better every time. The location is stunning, with beautiful views. It's secluded, but not too far from a good pub, grocery shop, and cafe. Just need sensible shoes, and transport for the single-track roads.



Idyllic Argyll Escape

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Aird House is a comfortable, well equipped, warm, spotlessly clean house on a working farm at the end of the single track road which runs downs the Craignish Peninsula from the village of Ardfern in Argyll. It is close to the shore and the ever changing view (depending on the weather) to the islands of Scarba and Jura and the Gulf of Corryvreckan will stay with your long after you have left. Reading the visitor's book you discover that many people return again and again to this property and I would say that it has a lot to do with feeling at home from the moment you arrive. The wine, eggs, flowers and awesome fruit loaf make for a welcoming personal touch from friendly but unobtrusive owners.

This area is a nature lover's paradise and excellent for cycling and sea kayaking. Otters can be seen from the house and the variety of birds in the area in fantastic. All in all, a special place...




Stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The stunning views are what you go for . Nothing else matters. There are challenges with the property itself but all worth it for the views......amazing!



Fantastic peaceful stay at Aird House

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a place, from the 4 mile drive off the main road through a lovely village, past yachts and a single track road to the end of the island, there was Aird House in an elevated position with panoramic amazing views. The pictures don't do it justice, the views are breathtaking. The house itself was very warm and comfortable, had everything we needed, it was very clean with no sign of wear and tear, it's obviously meticulously looked after. The owners have their own house who own a working farm on the same land but they are not intrusive at all, in fact we didn't see them at all except on the first day as we drove up the drive and they were moving their cows and the last day when we were packing the car to ensure everything was OK. We couldn't ask for more, the remote location was absolutely perfect with a village shop, pub/restaurant 3.5 miles down the track. We are cyclists and enjoyed the huge amount of sustrans cycle tracks available nearby and island hopping by ferry to the Isle of Mull, we also by pure luck had amazing weather, at the end of September we were lucky to have blue skies and 17 degrees with no rain when we were out and about, of course this added to the delight but this is the UK and if you're holidaying in the UK, you need to bring gear for all weathers.
I would highly recommend Aird House, it had everything we were looking for.




Rooms with a (superb) view - worth the rental itself- on the most tranquil of farms,

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable house with a welcome of home-baking, wine and eggs from the hens just over the hedge. No light pollution, tranquil, even the animals all seemed relaxed and the west coast on the doorstep. And sorry to repeat, but that view, straight out to the Corryvrecken, framed by Jura and Mull and all in-between.



Glorious location made better by the weather nice friendly hosts

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A family gathering. The weather was almost tropical for four days providing wonderful views and sunsets, then changeable but not unpleasant. Plenty to do with nice walks a good local pub and the locals are very friendly and helpful. Allison and Malcolm are nice and friendly hosts without being intrusive.
A comfortable and pleasant holiday. Thank you.




Superb views, thoughful extras, couldn't be better

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aird Farm has superative views to Jura and Scarba, and is an ideal location for rest and relaxation. There are walks from the door, and the village shop at Ardfern, 5 mins drive away, is very well stocked with a mix of luxury and basic items. Plenty to do in the area, but does involve a fair bit of car travel if exploring. Aird House itself is clean and vey well equipped. Washing-up liquid, dishwasher tabs, etc. are provided, and a welcoming cake and bottle of wine, as well as fresh flowers show the owners' thoughtfulness. Owners are on-site, are there if you need anything and hapy to have a chat about the farm, area, or anything in general, but leave you to get on with your holiday as you wish. Wi-fi is very slow and a connection a bit intermittent - but given the location is amazing it is there at all, and the whole point of a holiday here is really to get away from connections! Highly recommended.



Visit July 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a fantastic situation. Comfortable, clean and warm. Will visit again in the future



Wonderful stay at Aird Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation with what must be one of the best views of the West coast! House very comfy and homely. Has everything you require and the hosts are always on hand if need anything! If you want to get away from the stresses of everyday life, this is the place to head to, can't fault it one bit and we keep going back year after year!



Aird House

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed mid may for the second time, had a fabulous holiday, house has everything we required plus that view is spectacular. Wildlife is all around, from the kitchen window we had a treat of one and a hours watching dolphins and otters. The peace and solitude is very relaxing . Malcolm and Alison very pleasant hosts. The eggs left for us had proper yellow yolks, the wine and cake were nice touches. The house is very clean and tidy, comfortable beds, bed linen crisp and fresh, all in all cannot fault our stay at Aird.