FB Twitter

Gellideg

Gellideg

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Gellideg (meaning 'Warm Grove') is a lovely traditional Welsh cottage with a contemporary twist. Extensively refurbished in recent years and awarded 5 stars by Visit Wales, the cottage has two bedrooms, main and ensuite bathrooms, a large, fully equipped kitchen-diner, and a cosy lounge with log burner and under-floor heating. A beautiful private garden affords breath-taking views out over the Teifi Valley. Gellideg retains many of the original features that lend charm and character whilst also offering guests every modern comfort.

1 week break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
really nice cottage set in a pretty location. Love the garden. We had some good weather which meant that we could also enjoy sitting outside in the garden and using the hammocks



Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous weeks holiday the cottage exceeded our expectations definitely 5 star quality very comfortable and clean and set in a gorgeous location. The well equipped kitchen and excellent bathroom facilities made for a comfortable stay. The garden was absolutely amazing we ate most breakfasts outside listening to the birds and having several seating areas to admire the garden and the views made it such an enjoyable stay. The bed was very comfortable we slept really well. Then to be able to open the patio doors in the mornings and look out at the garden was a lovely bonus. The local village had two well stocked food shops with a post office and a good fish and chip shop. A short journey to the nearest small town of Newcastle Emlyn provided us with a good selection of local shops and pleasant places to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are so grateful to Louise and Chris for sharing their cottage with us.



Lovely cottage in a beautiful and peaceful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Host was very helpful when booking. Welcome pack was a nice thought. Shower in second room kept cutting out ... up to 4 times per shower. The shower in master bedroom did same on one occasion too. That's the only complaint. TV too small.. a larger one would be good especially for visitors staying in the winter months



Louise Jones, Owner replied 63 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Gellideg. The water pressure can be variable in rural areas which sometimes causes problems with the showers, so I am sorry that you were affected by that. As regards the TV we didn't want it to dominate the space or spoil the character of the room so we went with a smaller model. It's hard to please everyone and we are sorry that you found it too small.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, high spec, well equipped cottage, lovely garden, helpful owners. Enjoyed our stay.



Fabulous cottage in a beautiful quiet location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Gellideg - it is a lovely cottage which is very clean and cosy and well equipped. Lovely garden and outdoor space. The location is quiet but within easy striking distance of a number of beautiful beaches. Amazing waterfall just up the road too. Good facilities in nearby village. Couldn't ask for more and the owners are lovely.



Relaxing weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, cosy cottage, immaculately presented and very clean. Lovely rooms and garden, in a very quiet location. Not far from the coast and other local attractions. .



Peace and quiet in a cosy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent three weeks here in November 2021 after our original booking for November 2020 fell through. Louise could not have been more helpful and accommodating in our various stages of booking, cancelling and rebooking. And she was an absolute fount of really useful information, having quickly divined our own interests!! (Foodies + walking.) She went over and above in ensuring we had everything we needed (and was very understanding about a couple of small breakages). This welcoming approach was then complemented by housekeeper Steph dropping by to say hello and check we had settled in all right. We appreciated the welcome goodies left for us.

The cottage itself is delightful, and one of the best equipped we’ve ever stayed in. Once the log burning stove is on, the house quickly becomes as warm as you want. We enjoyed many evenings reading before the fire (or streaming missed series!), we loved waking to the birdsong in the garden around us, and enjoyed the long views from the upper bedroom over the small hamlet and fields.

The cottage is really well-located for visiting both the coast to the West (lovely cliff walks, very good eateries in Cardigan and Aberaeron), and Carmarthen to the East, where we spent a day exploring the National Botanic Garden of Wales - well worth a visit.

We hope we’ll be able to come back in the not too distant future.




Perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very clean comfortable and fabulous stay in your cottage. Would definitely love to return. Was perfect location to catch up with close friends who moved close by.
Many thanks




Beautiful Gellideg Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a great week in the lovely Gellideg cottage. Very comfortable and well equipped. Stunning garden. Great location. Visited Newquay, St. David’s, Cardigan and Carmarthen. Also, fished on the Teifi.
Will definitely try and come back again.
Thank you.




