FB Twitter

Vale Oak

Vale Oak

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.8


From the courtyard, an external staircase takes you up to the large three-bed Vale Oak cottage. There is open-plan kitchen/living/dining room with exposed beams, three big sofas and a large wood-burning stove and a large dining table and sunroom with stunning mountain views. This cottage is ideal cottage for meeting up if staying with family and friends in the other cottages. Vale Oak has a good-sized entrance hall for hanging coats and kicking off shoes. There is also a handy separate toilet. A wonderful cottage for a large family.

The large Master bedroom has exposed beams and an en-suite shower room. There are two further bedrooms (one double and the other with a 3-sleeper bunk bed (lower bed is a double, top bed is a single) and a family bathroom. Double sofa bed in living area.
Situated on the Edge of the Brecon Beacons amongst beautiful countryside on a traditional working farm which is close to Brecon, Builth Wells, hay on Wye, Crickhowell and Abergavenny.

Vale Oak (sleeps 7 in 3 bedrooms +2 – double sofa bed)

Bedroom 1: zip and link Superking size bed (can be a twin), door to Ensuite shower room with shower cubicle, hand basin, heated towel rail and toilet

Bedroom 2: double bed

Bedroom 3: bunk beds (double lower bunk, single upper bunk)

Family bathroom with shower over bath, hand basin, heated towel rail and toilet.

Lovely setting

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great place for kids!! The apartment was spacious and clean, the pool was such fun! Great place and owner seemed lovely. Thumbs up!!

Guest from Wallasey stayed at Vale Oak for 4 nights in July 2022


Fantastic stay, beautiful views

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay our second visit will definitely not be the last. We have stayed in two of the larger accommodation and both have been 5 star. Pool and jacuzzi really great. Cannot fault a thing. Thank you

Sheri from Penarth stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in July 2022


Perfect for families, lovely facilities and stunning views, accommodation very clean and comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for families, lovely facilities and stunning views, accommodation very clean and comfortable. Thank you we will be back!

Guest from Lichfield stayed at Vale Oak for 4 nights in June 2022


Beautiful Brecon

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing views, well equipped accommodation, friendly helpful hosts.
Highlights of our stay were use of the fantastic pool area, and in particular being allowed access to watching the sheep lamb. This was an experience that our 12 year old daughter and I loved, and will never forget.
Can also recommend The Three Horseshoes Inn in nearby Groesffordd, for a special meal out.
Thank you so much x


Katie from Stroud stayed at Vale Oak for 4 nights in April 2022


Location location location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Myself and my family has the most beautiful weekend. Vale farm is brilliant for families and children. The view is spectacular.

Paige from Bridgend stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in March 2022


Great location and accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As there was a large group of us we hired out all the cottages for the same week and it worked really well.
As the weather was quite wet having the pool and both hot tubs there was always something to do (especially for the kids). The location was fantastic and the standard of accommodation was very high. The owners were friendly and approachable.


Sam from stayed at Vale Oak for 7 nights in December 2021


Family Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and amenities. The family that run the cottages are very friendly and even when working hard will stop and talk to the guests. Very large spacious accommodation and well heated. Seemed at full capacity for the majority of our seven night stay but you wouldn’t notice as was very quiet and use of facilities was well managed.

Zachary from Lockerbie stayed at Vale Oak for 7 nights in October 2021


Amazing hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely amazing time staying at Emma’s Vale Oak property. We were a group of friends catching up and exploring the local area with the dogs. Before we got there Emma was very attentive and any correspondence was swift and professional.

The facilities were fantastic, there were poo bins throughout the areas and a doggy box in the apartment which had some essentials such as poo bags and a water bowl which was great. The pool and hot tub facilities were used by us every day, it was always spotless and very well maintained. We really enjoyed booking slots for this as it meant we had exclusive use between an hour or half and a half depending on the time of day.

Vale Oak was a lovely apartment, up a flight of steps outside and then all on one level which worked really well for us and the dogs. There was ample space for several dog crates as well as lots of space to chill, relax and catch up. A wonderful trip and we have already booked again for next year.


Sarah from Berkeley stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in October 2021


Julian/newport

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was great for a large family, plenty of room, and well equipped. We had a lovely time in a beautiful place. The feeling of space was excellent even though there were cottages side by side. Would go again. Thanks

Diane from Newport stayed at Vale Oak for 6 nights in September 2021


Oak Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious cottage,the pool was directly below us, where our 7 year old triplets had a wonderful time. The location is fantastic, and there is everything in the cottage that we would need. Would definitely go again.

