FB Twitter

The Cow Shed

The Cow Shed

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The Cow Shed, which sleeps 6, is a cottage converted from a traditional cow shed. It has an indoor heated swimming pool shared with other users of the Llanfendigaid site beside the sea at the southern end of the Snowdonia National Park.

A wonderful New Years break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired the entire Estate for a large party of us for a week over New Years. We all had a fantastic time: the location was stunning, everything we needed was provided and the stay was very comfortable indeed. The CowShed in particular was done to a very high standard and we were really impressed with all that it offered. The manager of the Estate was exceptionally helpful and attentive whenever we needed him during our stay. We would definitely recommend...and we hope to return ourselves!

Lyndsey from Wallingford stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in December 2017


Short October Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was excellent and really suited our needs. With a young family there was plenty of space and everything we needed. Graham (manager) was very friendly and helpful. He sorted out a leak with the dishwasher without any fuss whilst we were out.

There was plenty of information on the area and things to do.



Jonathan from Grantham stayed at The Cow Shed for 4 nights in October 2017


Family break

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A big group of us stayed at the cow shed & house for 4 days. We had an amazing time. The cow shed was spot less, modern & homely. Our doggie very much enjoyed it too! Would love to visit again!

Sophie from Stockport stayed at The Cow Shed for 4 nights in September 2017


Lovely cottage near the Wales coastal path

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cowshed is a lovely place to stay by the sea in mid-Wales. The accommodation is very spacious - no need to worry about exercise on a rainy day, you can do an inside lap of the cottage! Beds were very comfy and the kitchen is well kitted out. Plenty of hot water for baths and showers on tap. There is an indoor pool on the estate very close by - you can make a quick dash for it when the heaven's open without getting too wet. The pool is big enough to get some exercise or for the kids to have fun. Graham, the estate manager, is very helpful for any queries. It's probably foreseeable given the location but the mobile signal is patchy and you might need to walk around a bit to find one. The data allowance is not unlimited so be prepared to pay more if you want to stream movies etc as data will run out quite quickly.

Samantha from Northwood stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in August 2017


Will replied 146 days ago
Thanks so much for your review. The wifi service is delivered by satellite via a groundstation in Milan which means that data is extremely expensive and also limited by the service provider. Hopefully one day BT will get as far as us....(!)

pleasant but could be easily improved .....

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
- Only one hand towel for 2 people. There should be one each.
- The "cork" bath mat looked bad and should be replaced with a washable towelling mat.
- It would be useful and more comfortable to have a chair in the bedroom.
- More hangers needed in wardrobes.
- On arrival, the sink in one bedroom was blocked. When contacted graham fixed this .
- More cups needed for use with dish washer


Margaret from Odiham stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in July 2017


lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the cow shed for the week very spacious nicely decorated we really enjoyed it would definitely visit again

Steven from Grimsby stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in June 2017


Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently refurbished, the Cow Shed provides excellent accommodation if you have a group of family or friends. The layout is superb and functional, and the fire in the corner is fantastic. The courtyard provides a great view of the hills and is sheltered from the sea breeze!

Joe from Whittington stayed at The Cow Shed for 3 nights in June 2017


Review of stay at the Cow Shed

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a beautiful property in a lovely location. The beds were particularly comfortable and the property is well equipped and very dog friendly. Unfortunately the dishwasher did not have rinse aid or salt and therefore didn't work properly. The WiFi code provided although only used for emails ( as advised)) ran out after the first day with no information available as to how we could restore it or pay for more.There was no phone signal at the property and the on site manager failed to mention where we would find one, so when our dog became ill we had to drive 5 miles before we could contact a vet.

Erica from Sheffield stayed at The Cow Shed for 2 nights in June 2017


Will Garton-Jones replied 219 days ago
Sorry to hear that your dogs were ill. We do have good mobile reception on site within a 5 minute walk and I think we must have neglected to point that out - sorry. We are installing an emergency phone on site to make sure people can easily contact the emergency services if required.

The Cow Shed

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed the stay & the photos of the cottage do not do it justice. we would highly recommend.