A beautifully equipped property with a stunning tiered garden in a tranquil valley setting.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A week in this very lovely cottage was never going to be sufficient. We loved its comforts, situation, and beautifully terraced garden. We so appreciated the generous welcome basket, the cleanliness and multitude of thoughtful touches. What a beautiful base from which to visit so many stunning beaches, coves and interesting towns and villages. The tranquility was intoxicating. We have thoroughly fallen in love with this corner of West Wales. It was a very special week. X



Fantastic cottage in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Gellideg. The owners have thought of everything you might need and created a comfortable, attractive environment in which to relax and unwind. There are lots of little places to sit out in the pretty garden and enjoy the wildlife as well as a large patio for outdoor dining. The area itself is lovely. The cottage is around half an hour from the coast and surrounded by countryside so there's something for everyone to enjoy. We would definitely come again!



Perfectly placed cottage to switch off and recharge with great views and wonderful night skies full

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage in a perfect location to get away from every day life (unless you are a teenager). Such a joy to sit back and watch the birds or enjoy the night sky in all its glory of the stars at night. A great position for numerous beaches around the area. Would thoroughly recommend the local fish and chip shop, beautiful. Some great, sometimes hard, walks but worth it.



Our stay at Gellideg

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet and peaceful location. Stunning gardens and outdoor space. We really liked the spacious kitchen/dining area. Clean, compact and very alluring cottage. A real home from home.



Excellent rural retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We like cottages that are off the beaten track and this was no exception. It was clean, comfortable, well equipped and with plenty of attention to detail. The outside space was also excellent. Because it was hidden away we were also grateful for the owner's local knowledge about eating places. We found a variety of things to do and see from castles to countryside and coast as well as gardens and a steam railway. A very good week.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was lovely as described, directions of how to get to the cottage very useful location beautiful



Delightful, peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful week in great cottage with lovely garden in beautiful countryside. Near to interesting village with a shop.
Lovely beaches in easy reach.
Cottage was very well appointed. Magnificent garden with lovely patio area.
Cottage was immaculately cleaned for our arrival.
A lovely week's break.




Beautiful cottage in peaceful rural area.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gellideg cottage was everything we hoped for. in a quiet rural location the cottage has all the modern comforts you need with several luxury touches whilst keeping a lot of the character of this original cottage. The kitchen is large and well equipped, the lounge is cosy with a working log burner. The master bedroom is the highlight with a super comfy bed, en-suite bathroom and unique 'bridge' via french doors directly to the upper garden. We saw a woodpecker in the garden from the bedroom and a host of other birds on the feeder. The owners are easy to contact and respond promptly to communications. This was our first holiday experience since Covid 19 struck. The comprehensive safety measures in place put us at ease. The coast path and some remote beaches are nearby, as a several National Trust properties. Great for walks in the peaceful countryside and coast path.



Beautiful cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Gellideg and would highly recommend this traditional and cosy but extremely comfortable cottage. It was spotlessly clean with luxurious sheets, bed linen and fluffy towels provided.
It was well equipped with everything you could possibly need, even a hammock to lie in to enjoy the peaceful scenery of the tiered garden. For a 2 bed cottage it is really spacious particularly the kitchen where there is plenty of room to prepare meals and eat as a family.
Although we didn’t get the weather we were hoping for, the cottage made up for it!




Stunning Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are recently back from a week at Gellideg. We were completely blown away by how beautiful this cottage was and how immaculately clean it was. Gellideg had absolutely everything you could possible need for your stay. The kitchen was well stocked with crockery, pots, pans, glasses and everything you could possibly need, everything is thought of.

The garden is like a secret paradise, so beautiful and well kept with different seating areas to enjoy in the tranquil setting.