Kevin from Llansteffan, Carmarthen stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in September 2021


Family get together.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to holiday,stunning scenery and the accomodation was certainly brilliant.owners very welcoming,pool and hot tub were a big hit.

from stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in June 2021


A very comfortable and relaxing location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My son and I stayed here for 3 nights walking in the Brecon Beacons. The view from the cottage was 9 miles clear line of sight to Pen Y Fan. It was super quiet being nearly a mile from road.
The cottage had everything we could have wished for with a massive amount of space and a bedroom to spare. 6 people would have been very comfortable even the max 9.
The owners could not have been more cheerful and helpful.
One local pub just down the road which was unfortunately closed because of lock down but Brecon was only 4 miles away and we found outdoor supper from the Tapp in the square...food was great.


Paul from Leek stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in May 2021


Great family break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Vale Farm. So much room in the Cottage and the views were amazing! The play park and swimming pool was perfect for the children. Would definitely come again.

Julie from Bicester stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in May 2021


My review

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Dec 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Family and dog friendly cottages in a beautiful location, swimming pool and hot tub added to great facilities

Jackie from Vale of Glamorgan stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in November 2020


An idyllic escape, home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Vale Oak and the photographs simply do not do it justice.
Very well equipped, absolutely beautiful surroundings and stunning property throughout.
Host Emma was so friendly and helpful
Will definitely be returning!


Denise from Cardiff stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in November 2020


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed here for 3 nights and was lovely! Cannot fault anything about the cottage. Beds were comfy, kitchen well equipped and nice large bedrooms. Due to Covid, the pool & hot tub were on allocated 1.5 hour time slots which suited us as we had these to ourself during this time. (Be up for 8am to get down and reserve your slot) The wifi and signal is very weak inside the cottage but this was no issue for us! The play area and animals around the cottage were lovely & the kids enjoyed these very much! Thanks for a lovely stay!

Hannah from Tamworth stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in August 2020


Family gathering

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (25 of us) had sole use of all 6 cottages and facilities, fantastic choice and beautiful location

Ruth from Cardiff stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in March 2020


Booked to return for the 5th time. It really is oustanding!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In arrival we were so pleased to find another hot tub attatched to our cottage. A wonderful NEW feature to top off the wonderful stay we had yet again. The whole farm is clean, the cottages are fully equipped with the littlest of things that mean the most as forgetting ur washing powder etc can be a nightmare so these added touches are just amazing. All u need is your clothes ,pool towels ,toiletries and food. We were 4 couples with children and it was perfect. Short drive into brecon for anything you need is about 12-15mins, its close enough and also far seay enough to be away from it all. Absolutely gorgeous place. Thanks emma for also taking our escaping dog in to your house until we woke too x

Carly from stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in January 2020


Perfect location, my favourite place to stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly wonderful. Perfect views, perfect location. Rooms very clean. No complaints. Will be back thank you.

Dawn from Caerffili stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in November 2019


Beautiful views

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet and comfortable with beautiful views from the living area. We did have problems with the showers but the owners were very concerned and keen to sort out the problem. As access is up stairs, this cottage is not suitable for everyone, but it's worth climbing the stairs for.

Beverley from Welshpool stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in October 2019


Lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely time we had at brecon.we will be returning next year.suitable for all ages.me,my partner and my 3 year old son loved it

Guest from stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in August 2019


Fantastic week away

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week away with the family. We actually hired all 6 cottages. They were all clean, the beds were super comfy, each cottage was well equipped and safe for the children. The hot tubs and swimming pool were a great addition. The outdoor space was amazing and we were lucky enough to have the weather so we could really make the most of it. We couldn't fault our stay and would certainly recommend any (all) of the cottages. We made some lovely memories in a beautiful place! Thank you.

Carly from Bristol stayed at Vale Oak for 7 nights in August 2019


Fantastic Holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Vale Farm for a family celebration in the larger Vale Oak with its stunning views across the Brecon Beacons, while my brother and his wife and baby stayed next door in Wild Cherry. This meant we had our own personal space with well equipped kitchen and bathrooms, but a large enough dining table for us all to be together when wanted. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of storage space and we all loved the swimming pool and hot tub.
We explored the beautiful countryside around and I would have loved even more walks around the surrounding area.
Our host Emma was lovely, unobtrusive in the farm house nearby, but very kind and helpful when needed, thank you for a fantastic holiday. I will definitely recommend Vale Farm and hope we will book again soon.


Emma from stayed at Vale Oak for 6 nights in July 2019


Great location for a family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all the Vale Farm Cottages for a family get together for a week. The facilities and set up worked really well for us. The pool and hot tubs were really well used. We ate together every evening outside in the quad area. The function room became a board games cafe for the week. Emma seemed to be permanently on hand to help if help was needed. We had everything we needed and more. A great stay. I'd highly recommend and would definitely return.