Peter from Stockport stayed at The Cow Shed for 4 nights in May 2017


A lovely relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired the whole of the estate to celebrate our birthdays with friends. We had a wonderful time. The cottages and house were clean, comfortable and well stocked good facilities for self catering. The swimming pool was great. All the cottages were lovely and the house had such character and atmosphere that it made everything special. The grounds and surrounding area were very peaceful. We would recommend this estate for a stay in any of the cottages and the house.

We all thought that the cow shed was exceptional in its design and comfort.


Lesley from Preston stayed at The Cow Shed for 5 nights in March 2017


Stylish and comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cow Shed had everything we needed for a wonderful family holiday. We have two young children and they loved the beaches, climbing up some local hills, visiting CAT and splashing around in the Llanfendigaid swimming pool. The cottage is a lovely place to return to each day - luxuriously comfy, cosy and well-equipped. And the views through the expansive windows are amazing-sheep, hillside and sea. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a remote area, with plenty for kids and grown-ups to do, it is absolutely the right place!

Sarah from Manchester stayed at The Cow Shed for 4 nights in April 2017


50th birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With over 30 of us taking over the whole estate we needed somewhere to congregate on the nights to party - cue the Cow Shed which happened to be where i was staying with my wife too.
A fantastic time was had by all in a superb property and setting


Steve from Stourbridge stayed at The Cow Shed for 3 nights in January 2017


Fabulous break away, great cottage, lovely walks and surroundings. Would highly recommend to others

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked for a christmas break with kids, who thoroughly enjoyed there stay, pool, walks and whole experience as did all the adults

Lisa from Runcorn stayed at The Cow Shed for 4 nights in December 2016


Awesome venue for a holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An awesome venue for a holiday! The Cow Shed is an extremely well and sympathetically converted property in a lovely setting with very good facilities, both within the property itself and in the estate surrounding it. The decor is soothing, the furniture comfortable and the layout bright and airy. The beds are comfortable, the utilities expansive and modern and the pool warm and very close by.
The location is centrally located in North Wales close to many of the best entertainment you could wish for with castles, seaside towns and adrenaline activities in abundance.
The Cow Shed has everything you could wish for and more, we had a fantastic time and cannot recommend it more highly to anyone who wants to visit North Wales whilst staying in comfort and style.


Andy from Helston stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in October 2016


Excellent cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved The Cow Shed! - we found it very relaxing whatever the time of day, very spacious too.
The location was perfect to explore the area and we did some great walks. We also had a " car free " day and caught the train from Tonfanau (station 20 mins walk from cottage) to Barmouth - The Panorama walk just above Barmouth is outstanding for views down the Maddawch Estuary!


Anne from South Normanton stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in October 2016


Beyond Expectations

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I have just had the pleasure of spending a week in the Cow Shed and were blown away by the beauty of the whole experience. I have always been one for jumping on a plane, and my wife struggled to get me to agree to something UK based, but after this trip has changed my whole outlook.

The property was stunning to look at inside and out, and unlike so many places held its head high with the finest quality beds, bedding, and furnishings. The comfort factor was a solid 10 out of 10. We used the so called shared swimming pool almost every day and only saw another guest once even though other properties on the estate were occupied.

The only negative that every member of my party felt was that we should have stayed for two weeks. We will most certainly be returning.


Guy from Fordingbridge stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in July 2016


Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the cowshed and the main house as a large family. We had a fabulous time made perfect by our stay in the cowshed. What a beautiful place.

Julia from Holcombe stayed at The Cow Shed for 3 nights in July 2016


Expectations exceeded

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Cow Shed as part of a family 70th birthday celebration, in conjunction with the house at Llanfendigaid and were delighted with the amenity offered. Above all, I would say the space was exactly right for 6 people. The open plan design worked very well, with the working end of the house remote from the relaxing end, and the beautiful wood burning stove was an outstanding feature. It is hard to find fault at all, but I guess the small bedroom, with two single beds is more suited to children rather than the adults in our party, and again for 6 adults, it would have been nice to have had an extra toilet and shower, but we managed for the short time we were there, and found it not too much of a problem. Overall we were all impressed with the accommodation, and would not hesitate to book it again and recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Mary from West Kirby stayed at The Cow Shed for 4 nights in June 2016


90/100

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cowshed is situated in a very quiet Estate, excellent for touring North Wales and the coastline. Its well equipped and an ideal place to take two dogs.