On arrival there was a bottle of Prosecco, the best chocolate waffles and milk in the fridge.

The owners made a very detailed list of places to visit as well as local restaurants. We followed this all week and we were not disappointed, saved us lots of valuable holiday time. Also before holiday I emailed with a few questions and they were so helpful with their detailed replies.
Completely recommend a stay at Gellideg.




Lovely relaxing week away

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, relaxing holiday and, during this pandemic, a very safe and clean environment in which to spend a week getting away from the day to day. Great location, beautiful scenery with coast as well as mountain biking, canoeing and walking all at hand. We couldn't have asked for more



gellideg

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the local crafts on display in the cottage, especially the glass birds and felt hanging. We also loved the throws, blankets and cushions from Melin Tregwynt. Finally, the hand wash and other products from Myddfai were a real treat. These little details make a big difference. Thank you.



Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a really relaxing week in Gellideg - even with Storms Ciara and Kevin throwing everything they could at the UK we still managed a cozy retreat. The cottage had everything we could possibly need and was warm and comfortable. Truly a relaxing week with lovely walks direct from the door and only a short drive to lots of lovely areas including fabulous beach at Poppit Sands and Newport Beach. The garden areas were lovely though we didn't get to use them (mid-winter) we can see that they would add to a lovely relaxing summer break too. Thank you so much.



Comfort you won't forget!

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this holiday cottage for a quiet get-away after the Christmas and New Year festivities and weren't disappointed. It was a beautiful, comfy cottage and we certainly felt like we were spoilt. The home itself was perfectly clean and well provisioned with equipment, and it had lovely walks from the doorstep, as well as a lot of interest in nearby areas. The only problem we encountered was a bit of ice on some nearby roads - but it was early January! Book now, you won't regret it.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Gellideg cottage. Louise and Chris were lovely hosts and Lynn the house keeper was really friendly and helpful.
The cottage itself is clean and really well presented. It has everything you could need for a comfortable stay, including a welcome gift of essentials to help you settle in. Perfect location for us with two young boys as there is lots of things to do within a 30 min drive and fab beaches to choose from.
Thank you for a lovely holiday, we hope to return in the future and will recommend to family and friends.




A beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gellideg Cottage is such a beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting. The cottage is spotless and has everything you could possibly want or need and the surrounding scenery is amazing.
It is perfect for a quiet stay to get away from busy life. We can't wait to return!




Perfect secluded break

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful hamlet. Fascinating, quirky garden which is not at all overlooked and feels very private.
Everything needed for a comfortable and relaxing break.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well presented and carefully thought-out cottage in an idyllic rural location where only the birds will waken you! Lovely walks from your own front door -bring a compass though as it is easy to get lost in the woods and lanes and lose all sense of direction. The views are wonderful from the top of the hill. Lovely beaches within half an hour drive away.



Lovely cottage, wonderful garden, very well equipped

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fab holiday at Gellideg Cottage. The house is spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped and a lovely space to spend a week in. It’s really well set up for children, baby gates everywhere (but if you don’t need them, you wouldn’t notice them, they’re very clever) toys, cot, high chair and baby monitor. The garden is fantastic, we loved the hammocks! It was the perfect cottage for us and we hope to return soon



Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gellideg was everything we were hoping for, a lovely relaxing retreat in beautiful countryside. The house is beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The underfloor heating in the lounge was a treat to come home to on a cold, wet day. The kitchen has everything you could need and the bedroom was perfect. The owners were incredibly helpful in the booking and any questions we had afterwards. Can’t fault it.



Great family holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in an amazing location. Waterfall walks, birdsong, a fantastic cottage to really 'get away from it all'. Excellently equipped for little people. Thanks for a great time. We will be recommending to family and friends.



Perfect stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect weekend in a wintry Wales! Stunning surrounding area, great for spotting wildlife, a beautiful cottage to relax and warm by the fire! Would definitely recommend.