Ellie from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Vale Oak for 7 nights in July 2019


Vale farm cottage tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is away from it all with fantastic views at peng y Fan mountains.
If I revisit Wales will definitely stay at Vale farm cottage


Martin from stayed at Vale Oak for 6 nights in July 2019


Stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Over 20 of us uni friends (& kids) used Oak for dining together and after dinner, as 3 of the youngest kids were asleep at the far end of the cottage/barn. Excellent space if a little quirky with some of the cupboard space and the 2' high connecting door between 2 of the bedrooms. Kitchen could be a bit bigger given the sleeping capacity but the view from the end living room was spectacular. Could also do with a bit of guidance & specific receptacle for recycling, given the encouraging bin under the outside staircase

Andrew from stayed at Vale Oak for 7 nights in May 2019


Great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family, including 6 young grandchildren stayed in Vale Oak & Vale Walnut. Absolutely ideal for group family stays with the swimming pool & play area outside for rounders etc. Everyone had a wonderful time & the grandchildren are all asking to go again!

Guest from stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in May 2019


A great escape

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely break for the family. Lovely views and a great escape, excellent base for walking. Will be booking again.

Karen from stayed at Vale Oak for 4 nights in February 2019


Birthday celebration weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all had a great family weekend catching up in beautiful surroundings. Lovely people and beautiful cottages. It was such a relaxing time with no negative distractions.
However just a small minus was two blown bulbs not replaced or dishwasher unblocked. You also need to take all your food, toiletries etc as the closest shops are in Brecon.
This did not spoil our weekend and I have recommended Vale Farm Cottages to friends and colleagues.


Guest from High Littleton stayed at Vale Oak for 4 nights in March 2019


Emma Baldwyn replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a great family weekend and I am very sorry that your dishwasher was not fixed during your stay. I did come and look at the problem when I was informed of the problem. Unfortunately I was unable to mend it myself. I mentioned that my husband would come and mend it for you later that evening. The next morning I did apologized to a member of your party staying in the same cottage explaining that he came home 10.30pm too late to disturb you, but he would be coming around later that morning and was told "not to bother as you were okay without a dishwasher and would be leaving the next day". I am very sorry but I now realize I should have spoken to you instead of other members of your party regarding this matter as you were the guest who make the booking. Vale Farm Cottages is situated in beautiful farm land with mountain views just 4 miles away from Brecon. I do add this information to everyone's arrival information explaining that it is best to get supplies and petrol from Brecon as you come through on your way to Vale farm cottages and the cottage is self catering or you can order a supermarket shop for your arrival. I am pleased you all had a relaxing time at Vale Farm Cottages and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Emma

Just love staying here

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit with daughter and family. A perfect place to bring our grandchildren away from town life, to see the countryside. Plenty of room to explore and play and to have close contact with the farm animals. We all really love it here because of the peace and quiet and this year was extra special because the sun shone every day. Emma is a lovely hostess and always available if anything is needed. The pool is an extra benefit as the little ones love to swim. I would certainly recommend staying here for a comfy, relaxing holiday.

Allan from Chorley stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in February 2019


Family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Emma and team are very friendly and helpful. They are always on hand if needed. Thiscwas a wonderful family holiday that we all enjoyed so much we decided to book again next year.

Donna from stayed at Vale Oak for 4 nights in August 2018


lovely for families

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a couple of nights there, which was lovely. The views & location are good for exploring N.S.E&W
We found that when families were swimming ,with the pool underneath Vale Oak , it was very noisy. The cottage was quite well equipped. Unfortunately l like windows open at night & we couldn't open the velux, though l can appreciate others may forget to close them & rain could easily blow in. For the three of us we were acutely of the noise of the swimming pool heater but perhaps that is because we live in quiet area normally.
Overall l think the cottages are beautiful, & in a good location. ldeal for families, larger & small parties, as the facilities are brilliant.
Emma , the owner ,was very helpful & friendly . Thank you for a nice break.


Gilly from stayed at Vale Oak for 2 nights in May 2018


Emma Baldwyn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you couldn't open the window in the bedroom, I did buy a window pole when I moved to the cottages last Autumn and left it in the wardrobe so not sure where it has gone, so I have now ordered another one. The noise is coming from a brand new fan that is in the laundry area of the swimming pool, there is hardly any noise coming from the fan downs stairs and I didn't realize the bedroom could heard the noise. My electrician has come out this morning to replace it as it must of been faulty and the bedroom is now quiet again. I have added a opening time on the swimming pool, so guests do not get disturbed at unsociable times. Thank you for highlighting these problems to me. We hope to welcome you to Vale Farm Cottages again in the future. Emma

Lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a long weekend in a beautiful location. Lovely cottages and pool perfect for children. We can’t wait to return!

Anna from Redditch stayed at Vale Oak for 3 nights in March 2018