Barbara R from Sherborne, stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in June 2016


Peaceful location and dog friendly

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cow Shed is spacious, comfortable and well appointed ;

The location is quiet and beautiful;

Fantastic walks within easy reach of the property and not far from the beach.


Jean from Pontblyddyn Near Mold stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in May 2016


Perfect for our honeymoon!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at the cow shed after getting married on the Talyllyn Railway around the corner, and it was perfect. The location was beautiful. You can walk down to Tonfanau, or carry on along a new tarmac cycle path into Tywyn past the Broadwater - it took about an hour each way, but we walked with a push chair. The living room has a stunning window looking onto the mountains behind.

For comfort, most rented accommodation put a standard bed, but this was something else. A super king size, with luxury bedding - you will not want to get out!

We were so sad to leave this place, and will be going back again and again!


George from Llanymynech stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in May 2016


Lovely birthday getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in an idilic spot close to the coast with amazing views of sea, fields and sheep

Property was well equipped with a contemporary feel and fully fitted with all mod cons. Swimming pool was a nice addition which we used on a couple of occasions
Ideal for families or friends in the heart of picturesque Wales.

Can't wait to go back


Paul from Liverpool stayed at The Cow Shed for 3 nights in April 2016


March 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous family stay in this beautiful barn cow shed. The views are stunning location excellent for coastal walks with the dog. The facilities were excellent everything you need for a very comfortable stay with the added benefit of an indoor swimming pool.Very comfy beds a great entertaing place.

Tracey from Stafgord stayed at The Cow Shed for 5 nights in March 2016


a perfect place to stay to end a lovely year with family

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, ive gave excellent in all areas of our stay, because thats what it was. It was the the first time my family and I had got together for a new year break, there was ten of us altogether oh amd one dog !!!, we booked the dove cottage and cow shed for
our stay. The cow shed was
mainly where we got together and entertained throughout our stay giving ample space for both adults and children to either get together or do our own thing, there wasn't a moment where you felt you were under each otheres feet. The added wood burner gave a lovely cosy feel to our winter stay, giving out plenty of heat for such a large building. The cleanliness you couldn't fault, everywhere was lovely and clean. The size of the kitchen had more than enough space for entertaining large parties for evening dinner. I also have to mention the on site pool was a great addition especially with the children, some days going more than once, especially when the weather wasn't too kind. We were so glad we came across llanfendigaid estate, such a little gem of a place to end a lovely year with family and I would definitely recommend a stay in any of the properties here.


Rachel from Ellesmere Port stayed at The Cow Shed for 5 nights in December 2015


Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful cow shed conversion with masses of space. I love the big windows with a great view over the fields. Very comfortable beds. The showers give pleanty of pressure and hot water on demand. Very well equipped kitchen with a good sized fridge freezer. Perfect for a family holiday. Thanks very much.


Chris from Welshpool stayed at The Cow Shed for 7 nights in September 2015


relaxing bank holiday break

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had 5 nights over the bank holiday- The Cow Shed is brand new and absolutely huge! Done in a simple yet quite contemporary style, the beds are very comfortable as is the sitting area. The dining table is very large and was perfect for evenings spent playing board games. The enclosed courtyard was a delight for some late afternoon sun and indeed the views were incredible. We enjoyed visiting Aberdovey (dog friendly section of the beach!) and had some incredibly scenic country walks.
The children very much enjoyed using the indoor pool also.
A lovely way to bring the summer holidays to a close and a part of Wales I would love to return to.


Mark from Chorley stayed at The Cow Shed for 5 nights in August 2015


Fantastic!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully converted Cow Shed, with spacious open plan dining and living area, and a large, well equipped kitchen. Comfortable beds, very family friendly layout. Handy utility room for laundry etc. Nice private courtyard and views of surrounding farmland and the sea.

The cowshed made a brilliant base for exploring the local area -lots to see and do nearby so we definitely plan to come back, maybe when the weather is cooler so we can make use of the log burner! Would definitely recommend.


Guest from Poolbridge Road stayed at The Cow Shed for 4 nights in July 2015